Skip to content

Was Caylee Anthony’s book at the crime scene?

December 18, 2008

The police have released 171 photographs of the crime scene.  1 photograph shows what appears to be a book on the ground.  It resembles a book Caylee was reading in the last known video of  her before she disappeared. Is it hers? Is this one of the items tied to the Anthony house?  The sheriff’s office wouldn’t comment on the photo.

Whatever the object — a book, a cereal box, wrapping paper or whatever
— no close-up photos of it were released by investigators, who have
said that the wooded area is full of debris. The close up on right, below, was blown up by the Orlando Sentinel.

Here’s the thing–If that area was under water, and her body had been there all along, wouldn’t  that book if it survived at all, have disentigrated?  Maybe not if it was in the trash bag?  I don’t know.  But if that is a book, it looks like it’s in pretty good shape from where I’m lookin’.  So the whole thing seems doubtful to me….

http://www.orlandosentinel.com/orl-caylee-anthony-book-121808,0,4733443.story

caylee-reading-her-book3caylees-bookcaylees-book-close-up2

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Nina permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:31 pm

    Kinda hard to tell if it was a book or what it was.I would think if anything could of been some what in tact it would of had to been in the garbage bag,especially if it was all under water for that long.I dont think a book being under water would look that good if that was what it was.This whole thing is getting way to insane.Wonder what the next few days will bring!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 18, 2008 9:34 pm

    I don’t know, but if it gets much worse I’m headin’ “Through the Garden Gate” and I might not come back! LOL

  3. Nina permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:41 pm

    Mystery I was just thinking that book that Caylee has in that photo,was the same kind I use to get my grandchildren..They were hard books.The only way I can explain the kind of books.if they marked on them with crayon they could be easily washed off.

  4. December 18, 2008 9:42 pm

    It is possible if it is even a book that it remained in the double plastic bag and did not get wet. WOULDN’T THAT BE GREAT. Heard Casey is back true to form ordering snacks and playing cards. OH, LET ME GUESS, She is just trying to keep her mind off of things and you know one just cannot read books all day long. lol

  5. pak31 permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:45 pm

    That is too freaky. It really does look like that book. This whole thing is so sad and so strange. I wish we all could just know what really happened.

  6. December 18, 2008 9:45 pm

    Nina, the outside of these type books do have that shiney type finish on them so now you have me thinking more, i can see for sure the entire cover of this type book could survive even getting wet a long time. only the paper pages inside would get ruined with water. I HOPE IT IS A BOOK AND IT IS CAYLEE’S FAVORITE BOOK.

  7. Nina permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:50 pm

    So there is a possibilty if that was that type of book it may have been.I am not saying it was a book at all.Its hard to really tell ,but if it comes out it was for sure then I can bet it the type of book that Caylee had in the photo.It still would look like a book even if it has been under water for that length of time.perfect no but at least would be able to tell for sure it had been a book.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 18, 2008 9:51 pm

    Yes, good point Nina. Those books with that type of coating can even take a rub down with a damp rag. I hope it’s the book, too! Although, I don’t know how that would prove much. Casey could say the babysitter took the book along with Caylee.

  9. tonill permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:55 pm

    HEY MYSTERY JUST POSTED THIS ON ANOTHER BLOG THAT BOOK IN THE WOODS IS NOT THE SAME BOOK CAYLEE WAS READING IN THE NURSING HOME. THE ONE IN THE WOODS HAS A FEW PICS OF DIFFERNENT ANIMALS ON THE COVER AND WAS ALL YELLOW THE BOOK SHE WAS READING HAD A PICTURE OF ONE BIG CAT ON THE COVER.. THAT BOOK IN THE WOODS MAY HAVE BELONGED TO CAYLEE BUT IT WAS NOT THE ONE SHE WAS READING… JUST WANTED TO LET YA KNOW

  10. tonill permalink
    December 18, 2008 9:57 pm

    AND THE ONE SHE WAS READING WAS A BABY BLUE COLOR AROUND THE EDGES I BELIEVE

  11. December 18, 2008 9:58 pm

    MYSTERY, TRUE CASEY COULD SAY THE BABYSITTER TOOK THE BOOK ALONG WITH HER, BUT WHY WOULD THE BABYSITTER BE SO SURE SHE HAD HER FAVORITE BOOK, YET NOT HER BABY DOLL THAT SHE NEVER WOULD GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT? BABYSITTER IS FICTIONAL ANYWAY SO THAT ONE CASEY CAN FORGET STICKING TOO. INSTEAD OF SNACKING AND PLAYING CARDS IN JAIL, I SUGGEST SHE STARTS DREAMING UP AN ACTUAL REAL ESCAPE GOAT VERSES A FICTIONAL ONE. SHE IS TOAST~~

  12. December 18, 2008 10:00 pm

    ALL I KNOW IS THE FAVORITE BOOK CAYLEE WAS READING AT THE NURSING HOME WAS CALLED ”SUPPER TIME FOR FRIENDS FUZZYPAWS~~

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 18, 2008 10:05 pm

    Knight Owl-we think alike! I was thinking that very thing while I was writing that. Sounds like it was a different book anyway–which begs the questions–could it still be hers and if it wasn’t what was it doing there? They said there was a lot of debris so I s’pose it could have come from anywhere. Anther coincidence?

