Skip to content

George Anthony speaks about Caylee–off camera

January 3, 2009

The Anthonys have said they won’t do any on-camera interviews til after Caylee is buried, but that didn’t stop George george-speaksfrom speaking with Fox 35 news on Friday–off-camera.

George said he can’t drive down Suburban Drive where Caylee’s body was found because he isn’t ready to look at the makeshift memorial left for his granddaughter. He doesn’t know if he will ever be able to drive near there again.  He said he is doing alright–as well as could be expected under the circumstances.

George said the family has NOT yet made funeral arrangements for Caylee because they are still waiting for the defense to finish the second autopsy. When asked whether the family will be able to find closure after their granddaughter’s burial, George replied,  “There is a hole in my heart big enough for a truck to drive through. I don’t think I’ll ever have closure. At this point I’m just hoping to someday be able to accept that Caylee is gone.”

George said that he misses Casey, too, and that he’d like to be able to visit her in jail–even just to say hello and hear her voice and see how she’s doing.

Lee has moved out of his house and back into the Anthony’s home to be with his parents.

source

video

For some reason, I’m not feeling sorry for George right now.  I know I should be.  I know he’s hurting.  I know, I know, I know. But, all I’m feeling is angry.  I hate that I’m feeling that way, but I am.

One of the reasons I’m angry has to do with the memorial.   I can understand that he wouldn’t want to go where Caylee’s body was found because it would be too painful, but why not just say that instead of “I’m not ready to look at the memorial.”?   It really is such a beautiful, spontaneous outpouring of love and support for that baby.  Wouldn’t you want to (even off-camera)  thank people, and tell them you appreciate the love and respect they are showing for Caylee?  Couldn’t you just say we haven’t been able to find the strength to go there, but we appreciate the outpouring of love the public has demonstrated in her memory?  I guess not.

And I know– Casey is his daughter, but if I were to visit her in jail (after my granddaughter’s body was found less than a quarter of a mile from my house in a place my daughter used to hang out)  it would NOT be to just say “hello”.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. tak permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:01 pm

    You can not get appreciation from these kind of people. Our satifaction must come from the fact that people were moved by this little girl enough to honestly grieve for her! I do not feel sorry for the mother (term loosely used)or the grandparents……because of ALL the history of their dishonesty! You are not alone with your thoughts on this one!

  2. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    I struggle with it too. I think that “self” has ruled with these people instead of Caylee.

  3. MAND permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:09 pm

    Mystery..I’m with you all the way on that one…once again they or George can-not find the words to say thank you…I’m beginning to think those words were seldom if ever used in the A’s home.

    I seen that about Lee moving back with G&C…what do you think that is about?? Do you think his
    girlfriend moved in to?? If I were her I’d keep clear of that family for awhile..it could get ugly in that house.

    No I don’t have sympathy for George…I do pity them…him because they shut everyone out..
    they can-not understand that the public would have been there strongest supporters if only they would have done what most normal people in their situation would have done.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 3:29 pm

    I agree, Mand–but I would go a step further and say what “ALL” normal people in their situation would have done rather than “most”. The Anthonys are not normal. They are disfunctional in every sense of the word.

    “Rumor” has it that Lee is getting ready to be arrested and that was why he moved out of his house. I emphasis “rumor” because I didn’t get that from a news source so can’t verify the truth of it. I find it hard to believe he would give up his own place and move back home to just “be with his parents”. Didn’t I read that he used to check with Casey to make sure his parents weren’t home before he would come over? So, more than likely he couldn’t afford his place any longer or what I read on another site is true, and he thinks he’s going to be arrested.

  5. niecey456 permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:39 pm

    I do believe it’s going to be quite a week next week.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 3:45 pm

    It needs to be–that child needs to be laid to rest!

  7. nina permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:15 pm

    I no longer have any compassion for the Anthony’s.I did once,but after knowing this child is still not laid to rest that just made me realize what kind of family this really is.I wouldnt be suprise if Lee is going to be arrested,I had a feeling someone besides Casey was going to be.Honestly there is no hope for these people,there to disfunctional..None of them know how to tell the truth.Now i know where Casey got it from..Something is clearly wrong with all of them.

