Skip to content

Casey Anthony trial, June 23, 2011: Cindy Anthony testifies for the defense

June 23, 2011

In case you missed it, here’s a link to Cindy Anthony’s testimony today: Cindy Anthony searched computer for chloroform

Today came out of left field for me.  I thought George and Cindy finally stared reality in the face, and are now in court every day to truly find “the truth no matter what it is.”  Today’s testimony came on the heels of the Anthonys’ attorney, Mark Lippman, telling a news reporter, Gary Tuchman,  that George and Cindy don’t think their daughter is innocent.  So why wouldn’t I think they had finally seen the light.  Didn’t George and Cindy (for the most part) testify honestly when the prosecution put them on the stand?   Lippman has since tried to retract  his statement, saying it was taken out of context, and we all saw what Cindy did today.  Just goes to show you can never predict what a person is thinking or saying.

Today, Cindy Anthony looked Linda Drane Burdick directly in the eyes, and said SHE was the one who did the searches for chloroform on the family computer, not Casey.  In fact, she testified–under oath—that her work records must be incorrect because she was home at the time the searches were made–NOT at the office.  If that weren’t enough, she went on to testify that the  stains in the trunk of the car were actually there when they purchased it.  Were the stains in the form of a small child in the fetal position?  That question wasn’t asked.

My first reaction to today’s testimony was surprise, (I know, I’m naive), and my second was anger.   But, after reflecting on it for a few hours, my third reaction is, who am I to judge Cindy Anthony?  She and I actually have a lot in common.  She is a mother.  I am a mother.  She is a grandmother. I am a grandmother.  My little grandson just turned 3 making him close to the age Caylee was when she died.  I believe Cindy loves her daughter in pretty much the same way I love my sons.  I believe she adored her granddaughter just as I adore my grandson.   I would like to say that’s where the similarities end, because  I hope I would never try to protect my son in the way Cindy is attempting to protect Casey if  I believed he killed my grandson.  I would like to think my desire for justice for my grandchild would trump my desire to save my son from suffering the consequences of his actions. But the truth is, I will most likely never be in the position Cindy is in, and I would venture to say none of you will be either.  So, I honestly don’t know if I would be tempted to lie to save my child.   I can think I know, but unless I’ve walked in those awful shoes, I can’t be sure.  Can you?

In the end, what Cindy, (or George, or Lee) does isn’t going to matter much other than to themselves.  They will have to live with the choices they make. I believe justice  for Caylee is coming no matter what they do on the stand.  The evidence is overwhelming, and Casey will pay for what she did–maybe not with her life,  but she will spend the majority, if not all the rest of her life in prison.   The Anthony family will be spending the rest of their lives in prison, too— a different kind of prison but a prison none the less,  thanks to Casey.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Hunter permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:42 pm

    I am a grandmother of a 4 year old that I adore. I love my daughter very much. She is my only surviving child since my other daughter died in a car accident as a teenager. But if my daughter killed her daughter, my granddaughter, I would not only NOT support her in any way, I would make sure she paid the price for what she did to my granddaughter. And my daughter agrees with me. She said she knows that I would “fry her” if she ever did that, and rightfully so. So, no, I can’t forgive Cindy Anthony for any of this. She created that monster with just this kind of enabling, this kind of lying. They both deserve what they have gotten in this life and what they will get.

  2. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 4:22 am

    Wow.. My emotions ran the same course today. I was under the impression that Cindy had (Almost) totally redeemed herself on the stand prior to today – It seemed like Lippman was almost out doing damage control on the talk shows. I was angry at Cindy’s attempt to help Casey this afternoon because it just seems like, in lying for Casey, Cindy was dishonoring poor little Caylee even more – and I just couldn’t get past that thought. I guess I’m not the only one – Did you see Dr Glass’s blog entry? ( Link pasted below in case anyone needs it )

    Though I don’t know how I’d act were my daughter was facing the death penalty ( I can’t even begin to imagine what Casey’s parents are going through ) I’d like to hope that I’d do the right thing. As the mother of two grown children, I’ve always been more harsh on them. If they did the crime, I’d make sure they did the time – and they would get in twice as much trouble if they lied. (My brother was a pathological liar, and his lies shattered my world growing up – I guess that’s where the , ‘It’s double time if you lie,’ rule came from. ) My kids would quickly fess up, thankfully.

