Skip to content

Who’s gonna pay for Casey Anthony’s defense?

October 28, 2008

Casey Anthony’s trial for murder has been set for February 9th and today she will be arraigned on those charges.  She’s already entered a written not guilty plea and won’t make an appearance at the arraignment. After today’s hearing and plea, prosecutors only have 15 DAYS to turn the rest of their evidence plus their witness list over to Casey’s defense team. (Finally! We’ll get to see ALL the evidence prosecution has. I’m thinking it’s gotta be significant–the grand jury deliberated a minimal amount of time before announcing Casey would go to trial.)

This case has already cost the Orange County taxpayers thousands of dollars, and that’s BEFORE the trial, estimated to last up to 2 weeks.  If moved outside the county, as it most likely will be, it’s expected that both sides will ring up thousands of dollars more.  The cost for everyone involved, plus their travel expenses could be exhorbitant.  The defense will be calling lots of high-dollar expert witnesses to refute FBI evidence and they ain’t cheap.   Add to that the price of food, lodging, and gas for not only the main players, but for every witness called to the stand, and the final estimate for her defense alone could rack up over $50,000!

And guess what!  Casey will be completely within her rights to ask taxpayers to foot the bill for her defense even if the Casey camp has received more than enough money from national news coverage to pay for it.  How can she do that, you say? The family has received a good deal of money for their televised interviews.(though they deny it.)  But,  according to William Shaeffer, WFTV legal analysist, “There are a number of transactions you can engage in order to make sure money doesn’t go directly to Casey Anthony.”  In other words, any money made from all those television and magazine interviews (excuse me for the PHOTOGRAPHS-not the interviews) are likely not being put in an account in Casey’s name. If the Anthony family received payments in their own names, Casey’s bank account could still show empty.  If it’s not in Casey’s name, they don’t have to fork it over for her defense. Let’s hope they do the right thing and don’t put that burden on the good people of Florida.  I think they’ve paid enough for Casey’s lies.

So, will she ask the Florida taxpayers to cover her costs?  That remains to be seen.  According to Shaeffer,  the judge will try to get her to prove she can’t afford to pay for her own defense.  She’ll have to provide a signed sworn statement attesting to the fact, along with her proof, but like he said, “It’s signed under oath–for whatever that means in this case.”

Yeah, we all know how valuable Casey’s word is.

You can see William Shaeffer’s interview below:

http://www.wftv.com/video/17816097/index.html

11 Comments leave one →
  1. carol permalink
    October 28, 2008 8:42 am

    My question

    would this also include the high profile lawyer Lenaman if the county have to pay?

  2. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:07 am

    Good morning Mystery 🙂 This is a good question. If they believe so strongly in their daughter’s innocence, than by all means let them pay. I just can’t see it happening though. Cindy wants all the sympathy of the world, but can’t seem to keep her potato masher shut. The best thing that woman could do for her family is to remove herself from the limelight and take a humble stance.

  3. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:10 am

    Much of the negative attention they have recieved is due to her continuing to spew forth the unintelligent remarks in her daughter’s defense. Anyone with an ounce of intelligence, would be hiding out, not asking for media attention. Even if I believed my daughter to be innocent, I would be so over taken by embarrassment for my daughters actions, I would be hiding in shame.

  4. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:15 am

    I’m just at a loss. I honestly do not understand her, especially her ill remarks toward Tim and his efforts. Does she not realize how shallow she sounds? Has she forgotten that Tim too has been through this? I try hard to have sympathy for them, but Cindy makes it hard for me to feel anything but anger and frustration. George appears completely lost, and Casey brother is doing just as I said I would be doing….hiding out away from further embarrassment.

  5. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:20 am

    I can understand them wanting to believe their granddaughter is still alive. I would not want to believe my grandbaby was gone, and at the hands of my daughter at that. However, I do not believe I would be making harsh remarks against those who were trying to help me in finding my granddaughter. I honestly think, deep down she knows the truth, but if a body is not found, she can continue to believe a lie. I think she is afraid that Tim will find Caylee and she will have to face the awful truth. I suppose I can understand wanting to deny, but I just cannot understand lashing out at good people who are honestly giving their all in finding a lost child.

  6. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:26 am

    Someone, should be trying to advice her better. I take that back. They probably have tried, but Cindy is unstoppable. I wonder how much longer will George stand at her side? I look for him to part ways with Cindy in near future. I look for him to give his side of the story too. I was stunned to hear Cindy criticize Tim for not responding sooner. Is she that ignorant? First, HELLOOOOOOOOOO Cindy, your daughter did not give them a great start, she did not report it for 31 days. And YOU Cindy reported it then. Second, the weather did not exactly cooperate with the search team. Damn, she urks my last nerve! I just had to vent. Hope no one minds.

  7. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:29 am

    By the way, it’s a shame that the tax payers cannot decide which side they wish to monitarily support. My money would go to the prosecution.

  8. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:35 am

    Let me also add, I had stepped back from making any negative comments about Cindy, but this really made me angry. As I mentioned, I have tried to have compassion for the Anthony family, but Cindy I feel l do not feel as sorry for. Her behavior and hateful words make me feel the way I do. Hope I haven’t offended anyone. It’s just MY opionion, but who am I to know anyway?????

  9. friendlymom permalink
    October 28, 2008 9:45 am

    I am just going to put my energy back into prayer. God, I ask that you give the searchers strength and endurance, sharp eyes, and perseverence in finding Caylee. I ask, dear Lord that you help justice to be served and the truth to be found. I ask that you surround the Anthonys with your loving embrace and brace them for what’s to come. I ask that you bless all my friends at Garden’s Gate and help us to keep our faith that you will lead the searchers to Caylee Marie. I know you are with her, and I thank you dear Lord for that. God please bless us all that we may never know the pains of losing a loved in a manner such as this. I ask that you keep our hearts full of hope and love that we may spread your word and keep hope alive. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 28, 2008 10:50 am

    What a beautiful prayer, friendlymom! Very well said and thank you for sharing it. I think that’s a prayer everyone should be praying as we get closer to the search date.

    I thjink all us run the gamut of emotions where this case is concerned. We all go from feeling deep sympathy all the way to the other end of the spectrum–extreme anger. It’s just a roller coaster. I cannot imagine putting myself in the Anthony family’s shoes. Must feel like a roller coaster spun off it’s tracks in slow motion. There’s no bracing for that kind of crash.

    Another reason, I’m glad this trial is being moved up.

  11. niecey456 permalink
    October 28, 2008 11:16 am

    Amen! Friendly Mom, what a great prayer. I’m praying it as well.

Leave a Reply

