Skip to content

George Anthony is seen near woods where search teams may be looking for Caylee Anthony’s body

November 4, 2008

George Anthony was seen by an eyewitness standing and staring into the woods close to Hoffner Avenue in east Orange County on Oct. 30.  This is an area the search teams could be looking for Caylee’s body.  It was originally searched in September by TES.  map

A WFTV viewer says she saw George in the early evening of Oct. 30, staring into the woods.  This area is less than 4 miles from the Anthony home. The viewer said she saw George’s car parked in the area around 6:15 pm and that he was standing there looking.  He then got into his car and drove away, and she assumed he was looking for Caylee. She gave the information to LE.

Casey’s defense representative said they were aware George was there, and that it had nothing to do with the defense’s investigation.  They said that there might be certain things that involve the case that they can’t talk about.   The sherriff’s office says Casey’s phone records show this is an area she frequented.

Cindy text messaged WFTV reporter Kathi Belich to say George was looking at the woods to scout out another possible location for the KidFinders tent that they take around town asking for donations and tips in the case.

This really bothers me.………………………I’ve worried all along that by announcing where TES and LE are searching, they are risking someone going and moving Caylee’s remains if he/she knows where her body is and thinks the authorities are getting too close.  I hope I’m wrong about that, and I’m not accusing George of anything.  My gut feeling would be that he feels in his heart that Caylee is dead, and he was just standing there wondering if that baby is really buried somewhere in those woods.  George doesn’t seem to be as entrenched in the fantasy as Cindy is.

I’m for sure not buying that he was scouting a KidFinders tent location.

Watch the video here:

http://www.wftv.com/video/17891724/index.html

Read about it here:

http://www.wftv.com/news/17891218/detail.html#-

15 Comments leave one →
  1. trensota permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:14 pm

    So George being there had nothing to do with their investigation? But there may be things the defense team cannot talk about. Really, those two statements seem somewhat contradictory to me. Either it has nothing to do with the defense, or it has something to do with the defense, but they can’t talk about it. One or the other, not both.

    If I had to take a guess at something to do with the defense, which they are not talking about, I’d guess it has to do with one of Casey’s lies. Like, this is where she met with kidnappers and paid ransom or blackmail to them. (that would explain/excuse her need to steal lots of money from friends and family) And she said they just disappeared off into the woods, and George was trying to picture it, to believe it, and to think where they could have come from or gone off to.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 4, 2008 9:18 pm

    trensota

    Good points. I sure wouldn’t put it past her, and that scenario makes sense.

  3. hawg59 permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:39 pm

    I think George was just looking into the woods…. wondering if his little granddaughter is buried out there somewhere waiting to be found. I think deep down he knows.

  4. Susie permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:45 pm

    I thought that Casey said they took her in Blanchard Park. I might think the either George knows something or he is leading Tim Miller away from the airport location in search for Caylee. This case is so crazy that you really dont know whats going on, until the trial.

  5. November 4, 2008 9:57 pm

    She is going off the deep end now…I could understand her behavior when surrounded by the media in front of the home–how does one explain this?

  6. November 4, 2008 10:21 pm

    This search, this family that aren’t searching for a ‘body’, Casey’s stories, and this attorney, simply mocks the word: explanation! Casey seems to have Mr. Baez wrapped, doesn’t she? George and Cindy? They know somewhere in their hearts and souls that Tim Miller and his team are about to find Caylee. I believe that they are preparing their hearts as best they can. Having to face this harshest of realities cannot be easy. It is the not knowing that is so unmerciful. I KNOW! My Heather has been missing since August 26, 1995. http://www.WhereIsHeatherTeague.com
    As I lie down tonight, I don’t know where my firstborn daughter is. A part of my breath…my life…is gone. There are no words to describe the ache, the pain and the loss. George and Cindy’s hearts break every time they open a cabinet and see Caylee’s sippy cup. Their hearts break on a daily basis when they haven’t seen Caylee in her bed for months now. Their hearts cannot grasp that their own daughter has done something so cruel as to take away the most precious gift God ever gave them. I believe Caylee’s homecoming is near. We must pray for George and for Cindy for God to uphold them as they goodbye to their daughter and to their only grandchild. Matthew10:26 says that there will be nothing hidden that won’t be revealed. This scripture verse will lead Tim Miller to Caylee.

  7. tonill permalink
    November 5, 2008 5:12 am

    He wasnt looking for Caylee he was trying to think of a way to fuck up the eccusearch..

  8. julie permalink
    November 5, 2008 6:39 am

    Maybe George wants Caylee found, so he was in that area to lead investigators to that spot.
    I think George is the most sane of the bunch and wants closure. that poor family are at their wits end.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 5, 2008 7:06 am

    I think Susie is right–“this case is so crazy you really don’t know what’s going on until the trial”

    I just hope TES finds Caylee, and that the trial will bring some REAL answers.

  10. monica111466 permalink
    November 5, 2008 11:42 am

    I am torn by this information…part of me is suspicious and the other thinks I am just being paranoid.
    One part says that he should have brought someone with him…the other part says…why should he?…He has not broken any laws.
    Part of me believe LE is following the family…quietly. The other part of me knows that they are perfectly aware of that and know it would be very stupid to make a wrong movement.

    I did speak with EquuSearch again yesterday and Tim is already there in Florida. I think Leonard will be there tomorrow.
    Yesterday I spoke with Erin and let me tell you all that they are VERY optimistic! They really believe Caylee will be found this trip….So everyone PLEASE pray the great weather holds and nothing gets in the way of the search.

  11. niecey456 permalink
    November 5, 2008 11:50 am

    I pray she is found, and I believe she will be.

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 5, 2008 1:58 pm

    I hope they find her. This will be a long weekend for everyone.

  13. monica111466 permalink
    November 5, 2008 3:46 pm

    Oh yes…it sure will.
    Did I tell y’all that I am not going to be able to go? 😦
    Well, they never received my application…they looked and looked…finally we figured out what had happened….I sent it to the office address rather than the P.O. box….Evidently Tim is the only one with a key to that box and since he is always on the go…it doesn’t get checked as often.
    So the manually put me into the system and it is pending.
    But they have my home and cell numbers and can call me if they need me to do anything…I can even drive to the office.
    Anyway…I was a little disappointed cause I really wanted to go…but I believe everything happens for a reason and there must be a reason that I shouldn’t be there this weekend.
    So I will be right here praying and waiting for good news with all of you.
    We also talked about my nephews missing mother…but I’ll tell y’all about that later.

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 5, 2008 4:05 pm

    I’m sorry you are unable to be there Monica. I know it was important for you to be there as it would be for any of us that lived in the area.

  15. niecey456 permalink
    November 5, 2008 6:19 pm

    I am sorry too. I believe, like you Monica, that there’s a reason for everything. I think they are going to find her and Mystery, you are so right, it will be a long weekend.

Leave a Reply

