Skip to content

George and Cindy Anthony back in their house, and their new attorney talks to the press

December 15, 2008

George and Cindy are back in their house.  Their new attorney Brad Conway spoke with Eyewitness News and said they are devastated and want privacy. He said they are trying to come to terms with the fact that Caylee may be gone.  “They would like the public to understand what they’re going through and to be left alone,” Conway said. “They’re devastated.”

Conway was seen at the home Sunday night holding up a device with a blinking red light around the house–possibly to search for hidden surveillance devices that investigators may have placed in the house.  Conway said there have been constant rumors since the remains of a child believed to be Caylee were found in a wooded area down the street.  “These people have done nothing wrong, I don’t like the public criticism, and I don’t like the false rumors,” he said. “They’ve cooperated fully, they’ve got nothing to hide and they’ll continue to cooperate,” Conway stated.

Last week, Eyewitness News was told that prosecutors may consider building an obstruction of justice case against the Anthonys.

You can read the full article here:

http://www.wftv.com/news/18279065/detail.html#-

The rumors (and I’m not sure I would call them “rumors”} that Cindy and George have obstructed justice didn’t start when they found the body.They started when Cindy washed Casey’s pants and cleaned the car. And that’s not JMO.

I feel really bad for them, and if Cindy had truly convinced herself that Caylee was out there somewhere (and I’m one of those that tend to believe she had) I can’t imagine the pain  she must be feeling today. I thought by their silence, that they had decided to follow advice and allow the authorities to do their job.  But, after Michelle Bart’s statement yesterday and statements Jose Baez has made, I’m thinking the new story will be that the body was planted.

Someone made the comment yesterday that this just wouldn’t make sense.  The body was found in an area nobody goes and was extremely overgrown and snakey.  It was sheer luck (or divine intervention) that the guy from the utility company was compelled to take a leak in those woods in that spot.  I don’t know about you, but I doubt I would have opened that trashbag.  I would have been afraid of snakes, or whatever.  Anyway, the chance of anyone stumbling across it were remote.  If you plant evidence you want it to be found and would put it somewhere to insure that happened.

I think it will  have to be something as dramatic as the duct tape having Casey’s fingerprints on it for George and Cindy to believe their daughter had something to do with Caylee’s death, and to keep the planted evidence idea from being spun.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. tonill permalink
    December 15, 2008 7:29 am

    THERE BETTER BE FINGER PRINTS OF CASEYS ON THAT DUCT TAPE, CINDY NEEDS A WAKE UP CALL AND I DONT THINK I COULD STAND ANOTHER ROUND FIRST IT WAS CAYLEE IS ALIVE NOW IT WILL BE SOMEONE ELSE HAD TO HAVE DONE IT.. CINDY DID NOT BELIEVE THE FORENSIC EVIDENCE BEFORE SHE WILL NOT BELIEVE ANY OF IT NOW SHE IS A STUPID STUPID WOMAN AND I FEEL NO PITY WHAT SO EVER FOR HER SHE BLEW IT A LONG TIME AGO.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 15, 2008 7:43 am

    I can understand your point of view tonill–but, surely, if the prints are Casey’s she’ll have to accept it.

  3. chuck permalink
    December 15, 2008 7:55 am

    I dont believe one word of the bullcrap…Because when george and Cindy Anthony were on the plane and new about the discovery, they could care less. George and Cindy Anthony were very calm and relaxed, and Cindy was mad and hung up the phone on the police…So now all of a sudden they are devastated…BULLCRAP 100%

  4. chuck permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:08 am

    You want to talk about cover-up, when it comes to George and Cindy Anthony….Cindy washed Caseys pants to remove evidence..Cindy and George cleaned the trunk of Caseys car after they both new in was Human decompostion, and dont tell me they did not know..George Anthony was a Homoside Dectective for 15 years, and Cindy Anthony was a nurse for 15 years..Let me go on…Cindy gave the wrong hair brush to the police and FBI…George and Cindy Anthony said their was a pizza in the trunk of Caseys car, when in fact their was only a box no pizza…George, Cindy and Lee all talked in codes at the jail and tip toed around Casey to make up stories to fool people and the police…Goerge and Cindy Anthony BAD MOUTHED the police on all of the evidence… SHALL I GO ON..The Anthonys are 100% involved in the cover-up of the murder of little Caylee..They should all rot in HELL…Just My Thoughts…

  5. December 15, 2008 8:19 am

    Last night I went back into some of the archives and read what Richard Grund (Jessy’s father)told police. He had a conversation with George right after Casey was jailed. Basically he said that George told him that he has to do what Cindy says, that she runs the family, period, she is in complete control, he has no say.

