Skip to content

The light came on!

August 20, 2008

Wow, I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last posted.  Believe it or not, I’ve been working on my cozy mystery.  I read tons of books on how to write, and I also did my homework and read lots of books in the genre I was interested in. At first I was just plodding along, writing chapters, not having any real direction.  It was hard.  It was so hard it was almost impossible.  I was writing about people I didn’t really know, and therefore had no idea what they would do in any given situation.  So, I decided to do what all the books say to do and write an outline.  Well, sort of an outline.  I started by naming my characters and catagorizing them. (sleuths, victims, suspects, minor characters, etc.) I then added a little blip about each character.  Talk about powerful!  My blips turned into pages and pages about their lives, what made them the people they were, what brought them together, what led them to be in the situations they were in, etc. etc. My original plot with character analysis changed the more I wrote about them and it.  Now I have 2 murders, 4 suspects and a subplot.  Not only that, I have almost all my scenes!  I know what drives each character and which ones are capable of what.  I know how they will react in each situation.   The plot changed, the murderer changed, and twists and turns just seemed to appear magically!  The characters came alive in my mind and the story is practically writing itself. I love it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

