Skip to content

Clue in Caylee Anthony case on PI video– or just one more guy seeking to profit from this tragedy?

January 3, 2009

Dominic Casey flatly denies reports (from Leonard Padilla?) he came across Caylee Anthony’s remains when he was “searching” the area to substantiate Kiomarie Cruz’ claim that it was a teen hangout. (still having trouble with that explanation!)

“Had I the misfortune of stumbling across any remains the first thing I would have done is, I would have prayed. The second thing I would have done is stayed at the location and called 911.” said Mr. Casey.

Casey said in his opinion there was no way to know if the remains were there at that time based on what he saw in the footage from the tape. His stroll through the woods was recorded by James Hoover, a fellow investigator.  Casey and others say Hoover is trying to sell his video to the media to show Caylee wasn’t there in November.  Casey said those claims are just false.  He also said he is going to pursue legal action against Hoover for what he said.

“I find it appalling that someone would profit from a missing child. It sickens me,” Casey said.

http://www.wesh.com/news/18401020/detail.html

Mr. Casey is talking on a cell phone in the video.  Who was he talking to? He insists he was speaking to his sick daughter that day.Is that the truth?  The answer to that question could show whether he and Mr. Hoover were there because of some inside information.

Padilla said he asked Hoover about Dominic Casey’s phone call.”I even asked him, ‘Who’s he talking to?’ He said, ‘I don’t know.’ ‘Could you hear what he was saying?’ ‘No, I couldn’t hear.’ He was 100 yards away,” Padilla explained.

Our Lenny P.told Eyewitness News that Hoover told him he had found Caylee’s remains and that the two of them were going to the woods to look for them.

Dominic Casey insists he was speaking to his sick daughter that day.

http://www.wftv.com/news/18401963/detail.html#-

Hmmm.  Two PI’s walking through the woods where Caylee was eventually found–videotaping–and one of them is on a cell phone.  Now, one of the parties is trying to sell the partially taped over video to the media to prove Caylee wasn’t there.  The other PI says they were there to see if teens really did hangout in those woods as per the interview by LE with Kiomarie Kruz, a childhood friend of Casey Anthony.

Lenny P. if he can be believed, says the PI videotaping told him he was informed that the body was there and they were searching for it.  This PI is a shady character (according to the Anthony camp)

So what’s going on here?  It seems to me this whole thing with the phone call can be cleared up pretty easily by looking at Mr. Casey’s phone records, and I would assume LE will do just that.  If it turns out Mr. Casey IS talking to his daughter, I would tend to believe him (as nutty an explanation as it sounds) about just checking the area out. I mean, would you really take time out to call your kid if you were looking for the dead body of your client’s granddaughter?) BUT, if it turns out he’s talking to Baez or some other Anthony camp member, that could be big. (And I would certainly understand why Bozo is freakin’ about Mr. Casey being interviewed by LE–he sure wouldn’t want that little tidbit to come out cuz’ it would insinuate they knew the body was there and sat on that information.)

REASONABLE DOUBT! That’s what I think this is all about IMO–Did Baez think if he could create reasonable doubt that there was a body in November, then Casey’s story about the kidnappers would ring true.  Casey couldn’t have dumped the body–she was in jail–the KIDNAPPERS did it and they put it near the house to incriminate Casey further. If this is, in fact, what he was doing, did it never occur to him that by using shady characters like Jim Hoover it might backfire on him? That someone might think they had to have known Caylee’s body was there?

I don’t know about you, but the only reasonable doubt I’m experiencing is -reasonable doubt that Baez  ever believed Casey’s cock-a-maimie story!  Let’s hope that Mr. Casey can verify that he was talking to his daughter, otherwise, Mr. Baez’ credibility is completely shot.

Document dump or major revelation is comin’ ! Also, JMO!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 10:59 am

    I’m with you all the way on this one! I can’t wait to see what the natives are so restless about. Great Post!

  2. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 11:09 am

    Mystery, missed you..I told Niecey I bet you were out there incognito looking to buy up that rag..NE..you got hooked and are now a fan>>>hee-hee>>>

    I agree with you on Baez,even he couldn’t be dumb enough to fall for KC’s story,he knew and I believe that she told him something..she had no one else and they became pretty damm close..all those hours in his office..30hrs. a week..PLEEEEEZE. Remember Todd Black’s slip of the tongue about looking for a dead Caylee? Baez kept him on..why? better to keep him close than letting him go and fear he might talk out of spite.

    I to find it rather hard to believe..that anyone would call a child when searching for a dead body…and especially that of a child..seems a little cold to me.

