Skip to content

Cindy Anthony’s newly discovered interview

October 7, 2008

I just listened to the newly discovered Cindy Anthony interview with LE (Aug 4) and it made me want to pull my hair out.  I had to keep pausing it to give myself a break from her incessant rambling.  It seems that Cindy and Casey share the gift of gab.  But, the devil is in the details, and there’s a lot of information here if you can stand to wade through it all.  It’s well over an hour long.

You can download it here: http://FileHost.JustFreeSpace.Com/77…AnthonyTwo.WMA

This interview corroborates Jesse Grund’s statement that Casey convinced Cindy she’s protecting them all.  Cindy said that Amy Huizenga, boyfriend, Anthony Lazarro, and Ricardo Morales, are really old friends though they say they haven’t known each other all that long.  THEY are bad people, (not Casey) are mixed up in drugs and God knows what else. AND they know “powerful” people.  Somehow Casey got involved in whatever they were doing, and for some “unknown” reason, some “unknown” people have taken Caylee.  Because the police aren’t following up on all the leads out there, these people are taking Caylee farther and farther away.  Cindy is convinced that Casey is scared–she can “see it in her eyes”.  Casey’s trying to give us “clues”, but she can’t really come out and say who has Caylee because that would put not only her and Caylee in danger, but the rest of the family as well.  In the same breath, Cindy accuses Jesse Grund of erasing all the info missing from her computer berfore July 15th.

Cindy brings Jeff Hopkins back into the mix–remember him?  He’s the guy Casey said she worked with at Universal, and who introduced her to his nanny, Zani.  (In reality, he’s a classmate from high school she recently ran into at a restaurant.  He didn’t have a clue who Zani was).  Casey told Cindy that Jeff was her boyfriend and that she and Caylee were spending time with him and his son to see if they might work as a family. (huh?)  Never mind that the week she was spending with Jeff overlapped the week she was at an event with another ficticious Universal co-worker, Caylee, and Zenaida. (Remember the week Zenaida had her wreck?)  These were some of the excuses Casey gave her mother for why she couldn’t see or talk to Caylee. Interestingly, the week she spent with Jeff was actually the week that Tony (her real boyfriend) was in New York.  And, Cindy manages to get in once again that Casey may be a liar but she’s not a murderer. The lies just weave in and around and it’s a mystery to me how Cindy–who has to be the detail queen of the year, doesn’t notice or chooses to ignore these glaring indiscrepancies.

Today on “Oprah”, Kent Whitaker, the author of Murder by Family, http://www.amazon.com/Murder-Family-Incredible-Treachery-Forgiveness/dp/1416578137/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1223355382&sr=8-1 , was interviewed, and it reminded me a lot of Cindy and Casey.   Kent’s son, Bart Whittaker, commissioned some people he knew to murder his own mother and brother.  Kent was shot but survived, and Bart even had the assassin shoot him so it would look like he wasn’t involved. The night the murders took place the family had been out to dinner to celebrate Bart’s graduation from college. But, he didn’t really graduate–he dropped out during his freshman year.  He pretended for 4 years that he was in school and his family bought it just like they bought into everything else he ever told them.  His father said he never suspected his son was the killer.  He didn’t believe it even though 2 years earlier police had come to him with information that Bart was planning to murder them. The parents made excuses for why he would make something like that up.  Kent didn’t believe it until one of the guys involved in the murder plot caved.  Bart apparently never confessed.  He had gone on with his life almost like nothing had happened and was in Mexico when they caught him. This family had blinders on when it came to their oldest son. They chose not to believe what everyone else saw clearly, and they paid for it dearly–just like Cindy and George.

I imagine that a similar scenario will have to play out for the truth to emerge in this case.  Someone involved or someone in the know will have to come forward for Casey to admit what happened and for Cindy to see the truth.  Even then, I imagine she will go to her grave believing someone else was responsible for the death of her granddaughter and that her daughter was framed.

FYI Bart Whitaker was diagnosed a sociopath and narcissist and is sitting on death row in Texas.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. robin permalink
    October 7, 2008 2:35 am

    Very interesting. If Cindy knows Casey is a liar, then why does she believe anything she says from July 15th and forward? At times I am convinced she has lost it and believes all these crazy stories. At other times I think she lies herself to try and save Casey from going to prison but knows she has done something horrible.