  8. Kari permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:18 pm

    I do feel sorry for George, but I agree that his remarks were not very moving, nor well planned out. He did come off as sort of selfish. The only thought I can offer to ameliorate that effect is that, after all, the family knew Casey 22 years, and Caylee only 2 1/2 years.

    Moreover, while Caylee was a little ray of sunshine, Casey had really ruled the roost in many ways for years. You have probably seen it happen before, in a family where one child has special needs, the parents end up more or less favoring that child, simply because they have had to shower attention upon him or her, spend so much time and maybe money, they end up feeling closer to the needy one. Not always, of course, but you can see how much George, and especially Cindy, have invested in Casey. Trying to help her, trying to believe in her, having to apologize for her, explain her, etc.

    And at this most supreme exigent moment, they gave 110% to believing in her, hoping against hope that all would be well—only to find all their efforts have been wasted. The thing they dreaded, steeled themselves against, swore not to let happen, if only through sheer effort of will, sheer faith and power of prayer–that dreadful thing has come to pass despite all their efforts. Caylee is dead. Casey is most likely involved if not solely responsible. Lee may face charges as well, no matter what for…

    It’s not too surprising if the overriding feeling they have at this moment is simple exhaustion, and yes, the profound depression of the worst defeat imaginable. They weren’t fighting for financial gain, despite the accusations of many, they weren’t fighting even for their own lives so much as for the souls of their own children and grandchild…

    There are fates worse than death, and if Casey is indeed found guilty of murdering her own child, her fate will be worse than death. No more ‘let’s pretend’, no more parental pampering, no more admiring men. Just guilt and regret and knowing every decent person justly despises her, forever more. If she is permitted to live, she may one day come to be human enough for her to feel all the pain she has caused those who loved her…

    And her parents must now come to terms with the possibility that the person they loved and thought they knew may never have existed at all. May have always been a monster in human form, just pretending her whole life.

    Sad.

  9. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 3, 2009 5:30 pm

    George ya gotta go visit the crazyone,and not just too say hello.WHY,WHY,did she do it,is the big question.31 days,the smell,the lies,the stealing,and she is up on charges of 1st degree murder,remember how satisfied you were when you charged em with murder.I do believe that since the day the car was found and the smell of death in it,that you’ve known she harmed the child.Or are you bunch still “INZANEY”,won’t work any more.Hear her voice[puke],she how she’s doing [puke],she get room service 3 times a day at taxpayers expence,her laundry done,no bills to pay,shopping done for her,Hose B comes to visit.What more can she ask for,heehaw!!
    Yes George go visit and ask the big one,WHY.
    And while your at it ,should tell her what happens to kiddie killers in prison, not very pretty!!!

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 5:54 pm

    Kari–I was with ya–right up until you said, “guilt and regret”. I do not believe this young woman is capable of either of those emotions. And it is sad. The saddest story I think I’ve ever heard.

