Skip to content

Was Dominic Casey talking to Lee while he searched for Caylee?

January 12, 2009
There is speculation as to whether Lee Anthony is the voice on the other end of the phone with Dominic Casey in the video of Casey searching the area where Caylee Anthony was found.
Eyewitness News watched the video showing Dominic C. talking on a cell phone with Lee Anthony’s attorney, Tom Luka.
“Is it Lee?” WFTV reporter Kathi Belich asked Luka.
“No, not that I know of. He denied ever talking to him,” he said. But, Eyewitness News uncovered video of Lee Anthony and Dominic Casey at the jail together right after Casey Anthony was arrested!lee-anthony-and-dominic-casey1
So, Kathi Belich asked again.”Is it Lee on the phone with Dominic Casey?”
“As far as I know, as far as my client is concerned, it’s not him on the phone on November 15th 2008,” Luka said.
“Could it be somebody who Lee spoke with who then went to Dominic Casey and provided information?” Belich asked.
“In the realm of speculation, it could’ve been anyone,” Luka said.
Luka said he saw the video last week and talked to Dominic Casey then. But, Eyewitness News heard that only private eye Jim Hoover  had a copy of the videotape.
This caused Luka to backtrack.
“How did you see it last week? Who showed it to you last week?” Belich asked Luka.
“Well, I take that back,” Luka said. “I was not shown it. When it was on TV I saw it.”
“Well, it wasn’t on TV until last night,” Belich told Luka.
“Well, I take that back. I did not see it. Did I see it? No, I did not see that video. I take that back. That was not the video I saw,” he said.

read the article here: WFTV.com

Sorry, Mr. Luka–no take backs!

I don’t know if I think Lee was on the phone with Casey or not. Would he have been stupid enough to risk his telephone # showing up in Dominic Casey’s phone records?

The thing about Lee is that he has pretty much pulled himself out of the limelight and is existing in the shadows. We don’t know why he has removed himself from the situation.

About the only things we really know about him are the following:

1. He and Casey are closer than most people–they can tell each other things that they couldn’t tell anyone else.(from when he was on the stand in Casey’s first hearing)
2. He considers himself to be an armchair detective, conducting his own investigation of what happened to his niece.. (LE told him he had missed his calling in their interview with him.)
3. He appeared to cooperate with LE in the beginning. (LE interview)
4. He has a penchant for talking in code with his sister. (jailhouse visit)
5. He laughs when he is nervous. (he laughed as he was describing the smell in Casey’s car to LE)
6. He has/had a mysterious job. (IMO)
7. He has a temper. (he went out and jerked down the memorial to Caylee in front of his parents home)
7. He has  moved back home with his parents.

Does that all translate to— Casey told Lee where Caylee was and Lee managed to get that information to Dominic Casey?  Maybe.


48 Comments leave one →
  1. Nina permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:14 pm

    I still say Lee knew all along..I am not saying he took part in what happened to Caylee,but I think Casey told him alot more then he ever let on.JMO

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    I think I agree with you Nina. It’s certainly starting to look that way.

  3. barbara permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:26 pm

    I think the whole family knows and is covering for that low life casey.it makes me sick to think
    that none of them care about her laying in a box. BUry that poor baby.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 9:43 pm

    barbara, the defense is expected to release Caylee’s remains to the family this week and then funeral arrangements are to be finalized. Brad Conway, the Anthony’s attorney, says cremation is on the table. He’s afraid that sickos might try to dig her body up and take pictures for financial gain. The sad part about that to me is that they probably should be concerned about that.

  5. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:55 pm

    The Anthony family feels this was there business and they should have been left alone to take care of it themselves…the three of them will decide what will be done with KC. now that’s how they feel it should be…however the rest of the public are of another opinion..and that is.. there are laws that protect society and those laws are for all..and that includes CINDY AND CLAN.

    I could almost bet the ranch it was LEE on that phone…explains his laying low for all this time…What a dumb A$$ to think no one would find out….

  6. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:00 pm

    Mystery, Hilde left you a message at my place.

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 10:02 pm

    Hopefully we’ll know the answer to who was on the phone soon. At first I thought it was Baez, but after Brad Conway’s statement about the tape belonging to the Anthony family, I’ve changed my mind. I think it could be Lee, too.

  8. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:04 pm

    What’s wrong with the comments? Mine doubled. I promise I didn’t click twice.

  9. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:19 pm

    I think it’s fixed. Now for the issue at hand. It could be Lee, there is no telling but I’m sure we will find out why the natives are so restless and their stories don’t match up. I think before it’s all over their will be more in that camp (besides the PI’s) that turn. I think the truth is close at hand and they aren’t going down without a fight. I really hope you are right and they lay Caylee to rest soon. If cremation is the way they chose to go, then so be it. Just do the right thing and stop playing games. I’ve a feeling once Caylee is laid to rest, much more of this story will come out, if not all.

