Skip to content

Day 1 in search for Caylee Anthony ends in disappointment for TES

November 8, 2008

tes-search1Today was not the day that Caylee would come home.

It was a disappointment for TES and the volunteers that numbered around 1500. They found clothing and animal bones, but little else.  The number of people that showed up, though impressive, fell short by half of being the largest search group in US history.  Their numbers would have had to exceed 3000 volunteers to claim that title.

The search will begin again in the morning, and TES is asking for more volunteers, donations, food, and water.  If Caylee’s body isn’t found by Monday, Tim Miller and TES will then decide whether or not to continue the search.

George Anthony went to the Kid Finder’s command and volunteer center this afternoon and said he held no ill will for TES and their belief that Caylee is dead.  He continues to hope that she is found alive.  George said that Cindy was not taking the search very well.

The Anthonys’ weren’t there, but Mark Nejame, their attorney was at the search site early this morning to show his support.

Someone commenting on a previous blog I wrote, reminded me of something that I know we’ve all had in the back of our minds this weekend but hated to even think about, let alone say out loud–If Casey put Caylee’s body in a dumpster or threw her in a swampy area, she will probably not be found this weekend–or ever.

Everyone please continue to pray for TES and the volunteers.  Please continue to keep the Anthonys’ in your prayers as well.  And may God’s will be done.

You can read the articles this information was taken from below:

http://www.wesh.com/news/17939308/detail.html

http://www.wftv.com/news/17938513/detail.html

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 9:59 pm

    I just don’t think that if the body was in such a state of decomposition that it left a stain and smelled as bad as it did that little prissy casey would’ve carried it way out into the woods! I hate to say this, but I’m sure she was tossed in a dumpster.Anyone???

  2. niecey456 permalink
    November 9, 2008 12:54 am

    My only problem with that is it seems to me that if enough bodily fluids leaked in the trunk to make the whole care smell like that, then the dumpster and the truck would have smelled like that and you’d think someone would notice that. I’ve never smelled a dead human body, but I have smelled a dead animal and it is much worse of a smell than rotting garbage. JMO.

  3. Karen permalink
    November 9, 2008 7:13 am

    I agree that it’s hard to believe Casey would haul a decomposing body into the brush. None of her friends affidavits mention Casey having scrapes or scratches on her arms and the search areas near the brush look very dry and prickly. Then again, she apparently drove around with the car smelling that way.
    We haven’t heard what fluids caused that stain yet, which is ominous. niecey456, I have smelled a dead body and it’s so powerful that you can smell it feet away, just like George and Lee described it as choking. It would be noticed in a dumpster even after that load was dumped.

  4. Kari permalink
    November 9, 2008 7:38 am

    I did read one guestimate that the body was in the trunk only 2-3 days. I’m not sure how much smell and decomposition would have occurred in that amount of time. The overpowering smell would seem to have developed later, and must have been from bodily fluids leaked into the trunk–and on the bag.

    So, if she got rid of the body after 2 days, why did she not get rid of that bag as well?

    Which day did she text Amy that she finally got rid of the smell?
    The more I try to apply any common sense to this case, the more it doesn’t make any sense.

    We need a forensics expert, or a coroner or something, to tell us how that smell could have developed. Would the body have to be in the trunk for x many days, or could it have been just the fluids left behind? How many days might it need to, er, ripen? Would the smell have permeated the clothing, hair, etc., of the car’s driver? How about passengers or things in the back seat?

    I can’t remember where I read the 2-3 days estimate, was that the body farm? There was a previous statement about 11 days, but I think that was just the time from when Caylee was last seen 6/16 to when the car was abandoned 6/27.

    Anyways, thanks, Mystery for a sensitive post, and I will certainly have the Anthonys and Caylee in my prayers as what we hope will be the end of this ordeal approaches…

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 9, 2008 7:50 am

    Kari
    You are reading my mind! I’m writing a blog I’ll post in a little while posing those very questions The timeline and the smell have been bothering me for a while and I’m hoping by posting a blog about it, someone can answer those questions for us.

  6. November 9, 2008 7:59 am

    KARI- You’re right- the 2-3 days was an estimate from the body farm….Great questions and yes we do need someone who’s an expert….I really hope the trial goes ahead, body or no. I don’t know about all you others but this mystery captures WAY too much of my thinking!!!I find myself thinking about this case at the craziests times-is CRASZEY happy about that or what-so many people are thinking about her!!! I hate that!!I wish I could quit this!!!!But mysterys have been my”thing” since I could read-HEY, does anyone else remember “Encyclopedia Brown”?? :)HAHA

  7. pak31 permalink
    November 9, 2008 8:32 am

    OMG, I used to love Encyclopedia Brown!! But that was many many years ago. I thought I had dates sorted out but now you guys have me all confused. LE feels she died on the 16th, the day Casey’s cell phone made a gazillion calls. Then on the 18th, I think, is when all that pinging was going on, it was also the day she borrowed that shovel too right? Could a basketball stain cause the car to wreak that bad?? I guess if the car smelled that bad a month after she supposedly died, the death smell must be a pretty powerful thing. Stacy, this case does consume me too. It’s just so frustrating, not knowing where Caylee could be. To think that Casey knows exactly what happened to Caylee’s body and here is all of us trying to figure it out sickens me. That one person could actually just say what happened and it would end all of this, but she won’t.

  8. pak31 permalink
    November 9, 2008 8:34 am

    P.S. Sorry, my grammar isn’t the greatest in that post above. I forgot to proofread.

  9. Mary permalink
    November 9, 2008 10:28 am

    Tell all those loud-mouthed protestors to get there butts out there and help search

  10. Kari permalink
    November 9, 2008 9:24 pm

    So you girls got to read Encyclopedia Brown as kids? I only came to him later, as an adult. Yeah, I do like kids’ books sometimes as recreational reading. Generally you can count on a happy ending with kids’ books, and not so much gratuitous bodice-ripping and zombie-hacking.

    I grew up as a fantasy/sci-fi fan, but later I went to mysteries. I’ve read and reread all of the Sherlock Holmes stories, everything written by Agatha Christie, all of Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody stories, the Lord Peter Whimsey stories, the Agatha Raisin series….amongst others.

    I think Mystery is of a slightly more delicate nature than some of us. It is certainly very considerate, charming, and rather victorian the way she warns the squeamish about possible stomach-turning conversations.

    I see you as a young Miss Marple, Mystery, full of insights and tch-tching over the evil men do…

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 9, 2008 10:16 pm

    Kari! I’m LOL–so hard I’m crying! I love you!

    And just so you know, I am a huge Agatha Christie fan!

  12. truth4caylee permalink
    November 9, 2008 10:31 pm

    Remember when one of the cadaver dogs hit on Caylee’s play house ( outside ) at the Anthony home? and Cindy said, Caylee had peed in there ( shaking head ) hmmmmm???? I think the body has been moved a few times.

Leave a Reply