  11. Michele permalink
    January 3, 2009 6:12 pm

    Ok, here goes….Casey will pay for what she did whether it was an accident or not, one way or another. I mean, even if by some miraculous chance she was aquitted she’d NEVER be able to live anywhere but in her parents home, and even if that happened she wouldn’t be able to ever go to the store, work ( not that there’s much chance of that) or just “hang out” like she loved to do. People here in this area wouldn’t go for it. I mean everywhere you turn, it’s THE center of conversations.
    As for Cindy and George Anthony, well, I have a daughter who doesn’t always “tell the truth” and I could totally relate to the frustrations they’re going through there. I also know that sometimes you have to “play their game” and just act like you believe the BS they’re trying to feed you to get to some kind of answer or half truth. I also have 2 grandchildren by this daughter. I now raise them, as a matter of fact, I adopted them in 2006. My granddaughter at the time was close to the same age Caylee was when she went missing. I was so afrid something would happen to them before I got them. No, she wasn’t a drug user,what she was was young and self absorbed. Only caring for “right now” and not tomorrow. She never took my grandson to school which resulted in him repeating kintergarten. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is, I get their point. I don’t feel sorry for them because I feel like they brought alot of it on themselves by playing up to her whims and shutting out law enforcement. But, I do see how they needed to make her feel like they believed her every word. I’ve been there. Sometimes no matter how hard you as a try to make sure they grow up honest and caring, it just never gels with them. My daughter also stole money and pawned things so she’d have $$ of her own to go here and there with. But, I just don’t know if I could have still supported her after the recovery of the body of my grandchild. I know I’ve had to suck it up more than once and say things like, ” I don’t agree with her, I don’t support her actions and I hope these things aren’t true, but, she is my daughter.” Good, bad or indifferent, as the case may be.
    I don’t for one minute that the reason they’re not visiting her in jail anymore is because they don’t want their conversations taped. They knew it from the word go, especially George having had a background in law enforcement. I feel like they’re not going because somewhere in their hearts they KNOW the truth. It’s easier to tell yourself you’re not going for the benifit of your child, but, that BS. By staying away their absence speaks volumes, at least I think.
    I doubt the grandparents or uncle of Caylee will be charged with anything. I believe law enforcment may be using idle threats to try to get them to tell anything else they may know.It’s just sad to think that they’ve had to ( law enforcement ) resort to things like that just to find the baby’s dead body duct taped and placed in two garbage bags right around the corner from their home. Well, 15 houses to be exact. It was awefull seeing all of the law enforcement out there for days trying to put her little bones back together. It was sad prior to that to see the constant barrage of news helicopters, truck and cars all over the area. To see volunteers looking everywhere. The whole thing has just been sad on a level I haven’t seen in years.
    So, do I feel sorry for the Anthony’s? Kind of. Their lives will never be the same, no matter how disfunctioal, it was their family. I’ve loved my daughter for 29 years and my grandchildren for 9 and 7 years. Does that mean I love one more than the other? No, that’s not possible, atleast to me. You can’t truly understand the love of a grandchild you’re raising unless you’re going or gone through it. You can’t seperate that from a child you gave birth to. On that level, I feel awefull for them.It’s uncomprehensible to me to imagine my life with out my grandkids. I’m sure they felt alot like that too.
    On the level that they obstructed the investigation, no sympathy here. I think they knew in their hearts the baby was dead and there was nothing they could do to fix that, but maybe, just maybe they could try to fix the situation with their daughter.They probably figured no body no murder charge. Maybe they(the authorities) wouldn’t charge Casey with anything other than neglect or failing to report a crime if they never found a body. By constantly throwing out red herrings to everyone they (the Anthony’s) might be safe.
    No matter how any of us feel, or what we want to see done, it’s not up to us.That ENTIRE family will have to live with this and themselves for a long time to come. Having the knowledge that you hindered the polices efforts to find your granddaughters body by giving them the wrong info about your daughter or the wrong hair brush or just lying outright will wiegh heavy on their shoulders for years and years.
    Michele in Florida

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 6:28 pm

    Thanks, Michele. That was a very good post. I think you probably do have a greater understanding of the Anthonys than most of us do.

    I know the Anthonys loved Caylee and I know sometimes you have to coddle someone like Casey to get at even a fragment of the truth. Cindy actually said she didn’t care what happened to Casey–she just wanted to have Caylee back. Well, unfortunately, the way she got Caylee back was everyone’s worst nightmare. Yet, she still appears to be believing Casey’s lies and supporting her. I don’t understand that.

  13. Kari permalink
    January 3, 2009 8:58 pm

    Okay, Mystery, I’ll take back guilt, but she’s gotta have regrets, I mean, she’s in jail and reviled by everyone. It may be only for herself right now, but maybe, over long years of being reminded and thinking it over, she will come to feel the pain, as well, of having hurt those who loved her.