    Why would Hoover even call LP.? That bothers me,we all know he has diarrhea of the mouth,he can-not wait to get on NG. and give the latest installment on this on-going saga. LP. says he called and told the FBI about Hoover..if that is true LE has known for awhile.

    Hoover worked for the A’s and Casey for Baez..I heard Hoover was suppose to give the tape to Casey..and that when Casey asked Hoover for it Hoover said he had taped over it and became difficult
    if that’s true..it sounds like it was something being done for Baez…and Hoover decided
    it could be a money maker for him..after all LP said he..Hoover..was working for the A’s free of charge..WHY WOULD HE DO THAT??? He was waiting for the money maker to come along.. and..
    IT DID.. in the way of the tape.

    In this case ..it’s all about the money..from the Anthony’s..right on down to the childhood friend to the preacher man to the PI’s on the bottom rung of this money..fame grubbing ladder.

  3. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 11:17 am

    Happy New Year mystery ! I have gotten to the point that i don’t know who or what to believe anymore. I don’t trust Baez as far as i can throw the man ! I do know that his Attorney/Client
    relationship with Casey seems a bit more personal than it should be. I like LP, although his theories are sometimes wrong, but they are only theories. I do not believe that LP would incriminate himself by giving false information to LE or the FBI. This Hoover guy seeems a little sneaky and shady to me, something is not right with the story between the 2 PI’s and their search of the area. Dominic Casey had been working for Baez before he was hired by the Anthony’s, so i don’t trust him either ! I think they are all in it for what they can get, whether it is fame or money or both. It is a Damn shame that there is a beautiful baby waiting to be laid to rest while all these clowns come out for a 3 ring circus. Why would Baez want someone with him ( Dominic ) while being questioned by LE if there is nothing to hide ? I know i am rambling, but it is all so confusing to me. It is so sad that everyone wants to make a dollar off of Caylee, so sweet and innocent. I’m knew to blogging as i’m sure anyone can tell, i do hope some of this makes sense. I think out of all of the above people mentioned, i would have to say that LP is the one i believe has his heart in this craziness, he doesn’t need money or fame, he has it already. The PI’s are very questionable to me. I know one thing, LE and the FBI will get to the truth about these 2 and Mr. Baez should be praying that he has been up front and honest with them. I would not want to be in their shoes right now trying to figure out all the players in this sad story.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 11:49 am

    You’re exactly right, Mand!!! Hoover worked for the A’s and Casey worked for Baez in the beginning. Not a big leap to think Baez orchestrated the search in the woods.

    According to what I read, they were there Nov. 15 and went back Nov. 16. Why? If they were doing what Casey said and checking out the area as a teen hangout, why would they need to go back the next day? Makes no sense.

    BUT, if they were looking for a body and didn’t find it on the 15th, it would make sense they went back the next day. Suppose Casey said something to Baez that made him think the body was there–He sends Casey to check it out. They look twice before they decide it was just another of Casey’s lies.

    Baez doesn’t bother to get the tape from Hoover (no surprise there)–until the body was actually found in that vicinity. Then,he realizes they can use it to show reasonable doubt that Casey could have put Caylee there. Hoover refuses to give it to him at that point (he taped over part of it because he thought it wasn’t important when they didn’t find Caylee)and now Baez is afraid Casey or Hoover will tell what they really know.

    Missed you, too, Mand! Do they have treatment centers for people addicted to gossip rags? I may need to go–I should never have picked up that first National Enquirer—–

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 11:58 am

    Happy New Year to you, too, Deb

    I understand exactly how you feel–I think we all do. (and no, I can’t tell you are new to blogging–you’re doin’ it like a pro! ha)

    I go back and forth about Leonard Padilla. He’s made no secret of the fact that he’s exploiting the situation, but on the other hand, he’s made it pretty clear that he cares and is the only one around who’s put his money where his mouth is. He is what he is.

    I agree with you that he would not do something that might come back to bite him in the butt. I don’t think he would lie or withhold information. He said he took the info about the video to LE when he found out about it. I think I believe that.

  6. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    LP has a business that of a bounty hunter,the publicity he is receiving in this case would cost him a fortune.There are very few that can-not use the money and the fame is priceless..even the Donald would tell you he would not pass on making more money and I don’t think LP has any where near the money Trump has. LP’s heart may be in it but the rest of him is also. thinking of what is best for him.

    In this case you can follow the fame and fortune hunters so to speak ,from the A’s on down the
    ladder of same.The A’s selling videos..childhood friends selling their stories to NE..along with the preacher man…the experts for the defense ,publicity and whatever book deals and speaking and tv show deals..and Baez for ALL HE CAN GET…it’s all right there for all to see.
    Oh almost forgot now the PI’s…so many hard to keep up with all of them..I apologize if I have overlooked anyone.