  10. topcat08 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:23 pm

    I know now why they only have three people on the defense witness list! They have no one they could put on the stand that hasn’t been cought in at least one lie!

  11. Moody Monica permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:24 pm

    It looks like Casey told Lee where to find Caylee.
    I wish someone would just step up and tell the whole truth.

  12. Moody Monica permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:25 pm

    By the way…I love your new blog header! Very cool.

  13. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:27 pm

    It is sooooo past time for the truth.

  14. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:37 pm

    And if it is Lee ,then what??Does he get arrested,or get the third degree like the rest??This is getting so bizarre,I would not believe it if I hadn’t followed this case myself.Any news on the funeral??Such kind, caring ppl they are, just what the hell are they waiting for, Crazycasey to get out so she can eulogise at the memorial,WTF.
    I bet they miss the sound of the lie’n bitches voice, her thieving ways and slutting around.
    The dirtbags that they are!!

  15. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:49 pm

    Paul tell us how you really feel!!!

  16. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:51 pm

    Mand, do you think Mystery might want to help us with Boston?

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 10:56 pm

    Niecey I don’t know if anyone could recognize the truth at this point. I think we won’t really know the facts until the trial. I pity the prosecution–they have a real mess to sort out.

    Topcat-You are so right–and it’s very telling that most of Casey’s friends will be witnesses for the prosecution!

  18. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:57 pm

    Niecey…I’m sure she will..she’s a great gal..she’s helping with Hilde so I’m sure she will do the same with Boston.
    I thought I was the only one still up?

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 10:59 pm

    Monica, I think it will be Lee or someone that can be traced to Lee that was on the other end of that phone—but who the heck knows??? It could be Gale St. John the psychic!

    (And thanks about my header–It’s a shelf in an old bookcase of mine manipulated a bit in Photoshop!)

    Paul–All I’ve heard about the funeral is that Baez is supposed to release the body to the Anthonys sometime this week. If that happens, I would guess it would be next week–at least I hope so.

  20. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:00 pm

    You’re right Mand. Mystery is a great gal. She’ll do it. I’m fixing to call it a night.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 11:00 pm

    Niecey! Mand! What’s happened to Boston?? Is It the Enquirer or the Globe? I have no Globe experience.

  22. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:05 pm

    AND …THE PLOT THICKENS…The prosecution has a team that will lay this out methodically they will put it together piece by piece and watch it take form…I would love to be a law clerk next time round!!!?

    Mystery my post did appear after all..wonder where it was ??

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 11:07 pm

    I don’t know—I was having trouble with double posts a little while ago plus everything got so slow I couldn’t get into my dashboard. Seems to have fixed itself now.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 12, 2009 11:08 pm

    I’m callin’ it a night–Carter will be hear at 7:00 in the morning!

  25. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:12 pm

    No this time it’s about panties…go over to Niecey’s …we think she may be out shoveling snow to make some extra dough to buy the things she wants…you know how it is with a daughter in college?? We can”t find her and this is the second time …she is our legal advisor..she is needed…OMG I never thought it may be the rags….what do you think Niecey?? Could we have an epidemic on our hands????

  26. MAND permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:16 pm

    Guess I will to…Night all….have fun with that little one tomorrow….I need a baby….well not me ..one of these granddaughters….they are to busy with a career..out of the three that are old enough only one has a steady guy..it’s going to be awhile.

  27. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:17 pm

    Oh No Mand, Mystery, Not Boston Too! It could be an epidemic. I just hope it’s not the Globe. We so need our legal advisor. What to do??? What to do??????

  28. niecey456 permalink
    January 12, 2009 11:18 pm

    Goodnight everyone.

  29. January 13, 2009 1:25 am

    Mystery, this is such a nice post. The people here are not only well informed, and interesting…they are courteous to each other. (also very funny at times!) It’s a pleasure to blog here.

  30. MAND permalink
    January 13, 2009 1:51 am

    Mystery…you and Niecey should have stayed up a little longer….a very nice complement here and a very nice one on Niecey’s site.

    Having one of those nights!!!

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 8:12 am

    Hey MBFelicity! Thanks! Your opinion is always welcome here.

    Mand, I haven’t discussed it with Niecey, I think she would approve–I’m appointing you the official “Resident Night Owl” Seriously, I hope you managed to get some sleep.

