Skip to content

Roy Kronk, utility worker who found Caylee Anthony, defends his past

January 10, 2009

roy-kronk-and-his-attorneyRoy Kronk has admitted that in the early 1990’s he was arrested on kidnapping charges.

Mr. Kronk issued a statement to Local 6 News saying that the kidnapping involved a domestic situation between a former girlfriend and her live-in boyfriend.

“In the early 1990s, while on duty with the U.S. Coast Guard in Key West, Florida, I had a girlfriend who made the decision to discontinue her relationship with me and move to South Carolina to reside with another man. At some time after her departure, she called me and asked me to come to South Carolina and help her move away from that individual. I travelled to South Carolina to assist her. Upon my arrival in South Carolina, the man she was living with engaged me in a confrontation. As a result of that confrontation, I was arrested based on false allegations that I had kidnapped my former girlfriend. The matter was submitted to a grand jury in South Carolina. The grand jury determined that there was no probable cause to bring charges against me. In recognition of the falsity of these allegations, all records relating to this arrest were expunged by the South Carolina court.”

“When I applied for employment by Orange County, since the records of this arrest had been expunged, I would have been within my rights to not disclose this incident. However, I chose to disclose this arrest and the expungement of the records because I had nothing to hide and have a personal policy of openness and honesty about events in my life,”

Local 6 News confirmed the information is included in the criminal background check conducted on Kronk when he was hired by Orange County.

Mr. Kronk will likely give a network television interview next week, but it is not known if he will be paid a licensing fee for any videos or pictures he might sell.  His attorney, David Evans, said his client will likely give the interview on Monday or Tuesday.  Evans said Kronk’s expenses will be paid by the network but wouldn’t disclose if he was being paid for the actual interview.

“Roy Kronk lost his wife to cancer last year, and that battle brought him down to his last dime,” said Evans,.  Evans said he would like to see his client get some compensation.

“Back in August of this year, I had previously reported to Crimeline and to the sheriff’s communications center that I had spotted something suspicious, a bag in the same area,” Kronk said in August. “I have been and will continue to cooperate fully with the ongoing investigation by the sheriff’s office and the FBI. I have provided detailed information to law enforcement but I respectfully decline at this time to get into the details of what I saw at the crime scene.”

Because of all the conspiracy theories swirling around, Mr. Evans said his client feels it’s time to set the record straight.  Sources tell Local 6 News that Kronk and Evans have been unwilling to sit down and answer any questions from Anthony’s defense team.

read about it here:

clickorlando.com

This is JMO, but I think out of everyone involved in this case, Roy Kronk is the only one that I would like to see get some sort of monetary compensation.  He seems like an honest, decent guy in spite of the rumors swirling  around about whether or not he had inside information.  I may be wrong,  but I think he’s innocent of any wrong doing.  He did what no one else could (or would) do–He brought Caylee home. Now, he’s been put in the hot seat. For what?

No wonder people look the other way while crimes are being committed before their very eyes–No one wants to get involved–and with good reason it seems.

61 Comments leave one →
  1. MAND permalink
    January 10, 2009 9:14 pm

    I have yet to make up my mind on Mr. Kronk I waiver back and forth on this one…I don’t think he did anything wrong..my concern is if he had a tip as to where to look..I have this feeling the man was used..I think he could have been told where to look..it could have been done by an anonymous phone call..someone saying..you can find Caylee Anthony in a plastic bag in such and such a place..or a note in his mail box saying the same..someone wanted that area checked..and a meter reader with that route would be ideal..it planted the seed in his mind to look..he didn’t stay around the first time he called..the second call thet..LE..didn’t go out and the third the officer got spooked by a snake..but Kronk didn’t go in the woods to show him where or what exactly it was that he had seen. There were 6 days before the storm but he didn’t call back..could he have thought whoever it was that was telling him to look was playing a joke on him? Then he does nothing till Dec….I think he was again told to look..but this time was given more info on where to look…To make it clear I don’t think he was a part of anything and he didn’t know anyone I think he was used all he knows is he got a tip from the unknown and it turned out to be true the last time.

    As for the reward why should he not receive it? He led LE to the remains..it should be his..he is not like the other vultures out selling his story to the highest bidder..I would hope not anyway…these up coming interviews are a little troubling.