    She’s not just toast-she’s burnt toast!

  14. Nina permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:05 pm

    I dont know what it would prove either…lol of course she will say the babysitter took the book with Caylee..This really all is so very very sad.

  15. tonill permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:10 pm

    VERY SAD AND MADDENING!!

  16. sighsville permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:10 pm

    This story has reached the end. I’ve grown told tired of it and it creeps me out since learning about the bone chilling discovery of a young child’s remains…Nobody cares about other people and their well being until something tragic happens…..I mean really, use your energy and look outside to see how cold it is and how many starving children are out there – yes alive children. Wasting your energy on this case will buy you nothing….I’ve posted and read the blogs and realized in the last week it’s a huge waste of my time. I’d rather help alive people and people with real needs….

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 18, 2008 10:10 pm

    I think you meant to write Supper Time for Frieda Fuzzypaws?

  18. tonill permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:29 pm

    BUBYE!

  19. sophie permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:32 pm

    What’s kind of weird are the orbs in the photo. Lots of people think orbs are a manifestation of human spirits. Others, think they are dust. Could Caylee’s spirit be observing what is going on at her ‘burial’ site?

  20. Shirley permalink
    December 18, 2008 10:59 pm

    Behold another Zany factor, in Casey’s supposed call from Caylee on July 15th, she said Caylee was talking about her book. If this is Caylee’s book Casey left it in order to blame it on the imaginary Zany!

  21. TAS permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:08 pm

    when Casey was talking to LE or being interviewed, casey said she spoke to caylee and that caylee was talking about the book and shoes!

  22. TAS permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:09 pm

    meanwhile that call with caylee was b.s.

  23. Amy Lou 11 permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:14 pm

    Okay so I was reading more evidence today…Did anyone read the pages of text messages from her boyfriend Tony (italiano) . It is chillin to read what she wrote about. It is clear that she is frustrated that her child is what stops her from visiting Anthony and being able to have sex with him, like she put a damper on their relationship. Even Tony would be frustrated . She was a liar as many have told but she had made up the nanny deal even back in May. I also read somewhere that she googled some things as chloroform as early as march. All of this would coniside with premeditation. what was going through her head? I mean come on…this beautiful little girl…just out of spite for her mother that she thought was trying to control her life…she did it for that reason because her mother told her to have the baby that she never wanted and did not want to keep. How sick! I guess she wasn’t thinking long term here…because now she will never have sex or be able to do hot body contests and be in the limelight…well besides being a child murderer. Although she may love the media attention who knows…she probably watches it while shes laughing and playing cards!

  24. Moody Monica permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:22 pm

    It also doesn’t look to me like an area that had been under water until a couple of weeks or so ago…Tropical storm Faye hit the Florida Keys August 18th… and Tim miller mentioned that the water had only recently dried up so we are talking roughly 4 months….seems to me like it would still be very muddy.

  25. chuck permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:26 pm

    That book that Caylee is reading is not paperback book, it is a water proof coated book that can last under water without much damage..also, markers come right off the plastic coated surface of the pages…If that was a regular paperback book, it would be preety much destroyed..People are reading into the book thing the wrong way…

  26. December 18, 2008 11:28 pm

    Too many things are suddenly happening that on’t add up! I think someone is trying to bring more “unwanted attention” to this area just to muddle the law officers and FBI up…to make them appear “careless” and sloppy. It’s just too strange. Someone else is involved in this, and I can only hope and pray that they will find out who it is. Remember, Casey had many affairs…some were even in law enforcement. At this point, nothing would surprise me. Remember, her parents are desperate at this point. _____________________________________________________________

    Caylee, I love you. You are America’s Sunshine. Rest Peacefully, Precious Child.

  27. Nina permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:32 pm

    Well as we all know Casey does put a little truth in her lies.Time will tell what was found at that crime scene and still we may never know it all.

  28. Moody Monica permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:38 pm

    I doubt that book would look that good after sitting in water, heat and all the other elements for 4 months…
    Chuck my great niece has many of those books…they are not water proof. The won’t be distroyed if a childs spills a little juice on it…and they are perfect for little ones because they can’t rip the pages….but laying in water all that time…it would would be falling apart.

    OK I just got home a few minutes ago so I just finished looking at the pictures.
    Her body was that close to the road???

  29. December 18, 2008 11:51 pm

    that would be crazy if that is abook i remember casey telling police that the last time she talked to caylee the day before she was arested caylee told her all about a book she was reading ,i remember the cop saying you mean she wasnt upset cause she didnt see you for a month,casey said no she telling me about the book she was reading another one of her lies she might have put the book in with caylee when she killed her .