    I know none of these people personally,I come to my conclusions by way of their own actions.

    I don’t mean to offend anyone…just my opinion.

  7. Molly permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:15 pm

    Mystery – I (and several other bloggers) will be checking into the “facility” and calling Casey for some Xanni’s so we can make it thru until this trial. If they delay it again, it’s gonna get ugly. lol

    I don’t believe either one of these PI guys. Why would you go to these woods to verify that teens hung out there & looking for beer bottles, etc.? Makes no sense, what does that have to do with finding Caylee or finding who has Caylee? And I wonder what was on the part of the tape that was taped over.

  8. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    As your friends, Mand and I have decided we must intervene Miss. Marple! What’s next? The Star??
    The Sun??? We must look for intervention. First, JUST SAY NO TO THE NATIONAL ENQUIRER!!! You can do it Mystery, we know you can.

  9. REBECCA permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:26 pm

    HI GUY , AS YOU KNOW. I TOLD YOU I DROVE FROM OKLAHOMA CITY TO HELP SEARCH FOR CAYLEE.BEFOR I LEFT OKC.I FAXED ALL MY PERSONAL INFO. TO L.P. AT IS OFFICE IN CALF. THINKING I WAS DOING THE RIGHT THING AND GIVING IT TO HIM, TO I D. ME IN THE SEARCH………… NOW I WONDER .I AM A BOUNTY HUNTER ” REBECCA HOOVER” NOT TO BE MISTAKEN FOR . THE “HOOVER” THEY ARE REFERRING TO ON THE NANCY GRACY SHOW AND THE NEWS……….I NOW HAVE CALLED ORANGE COUNTY SHERRIFFS AND MADE A COMPLAINT. I DONT NEED MY GOOD NAME TANTED IN ANY WAY. I HAVE A VERY GOOD REP . IN OKLA. AND HAVE WORKED FOR SOME VERY IMPORANT PEOPLE.FOR OVER 30 YEARS . OFFICERS I WORK WITH ,OFFICERS FROM SEVERAL SHERRIFS OFFICES AND POLICE DEPT. AND BONDS MAN IN OKLA. KNEW I WAS GOING DOWN TO FL AND WISHED US WELL L;P; BETTER USE THAT MANS FIRST NAME EVER TIME “HOOVER” COMES OUT OF HIS MOUTH .WHEN PEOLE ONLY HEAR BITS AND PIECES ,IT MAKES ME LOOK BAD………… AND I WANT HAVE IT. “REBECCA HOOVER” MADDDDDDDDDDD IN “OKLAHOMA CITY’

  10. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:31 pm

    I hope I didn’t imply that I thought LP was dishonest..I do believe he is an honest person..but I also can see that he is a person that takes advantage of an opportunity when one arises…
    most successful business people do,do that and that is what makes them successful.

    And Deb I sure hope I didn’t make you uncomfortable by how I commented,nothing personal…no
    hard feelings I hope??
    You are doing great.. I know the feeling.. haven’t been at this to long myself.

  11. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:40 pm

    Rebecca, I heard LP might know where the “Blue Dress” is. He seems to know where everything else is. You might want to check it out. Deb, I think he just doesn’t think before he opens his mouth. I think his theories cause problems, but I personally do not dislike the man. I do think he kind of lets his mouth over load his back side sometimes and I think that just makes him a kind of clumsy cowboy that enjoys the limelight. At least he was searching when no one else was, even if it was not in the right place. No one but Casey Anthony knew where Caylee was at that time.

  12. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:46 pm

    Deb, I do so agree with you about Baez and the PI’s.

  13. REBECCA permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:57 pm

    I DONT THINK HE KNOWS..ANYTHING….. I DID LEAVE HIM A VOICE MAIL ON HIS CELL PHONE LAST WEEK .THAT SAID ..SINCE YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE THAT SEEMS TO GET TO YHE MEDA YOU MIGHT ASK NANCY GRACY …ABOUT THE ” BLUE DRESS” BECAUSE SHE WOULD KEEP ASKING UNTIL SOMEONE FOUND IT ,,,,,,,,,,,,,THAT IS THE ONLY REASON HE EVER HAD A CLUE ABOUT THE “BLUE DRESS” TRUST ME HE DIDNT THINK OF IT BY HIS SELF. I STILL THINK IT IS VERY IMPORTANT AND SOMEONE SHOULD FIND IT. IF YOU HEAR ANYTHING ELASE ABOPUT IT PLEASE LET ME KNOW .THANKS REBECCA

  14. REBECCA permalink
    January 3, 2009 12:58 pm

    BOY MY SPELLINGS MESSED UP I PUSSEDWAY TO MANY KEYS,I AM NEW AT THIS REBECCA

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 1:26 pm

    I’m with ya, Molly—on both points. LOL

    Niecey, Mand–thank you for your support! LOL.The next time I feel the urge to buy an Enquirer, I’ll blog about it first so you can stop me!

