Skip to content

Kiomarie Cruz, Casey’s childhood friend suggested searching area where body was found 5 months ago

December 16, 2008

Investigators are expected to continue their search for clues today in the woods where a child’s remains were found.

5 months ago, one of Casey’s friends told detectives to look for Caylee’s body in this same area. Kiomarie Cruz, a childhood friend of Casey told police that the wooded area near Hidden Oaks Elementary School was a hang out for them when they were children.

In an interview, Cruz told detectives she and Casey, “pretty much used to hangout there most of our time,” would “snack on food for hours,” and went there to “get away from our parents.”

Unfortunately, when the sheriff’s office got that information the whole area was covered in flood waters and couldn’t be searched.

read the full article here:

http://www.wftv.com/news/18288396/detail.html#-

Below is page 12 from the Kiomarie Cruz interview.  I’ll post the entire interview later today if you don’t already have it.

kiomarie-cruz-page-12

6 Comments leave one →
  1. pak31 permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:20 am

    I remember reading this girl’s interview a few months back. Like you said, surely they checked it out but it was under water. I think if this guy didn’t find it, then eventually police would have found her there. Maybe Casey wanted out of jail before to go look for her daughter only to go move her. Didn’t she want to go alone? I cant’ remember. Regardless, if someone close to her easily could guess where Caylee may have been and that is where she was found, I don’t think Casey really took the time to bury her so that no one would find her. It seems strange considering that if it was pre meditated, she would do all of this searching to find a way to kill her yet then she just puts her body in an obvious spot. Unless, maybe after the act she felt remorse. I don’t know.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 16, 2008 10:23 am

    Maybe she needed to dump her there quickly and thought she would be coming back later to move the body. I still think this area was no longer a place where people hung out regularly anymore and she must have felt it was a relatively safe place to dump her.

  3. deb permalink
    December 16, 2008 11:59 am

    I haven’t read the interview with Kio, Was it under water at the ime she was interviewed ? IMO Casey put her there knowing it would flood sooner or later and there would be know way to search it. I guess she forgot that wet areas eventually dry out. All i know is this poor helpless baby has been found with the help of God. God put that guy there for a reason and led him to pick up the bag. I’m just completely heartbroken, She had the prettiest smile and she looked so happy at home, playing with her toys, reading her books, feeling completely safe and one day her entire world was up rooted and she was taken from the place she knew as home. I wonder how many times she ask to go home and Casey being the ” selfish bitch ” that she is wouldn’t take her. I know my grand baby cried for me when my B*tch daughter-in-law left with her, because this was the only place she felt was home. I was more of her mother than her own was,. She sometimes would try and keep her overnight and that poor baby cried herself to sleep, wanting to be with her grannie and be at home where she felt loved and safe. Hell when she would keep her overnight , i had to supply food , diapers , ect. She had nothing at all to give that baby what she needed, Didn’t matter to her, she was jealous of me and just let her cry until she would scream for her to shut the f*ck up and go to sleep. She wanted my sweet grand baby scared of her. She told me once when she was at her mother’s house , the only thing she knew to do with her was to force feed her. The baby was a nervous wreck evreytime she took her away ” out of spite ” . When she would bring her back , someone could raise their voice and this child literally tried to bury her head in my chest. It is so un fair in my state that grand parents have little or no rights as fas as gaining custody of your grand child. These laws need to be changed. My heart breaks for Caylee, she deserved so much more .

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 16, 2008 12:13 pm

    That just breaks my heart Deb. How is your grandbaby now?

    I don’t know if it was underwater when she did the interview. I know it was when they got around to doing a search and had to call it off.

  5. December 16, 2008 3:30 pm

    Thanks for posting this interview Mystery. I have been wanting to read this transcript. I really appreciate all the hard work in putting all this stuff together.

    Pak31, oh my gosh! I had forgotten about Casey Anthony wanting to go out searching by herself!
    I can’t wait to see this girl testifying on the stand at trial.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 16, 2008 9:15 pm

    Your welcome Nancy! I had more than a little trouble locating the thing!

Leave a Reply