  2. Kari permalink
    January 10, 2009 9:43 pm

    I am glad to hear Roy Kronk’s story, since it turns out it is simply an honest disclosure of a sticky episode in his past, which could have been misinterpreted by reporters, etc…

    I had been wondering what on earth he had to tell that we didn’t know. His statement appears to me to be on the level, and perfectly satisfactory.

    Diogenes would be pleased to meet Roy Kronk.

  3. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 10, 2009 9:46 pm

    Has he got a cell phone?? records would show who he has talked with and if Hose B-Anthony’s are on there then some tough questions to be answered!!
    Good theory Mand!

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:08 pm

    Paul, that’s a good idea. I’m sure investigators would want to look at those records.

    I don’t know, Mand. If my work took me to that area on occassion, (it did), and if I were following the case, (he was), after my initial tips turned up nothing, if I found myself near there again, I might take a closer look on my own. Maybe there’s no conspiracy at all, and it was just like he said it was. Couldn’t that be possible? Couldn’t there be just 1 decent human
    being in this sorry cast of characters that’s being completely upfront? Please tell me there could be!

    I’m with Kari, I think I believe his story at this point–at least til’ it’s proven otherwise.

  5. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:15 pm

    I do too. I just think that by him being so upfront with his past and trying to speak up and defend himself, all I’m really seeing out of him is honesty. I do think it went like Mystery said. I believe Mand thinks he’s an honest guy, possibly anonymously tipped off, but IMO, I think that whoever had D. Casey and Hoover in the woods, didn’t want Caylee found. If they did, she would have been found in November. TES was there on the 8th, they could have tipped them off themselves. A detailed anonymous tip, might have caused them to look there carefully. I think the orginal intent was to cover up on that side. I don’t think the defense or anyone on that side really wanted her found.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:20 pm

    It’s sure starting to look like something sinister is going on doesn’t it? I watched Geraldo earlier and they were supposed to show the video. He said at the last minute the owner of the video (I guess, Hoover) wanted a “king’s ransom” for them to show it so Fox declined.

    Why would Dominic Casey be poking at the ground, etc., and what was the black trashbag that was partially showing all about?

  7. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:24 pm

    Mystery, I’m much more suspect of them and that camp than anyone at this point. There is just something not right there. What if they had found her remains? Would they have reported it?? Why was D. Casey so rough in doing that??? Why didn’t they just call OCSD and report it???? If they had stumbled upon that based on the report I read they would have definitely destroyed evidence.

  8. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:31 pm

    Just watched Geraldo…am I the only one not “comfy” with him having both Badens on? I know Michael isn’t involved but Linda is part of the Bozo sleaze team…IMO it doesn’t feel right.

    My gut feeling is that Roy Kronk genuinely found Caylees body on his own. He was down to his last dime last year after burying his wife who died from cancer…I sure hope he gets the reward.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:32 pm

    I’m at a loss. I just don’t know.

    Maybe Casey got word to her parents that that’s where Caylee was. Because she was such a liar the Anthonys were skeptical so sent the PI’s to look before they called in LE and created a media frenzy over possibly nothing. I believe they would have wanted Caylee to be found, not covered up. Maybe D.Casey and Hoover are slimeballs and videod on their own–thinking they would cash in by having it on film when they found her.

    The other scenario is Casey A. told Baez where Caylee was and he sent the two PI’s to film the discovery for his own financial gains, and it backfired. Not only didn’t they find her, but Hoover wouldn’t give up the tape.

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:35 pm

    Jill, I think he has said that Baez is a friend of his. He’s all about the defense, that’s why she was on there. I agree, she should shut up and keep a low profile til the trial. It just seems unethical to be talking about it on a show like Geraldo’s. But, Baez has been on there, too.

  11. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:36 pm

    Jill, Geraldo is buddies with Baez (Bozo/Dumbo), and the whole defense team. I’ve even heard him make arguments on other shows as to the legalities of this case and he was totally wrong and sounded like Bozo had been coaching him. He seems to lean more in that direction. He is a sensationalist type journalist. It got him a few times. Like when the wrestler broke his nose, the fair workers went after him and the wave from the recent hurricane in South Texas knocked him down and he came up with the microphone up in the air. LOL He’s a drama king.

  12. January 10, 2009 10:38 pm

    This guy is sort of close to my heart. I think this poor guy should receive a medal for what he did. He was tenacious and looked until he found her. There were lots of people in the Orlando area that did not join Tim Millers group to search. I had my ideas of where she was buried and Kronk had his. When I looked it was just to wet and that exact spot was under water, we could not go there. The difference is that he stayed at it, he went back and looked more, I wanted to but did not.

