Skip to content

Update: Caylee Anthony search Saturday, November 8

November 8, 2008

Several sites have reported a suspicious bag was pulled from a pond at Blanchard Park, but it appears it was just a bag of dog bones.  TES reported that there are a lot less volunteers than expected. An update is below.

ORANGE COUNTY< Fla. (WOFL FOX 35, Orlando)–Texas Equusearch has confirmed 1,500 volunteers helped in the search for missing Caylee Anthony today, about half as many as the group had expected.

A bag of bones divers pulled from a body of water behind Blanchard Park YMCA this morning turned out to be dog bones.  Divers turned the bag over to crime scene investigators, who hauled it away around noon.

The team plans to continue searching until sundown today.  If they are unable to find Caylee, they will pick up their search again Sunday morning.

Hundreds of volunteers have completed their check-ins Saturday morning and have begun the search for Caylee Anthony.

One bus and two caravans left for the search sites at around 9:30 this morning, with another bus full of searchers cued up.

Upwards of 3000 volunteers were expected to turn out for the massive operation, but a final count would not be complete until later today.

You can read this article at Fox35, Orlando here

 
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kari permalink
    November 8, 2008 3:50 pm

    Well, record-breaking numbers of volunteers would have been nice, but 1500 isn’t shabby, either.

    If it were here in Indiana, I’d blame the weather, which has suddenly taken a turn for the wintry, dropping about 20 degrees overnight and clapping a heavy grey cloud cover across formerly crystal blue skies. Do the searchers have nice weather down there?

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 8, 2008 4:06 pm

    Weather in Orlando–sounds pretty good to me!

    Saturday
    Partly Cloudy
    81° F | 54° F
    27° C | 12° C

    Sunday
    Clear
    77° F | 52° F
    25° C | 11° C

  3. Susie permalink
    November 8, 2008 6:13 pm

    I still say Casey is telling hakf truths she just didnt put her somewhere because she would know where she is. She either put he in the dumpster and that dumpster went somewhere and she doesnt know where it went. Or she put her in water and she went down stream therefore she doesnt know where she is.

  4. friendlymom permalink
    November 8, 2008 8:10 pm

    A poem for Caylee.

    YOUR LITTLE ANGEL

    I’m only a small child, not much do I know.
    But God holds my hand as I look down below.
    I’m here with the Father in the most glorious place
    yet I can’t feel much joy when I see your sad face.

    Your heart has been broken, I can see from up here
    as you struggle along and you wipe every tear.
    If only I had words I could send you today
    that would tell you I’m home and I’m really okay.

    Heaven is so beautiful with sparkles and white wings
    and the angels are teaching me so many things.
    I’ll grow and mature in this Heavenly land
    while holding on tightly to the Father’s soft hand.

    So don’t grieve for me now, but find peace in your soul,
    and know God has finally made your little one whole.
    And even if you can’t seem to understand “why”,
    please know in your heart that our love didn’t die.

    He tells me that just for a time we must wait
    and then I can meet you at Heaven’s front gate!
    So for now, know I love you in my own special way
    and we will meet again on that glorious day!

    by Ferna Lary Mills

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 8, 2008 8:20 pm

    Friendlymom,

    Beautiful poem!

    Susie,

    if one of those theories is correct, then TES is wasting their time, and she will most likely never be found. That’s my fear, anyway.

  6. fernalea99 permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:20 pm

    I learned through an email today that my poem, “Your Little Angel” is being sent throughout the web by “friendlymom” and titled “Caylee’s Poem”. This is the poem I wrote to help those grieving the loss of a small child, however it was not written specifically for Caylee . This poem, “Your Little Angel” is protected under copyright laws, which means any and all reprints must have prior approval. I do give my approval for you to leave the poem at this website providing you correct the title. Thank you. My heart goes out to all who have lost a small child and I hope the poem brings them comfort.. – Ferna Lary Mills

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 6, 2009 8:32 pm

    done! And it is a beautiful poem. Thank you for writing it.

Leave a Reply