    This case is very frustrating.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2008 7:04 am

    I’ve thought that too, robin. How can Cindy blindly believe Casey’s latest explanation when she knows Casey is a pathological liar? I really think she’s just grateful there IS another story, because the alternative would be to believe Caylee is dead and Casey killed her. JMO

  3. pak31 permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:10 am

    I agree with Robin also. The one thing that really gets me is that from what I have heard Cindy and Casey were not all that close and yet Cindy sure knows a heck of a lot of info about her daughter. She knows all these people, who they work for, what they do in their spare time, who dates who, where Caylee was here and there while Casey was at this place or that place, etc. I guess I can’t relate, I mean, I used to talk to my mom a lot and we were close when I was that age and still living at home, but she wouldn’t have known so many details about my routine and friends. I just wanted to comment because I find it odd. But I guess Casey was feeding all that info to Cindy to convince her she was really doing what she said she was. What a mess.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2008 9:29 am

    I thought it was odd too, pak31. But what I really thought was strange is that she knew all this other info about everyone and anything, but she didn’t know the babysitter of 1 1/2 years? I can assure you, if it were my grandchild and she lived with me, I would not only know the babysitter but I would have checked out where she lived.

  5. nellfire permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:46 am

    It doesn’t surprise me that these two were close. Casey goes through friends like Kleenex..after she robs them, cheats on them, she just changes and starts over with a new set. Cindy doesn’t appear to have a lot of friends around her either..just poor weird George. Cindy and Casey are both unbalanced…of course they talked. They enabled each other. They supported each others mental illness. What rational person would sit and listen to the incessant lies, conspiracy theories, and allegations as to why everyhting in their sad little lives is always someone else’s fault.

  6. monica111466 permalink
    October 7, 2008 10:12 am

    I think at this point that Cindy is just mentally GONE. All of this is hard enough for all of us to watch from a distance…but imagine what it must be like on the inside.
    I’ve heard people say that Cindy and George should be afraid having her in their home…I think Casey is the one who should be afraid.
    If this continues for much longer, someone in that house is going to snap in a serious way. I believe the police know this and are just waiting. This is like a festering sore….and everyday it gets a little closer to bursting.

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2008 11:06 am

    AMEN!

  8. Kari permalink
    October 7, 2008 12:03 pm

    Monica, I agree. I think Cindy has gone round the bend and if someone would put Casey back in jail, they’d be doing Cindy (as well as the rest of us) a very big favor.
    For both Pak31 and Nellfire, there is a charming french term for this type of insanity, called ‘folie a deux’, madness for two. Certain sociopaths, like Casey, can be very charming, seductive, convincing–precisely because they don’t let truth or reality get in their way. They will say anything at all to convince their enabler to keep on enabling, supporting, believing…to the very death.

  9. Stephanie permalink
    October 7, 2008 3:08 pm

    My daughters best friend in school was very much Casey and her mom was very much Cindy. They also have the dad that is very much like George. The only difference between our old family friends (they quit talking to us many years ago) and the Anthonys is our mom wasn’t as controling as Cindy. But, she made up excuse after excuse for her daughter’s behavior. When she was busted sneaking in the middle of the night (she was 13 at the time) to a boy’s house her dad was going to punish her. Mom stepped right in and told him to leave her alone and she will take care of it. When other kids were busted with her daughter at home skipping, mom made excuses to the parents so they wouldn’t think bad about her daughter. The things she was doing were gtetting much worse much bigger. The mom always had 2 problems, first she wanted her daughter to have a better life then she did. Second she didn’t want anyone on the outside to think ill of her daughter, she was perfect. It is not at all Cindy’s fault Casey did this arguement or not. Casey is an adult and should be held accountable. Having said that Cindy has created the monster that Casey has become. When my daughter was at the end of Jr. High and I would get mad about something her friend did she always had something to say to me. She would say “you know it is not just her fault it is her mom’s fault also”. She would continue with “she knows she can do whatever she wants because her mom is not going to punish her”. My daughter was right and I never said anything again. Yes my daughter skipped a class with her in 7th grade. Did my friend tell me “NO”, I just had a feeling and got it out of my daughter. The teacher didn’t know and I made my daughter tell her. She was so ashamed and I told her then she shouldn’t be doing things that she would be ashamed of. Having her tell her teacher wasn’t easy. My heart broke watching those tears knowing she didn’t want the teacher to think she is a bad kid, it was tough.