    Throughout this trial, I’ve heard so many experts say that Cindy is part of Casey’s problem – I’d shake my head in disbelief every time I heard it – Today, however, I’m beginning to believe it. Though I’m sure Cindy must be despirate to keep Casey from the death penalty, I can’t help but wonder: What will Casey have learned from all of this, if her mother shows her that it’s okay to lie , even before God and in a court of law? It’s frightening. :(

    Here’s that link if anyone needs it: http://drlillianglassbodylanguageblog.wordpress.com/

  3. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 4:27 am

    Wow, I’m sorry.. I can’t spell or type – Hehe! That’s ‘If my daughter were facing the death penalty ‘ ( Paragraph 2, Line 1) and ‘Desperate’ not despirate! ( P. 3, Ln 3) – whoops!

  4. offthecuff permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:10 am

    For me, this isn’t a question about Cindy saving her daughter as a mother would want to do. It is an issue of Cindy and truth.

    Cindy doesn’t trust anyone. To her, everyone is out to get her daughter one way or another for their own selfish reasons. She obviously thinks lying is necessary and therefor OK in order to help her daughter.

  5. offthecuff permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:11 am

    So the question then is Lying OK in the face of perceived Evil (the state/ the media/ the defense/ the public)

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2011 7:38 am

    Hunter
    Believe me, I agree with you. I have said the same thing you are saying, on this blog and to people I’ve talked with. But, when Cindy was testifying for the prosecution, her breakdown really affected me. She appeared to be purging. I think it was real, and I think it was the culmination of 3 years of sheer hell. Hell that was aggravated by people like me who were blogging daily about this case. That bothered me. Then, to see her turn back into the Cindy we’ve all seen so many times before, on the stand yesterday, was, to say at the very least, shocking. It all just made me stop and think before I reamed her!

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2011 7:51 am

    Western MD

    Great minds obviously think alike! lol

    I agree that Cindy is a huge part of the problem–and George to the extent that he let his wife run the family with apparently little input on his part. Honestly, though, there are many many children that are raised like Casey and most of them do not turn into pathological liars and sociopaths that murder their children. I think Casey’s nature was predetermined. If she had had a mother with a different style of parenting (no nonsense, honest, consistent disciplinarian) would she possibly have turned out differently? Maybe.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2011 8:22 am

    offthecuffndy]8

    Good point and question. Is it ok? In the mind of a woman like Cindy, obviously the answer is yes.

    I’m watching her today lie through her teeth, you can see where this is going and that the whole thing has been a ruse. Sympathy for Cindy is, for me, out the window. Now I wonder what George will say when if he gets back on the stand? I wonder if when he said, “I would sell my soul to the devil to save my daughter” he was telling the truth.

    What in the world is the jury thinking about this? I hope they see through it, but they don’t have the knowledge we have about the Anthonys.

  9. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 1:11 pm

    Mystery, someone is posting as me – Check our email addresses. :(

  10. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 1:14 pm

    Oh, no, I’m wrong — I’m so sorry! It was someone addressing me! Doh! (I just woke up! I had a fever this morning and fell asleep) No excuse for my lameness! :: Rofl ::

  11. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 1:32 pm

    Will the Prosecution hold her in perjury? Last night I caught myself thinking, ‘Man, George should $hitcan the whole bunch of them; get out while he can! ‘ – Then it hit me: He lied along with Cindy in the beginning too and will probably lie again.
    Lippman’s statement yesterday boggles me – They’ll do anything to ensure Casey doesn’t get the ultimate penalty – Like it’s okay to break the law because you’re trying to save somone?! That’s what gets me most with this trial – Even Baez apparently thinks it’s okay to lie. .

  12. Amysterytome permalink
    June 24, 2011 3:45 pm

    I had to leave right after Lee was cross examined so dont know what haopened after that. Could someone fill me in?