  30. Nina permalink
    December 19, 2008 12:07 am

    If it was a book it wouldn’t surprise me at all.Maybe she felt guilty about leaving her doll behind so she left one of her books.I don’t know anymore with this case.I have racked my brain til I had a headache from thinking.Its just unbelieable to me these remains were just stumbled upon by the meterman.I realize from what I have heard on the news he called in three times,but I also heard on Fox’s new the lady from Tims group claims that area ,at that time, was not under water.LE said they sent and officer to check the area Well if it was that close to the road why wasn’t it seen back then.I don’t get it.Something just sounds so off the wall here.

  31. LasVegasSusie permalink
    December 19, 2008 12:27 am

    There are alot of orbs in the pictures

  32. December 19, 2008 3:02 am

    Hi mystery, late but back again, Thank you as yes your right the book was called suppertime with freida fuzzypaws. If this book has this title the and is the same style and size book then it has to be caylee’s or someone planted the book there one. I think if it gets any worse i am going to join you down that rabbit hole. LOVE YOUR SITE BY THE WAY. lol

  33. December 19, 2008 3:05 am

    You know on the 16th the last day George saw Caylee he said she and casey left with their backpacks, so since this was caylee’s favorite book makes sense she had that book in her backpack that day.

  34. December 19, 2008 3:08 am

    monica, the book might have never gotten out of the double plastic bags with the remains until recently.

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 19, 2008 6:48 am

    Sounds like I went to bed to early last night! Some interesting ideas came up!

    I had forgotten about Casey saying when she talked to Caylee all she talked about was a book she was reading.(since we know she never talked to her that’s especially interesting now) Considering the duct tape on her mouth and IF (and that’s a big IF cuz’ we don’t know what that yellow thing on the ground is yet) that was her book–this would lend credence to Leonard Padilla’s theory that she was setting the body up to look like a kidnapping. This would really be chilling because it would mean she had the wherewithall(sp?)to put the info about the book out to LE in her earliest interview.

    On the other hand this could all mean nothing and it’s not even a book!

    After sleeping on it, I’m wondering. If I was a meter reader and was familiar with that area–there was a murder of a little girl in the neighborhood–it’s all over the news—I might get the idea that that area should be checked out. (didn’t they say the trashbag was in plain sight that he saw? Do we know for sure he actually SAW a trashbag back then? If there really was a bag I wouldn’t have opened it myself–it could have been evidence) Anyway, I might call til someone met me out there. When it was determined there was nothing or the trashbag was actually trash, I would just go on with my life. Then, the floods came,and the fence went up. 4 months later for some reason, I step a few feet inside the woods to whiz or whatever, and there’s the bag. This time, knowing what a hassle it was to get LE to come out there, I look in it myself. Coincidence? Yes. Almost an unbelievable coincidence? YES–but possible I suppose. (especially with this crazy case)

    I don’t know about the police officer theory. But, I’m sure the Anthony camp will jump on it–as they should until it’s proven otherwise.

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 19, 2008 6:55 am

    Thanks for going “through the garden gate” Knight Owl!

    Monica-I’m with you–I thought they said it was about 60 feet pack in the woods.

  37. Linda permalink
    December 29, 2008 7:41 pm

    Did you see the orbs in the book photo.

    I wonder who they were?

  38. REBECCA permalink
    December 29, 2008 9:48 pm

    HAS ANY ONE FOUND THE BLUE DRESS YET?????/ I BET WE ARE GETTING CLOSER. …. MAYBE THAT IS THE TRASH LEE THREW OUT .WHAT DO YOU THINK.? AND IF THAT WAS CAYLEES BOOK ,IT WILL HAVE HER FINGER PRINTS ON IT SOMEWHERE . IF THEY DONT FIND THAT DRESS SOON I WILL GO BACK DOWN THERE MY SELF AND LOOK FOR IT. I WILL HOLD UP A SIGN IN FRONT OF THE ANTHONYS HOUSE IF I HAVE TO ,JUST TO GET THEUR ATTENTIONS,,, THAT ” BLUE DRESS” HOLDS ALL THE ANSWERS ……….. THESE PEOPLE ARE ON MY LAST NEVER THERE IS NO REASON THIS SHOULD HAVE TAKEN SO LONG … WHAT DO YOU SAY WHO WANTS TO MEET ME IN ORLANDO? REBECCA

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 30, 2008 6:26 pm

    Interesting Linda. I don’t know much about that subject, but I understand there are people that believe they are souls or angels?

  40. March 1, 2009 12:21 am

    See the orbs around what may be caylee’s favorite book… Orbs are believed (by many) to be ghosts in the form of balls of light. They are life forms that travel in groups and are believed to be the human soul or life force of those that once inhabited a physical body here on earth.

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 7:20 am

    Thanks Jaime for that information. That would be a lovely thought if it were true.

Leave a Reply