  14. January 3, 2009 9:03 pm

    Do any of you think that maybe George cannot drive by the place where his grandaughter may have been dead inside a garbage bag for god knows how long? The thought of animals tearing at her tiny body? Come on, have a little compassion for the man. He is human, this beautiful child was of his blood & he truly loves her. His heart is forever broken at the loss of this beautiful/wonderful child in such a horrific way. Stop with all the bashing for enough time to let this family grieve will you all. So much hate. What do you think would happen to this man if he went to the place where they found Caylee’s remains? He’d be brought to his knees. The pain would tear through his body & probably give the poor man a heart attack. Why don’t you just leave him alone & allow him to drive home any way he damn well chooses for whatever reason he chooses. Enough said?

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 9:09 pm

    I’ll give you regret, Kari. But, only regret that she didn’t get away with it. I just don’t think she’s capable of feeling the pain of others.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 9:22 pm

    Kim

    I’m sorry if I offended you. I agree that George must be in terrible pain, and I said that. I wouldn’t want to go there either. What George said was that he wasn’t ready to go and look at the memorial. I can understand that as well–I just can’t understand not thanking all those people for their outpouring of love towards Caylee. I just finished watching the 4 videos of the things the Anthonys have lied about and contorted. I can’t even imagine what it must feel like to be them right now, but I also can’t imagine purposely trying to cover the facts.

  17. January 3, 2009 10:23 pm

    Was I the only one who watched Nancy Grace tonight? I know it’s Sunday & it’s a repeat – they played the jail tapes – parts were not repeats – they were never played before on her show. Lee & Casey talking in code as usual. Well, Lee says that he talked with 3 of Casey’s friends that she mentioned to him previously that can vouch for the Nanny – Zanny – being real? She was all excited about that & said “that’s terrific” or something to that affect. Now that’s a first. So far we’ve all been lead to believe there is no Nanny, Zanny, right? So, what’s this crap? Could this be why Lee may possibly be arrested – withholding evidence maybe? I don’t know. It just struck me as very weird that he would say that? I don’t know. Anybody else pick up on this? Just curious.

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 3, 2009 10:36 pm

    I didn’t watch it tonight, Kim. I’ve never heard that tape either. Can’t imagine what that’s about! You’d think if Lee had found friends of Casey that say they knew the nanny, the Anthonys and the media would have made it public. Strange.

  19. January 4, 2009 11:34 am

    I feel for Geoge and Cindy. I think what he meant by not being able to drive by the makeshift memorial is that he is having a hard time that she is really gone. I think they are having a very difficult time with Caylee being deceased. As far as visiting Casey, it is his daughter why wouldn’t there be a concern with how she is doing. Yes she killed their granddaughter but it still doesn’t take away that she is his daughter. There are so many emotions going on for him. He knows he is going to lose her too.

    Usual parents try to help out their children, and it this case he knows he cannot. I feel that he dislikes her at times and likes her at times and that he wishes he could have changed this whole thing.

    Being a parent and a grandparent is just really about love.

    Instead of putting your negative feelings on George and Cindy, put that energy on Casey instead.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 4, 2009 11:57 am

    You made some really good points, Michelle, and I appreciate your point of view.

    If it turns out that the Anthonys have been doing nothing more than loving their daughter unconditionally and did nothing to impede the investigation of the murder of their granddaughter (two very different things IMO) I will agree with you. If, however, they obstructed justice, or aided and abetted her, I will continue to have the same opinion of them.

  21. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 12:17 pm

    I feel for them too, on many levels. With that said, I have a few problems here with complete compassion. 1. They initiated the media circus and kept it going. I would never have been going around hanging out with criminals and bashing good people who were only trying to help, all the while calling my daughter the “mother of the year”, and destroying evidence and lying to LE, the FBI,and the media. I would not have witheld evidence and profited off of what happened. 2. The criminals they hung out with scheduled “meet and greats”, PR stunts, and raised money for not doing what they say they were doing. 3. The criminals they hung out with went around lying and taking pictures of other people’s children and plastered them all over the media. They caused innocent people to have to prove their children were there own and all the while go back to Cindy’s conversation with Amy, where she told her that Casey was in big trouble and could be going to jail for the rest of her life, based on what they found with the car. Go back to what George said to LE and the FBI and then listen to what he said to the public. These people knew that Caylee was dead as soon as they found the car. That’s why they behaved the way that they did. I’m sorry for their loss, and their situation with their daughter, but they have kept this all going this way and have behaved badly. I respect the opinions of others but I must give credit where credit is due, good or bad.