    So even now Cindy’s control is easy to see. Look at the unbelievable performance of George on the LK show. That was just out and out disgusting. Cindy’s brain works just like Casey and she will twist and twist and make it sound like it is everyone else fault. Stay tuned to becoming dizzy with all her spin. In fact in the up coming months and years the word “spin” will be changed to “Cindy”.

    John

  6. REBECCA permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:57 am

    I AM STILL ON THE BLUE DRESS ……I THINK IT WILL BE AS IMPORTANT AS THE DUCT TAPE….REBECCA

  7. Hilde permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:59 am

    Brad Conway seems to be a Person who does have the best Interest for the Anthony’s in Mind.
    I also want to believe that C & G will take his Advice to stay in the Background and
    deal with the Facts in Privacy.

    Myself I like to believe in the Good of People.
    So, again I will give C & G the Benefit of the Doubt, that they will do the right thing in the Memory of their Granddaughter Caylee.

    So far in my Opinion they haven’t done that.

    Also there is no Doubt in my Mind that the Defense will come up with a lot of Explanations why Casey couldn’t have killed her Daughter and someone else had to do this awful Thing.

    For Casey I have no Compassion whatsoever what she is going through.

    The onle One I am thinking
    of is Caylee and what she must have went through before she took her last Breath!

  8. December 15, 2008 9:13 am

    I fail to understand why Cindy and George Anthony knowing from the 1st breath that darling precious child took that their daughter had no ability to care for, protect and support their granddaughter did not seek Guardianship. Had they done so, knowing their daughters poor history long before it came to this, things very possibly would have turned out different. It took them over 3 weeks for Cindy to look for her granddaughter to make sure she was okey. I am a grandmother who has Guardianship of my darling precious granddaughter. I like Cindy took care of financially and physically my granddaughter since she was 1st born. My daughters prior behavior was similar to Casey’s and because of that when my daughter took my granddaughter out of my home for a week because we had a argument, not only did I send my son’s and husband the next day to look for my granddaughter to make sure she was safe but I also went to Court and sought Guardianship. I won. My granddaughter just turned 3 years this Dec. I felt it was MY RESPONSIBILITY to protect my granddaughter because my daughter like Casey put her needs and wants 1st. My responsibility Then and Today is to protect my Granddaughter and NOT my Daughter. My daughter has choices, my granddaughter doesn’t. George and Cindy failed to step in having the knowledge they did to protect Caylee. No parent wants to go into a public court and tell the judge what a animal they raised. I can’t tell you how hard it was for us. I spent months crying in and out of court. But it was my responsibility to protect my granddaughter because her mother wasn’t. Cindy’s threats to Casey after more than 3 weeks of not knowing where Caylee was and knowing her daughter better than anyone came to late. Hell would freeze over before I protected my daughter over my granddaughter or if she harmed my granddaughter in anyway. I don’t have empathy or compassion for George or Cindy. They had 2 1/2 years to take legal action to protect Caylee. I stay tuned on this case and needless to say it has hit close to home for my husband and I. I thank God everyday that I mustered the strength to take the legal steps I did. My daughter also stole my granddaughters piggy bank. Caylee, I am so sorry the adults failed you in this life. You have touched our hearts and are loved.

