Skip to content

The Caylee Anthony tragedy is NOT a reality tv show people!

September 9, 2008

Today Casey Anthony and her brother, Lee, high-fived each other after inching their way through another hostile crowd of reporters and gawkers. They were on their way to a meeting with her home confinement manager. No doubt this will give fresh fuel to the frenzied mobs of posters and protesters that appear to want nothing less than to stone her and her parents to death on their front lawn.  Or in the words of one poster “set their house on fire with them in it and watch them burn.” Did you really mean that Poster?  Cuz if you did, you need more help than they do.  A new reality show has hit the airwaves….

I’m not sayin’ that Casey hasn’t brought every bit of this insanity on herself and her family. The stunning lies she continues to concoct to cover whatever tragedy she caused or allowed to happen to her daughter are what sparked the intense national coverage in this case in the first place. (Let’s face it–this case would not be getting the national attention it’s gotten if the mother’s story wasn’t so whacked.  There are thousands of missing children every year that we never hear about.)  I’m also not sayin’ that George and Cindy Anthony have not further aggravated the whole mess. Their inexperience in public relations and their inability to cope with the reality of their situation has left us shaking our heads in disbelief.  The family’s lack of visible emotion and the contradictions in their own statements leaves us speechless. (Well, some of us anyway.)  

But, consider this.  These grandparents are in a state of shock.  They are living in a situation where truth is truly stranger than fiction.  I can’t imagine what it must be like to be them, can you?  Searching for the dead body of Caylee, coupled with the fact that their daughter might be responsible for her death, may well be more than they can bear.  Better to only allow themselves to believe that their grandbaby is alive because their daughter couldn’t possibly be capable of hurting her.  Better to rant at the media or the crazies in their front yard. Anything must seem better than considering the alternative.  Who can really say how any one of us would act if thrown into the circus that has become their lives?  I can’t imagine being villified in the press and by the posters. I REALLY can’t imagine being CRUCIFIED  by the vigilantes that have set up shop on the Anthony’s front lawn. These nutcases in their own right have apparently elected themselves to act as judge, jury and executioner.  What motivates these people?  Why do they think it’s okay for them to behave this way?  It’s a mystery to me.  “Well, if it were me I would have beat the sh-t out of her til she told me the truth.” (courtesy of another poster.)  Yeah, well, it’s easy to know how you would act while you’re sitting in your cozy recliner, eating buttered popcorn, and guzzling a beer while you watch the next installment of the Anthony Family Reality Show.

That must be it.  We think we’re watching one of those reality show series on tv. We’ve watched so many of them that we can’t distinguish between a television show and true reality. “I can’t wait to get home from work so I can get on the forums and see what’s happened.”  “I hate the weekend-I’m having withdrawal symptoms.”  “I can’t wait to see what develops tomorrow.” “Don’t you think Cindy looks like an ape?” “George is really losin’ it. With that temper he must have killed her or at least helped her cover it up.” “Are you watching the webcam? The webcam is down.  What’s happening?” (more forum postings–and these are some of the nicer ones.)  News flash, guys-this isn’t a reality tv series!  There may not be the coveted prize (the body of a dead baby,  the electric chair for Casey, or the lynching of the Anthony family) at the end of the season.  This is REAL life with REAL emotions and REAL unpredictable behavior.  The Anthony’s don’t have a script to follow. (even though Casey is claiming now that she had one.)  People don’t always act the way you want them to or the way you THINK you would act. This is the Anthony family’s real life nightmare.  A nightmare I’m sure a couple of months ago they couldn’t have imagined being caught in anymore than we could.

All of us voyeurs will eventually lose interest-especially if the resolution takes too long or horror of horrors ends up being a cliff hanger.  We’ll turn off the television, or change the channel and move onto the next big news story. (God help you Sarah Palin if they find even a kernel of  truth in all that stuff the press is frantically trying to dig up!  It’s a mystery to me how people can wonder why there are so few quality people running for office in this country.  Who the hell would want the job–Who the hell doesn’t have a skeleton or two in their closets? But that’s another blog.)  My POINT is, the season will never be over for the Anthonys’. There will be no prize at the end of the series. They will never move on.  Their lives, no matter what comes of this terrible story, are forever tragically altered.  Stop torturing them.  I’m sure they’re tortured enough on their own.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra permalink
    September 9, 2008 3:16 am

    Thank you!!!! Can’t add any more cuz you said it all……..

    well done

  2. September 9, 2008 3:34 am

    Thank you so much for expressing exactly what I was thinking and you did it so well.