    Mand, I don’t think you offended anyone and I don’t think anyone thought you were saying flat out that LP is dishonest. The thing about Leonard is that he is all the things we’ve been saying about him–good and bad. Just when you think he’s one of the good guys, he’ll do something that makes you want to kick him back to wherever he came from.

    I tend to think he knows more than he’s shared and only reveals (and provides his own brand of insight) as it becomes public knowledge. I think he probably has shared whatever knowledge he has with LE and agreed not to talk about it. He figures it’s fair game if someone else tells it and he wants to make sure he get his share of the credit after the fact.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 1:29 pm

    Rebecca–Maybe Nancy Grace WILL ask about that blue dress next week! Or LP will bring it up.

  17. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 2:08 pm

    Thanks Mystery, I don’t want to be confused with the infamous” MM”.

    I agree some-what on LP. I don’t dis-like the man..I don’t know him..however I don’t like what he has done to this case..I feel he has slowed the investigation from time. I don’t like what he said to Tim Miller about how much money they could make…standing together holding the
    skull of Caylee…that comment brought Tim Miller to tears. So because of these sort of comments I feel he IS IN IT FOR THE FAME AND FORTUNE FIRST AND FOR-MOST.

  18. TrustEngGod permalink
    January 3, 2009 2:10 pm

    casey needs to dump Bozo nooooooooo WAIT
    cASEY KEEP HIM LOL

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 2:22 pm

    Yes, I thought what he said to TM was appalling–and he never denied saying it. There are just so many unethical, self-serving people leeched onto this case, it’s hard to distinguish the motives of any of them.

  20. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:01 pm

    I think it makes me sick sometimes to think about how exploited this child has been by many people in this case. I hated when he made that comment to Tim. Tim had me in tears when he said it. I was quite angry when I saw LP’s face and he didn’t deny it. That was way out of line. I wonder if any of these self serving people have ever considered how much good they could do if they would put the kind of energy they have into exploiting this case into helping in missing children’s cases.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 3:18 pm

    I agree Niecey

  22. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:23 pm

    Mystery ~ Thanks, my first blogging experience, i am trying to get it right.
    Mand ~ It’s okay, you haven’t made me uncomfortable nor offended me, i don’t say alot as i do not have the means to follow the case like most others, i.e. ( videos, news shows ) to name a few. I get most of my information on the blogs here, although as i stated i have become very confused. haha
    I did not like the comment to TM by LP either, that really bugs me.
    Neicey ~ I don’t trust any of the 3 !! I also agree that LP speaks before he thinks.
    Rebecca ~ It’s a little scarey voiceing one’s opinion about this case, that is why i stay quiet
    most of the time. Now that i have read your posts in large print, it’s really scarey. Sorry if i hit a nerve with you, i didn’t mean to.

  23. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:31 pm

    Mand, i also would like to add that you are in no way like MM.

  24. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:36 pm

    Deb, don’t worry about Rebecca. She’s just very passionate about the “blue dress” and now of course bounty hunting. She’s not offended. By the way you are doing great!!! Expressing your views is what blogging is all about. Around here we agree to disagree when we have differences of opinion, because we are not mean. So don’t take it personally if someone disagrees, and don’t worry if you need to disagree with us. We still like you, and we hope you still like us!!!

  25. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:49 pm

    I do think we agree alot though.

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 3:53 pm

    Niecey is right–Rebecca always speaks in a loud voice. She will not be offended.

    Blogging IS about voicing your own opinion, whatever it is. If we all agreed on every little thing there would be no need for us to have a conversation. I’ve learned a lot from everyone’s views, and I’ve changed my mind on a few things (just a few! LOL) because of the arguments other’s have made.

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 3:54 pm

    I agree with that, too, Niecey! I’m so agreeable today!

  28. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:59 pm

    Me too, I don’t know what it is. I’ll bet it’s just going to be a Great New Year and we are all in good spirits!

  29. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:03 pm

    Thanks Neicey and mystery.
    Is the blue dress the same as the Mickey Mouse dress ?