    I can tell you that walking up to the edge of that wooded area and walking into the wooded area are two different things. Being a meter reader he is used to opening the boxes placed in the ground and finding all sorts of strange animals. Now days a lot is done with a sensor and the box need not even be opened. Walking into the woods is like opening a box, you never know whats there.

    It is scary and especially alone to just walk in there. To give you a little example, I ride my bike on our Rails to Trails and almost every week I take off several times on a 50 mile ride. I go into very thick, thick woods and have run over snakes, one rattle snake, (goes thump, thump) and squirrels try to jump on you, bugs can be all over and the latest thing is bears, yes bears. Bears are showing up in trees in peoples back yards and while riding I always keep my eyes open for any movement when in thick woods.

    I feel Roy looked some where he thought she was. Being wet and thick he only went so far. Got a little more nerve and went back and went further into the woods. Did it again and then found the body. Again it is spooky to walk around there and he is really a hero in my mind for doing what he did..

  13. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:41 pm

    Mystery, I think the latter is most likely. I think Bozo is who they were dealing with. I somehow don’t think they would have wanted her to be found. I think that’s why D. Casey has distanced himself from Hoover and tried to make it look like Hoover was on his own. Maybe that was the point of Mr. Casey taking the pics, just in case some truth came out he could say there was nothing there, it’s a lie. Remember his pics were of trash. I hate to say this but I think D. Casey would have covered it up further if he found her. I think he was trying to destroy evidence.

  14. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:45 pm

    John, I agree with you about Kronk and while I live in a different part of Florida, we have the same issues and where there is water there are cotton mouths and they will chase you. All kinds of critters. We have bear sightings here too. We had one swimming accross the bay one time to Pensacola Beach.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:48 pm

    Thanks, John for that information. That would explain why the policeman didn’t look all that closely and why no one else had really dug around in there. Well, except for apparently, Casey and Hoover.

    I like to think I’m an ok judge of character. IMO, Cronk is one of the good guys. At least I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt.

    John! I can’t believe you ride your bike 50 miles a couple of times a week! Was that a typo and you meant 5? You are an amazing man.

  16. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 10, 2009 10:52 pm

    johninflorida…I’m 100% with you…lets hope we are right and Roy Kronk gets the reward.
    Mystery, Niecey456 and all on this super site..many thanks for reminding me that Bozo & Geraldo are tight..guess I forgot that whilst I was “fuming” at the TV.
    I have read all the blogs…really impressed how you all help each other…thanks for letting me join you.

  17. January 10, 2009 10:53 pm

    niecey456, yes, I forgot about the cotton mouths, they will chase you and they just love the wet woods. The bears have become a worry to me and I really watch for them as I would not want to get between a mother and a cub. The houses around Suburban Dr. are well built up and the woods are all broken up now into many smaller wooded areas so I don’t think bears are an issue there but it is sort of scary as when you start to walk in, the palmettos are up to your knees and you can’t see your feet. (No idea of whats biting at your legs).

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:56 pm

    Thanks, Jill!!!

  19. January 10, 2009 10:57 pm

    No that was not a typo, I ride between 100 and 200 miles a week when I can. Here are a bunch of videos of where I ride.
    http://www.vimeo.com/album/17416

    Also my bike page,
    http://john.bitbun.com/I_did_it.html

    My longest ride so far is 71 miles.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 10:57 pm

    John–you have to tell me–Do you really bike that far???

  21. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:02 pm

    John, yea I noticed in one of the news sources that a 38 lb. Bobcat was just euphanized. They trapped it in one of the upper scale comunitys, I believe a golf course comunity, can’t remember the name, but it was in Orange County. Alot of the problem in your area is the same as ours the growth was so strong for so long and the animals were rather deforested, so they live among the people now. We have had a black bear caught around homes before in our area.

  22. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:04 pm

    As far as the cotton mouths, that’s the first thing I thought of when I saw where they found her and heard it was swampy right in there. They are so poisonous. I wouldn’t have walked in that thicket. I don’t think Casey did either. I think Caylee was so close to the road because she tossed her there from the edge.

  23. January 10, 2009 11:04 pm

    We even have wiled bores digging up yards and destroying them.