  3. J. Garrett permalink
    September 9, 2008 6:16 am

    Estrogen overload. Danger.
    Duh. Taxpayers are sick of the police resources being wasted chasing false leads. The public is REALLY SICK of Cindy telling us to get off our asses and search when her and DuhGeorge haven’t searched for 1 second.
    They legitimately hate Cindy & ly’in George for:
    a) Continually changing their story.
    b) Cashing in with ABC/Disney photo money. Profiting on the granddaughters death.
    c) Flying cover for Casey’s years of criminal behavior.
    d) And the big one. Destroying evidence in a murder investigation. Washing the corpse bits and stench out of Casey’s pants and George throwing a bag of evidence from the trunk over the towyard fence. They have admitted to these crimes and need to be booked and jailed.

  4. Heather permalink
    September 9, 2008 12:19 pm

    LOL You’re a great writer!!! Haha ou’re right, it feels like a darn reality show. I’m hoping in less than a few days Caylee will be found playing in a sandbox somewhere,sipping slurpee’s and eating bon bons………wouldn’t that be awesome!

  5. pak31 permalink
    September 9, 2008 2:39 pm

    You hit the nail right on the head. It’s exactly how I feel too. It’s really a shame actually.

  6. September 9, 2008 3:32 pm

    J. Garrett:

    You really are a misogynist. What is your problem? You are incapable of posting without making an anti-feminine remark.

    And, no, if you had a shred of knowledge about the justice system, you’d realize that the only Anthony who will be prosecuted, and probably not for murder, is Casey. Much to your displeasure, you can’t charge people with crimes who haven’t committed any.

    Cindy’s washing Casey’s pants was an inadvertent error, not an attempt to conceal evidence. This is not only my opinion, it is a conclusion reached by the investigators. Do you think you know something that they don’t?

  7. tkb permalink
    September 9, 2008 4:01 pm

    This whole case is strange…and has continued to gather momentum. While I understand the public’s frustration over the situation…and even anger at Casey, who *seems* less concerned about Caylee than many total strangers are…but for one minute think about this. If we have been caught up and are feeling the need for truth and closure…how much more do family members and friends who personally knew and loved Caylee need this? And please consider all those in law enforcement. The toughest cases for them are those that involve children. I have read accounts on blogs where people have tension in their homes, because a spouse thinks they are spending too much time on the computer, reading about this case. Can you imagine the lives of the investigators?
    I have at times had to concentrate on turning off my thoughts about Caylee…so I could do all the things I have to do here in my own life.
    And although I have been irritated at times by Cindy’s attitude, there is a part of me that really pities her…and George…Lee and others in their family and circle of friends.

    I cannot begin to imagine the emotional and mental stress of having a child, or grandchild missing…and then to have to go thru all of this publicly…with a media circus and protestors outside taunting you.

    We can lay blame on Casey, but still many people are suffering. What about the neighbors who are living around the Anthony’s? I wonder what stories their children will tell when they grow up about the craziness outside their homes.

    While we all would love for Caylee to be found, alive…safe and unharmed…and I personally still pray that way…reason and logic aside… I still hope she is alive! I never held her, or listened to her sing, or laughed with her…and I have a hard time just accepting she is dead.
    How much more difficult for those who knew and loved her.

    The investigators are working like mad to make sure they bring truth to light.
    Although, the family would like to believe Caylee is alive, don’t think for a moment when they are in their home…there are moments where they deal with the greatest fears of any parent or grandparent.

    Have George and Cindy done everything perfectly, of course not…and neither have any of us!

    But who can say what they would do, if they woke up in this same nightmare?

    I think it is time for us to step back, move on with life and pray that all involved would have the answers they need.
    I have quit watching NG with the desparate need for the answers…because this is comsuming my life.
    I think everyone needs to go home and hug their children and grandbabies and thank God.
    Quiet down, and accept this is not , as you eloquently put it some reality tv show. This is the tragic life story of a precious little girl, and her family.