  9. pak31 permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:27 am

    Of course the defense is going to come up with whatever they need to in order to make Casey look innocent. That is what the jurors need to keep in mind, the job of the defense is to instill reasonable doubt in the juror’s minds. I don’t see how they can do that in this case but they HAVE to, they have nothing else. As far as the body being planted, I just don’t think it was. It’s possible, anything is possible. Would LE or someone hold onto a dead body that people have been trying to find and then just put it out there? Hopefully, police will find out. I find it hard to believe LE would do it then make all of the forensic teams do all of this work in that brush and woods? How do we know that the day Casey borrowed the shovel, she didn’t dig up Caylee or take her from the trunk and carry her to those woods and bury her? Now that the weeks and flooding has subsided, her body may have surfaced. Who knows?? At this point anything is possible. I will wait to see what they determine from the condition of the bag, fingerprints, etc.
    Johninflorida’s comment about George. It’s ridiculous that a grown man would let a woman control him like that. I am a woman and a wife and I would never dream of pulling my husband around by his nose constantly. But, he obviously lets her do it, so I lose a bit of respect for him not standing up for himself. She doesn’t own him. I don’t care for over controlling people. His behavior on LK WAS humiliating. He was like a wounded puppy. How could you step foot on that set and let yourself be humiliated like that on live t.v.???? It wasn’t even for any good, it’s all stuff they have already talked about before.
    As for the body being found in an area no one goes to, how did this person know that?? I have read that this area was frequented by several people, including Casey herself years ago. I just can’t believe everything that everyone says. Reports have stated that the water just left that area only 2 weeks ago, so that makes sense to me that no one looked there yet. It wasn’t that far off from the road either. Plus John already stated that he felt that was where Caylee was the whole time.

  10. Hilde permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:31 am

    Rebecca~~ what Blue Dress?

  11. pak31 permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:37 am

    First let me say in NO WAY am I in support of the Anthonys in my statment below:

    Christina, I praise you for doing what you did, unselfish and loving. It should have been something Cindy did, but she didn’t. She was considering it, but it came too late. You do have to remember that you can’t look at Cindy’s situation completely from your point of view though. You and Cindy are two completely different people. You didn’t tolerate your daughter’s behavior, Cindy seems to have. Hindsight is 20/20 as they say and it’s easy to look back on something and ask why? or if only. They had options and choices and we can’t control what they did or didn’t do. What’s done is done. Somehow or another, they all will pay for their sins. There are a lot of other people in this world that make stupid or horrible choices everyday. They should not have let Casey get away with so much, they knew what she was capable of yet they still kept feeding her ego. According to Cindy, she didn’t come physically searching because she talked to Casey every other day and she trusted her. Now that is surprising because she said it was the longest she went without seeing both of them and didn’t get to talk to Caylee. She should have acted sooner. If only we could all intervene and help all the sweet children of this world before tragic situations happen but we can’t. Luckily, you have given a little girl a great chance at a wonderful life.

  12. December 15, 2008 9:38 am

    It was stated that it was FLOODED and swampy with lots of snakes by Tim Miller and Leonard Padilla. They didn’t continue a search there because of that. Then when he went back,after the flood water receded, it had been fenced off. It was not searched thoroughly.

    Casey’s friend said it was their hide-out when they were young. I don’t know who hung out there before, but it had been flooded and then fenced off. My point was that it wasn’t a place where people were likely to be hanging out now. If you were going to plant evidence, wouldn’t you choose a place you knew was going to be searched? Like the Little Econ River??? Padilla was there and stated he was going back. He’s the only one that was searching at this point, other than a few TES volunteers and a few psychics.

    Pak31, I did not make that up. Tim Miller and Leonard Padilla stated it. If you don’t believe me, go search the video archives and read it for yourself.

  13. artgal16 permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:40 am

    I think there is a difference between “suspecting” that their daughter killed
    Caylee and actually having the physical evidence found that proves that Caylee is dead. Thats why they are truly devastated now, and I believe they are. Its one
    thing to think you know, but there is just a nagging little doubt that can keep hope
    alive and I think the Anthonys maintained that little hope. Thats why they clung
    to the Caylee is alive story, after all, they thought, why would innocent people with no agenda swear up and down they saw Caylee alive? I dont know the psychology
    of why people say such things, but Ive known for a long time that they do. LE knows it too – something like 15 percent of people who confess to a crime are innocent of that crime and actually have no knowlege of it except what they read in the papers.
    I guess its the same type of thing with thinking you saw Caylee. The woman who swore
    she saw Caylee on the airplane, was just plain unbalanced and everyone knew it, but
    no one would come out and say it. She shouldnt have been given any airtime.