    Any illusions we might have had that Lee would do the right thing went out the window. He obviously wants his mother and sister’s approval more than he wants justice for the niece he admittedly was indifferent to. Starting to wonder if George is gonna fall on the sword for Casey after all.

  13. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:48 pm

    I’m disappointed in Lee – He was combative with the State and it’s clear who’s camp he’s in. On re-direct, Baez did nothing but lead him and play on his heartstrings. Lee talked about how it was a joke to people that he didn’t believe Caylee was dead, how he didn’t want to believe it but believes it now – and his voice was clearly shaking with emotion – Ashton came back a second time with impeachment and the fact that Lee couldn’t remember things he said in the depo or for the State yet seemed to remember a great deal more for the defense today then asked if his statement in depo refreshed his memory as to when the baby shower was held ( Before the birth of Caylee as opposed to after, as Baez said)…

    Mixed emotions here on me today ( Haha.. Willl we all have to have therapy after this trial?!) as I see Lee combative with the State and it’s so clear who’s camp they’re all in. It saddens me that no one – save for the State and the public – will stand up for Caylee. It’s like they’ve discarded her like a broken toy.. :( I’m just so glad I haven’t had to walk a mile in any of their shoes… Something to be thankful for tonight.,,,

  14. WesternMD permalink
    June 24, 2011 7:53 pm

    (Sorry; didn’t mean to say that a second time – I wonder if I’ll ever get posting right or if I should go back to being a quiet shadow, just reading them all…. Doh.. )

  15. June 26, 2011 2:46 pm

    I so agree with what you’ve expressed….I can’t put myself in Cindy’s shoes either (god forbid),and I might lie to save my daughter from the death penalty,but Cindy has lied from day 1 and forced George t liie also.It’s difficult to feel t sympathy for her because of the personna she has presented to the public for 3 years.I do feel sorry for Lee and George,as they have had to deal with these 2 VERY deceitful and controlling women for so long.They are all in aliving hell now,so I guess we should all be careful what we sow,as we will surely reap the results.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 28, 2011 7:02 pm

    WesternMD
    Sorry I didn’t respond sooner–we went out of town to my husband’s mother’s birthday party over the weekend. Now the news is old, lol!

    Lee, as I’m sure you know, was back on the stand today–this time to contradict his mother’s testimony. Lee sat with his mother before he testified and sat with her after he testified. This is one whacked family. Can’t say that I would want to cozy up to my kid if he just proved me a liar under oath.

    I say just put Casey on the stand and let the chips fall where they may. The defense has nothing to lose at this point!

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 28, 2011 7:08 pm

    Susan

    It’s realllyyyy realllllyyyyyy hard to remain sympathetic to Cindy. It takes a better woman than me to do it. lol Seriously, I do feel a great deal of empathy for the entire Anthony family, but, I would also like to box their ears and remind them that Caylee didn’t have a choice in this world, but their scumbag daughter did. Their insistence on trying to protect Casey at all costs is, IMO, the reason they are in this predicament to begin with. Why on earth would Casey take responsibility for her actions when she knows her family has her back?

  18. June 29, 2011 1:03 am

    Hey:ITSAMYSTERY,How ya doin’?!(FINE, HOPEFULLY!!!)SORRY i’VE NOT WRITTEN LIKE, forever!!(I’ve just been busy w/ my little Michael.Would ya believe, he’s 5 1/2 yrs. old?!) And Istill reamember when I was pregnant w/ him!! Anyway, did ya see the front cvr of: People magazine, recently?! It said this: “Casey Anthony, is wanted for the murder of her daughter: Caylee M. Anthony, legal experts say, even though she has alotta evidence AGAINST her, she could WALK!!! Is this true, ‘MYSTERY’?! PLEEEEEASE SAY NO!!! ‘Cuz if it is, ‘PSYCO’ parents like:Susan Smith, Andrea Yates, etc., will think its:’O.K.’, to murder your kids, when NOTHING, & I REPEAT, NOTHING, should be further frm the truth!!! TINA-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