    Regardless of whether we like Cindy…realize she is going thru a lot.
    Give the Anthony family some space to process what has happened and deal with the realities that will eventually have to be accepted.

  8. Linn permalink
    September 9, 2008 4:18 pm

    Thank you, Thank you, finally a blog with a bit of sense and some critical thinking. I can’t begin to imagine what the Anthony family is going through and won’t try to guess what I would do. I have been in a crisis situation and now that I can look back on it I am rather shocked with how I reacted – not at all like I would have thought.

    It has totally amazed me how people take a tiny bit of info from the news and make it into shocking evidence. I have watched this case from the beginning because it intrigues me to see how people act and react. The Anthony family is actually doing a lot better than many of the people who are hanging out around the home and blogging their little fingers off about how they would be acting or what they would like to do to this family.

    Arm chair investigators, judges, and juries, are plain scary. And to think these are people raising children and making decisions about important things in other’s lives. I hope they are doing better there than in this case.

  9. September 9, 2008 6:17 pm

    I commend all of you (with the exception of J. Garrett) for your thoughtful and thought-provoking remarks.

    None of us know what transpired on that tragic day, but I do know this:
    If my beautiful granddaughter were missing and there was significant evidence of foul play, I would hold out hope for as long as possible. I’d climb moutains, swim oceans, and walk through hellfire to dance with the devil if someone would bring my baby home.

    It seems to me that condemnation of Caylee’s grandparents and uncle is based upon an individual’s personal bias, and has nothing to do with evidence. One can choose to despise them, or one can choose to feel compassion for them.

    I choose the latter.

    Rest in peace, precious Caylee.

  10. Kari permalink
    September 10, 2008 2:29 am

    Amen.

  11. TLA permalink
    September 10, 2008 3:50 am

    Excellent!
    Couldn’t have said it any better myself.
    I’m still praying Caylee is found. I have given up on the idea of her Mom telling the truth.

  12. tkb permalink
    September 11, 2008 12:04 am

    Hey all. Just checking back in with everyone. This is one place that seems relatively free of the hatred that seems to be rampantly circulating in the direction of the Anthony family.
    Note to Linn…I was checking some other blog/posts and saw one written also by Linn…I wasn’t sure if that was you. I had already read your post here. But, the comment sounded very similar to your post here. Anyway, I just felt badly, cause it seemed that you were getting bashed big time on the other blog. It reminded me of seeing a kid on the school yard getting bullied, and not stepping in to defend them… I just didn’t want them to turn on me. 🙂
    Listen, it is always easier to hate other people, than to take the high road… hoping for the best…inspite of what things may look like.
    In the other blog, if I remember correctly some poster was accusing you of being a family member or friend of the Anthony’s.
    I don’t know if you are, or not…and it really doesn’t matter to me.

    I am glad you spoke peace into the turmoil and the hate…I am glad you had the courage to do so.
    But, honestly…you may not want to cast your pearls of peace and wisdom before the swine.

    Who knows what *really* happened…and who knows what Cindy, George or Lee really know. I know this, there are things that cry out for justice..and I believe in a God who is the Judge. I also know that there are things that cry out for mercy and compassion. I would always rather err on the side of being merciful and compassionate, than on being filled with hate.

    Regardless of what Casey may have done…there are people whose hearts are broken. I would think this would apply especially to George, Cindy, Lee..their family and friends. It’s not right to add to the grief of others. I certainly don’t want to be treated that way, and so I am not going to jump on that bandwagon of accusation…and stir the fire of hate to into a flame.

    I believe what was done in secret, will be brought out into the light of day. I believe that although our justice system is flawed…when it comes to cases that involve children…most times the t’s are carefully crossed and the i’s all get dotted…and that takes time.

    Patience is the weapon that forces deception to eventually reveal itself.

    I would love to know that Caylee just ate a good healthy dinner and is being bathed and lovingly read to tonight, before she is tucked into bed.
    That may well not be the case…but until all the facts are in. I just cannot give up!!!

Leave a Reply

