Skip to content

CASA for Children

September 14, 2011

ABOUT CASA link

I haven’t written a post in a long time, mainly because I was so discouraged by the verdict in the Casey Anthony trial. It is what it is, and even thought there is nothing anyone can do to change what happened to Caylee, there is plenty that can be done by us as individuals, to make a real difference in another child’s life. One of those ways is Caylee’s Law, and I will be publishing an article by a guest poster on that legislation in the next few days. Another way is to join or support CASA. (Court Appointed Special Advocate) I went through the training this summer, and got my first case in July. The two young sisters I’ve had the pleasure of watching out for and getting to know has made as much of an impact on my life as I hope it has on theirs. I KNOW I’m making a difference for them. It’s just a little thing, but at least it’s SOME thing. Check it out at the link above. You won’t regret it.

We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget he is someone today.  (Stacia Tauscher)

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 10:12 am

    mystery, it is so good to hear from You.
    I do understand why we haven’t heard from You for a while.
    The Majority who have blogged about this Case from the Beginning share Your Feelings.
    You are right, it is what it is and it can’t be changed.
    I am glad You found a Way to get past this Disappointment of a Not Guilty Verdict in this tragic and sad Case. I do believe somehow Casey Anthony will have to answer for what she has done to her own Child.
    Meanwhile we have to go on with our own Life’s and concentrate our Efforts where we actually can make a Difference.
    Thank You for the Info about CASA, I will find out more about that.
    I do know about Caylee’s Law, it is sad that we do need such a Law but obviously we do.
    I really don’t have much to say any more at this time, it seems like I already have said everything there is about the Anthony Case.
    Just wanted to let You know it is nice to hear from You again and I am glad You are doing fine and doing something productive after this Case, I wish You All the Best!
    Myself I am trying my Best to understand why some things happen the Way they do and Justice sometimes just isn’t served through our Legal System, I guess I am just naive thinking that Good and the Truth will prevail over Evil.
    I still wouldn’t want to be in Casey Anthony’s Shoes, knowing what she does about what happened to her Daughter and that she is the one who destroyed the One Person who loved her unconditional. She will have to live with that the Rest of her Life. JMO

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 16, 2011 7:38 am

    Hilde!

    I was just thinking abou you yesterday! Frank asked me if I would make your beef roll-ups this weekend. lol!

    I hope you do check CASA out. I hope everyone does. It is a wonderful organization. You get to pick your kids, and usually only do one case at a time. You, in most instances, become the one constant in your child’s life. DHS workers and foster parents come and go but you don’t, so it is a long term commitment (You agree to stay on the case for at least 1 year) You are there until the case is resolved. You can be as involved as you want to be but have to commit to spending some time with the child at least twice a month. You also go to court as their voice, and your recommendations are considered along with he DHS worker and the child’s counselor.

    I purposely chose two older sisters, ages 12 and 14. They are absolutely delightful, and we bonded easily. Kids in the system come from such terrible chaotic and many times violent lifestyles and seem to easily adapt to whatever life throws at them. My girls amaze me. They have gone from growing up living out of cars and in crack houses to being bounced from “aunt and uncle” to “aunt and uncle” (not related) while their mom turned tricks. They are now living in a very structured home for girls and showing cows and sheep at the county fair! (with great enthusiasm I might add!) Difference between night and day! I love that they have gone from a dangerous, hopeless environment to a place where they have a bright future. Both are making good grades and talk about going to college.

    We can’t do anything about the children that have been lost–apparently we can’t even do anything to make sure those lost children receive justice from their murderers, but we can darn sure do something to see that another child is saved. That time and effort you put in makes an impact you can not even imagine.

    Whether it’s being a CASA, a foster parent, a Big SIS or Big Bro, a volunteer grandparent at a school, or donating supplies, time or money to a children’s shelter, there is a spot for everyone to fill.

    Gonna be posting on other organizations.

    Love CASA and love you Hilde!!

  3. October 28, 2011 5:21 pm

    Sorry to have been such a stranger. Still so ticked over the developments, it is hard for me to even deal with it. I had a sponsee (everyone knows I am in NA BUT I do NOT represent it in ANY capacity) who was in a drunk fight with his roommate. The roommate died in his sleep. Even the victims FAMILY said there was no malice. Jury found him guilty of MURDER ONE. I am floored. Anyhow, I just wanted to say HI!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