  32. Boston permalink
    January 13, 2009 9:54 am

    I think the FBI and the DA know who was on the phone with Dominic Casey. If it were Lee or some other member of the family they would be negotiating some deal for immunity for all of them. The Anthony’s have a lawyer but I think it will never be for obstruction relative to Mr Casey or Mr Howard. The Anthony’s would never aid and abet two men who were looking for a “dead” Caylee.They knew Caylee was dead on June 24 when they drove the car home.

    They are a couple of ragtag goffers and they will, at the end of the day, always be secondary voices in this chaotic choir singing the blues when there is no money out there for a picture of the crime scene they couldn’t find.

  33. Boston permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:15 am

    Correction: July 15 when they drove the car home.

    June 24, 2008 when Casey came home and had a confrontation with George over the gas cans George would have been able to smell the decomposition in the car. After all, Casey couldn’t even go to a gas station to get gas.

    The car was becoming a topic of conversation with Amy. and others no doubt. I would speculate that when after about two weeks of calling and asking about Caylee and Casey giving excuse after excuse about Caylee’s wherabouts, things hadn’t changed when George asked about Caylee.

    Looking for the gas cans was so minor yet caused such a verbal diatribe from Casey, it is fair to say that this chance meeting could not
    have gone unnoticed by George. Did he tell Cindy that he saw Casey. We think so. Did he tell her that the car smelled bad? Probably not.

    I think the FBI and the DA have wondered on more than one occasion why the Anthony’s never confronted Casey in person after this chance meeting nor did they take it upon themselves to go to the police and have an Amber Alert put out on a child that they believed was either missing or possibly dead.

    They cannot be prosecuted about what they THOUGHT but they can be held morally respoonsible for doing nothing. Their daughter left the house after a screaming match which many people overheard. Many sociopaths have terrible tempers (we can only imagine what Casey sounded like on that fateful evening) but again it would be fair to say that only the Anthony’s knew about their daughters temperament and they are directly respoonsible for the message, “Casey was a wonderful daughter and a devoted mother.” They didn’t obstruct justice but they deflected plame and that is called Accessory After The Fact-if only on grounds that it was morally reprehensible to paint a glowing picture of a homicidal killer.

    Sorry for the long post but I think it was important to state certain ideas about why and how so much is said about those who were not and could not have been involved in this crime.

  34. Boston permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:26 am

    Ya, I read an article from The Globe?? From some rag that was really good-the article I mean. I had to laugh when nicey456 says “it”s an epidemic!! Ya know, the writing is pretty good. And they seem to have the facts straight. Mystery go for it-read them and report back to us.

    MBFelicity-this is a very informed blog and it has personality and a lot of heart. We don’t always agree but we have such a nice forum to really think and write about what’s happening in this case. Lots of room for debate and discussion. I’ve learned volumes. And sometimes I look up stuff and most of the time I’m long winded!!!!!

  35. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:10 pm

    Sorry if I offended anyone!!As a Canadian ,I’m just having a hard time with what is going on with this case.They would not get away,here in Canada with most of the crap that has gone on.More video’s EH!Maybe Casey[PI} was look for the easter bunny.I’m certain the FBI will get to the bottom as to who was on the other end of the line on said day in question.How many other places did this PI check out??

  36. niecey456 permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:18 pm

    Boston, there you are! Mand and I have been looking all over for you. We need our legal analyst!!!

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 12:35 pm

    No offense ever taken by you, Paul!

    You raise a good question. Were there other places these two super sleuths searched and videod?

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 1:10 pm

    Great post, Boston! ( I hear you need some new panties??)

    I agree with you that the Anthonys (Lee included) are morally responsible for their lack of action on Caylee’s behalf. Cindy and George, of course, cannot be held responsible for the physical death of Caylee, but morally they dropped the ball and in many respects sealed Caylee’s fate. They couldn’t have known that Caylee’s life was in danger at the hands of her mother that night. My guess is the massive argument on the evening of the 15th was not atypical, so Cindy had no cause for alarm when Casey left with her daughter. It was just ‘Another night at the Anthonys’ . If it is true that Casey killed Caylee the next day, on the 16th, short of engaging her psychic powers, anticipating Caylee’s demise, and refusing to let Casey leave with her, there was nothing Cindy could have done to save her.

    But a month went by. A MONTH!!! No, they couldn’t have imagined in a million years that Caylee was dead, but why weren’t alarms going off in their heads? Cindy had called Casey, among other things, a sociopath and an unfit mother, and had taken steps to start the process of gaining custody of Caylee by seeing a therapist. They had to know, Caylee was, at the very least, being neglected. Yet, the days slipped by and Cindy and George did nothing. NOTHING!! (unless you call whining on her MySpace blog, something.)