  22. MAND permalink
    January 4, 2009 6:47 pm

    Amen to that Niecey…I have no sympathy for any of them..I do however pity them..they will never know peace as long as they live as they do…I also feel their marriage will fail for good this time. I see George standing by what he said to the FBI in trial..he will be out of Cindy’s reach…and if they use him first Cindy can-not be in the court room. He has to know should he not stick to what he said to FBI..and goes with the pizza story…it’s bye-bye George…PURGURY…

  23. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 6:50 pm

    Good Point Mand!

  24. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    I truly hope they get hold of themselves and turn the course around. I don’t expect it, but I hope they do.

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 4, 2009 7:56 pm

    Hi

    I didn’t think witnesses could be in the courtroom while one is testifying–did I dream that up?

    Just got back from a really depressing movie–The Strange Case of Benjamin Button. It was also verrrryyyyy long.

    Mand-in case you don’t see it on the trust fund post, I left you a comment saying that “a friend” wrote a new comment to you on the Kiomarie post.

  26. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 7:58 pm

    Hello Mystery! Sorry the movie didn’t turn out well for you.

  27. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:07 pm

    You know Mystery, you are probably right about that. I’ve never been in an offical court room for a trial, so tv is all I have on that one. I have been to the courthouse.

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 4, 2009 8:16 pm

    Yeah, I’ve only been in one courtroom-When I was 20 I worked in a bank as a teller and I cashed a forged check. I was called as a witness and had to testify. That’s the extent of my courtroom experience.

  29. MAND permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:19 pm

    That is what I meant, that if they use George before Cindy she can-not be in the courtroom ,but should they use her before George and they say she is finished ,then she can stay in the courtroom.

  30. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:23 pm

    The latter would be bad.

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 4, 2009 8:24 pm

    Well, lets hope the prosecution is smart enough to put George on first.

  32. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:48 pm

    I hope so too. My husband said when we watched them on Larry King Live that he could tell George didn’t believe a word of what he, himself was saying or Cindy either. We thought she might be kicking him or pinching him under the table.

  33. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 4, 2009 8:51 pm

    That’s what it looked like! She had a hand on his knee or something. She did that in the Greta interview where Greta went to their house.

  34. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:56 pm

    You have to feel sorry for him for that!!! LOL! Poor George. I have to admit watching him on those interviews and watching him in the jail house videos. You can soooo tell he’s not buying any of it no matter what he says. He looks away, figits, makes strange expressions, like it’s just griping him to play along with this. I would have a hard time not getting sideways about that with her. I believe I would have put a stop to it.

  35. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:58 pm

    He’s got more patience than I do.

  36. MAND permalink
    January 4, 2009 9:13 pm

    No Niecey….he has<<>> George is indebted to Cindy…she covered his BUTT when he lost all that money…he wasn’t working at the time…it looks as tho George was not much of a provider..hence.. Cindy becomes the bread winner and with that she takes control…she has the male dominant roll and George likes it that way. George was left out of everything,it was KC,and Lee George was privy to NOTHING…made his life easier.

  37. niecey456 permalink
    January 4, 2009 9:16 pm

    Good point Mand. No matter what though, I could not be a party to that. If I were him I’d have to grow a backbone.

  38. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 5, 2009 1:36 am

    Georgie boy will come clean once he is put on the stand,he know’s what happens to COPS in jail.As for the WHACKJOB,she is going to end up in jail on perjury charges.Thats if they do not get this immunity,NO immunity.Hang on folks start of a new week could be interesting!!