    Last year I found and killed a Coral snake right in front of my garage door.

  24. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:06 pm

    I hate snakes. The boars are a problem near wet areas here too. Then you have the smaller things like scorions and brown reclouse spiders.

  25. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:07 pm

    John, do you bike 50 miles at a time???

  26. January 10, 2009 11:07 pm

    I wonder what kind of bugs they have in jail????

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:08 pm

    niecey-his post about that is a few comments up. For some reason it got caught in moderation. Don’t know why.

  28. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:11 pm

    Sorry, John I didn’t see where you answered that. Hopefully they have all kinds of bugs to bother Casey.

  29. January 10, 2009 11:11 pm

    A normal ride for me is 50 miles, sometimes 60. I ride the trail from Clermont to Apopka and back which is 50 miles round trip. I some times go off on branch trails to add miles or do an extra 10 miles at the lake where the trail starts to do a cool down.

    Then at night I do two hours of work out plus some time for banjo practice, haha!

  30. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:13 pm

    Wow! You are busy .

  31. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:16 pm

    And here I thought I was in good shape to weed my gardens in a day. I think I better get busy on my wiifit. You make me sound lazy John! Seriously, I think its great you can do that.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:18 pm

    John, I just read your page. I am impressed! How long does it take you to bike 50 miles?

  33. January 10, 2009 11:19 pm

    Oh, I found a new fear, if you look at those videos and I forget witch one, you will see a tree fell across the trail. It was a giant Oak tree and it snapped of and must have fallen in seconds. Until I saw that, I never realized there was a possible danger there.

  34. January 10, 2009 11:22 pm

    I do 50 miles in about four to four and a half hours. I don’t stop much except to take pictures. I ride a Hybrid which is slower than a road bike but just right for me, cause I’m old.

  35. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:22 pm

    As we say in OZ “Gud-on-ya” John…betcha see some great scenery on your bike rides.
    OOOOH I do hope they have many bugs in her cell…BIG roaches/bed-bugs/lice etc…none of which can compare to what crawled and devoured Caylee during the past 6 months.

    Perhaps someone could send her a cardboard box full!!!!!!

  36. January 10, 2009 11:25 pm

    Jill, I posted some links with almost 20 videos of the trail above. I think one is Suburban Dr, the crime scene.

  37. January 10, 2009 11:29 pm

    I guess I didn’t put that one into an album, here is the link. It is just a short one of us and Tim Miller’s guys at the end of Suburban Dr on Sept 6th.

  38. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:30 pm

    Jill I hope she gets bugs too. John, love the pics. Very impressive. Yeah, those oaks don’t always show signs of disease before they fall. It doesn’t happen often though.

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:30 pm

    Age is a just a meaningless number in your case, John!

  40. January 10, 2009 11:38 pm

    I keep telling my sell that. I have to!

  41. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:40 pm

    You are very inspirational to us John.

  42. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:43 pm

    So Mystery, quite speed reading those tabloids and lets get us some bikes and go dig poor Mand out of the snow. She’s cold. Where is she? I think she stayed up all night last night.

  43. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:44 pm

    John {you gorgeous hunk of a man} thanks for the video of Suburban Dr…wow I feel as if I am getting to know Florida.
    Niecey…I just know I am going to dream about huge cardboard boxes filled with bugs…I love all creatures great and small as they have a job to do..the only critters I don’t like are some homo-sapiens!

  44. niecey456 permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:48 pm

    Jill, just turn on a good ministry and that should put it out of your mind. Just make sure they are not preaching about the end times. Something with soothing music.

  45. January 10, 2009 11:52 pm

    ACK! I haven’t been called that for more than 30 years, thanks you just made my weekend.

    Here is a whole bunch of stuff I have taken and plastered it on youtube. You have to look in the right lower corner to click on better video quality to get a good picture. It’s time consumming,
    http://www.youtube.com/user/syndydog

    Then there is a slide show of about 20 years of my life here,
    http://www.myspace.com/banjo_player
    I’m off to bed, y’all have a good night.

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:55 pm

    I was just wondering where she was Niecey! Great minds think alike!

    Jill, we went to see the movie, Australia, a week or so ago. Absolutely loved loved loved it. It got terrible reviews, but everyone I’ve talked to loved it as much as we did.