  14. Hilde permalink
    December 15, 2008 9:47 am

    Pack31, I wish there would be more People do what You did, it had to be hard but it was the right thing to do.

    We had a Neighbor who had to do the same thing as You, they raised 3 Grandchildren.
    Their Father was an Alcoholic and also in and out of Jail for different Things, armed Robbery one.
    The Mother wasn’t much better.
    The Children would have ended up in Foster Care.
    The Grandparents took Charge and raised the Children.
    There are I guess more People out there who will do the right Thing to protect the Children, just
    like You have done.
    There is still good in the World.

    The Anthony’s I agree failed to protect Caylee.

    Now would be the time for them to do what they can to stand up for Caylee and bring Justice for her and make Casey responsible for her Actions in Caylee’s Death as hard as that may be for them.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 15, 2008 9:50 am

    I agree 100% artgal. And Christina, I also agree with you. I look at my little grandson and I think there is no way if my son and I had an argument and he took off with her that I wouldn’t move heaven and earth to find them and make sure that child was okay. I wouldn’t wait a month–especially if I knew there was a problem–Cindy had seen a counselor the problem was so big, and she was considering getting custody. Under those circumstances, no way would a month go by. Also, I would have met the babysitter of two years.

    I agree with Pak31 that no two people are alike and that hindsight is 20/20, but good grief! Cindy appeared to be Caylee’s prime caregiver. Makes no sense that she just let it all go that long.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 15, 2008 9:51 am

    Christina-Bravo for what you’ve done to insure the safety of your grandchild!

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 15, 2008 9:53 am

    Yes, Hilde!! I agree with you. NOW is the time for them to stand up and make Casey take responsibility for what she did. They can’t go back and change the past, but they can make sure justice is served in Caylee’s death.

  18. December 15, 2008 10:27 am

    Thank You, but no praises. My husband and I did what Grandmas and Grandpas are suppose to do. I am not proud of my daughter nor the negative impact she has had on society. Stepping in and protecting Mariah was and is my responsibility. The courts are full of Family Members like myself and my husband here in California. Standing Room Only in a Large Courtroom! Mariah has given me back more than I have ever given her.

    I hope we learn from this. I hope and pray more family members take note of this when they see the signs. If we see or know something is wrong CALL Someone, Report It, Go to Court, Do Something . . . Anything!

    It breaks my heart!

  19. REBECCA permalink
    December 15, 2008 10:53 am

    HILDE, THE BLUE DRESS CASEY WAS WEARING AT THE BAR WHERE SHE IS DANCING WITH THE GIRL..REBECCA

  20. tonill permalink
    December 15, 2008 11:26 am

    WJAT DOES THE BLUE DRESS HAVE TO DO WITH ANY OF THIS??? DID YOU LIKE IT AND WANT ONE FOR YOURSELF AND WAS WONDERING WEAR SHE BOUGHT IT? IM CONFUSED 🙂

  21. December 15, 2008 1:09 pm

    hi mystery, I was also thinking about what has been said about the anthonys may be sticking to the zanny story, and I bet now with this change of events unfolding that Crazy Casey now says that she placed under gunpoint and threatened to put Caylee’s body in the bag and duct tape her little mouth and that is the reason he fingerprints and fibers are on there or something outrageous like that and perhaps that she and her family would be next. With this pathological liar anything is possible. She’s probably trying to piece it together in jail right now. Your justice will come little Caylee!!!

  22. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 15, 2008 8:11 pm

    I hope not Nancy. I hope the truth comes out whatever it is. Leonard Padilla said he thought the duct tape on the mouth was put there after she died so it would appear the kidnappers did it. The Anthonys attorney said tonight in a video interview I saw on Fox news that the Anthonys believe Zaneida did this if it turns out to be Caylee’s body. Not the Zenaida the police found but a different one. I just hope the truth can still be found and that the evidence will be so strong that there won’t be any room for speculation.

Leave a Reply