  30. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:06 pm

    Actually, Rebecca is referring to the “blue dress” that Casey was wearing at Fushion Lounge, dancing with the girl. She believes it has some place in the crime. I’ll bet she may know about the Mickey Mouse dress as she is quite the sleuth.

  31. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:10 pm

    I really think LP should answer the phone to her, she could help him with his theories.

  32. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:12 pm

    Okay, i did see her in that dress, i read somewhere that they had found a Mickey Mouse dress and that Caylee had one like it. It was a size 6, i can’t imagine that Caylee would be able to wear such a large size only being 2 years old.

  33. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:13 pm

    I think they found that dress to not be Caylee’s. Cindy had Caylee’s at home and she wore it when she was much younger. I hope that helps.

  34. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:18 pm

    I agree Niecey.

  35. deb permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:20 pm

    Yes it did , thanks. I didn’t think it could be Caylee’s dress.

  36. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:44 pm

    Just who was Casey talking too ?? phone records,and if it was HOSE B then he’s got some questions to answer too.Hoover just look at this guy ,looks like he just got out of prison.SNAKE in the Gra ss.If anyone gives him more then 5 bucks for this film then he ripped you off.I have one of my back yard for sale too.Like WoW this is really getting…weird..I do feel for the jury that gets this case….

  37. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:48 pm

    Yes, Paul, it will be a circus and I’m afraid a long and drawn out one.

  38. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 7:24 pm

    Thanks Deb for understanding…like Mystery and Niecey said …this is all about stating one’s opinion…most of the time we all seem to be on the same page..but at times we don’t agree 1oo%
    and that makes it interesting..there are times we change our minds after reading someone else’s opinion on a subject…we are some-what like the deliberating jury of course we don’t have all the facts they will have..but we do pretty damm good.

    Rebecca has been looking for that dress for a long time…she will forget why she wanted to find it if she doesn’t get a hit on it soon!!! LP KNOWS ALL…KEEP AT HIM GIRL…

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 8:08 pm

    Mand

    “A Friend” is back and left you a message on the Kiomarie post. He/she? is still adamant about Kiomarie donating the money to charity. Said the Enquirer cut out that part in the video and hasn’t written anything about it in the paper yet.

  40. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 8:29 pm

    Mystery.. I’ll go look…guess we haven’t heard the end of the NE story…

  41. Michelle permalink
    January 3, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hello, I am new to this blog, but unfortunately I have become so obsessed with this case, and I was looking for more information. I watch Nancy Grace every night, at least twice nightly. She gets on my nerves when she is rude, impatient or condescending to her guests; but she has been great about keeping us informed about this precious little girl’s case.

    Now, with that being said/written, could someone please explain what the importance of the “blue dress” is? She wore a blue dress shown in the photos of her dancing with another girl at the night club.

    Also, just to throw in my 2 cents, I am not sure about LP. He spews theories left and right, and he speaks like they are facts. He is in this for fame and money, in my opinion. Very opportunistic.

    Anyway, if someone could enlighten me about this second most famous “blue dress”, I would appreciate it.

    I have bookmarked this site to read regularly. It seems like a great place to find information as well as post opinions without feeling like I am going to get flamed for disagreeing with anyone. Thank you for that. In my search for more information about this case, I have come across some very hostile blogs/bloggers.

  42. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 9:29 pm

    That happens Michelle, sorry. Rebecca has this obsession with the “blue dress”. She feels it plays a role in what happened to Caylee. She feels if someone finds it it will somehow answer questions. I agree with you about LP.

  43. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 9:36 pm

    Michelle,

    Your opinion is always welcome and valued here!

    About that blue dress: Another blogger, Rebecca, believes the blue dress holds some clue in all of this. I think the picture of Casey wearing that dress was taken several days after Caylee went missing, so I’m not sure what it might have to do with her disappearance. Rebecca thinks it has a lot to do with it.

    I can’t speak for her, but she is a bounty hunter in Oklahoma City and has crossed paths with Leonard Padilla. If I’m not mistaken, she holds the same opinion of him that you do.

  44. MAND permalink
    January 4, 2009 1:10 am

    Mystery..if possible ..could you e-mail me personally???

  45. Michelle permalink
    January 6, 2009 9:27 am

    Thanks for the replies. Regarding this dress, wouldn’t the dirty pair of pants that Cindy washed be of more evidentiary value? Cindy has covered up for Casey so much. I don’t know how she can justify her actions to herself knowing that her beautiful granddaughter died at Casey’s hands.

    May that little angel rest in peace. She deserves a proper burial already!

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 6, 2009 9:36 am

    I agree with you 100% on that one Michelle. I just for the life of me can’t understand what she’s doing in light of what’s happened to Caylee. I really don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