    My husband worked on a project in Free Mantle–he spent 8 days there. He said it felt like he was in Dodge City, Kansas 100 years back in time. He loved it. Said he had the best fish n chips of his life there, but he found it most memorable because it was the place he first drank Victoria Bitters! LOL

  47. MAND permalink
    January 10, 2009 11:56 pm

    HI guys..PI.Casey lied about why he was in the woods..said he was checking to see if it was a teen hangout as had been reported..if that were true then why the shovel and the probe?? Was he digging for beer bottles/cans? Who would benefit by Caylee not being found? KC…G&C.I can’t see G&C involved in a cover-up of this magnitude…but KC ..you bet..she had a better chance with no body..so The PI’s were probably sent by Dumbo..had they found her they would probably relocated her to God knows where??
    Lee could have been informed of the location at sometime by KC. could he have had second thoughts about what the PI’s and Dumbo had in mind and could he have been the one that tipped Kronk off..anonymously of course? I know it is probably far fetched but in this case nothing takes me by surprise anymore..maybe that’s why I’m having a hard time with this ..there is an honest man among the money grubbers??

    Damm Niecey and John..you guys make me glad I live where I do and we are in the middle of a snow storm…I hate bugs and snakes ..I have the Orkin Man once a month whether I see a bug or not..and the ones you’re talking about you could saddle and fly to Cuba…NO THANKS…

    Mystery Nice new page..much brighter.

  48. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:58 pm

    Well, here I was going to suggest you have a Victoria Bitters to calm your visions, and Niecey is sending you to church! LOL

  49. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 11, 2009 12:00 am

    Mand, I just sent you an email.

    Do you think D. Casey and Hoover would risk their careers (and their freedom) to do something illegal?

  50. niecey456 permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:03 am

    You get used to it Mand and you just proceed with caution. I have pest control too, but I garden organically so I try to have good bugs to take care of the bad ones. We could box some up and send them to Casey, but I’m afraid it’s not aloud. I think Kronk is a good guy, but I do think that Bozo had those guys in there to try to oust the evidence. God blinded them to her and I’m glad. An answer to prayers.

  51. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 11, 2009 12:08 am

    Yes, for whatever reason, God chose to reveal that child’s whereabouts to the right person at the right time.

  52. niecey456 permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:08 am

    Mystery, I like the new design as well. Ok, 1 might not hurt and then she could go to church. LOL

  53. niecey456 permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:09 am

    I’m just glad he blinded Bozo’s team to her remains. I don’t think she would have been found.

  54. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 11, 2009 12:12 am

    I hate to think that but you may be right.

    It’s after midnight here–think I’ll call it a night!

  55. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:14 am

    Tee-hee…Mystery I live about 10 miles from Fremantle where we really do have GR8 fish n chips…your husband is correct…Western Australia is called “the back of beyond” as we are segregated from the well known Sydney and Melbourne because the airfare to get here would be about the same as a fare from the US to London… sadly this little corner of the world is now experiencing the terror of guns/gangs just like you have…came from Yorkshire England in 1956 as a teenager…never locked our doors..have to now!

  56. niecey456 permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:16 am

    It is here too and I’m heading to bed myself. Goodnight all!

  57. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    January 11, 2009 12:18 am

    p.s…don’t drink beer but those who do reckon it is good – hi!
    Niecey…thanks for your suggestions..you are right of course…sri my hatred for Casey is greater than my compassion…grrrrr…bury Caylee…SOON…PLEASE!!!

  58. MAND permalink
    January 11, 2009 1:50 am

    It happens everyday Mystery.I don’t know how much of a career either one had..Hoover offered his services for free..what was he expecting in return?

    It happens on every police department in all levels of politics..so it’s not that unusual sad to say…They didn’t plan on being found out..like all the rest that break or bend the law.

  59. robin permalink
    January 11, 2009 4:29 am

    I really feel that Roy Kronk is an honest and forthcoming man.

  60. just me permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:51 am

    ok, this Kronk fellow had a life long before he was doing his job as well as a public service to everyone when he found caylee.Consintrate on him losing his wife to cancer only a year ago. The guy is still in personal mourning.. instead of being susipious of his past, and present send him encouraging words , how bout it already?

  61. just me permalink
    January 13, 2009 11:02 am

    George,Cindy,Lee…Please listen up..
    NEWS FLASH….when people die regardless of the way they die, people do bury their dead… please get on with a funeral for that babies bones !! What are yall waiting for?

Leave a Reply