    I think Cindy might have some denial going on, but she needs to fix this for Casey just like she has done with everything else. Her only way now seems to be, blame others.

    The point to all of this is it is great to be your childs friend I am with both of my daughters, they are 18 and 23. But you HAVE to be a parent becuase that is your job to teach them right from wrong. A little humiliation can teach a whole lot.

  10. motherclucker permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:06 pm

    It’s a mystery to me, too…LOL! I just love your blogs…

  11. Kari permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:48 pm

    Thanks, Mystery! I finally listened to that interview and it sure gave me a whole new perspective. Now I understand why so many people have begun to blame Cindy more and be angry with her, too. She really came across as a hostile witness, and like she didn’t want to cooperate with police, but to blame and criticize them…

    Yeah, I still think she’s gone off the deep end, but I am feeling less sympathetic…

  12. Mary Caliendo permalink
    October 7, 2008 7:52 pm

    I agree with most of your writers. Blood is thicker than water, even in the case of murder! The case gets weirder and wierder and the family has issues. I know that I would protect my own and love them forever, but if had information about the murder of my own granddaughter, well my daughter would be toast!
    I think that this case would take a toll on anyone, and depressive behavior is just part of it. I feel sorry for grandma and grandpa, they have lost everything in this child; their bad seed! It appears they gave her everything and this was the thanks she gave them for complaining about her ripping off money, and her lifestyle! Psycho!
    Just my thoughts, Just my opinions, and always in a conversationalTone.
    Mary Caliendo

  13. October 7, 2008 11:57 pm

    I just listened to Cindy’s newly discovered interview. I have to hand it to every detective who has had to listen that idiot, they get the patience of a saint award. I would love to know what they said after she left the room. Cindy seemed a little upset , they had her swear she told the truth,probly because like Casey the truth and her are strangers. According to Cindy everyone of Casey’s friends has something to hide,everyone is a sneak except poor Casey. I know, it’s a conspiracy between the every police department,the FBI,the media and the general public to crucify the whole Anthony family. The fact that they lie,try to implicate other people,and constantly change their story to support Casey’s lies wouldn’t have anything to do with it,now would it. How they can show their face in public and keep opening their mouths to spread more crap is unbelievable. They have no shame, there is no reasoning with them,you can point out their lies and they will deny it. In one interview with police Cindy had the nerve to say “I’ve never changed my story” and the detective said yes you did,and she denied it. I have to go on faith that the day will come ,whether here on earth or not, that they will get what they deserve.When all this is over and Casey is in jail,and all the media has gone away and the rest of us go on with our lives,they have to live without Caylee and the knowledge that their daughter is responsible.

  14. True Justice permalink
    October 8, 2008 1:11 pm

    The latest motion by goofuss Baez will go no where. My favorite picture of these two is on my site http://www.helpfrycasey.com where they look like they trying to figure out where to go for dinner. I would love to be there on Friday to see how Judge Strickland keeps from laughing in court. This is all winding down on the whole lot of them. It is only a matter of time and like all train wrecks it will be ugly.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 8, 2008 1:26 pm

    Thanks, motherclucker! I love your name.

    Kari
    I like your “folie a deux” description-madness for two. I looked it up and there was a second phrase “Folie imposée” that I thought might be a better description of Casey and Cindy. “Folie imposée” is a “psychiatric condition where a dominant person (known as the ‘primary’, ‘inducer’ or ‘principal’) initially forms a delusional belief during a psychotic episode and imposes it on another person or persons (known as the ‘secondary’, ‘acceptor’ or ‘associate’) with the assumption that the secondary person might not have become deluded if left to their own devices. If the parties are admitted to hospital separately then the delusions in the person with the induced beliefs usually resolve without the need of medication.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Folie_%C3%A0_deux

    I think Cindy was much clearer about what was going on before Casey was back in the house. She did turn her in. After Casey came home from jail, Cindy became her biggest advocate, believing her outlandish tale even when LE spelled it out for her. Casey got to her—again.

  16. June 11, 2010 7:01 am

    I wrote a similar article on this subject but you nailed it here.

Leave a Reply

