Skip to content

Is a change of venue necessary in the Casey Anthony trial? Baez expected to ask for a move this week.

January 19, 2009

casey-and-baez1Jose Baez is planning on asking for a change of venue for Casey’s trial as early as this week.  Most experts agree that they couldn’t imagine that the judge would hold the trial in Orlando because of the extreme publicity this case has generated.  They think it is likely the trial will be moved to somewhere like Jacksonville or Miami.  The other alternative would be to bring the jurors to Orlando from other parts of the state and sequestering them.  Both of these options would be very costly.

The more complicated the case gets, the more money it costs the taxpayer to try this … You have to move everybody, the court reporters, the attorneys,” attorney Leticia Marques said.

wesh.com

Where in Florida–or anywhere in the country for that matter, are you going to find a juror that hasn’t heard about this case, at least to some extent?  The answer to that is, you’re not.  So, the best case scenario is to find people that are willing to have an open mind, and that have not made a pre-judgement as to Casey’s innocence or guilt.  Is that possible? Yes, I think it is.

I think most people, including those that are following this case closely and think she is guilty, believe in our judicial system.  I, for one, will be following the trial very closely, and I would like to think that I will listen to and really hear ALL the FACTs, (and by facts, I don’t mean just what’s been leaked mixed in with all the rumors and innuendos that have swirled around this case) before making my own personal final judgement. If those facts prove that Casey is innocent, I will be the first to admit I was wrong.  I’m not sayin’ I’d make a good juror in this instance, because I don’t think I would.  But, I would recuse myself  if I were asked to sit on that jury, and I think most people would do that if they already felt she might be guilty. I think they will end up with 12 people with open minds.

As for moving the trial out of Orange County, if what Ms. Marques says is true,  wouldn’t it be a lot cheaper to sequester the jury as opposed to paying all those people’s expenses to stay in another county?  There’s only 12 jurors–God knows how many would be in the entourage of people that go into putting on a trial of this magnitude.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    January 19, 2009 10:47 am

    I don’t think they need to. But if they may. It is true it is much more publicized in Orlando than it is in other areas. With that said, I do believe that even if they do it there she can get a fair trial. Almost everyone you talk to feels like there is so much more in this case than we know about, and everyone of those people have begged for the defense and the Anthonys to explain, when they say she’s innocent and we just don’t understand. Everyone wants to know why they feel that way. I believe most people want to know the whole story.

  2. niecey456 permalink
    January 19, 2009 10:48 am

    I meant but they may.

  3. Diane permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:08 am

    Unless Baez is planning on booking a charter on the next mission to Mars, where can he possibly go?

    I wonder if potential jurors will be asked about their blogging activities on the net. Is that possible? Could they?

  4. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:49 am

    I’m almost ready to change my mind about putting the DP on the table,not just for the Crazyone the whole bunch of em[G,C,L].What do we think HOSE B has up his sleeve now,diminished mental capacity,the Zaney thing will not work.Once the jury see’s thru this piece of work, Lie’n,thieve’n,HO.Lets wait and see what LE found on the duct tape it;s going to be a bomb shell I bet!!

  5. MAND permalink
    January 19, 2009 11:56 am

    I don’t think they have to move this trial..it has been widely publicized all over the country and for that matter other countries…so what is gained other than more expense?? Not everyone follows the case as closely..as say like those of us on these sites. I’m the only one in my family that has followed the case ..my husband knows very little about the case the same with my daughter and sons..none of my friends have followed thecase ..so I’m sure t.hey can find 12 people in Orlando that will be fair and honest.
    If anything I think the people of Orange county are getting angry as the amount of money this is costing them

  6. paula permalink
    January 19, 2009 1:13 pm

    I agree that she is costing the county much too much money. No body that I know is as interested in this case as I am so, with that in mind, I think 12 non committal jurors could be found.

  7. ZAP permalink
    January 19, 2009 2:58 pm

    Does he mean a “fair and partial” or a jury that will find her innocent? If it is the later, they need to move to a part of the state where not much English is spoken.

    I believe most people when sitting on jury after being sworn in will be fair. I’ve been on a couple juries in my many years and I have found that the case. In my cases, never did a juror enter the jury room and announce a verdit before discussion.
    There are always exceptions but most people if they do not want to sit will be able to get removed.

    Problem with a juror in this case if that they will have to be probably spend months away from their jobs. This jury may include many retired grandparents (like myself) who will not have trouble seeing the truthg and being fair.

  8. Kari permalink
    January 19, 2009 6:31 pm

    I agree with you, Mystery. I believe the jurors will do their best to be open-minded and disregard rumors and sensationalized media reports to come to a fair verdict.

    Besides, is there really anywhere in Florida where they haven’t heard of her?

  9. January 20, 2009 8:11 am

    I think the majority of people take jury duty very seriously, and I am sure that the ones that are selected will be questioned at length before being put on the jury. It is the defences job to PROVE her innocent. If they can do that, I would happily vote NOT GUILTY! The facts will bring out the TRUTH, one way or the other. Heaven knows, the Defence Team is one of the best possible. Now, let them prove it to a jury. Power to them if they can!

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 20, 2009 8:49 am

    I agree with all of you, a fair and impartial jury is quite do-able. Zap is right though, if he’s looking for a jury to just find her innocent, that may be a real problem for them. I think, like Niecey and Paul there is much more comin’ down the pike that has not bee revealed–in particular, my guess would be that the duct tape has already been analyzed.

    Leave the trial where it is, find your impartial jury, sequester them, and move forward.

    and yes, I think asking about a potential juror’s blogging activity is not out of line. Lotsa people blogging these days and more of them think she’s guilty than innocent.

  11. Diane permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:43 am

    Thank you, Mystery, for answering my query.

    It will be interesting to see if this will indeed happen. It would certainly set a new precedent. Strange new world we live in now.

Leave a Reply