    Not until the car turned up smelling like a rotting corpse did they take action. IMO, they didn’t kill their granddaughter, but they are as guilty as Casey in the betrayal of that little girl.

  39. detwill39 permalink
    January 13, 2009 1:14 pm

    Boston doesn’t know it but I stalk her to get to read her comments.

    Hello to Paul from another canuk here in NS.

    In George’s FBI interview, he said he followed Casey down Chickasaw and lost her at an off ramp. Casey was driving Cindys car (not the Pontiac) This was just after June 24th and during those 31 days. Cindy said she never saw Casey in those 31 days and when asked by FBI if Casey had borrowed her car, she said no.

    Isn’t is an offense to lie to the FBI? Boston???

  40. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 2:06 pm

    I think it is detwill. (and I too search out Boston’s posts)

    Wasn’t that when George said they could check the turnpike records–he had a pass? I thought there turned out to be no record of him being there that day.If so, that would be concrete proof that he was lying about chasing her for some reason. ( Someone correct me if I’m wrong. )

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 2:07 pm

    oops–you directed that to Boston, sorry!!

  42. niecey456 permalink
    January 13, 2009 2:09 pm

    Hey Boston!!! You are always so full of sound legal information. I have missed you. ( You do know we were joking with you right???) We have been wondering about you for a couple of days. We need our legal anaylst!!! I just don’t know what I would do without your sound legal expertise.

  43. detwill39 permalink
    January 13, 2009 2:33 pm

    Mystery~~I never knew that George couldn’t find the E-pass for that day . He was supposed to get it and give it to the FBI. He was so sure it was Cindys car because of the panda or bear that she has on the back of it. George also said that lots of times. Casey would just sail thru the toll gates and not pay and he would not know until he got the bills. If Cindy got a bill/fine would she admit it?

  44. Boston permalink
    January 13, 2009 4:07 pm

    nicey, mystery and mand and of course detwill39! I have asked detwill39 loads of questions and she flies away to john in florida! Don’t we all!

    I thought I was pretty funny when I admitted I read the article! I didn’t site anyone but my “voice” was like, okay, I admit I read the article, and I found it intererting, and well okay….I WAS HOOKED! Good post today and lots of good responders!

    Paul-you’re back! Geez, the other day I was singing the Anthony’s praises because I didn;t want to tell you how funny you were when you casually wrote how good Casey looked in handcufffs. That was funny, a little irreverent but nonetheless a little levity goes an awful ong way! We need it!

    Detwill30-All the posters here really know a lot and we often exchange the how we interpret the law. Mystery and the rest of us know that if you lie to the FBI during the investigation of a crime you can be prosecuted but if you lie to your local police , in this instance, the OCSD there is no penalty. Is that the same in Canada?

    By the way Paul and DetWill my daughter goes to university in Nova Scotia! The canadian educational system is tops. It’s so affordable for me. She gradsuates in May god willing.

    A good friend of mine sent her son to McGill and her husband runs the Divinity Dept at Haaaaavad.

  45. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 4:40 pm

    Detwill

    Well I found the interview but I haven’t found where it was said that when the acct was reviewed the car hadn’t gone through the toll pass that day. I’ll keep looking. I know I read that somewhere! (somebody please tell me it wasn’t in the Enquirer, LOL)

    Boston
    Yes, you were funny, but lets all remember a rag addiction is no laughing matter. It can take over your life–It can become the reason you wake up in the morning— it can destroy relationships because you’re too busy reading to pay attention to your man– it can cost you your job because you were up so late reading the latest gossip that you couldn’t get up the next day– it can cost you your Starbucks fix because you spent your last $4.00 at the newstand–it can drive you into the closet–or worse–the JOHN as you vainly attempt to hide your guilty secret–it can………Uhmm–heh heh–ahem. What was I saying? Oh, yes, you were funny, Boston.

  46. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 13, 2009 4:46 pm

    Here in the great white north,I do believe that in the course of an investigation if you get caught in a blatant miss directing lie you can or may be charged with obstructing justice,but do not QUOTE me on this one!
    I’m sure my grandparents would have buried me by now!!

  47. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 13, 2009 5:40 pm

    Mand–there is a very interesting comment on the Kiomarie post from someone named “knew her” about “a friend”.

  48. January 15, 2009 2:38 am

    The male forensic psychologist on NG said that he think CindyA. may be feeling a little guilt about the “the fight she had with Casey” (about stealing grandmother’s money)…because that’s the night Casey took Caylee and left. I can understand that. However, it’s not Cindy’s fault…lots of people have arguments and don’t go out and committ a sadistic, horrifying murder!

Leave a Reply