  39. Michele permalink
    January 5, 2009 11:51 am

    Hi it’s me again,
    Ok, I’ve read all the posts and to Kim, I didn’t see that paticular peice of tape but I have heard others say they’ve “heard” Casey mention the name Zanny, as far as I know NO ONE has EVER said they’ve seen or talked to her. Not even the grandmother Cindy who has so much control over this family. Does anyone think for one second someone like Cindy would have allowed that? Someone watching her granddaughter that she’s NEVER met, talked to or seen? No, not for a second! Again, I speak from experience here.I knew EVERYONE my daughter talked to because of how things were. I was worried all the time if I thought the kids were’nt where she said they were, so, I checked up on everyone. Regularly. I know it may sound paranoid to alot of you but in todays society you have to be a bit worried. Especially if you know,and yes I said KNOW for a fact that your child, male or female, cannot possibly take care of a child that they’re responsible for. It’s a godawful feeling, the constant worry that someone will come knocking at your door with horrible news.I was fortunate that the knock I got was to give my grandkids to me, not the one saying we found a body. What a nightmare.
    One thing you can say for Casey is she’s a very thourough liar. She rememebers the names and places she tells others. I think, I don’t know of course, but I think that somehow she convinces herself that what she’s saying is the truth. I know my daughter can do that….no matter the concequences. You can show them something is black, but if they say it’s white,even showing them doesn’t matter because now “someone else” painted it a different color just to try to make them look bad. ( Sound familiar?) This story evolves daily, especially if you see it right here, it gets stranger and stranger. Just when you think ” This can’t get any weirder”, it does, the tenacles of this monster are so far reaching it’s unimaginable to most people to believe it’s all real.
    Those of you who think George is wrong for not thanking the people for what they’ve done, remember that before they put up a memorial, they ambushed this family! They tormented them to no ends during every single hour of every single day! Alot of those “do gooders” were drunk or otherwise incapacitated” while they were there to make the Anthony’s see the truth.If they had thought about it rationally for a second, they might have realized that sometimes you do what you have to and say what “needs” said. See, no one want’s to see that they “had to” appease Cayce to a point just to hang on to any shred of hope. Does anyone think for one minute that if they jumped on her that they’d of gotten little Caylee’s body back? No way on God’s green earth would that have happened. She probably would have moved that baby’s body repeatedly just out of spite.And spite, I believe is one thing that started this whole thing.Behind the scenes, there’s no way they could have believed what they were saying publicly.
    Now, yes, the Anthony’s DID absolutely brought on most of the media attention but, does it make them horrible people for not wanting to believe their daughter was the murderess of their baby granddaughter?I do not condone for one second them impedeing the investigation, and I whole heartedly that they did. I honestly think that once they “knew” in their hearts for sure that the baby was dead, they wanted to try to save their daughter at any expense. My god who wants to think of their child as a murderer? Especially if it’s the murderer of your only grandchild? I don’t think however that the state should or will ever press charges against George or Cindy. I believe that they know that they were doing what comes naturally as a parent, protecting your child at any expense, even if that child is the most horendous monster ever born. Keep in mind Ted Bundy and Jeff Dahmer, they had families also that didn’t turn their backs on them. They were loved by their family, but sometimes it isnt enough, sociopaths need more. Both of those families stated publicly that although they didn’t condone or agree with what their child did, it was still their child. I’m sure there’s other examples but those 2 came to mind, anyway…
    I have no horse in this race thank God, but,I have the experiences to know it isn’t always as easy as black and white as people think it should be and I have the compassion to know that no matter what they loved their granddaughter and daughter more than they loved life it’s self.Their lives will never be the same and they have to live with their conciences, all 4 of them.

    Michele in Florida

  40. MAND permalink
    January 5, 2009 1:16 pm

    Mystery,I see you had to edit me…sorry I steped over the line…sometimes I forget this is read by many and some could be offended I’ll try and be more careful in the future…but keep an eye on me!!!!

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 5, 2009 3:17 pm

    Mand–I didn’t edit you. Whatever it was must have been a doozy cuz’ it did it all by itself!

  42. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 5, 2009 3:27 pm

    Thanks, Michelle. I just have a really hard time understanding that if the Anthonys did realize, as you think, that Caylee was dead and that Casey was responsible, how they would continue to support her.Casey was Cindy’s adult child. As an adult, she has to be responsible for her actions. Caylee was, by most accounts, Cindy’s baby in every sense of the word other than she didn’t actually give birth to her. This wasn’t just another one of Casey’s stunts. She may have killed another human being–her own flesh and blood. How do you support that? I’m a mother and grandmother, too, and that’s a mystery to me.

    Guess we’ll just have to agree to disagree on that one.

  43. Michele permalink
    January 7, 2009 8:11 pm

    Mystery,
    I don’t really think it’s about supporting her. I think they had their suspicitons of guilt but were hoping by their “continued showing of support” that they’d get Casey to tell them where the body was at. Look at how they coddle her in the police videos,they’re so sweet to her and a few minutes later Cindy says ” Casey we need to bring her home before her 3rd birthday”. Maybe I’m all wrong here, and that’s certainly a possibility but it honestly looks and sounds like they were buttering her up. In most of the videos I’ve seen or transcripts I’ve read they go from telling Casey how they trust her and love her and believe her every word, to one of another of them asking her whether she thinks the baby will come home, or come home alive. I absolutely agree that she’s an adult child and she’s responsible for her oqn actions and she should be held accountable on every level. I just know as a mother and grandmother, as you yourself are, could you hate your own daughter? No matter what she did? Like I said beofre, sometimes you just have to speak up and say : I do not agree with my daughter’s actions and I’m ashamed that this has happened but I love my daughter no matter what. I don’t in any way support the way they’ve handled the situation or their actions, I’m just trying to reason why the Anthony’s have done what they’ve done because if those aren’t the reasons, the whole family needs booked on murder or accesory after the fact.
    This whole thing flabergasts me almost daily and today is no exception. Today we find out the Anthony’s own PI knew where her remains were at, which warrants the question, Did George and Cindy know too? Now I’m trying to find reason here…. maybe they got a tip saying the body was there, the PI went there 2 times and didn’t see anything so he says. Now after him going there twice and not finding the body maybe they figured that it was just another BS lie so they continued to “support” her in every way possible, ie.. tv appearances, interviews, etc.
    I also agree that Caylee was Cindy’s baby in every sense of the word and the betrayal of her daughter has to cut so deep it will never heal and if they knew where the body was and didn’t tell police the’re never going to be able to live with them selves let alone each other. The destruction of this family is almost complete and I’m sure before it’s all over it will be done.
    So, as we all try to make some kind of sense of it all, and we all have our theories all we can do is sit back and wait.

    Michele in Florida

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 7, 2009 10:14 pm

    Yes, today was just floored me. Could any of these people sink any lower? (I’m speaking of the people surrounding the Anthony family)

    I don’t think any sense can be made from any of this. Just pure unadulterated greed.

    I can see your point, Michele–it did appear that the Anthonys were trying to get information from their daughter–at least in the beginning. Later, in the tapes of LE interviewing Cindy and George, I’m not so sure.

    And to answer your question, yes I would love my daughter or son regardless of what they did or how disappointed in them I might be, but if she/he killed my precious grandchild, I can almost promise you I would not support them. A child is helpless and at the mercy of the family he has the fortune or misfortune of being born into. I would protect my grandchild at all costs. I’m not sure Cindy did that.

  45. Michele permalink
    January 10, 2009 2:12 pm

    Mystery,

    I think we totally agree now. The people the Anthony’s have chosen to surround themselves with since the baby was reported missing has astounded me almost daily!
    I really honestly tried to give the grandparents the benifit of the doubt, however, almost daily I can see I was wrong in doing so. I tried to make sense of a situation I can only hope I’ll never have to go through. I totally agree that Cindy maybe could have done more to protect that baby. I guard my grandkids with my life. When I suspected my daughter couldn’t do it, I did what needed done,as horrible as it made me feel, I knew what I had to do. Fortuantley for me, it worked out. I think that baby was used as a tool for leverage between Casey and Cindy to use against each other and only the baby paid for their crap.
    This latest development, ie.. the PI knowing where the body was has pretty much put things in perspective, atleast for me. I mean, this guy wasn’t Caseys PI, he was Cindy and George’s. At first I thought “well, maybe he just suspected where the body was and went there”, but now,now we learn he was being guided by someone on the phone! OMG!! Are you freaking kidding me? Someone else knew! They knew where that baby was laying and left her there! I can only speculate as to who I think it may have been ( Lee ? ) on the other end of the phone but my lord when will it end? The mighty dollar has taken over what used to be a baby’s life and several people’s souls. It’s just beyond me, I’m not sure even Stephen King or Dean Koontz could have come up with this story line.

    Michele in Florida

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 6:31 pm

    Yea Michelle! We’re on the same page!

  47. Michele permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:48 am

    Well, earlier this morning, George Anthony was Baker Acted here. He was reported missing yesterday and found suicidal in a motel in Daytona. He was texting family members that he didn’t want to live any more and that he just couldn’t continue on with life.
    Yet another sad turn for this family. Like so many predicted, the destruction has begun. Will they ever be able to live with them selves?

    Michele in Florida

  48. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 23, 2009 1:24 pm

    Thank you for that information Michelle. You’re right, one more horrible turn for this poor family. Thank goodness another tragedy was averted.

  49. Michele permalink
    January 24, 2009 2:52 pm

    He remains hospitalized today( about 4:00 pm Saturday) , it won’t be until tomorrow sometime beofre their able to release him legally. The press here is surrounding the act center where he’s being held. I can’t imagine what that’s doing to other patients there. The tenacles of this thing just keep reaching and effecting more and more people. As a former health care worker,I can tell you that patients really don’t want their business known, let alone on the news because of something you can’t control. I just can’t imagine being a patient there right now…or ever God willing.

    Michele in Florida

  50. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 24, 2009 3:11 pm

    He brought this on himself,didn’t have the guts to finish it,maybe he wants to take the whackjob with him.Not a bad idea!!Time for the no BALLS ex-cop to take charge.No vote here.Hose B must be love’n this,the movie is getting more dramatic as this whacky case goes on,what a fitting end MURDER/suicide!!

  51. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 24, 2009 8:56 pm

    That’s really sad Michelle. His attorney asked that the media lay off for awhile, but that obviously isn’t going to happen. I do hope George decides to stay in treatment for awhile. Hopefully they can help him cope with all of this.

  52. Michele permalink
    January 25, 2009 3:43 pm

    Paul, I don’t agree that they should kill them selves. Perhaps living with their actions will be more fitting. I live right here and I can tell you, these people can’t even go to the grocery store without being practically accousted and tormented, perhaps living with them selves and the knowledge of what they’ve done and the people they surrounded them selves with will be more punishment than any one could ever hope to give them. They have to see that baby’s face every day, it’s every where here, the reminders aren’t occasionally, they’re constant. Everyone is entitled to feel how they want about it all but it would just cause the community as a whole to be put more on display than it already is and there’s alot of peole who don’t deserve that.

    Michele

  53. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 25, 2009 5:22 pm

    They should look at themselves in the mirror real hard,most of this situation they brought on themselves.Now I,m getting too see the lite,as to why Crazycasey is the way she is,Mommy dearest is a total WHACKJOB no question about it,At first I did support Georgieboy,nah!!this guy ain’t got the balls he was born with.Lets have a look at the 8 pages he wrote,deny,deny,deny.WTF EH!!Can’t /will not face the truth,plain as the nose on his face.They raised a KIDDIE KILLER!!
    Why should the media let up,they asked for it live with it,too bad.
    Where’s Caylee? in a box in HOSE B’s bottom draw[sick].Such concern they show and never have!!Georgieboy,if you can’t use the gun, I will gladly send you a good length of rope for 2!!
    Remember G.B just do it….

Leave a Reply

