Skip to content

Here comes the Caylee merchandise

January 26, 2009

UPDATE: The president of the company that is making the doll is on Nancy Grace tonight.  All of a sudden he’s saying “a big portion of the sales–we don’t know how much yet is going to charity.”  Doesn’t say that anywhere in their ads.  It’s more crap. He won’t even say who he’s donating to.

Below is the press release for the Caylee Sunshine Doll.

press release for Caylee Sunshine doll

Did you read it?  Are you angry yet? Look at this merchandise.  Read the   “about us” below”:

We knew we had to do something to raise awareness of such a terrible and recurring crime, while honoring and respecting A BEAUTIFUL LIFE. For this reason we did not create Caylee Sunshine in the likeness of Caylee Anthony. However she is the inspiration. Her beautiful song “ You are my Sunshine” remains engrafted in our hearts.

We have no relation to her relatives, we will not point a finger and we will not involve ourselves in the legal aspect.

WHO?  Who sold the rights to create these “souvenirs?”  Was it the attorney for the lovely young woman with “la bella vita” (a beautiful life) tatooed on her person???? Or is it, as the promotional would like us to believe, someone not associated with the family? If that’s the case, I would hope Baez or Conway would immediately start proceedings for a lawsuit.  Absolutely disgusting, appalling,taste-less, vile, dispicable, repulsive—I can’t think of an adjective low enough to describe what I think of whoever is doing this.

What it really does is just make me sick.  How is it an “honorable tribute” (last paragraph of “about us” below) to exploit the death of a little girl in such a blatantly commercial fashion? Notice that nowhere in their “about us” statement or in the press release do they say they will be donating the money to any charity.  Just that they will “make a loud noise” and the doll will “carry the banner” and that they hope it will be an “honorable tribute”. What a load of crap.  And notice the little girl in the YouTube video!  Vodpod videos no longer available.

caylee-dollycaylee-braceletcaylee-tshirtcaylee-doll-logocaylee-doll-about-us

64 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirley permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:13 pm

    Who ever is selling this merchandise are sick individuals. Doesn’t matter if they are connected to the Anthony family or not, they have absolutely no morals or conscience to try and benefit from this precious little girls’ death. Too many sick people in this whole fiasco!!!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 7:16 pm

    And it’s getting sicker by the day!

  3. MAND permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:19 pm

    I did read that they would be donating $3.00 per doll to charity.What does that mean..no relations to her relatives?

    The guy is on NG. Later

  4. ostella permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:22 pm

    Wow.

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 7:23 pm

    Oh but Mand. Did you see Nancy Grace? The guy wouldn’t say how much or who he was donating to.

  6. Just sayin' permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:35 pm

    I was sure this was a joke. I can’t get Nancy Grace until tomorrow morn. when I’ll see it on YouTube. I can’t even form a sentence right now I am so appalled! Can this be true?

  7. Just sayin' permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:36 pm

    I wonder if we’ll eventually find out that Dumbo and his Scream Team are behind this money maker?

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 7:37 pm

    It’s absolutely true.

  9. MAND permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:40 pm

    I did Mystery..was he a jerk or what?? Something stinks here Mystery and I bet you dollars to doughnuts that it’s KC and Dumbo behind this whole sordid thing.
    I hate to say this but you know people will buy the doll and Dumbo knows this…he considers it the same as a book deal and any of the other money making schemes he can come up with.

  10. January 26, 2009 7:43 pm

    OMG!!!

  11. ostella permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:48 pm

    Okay, so now that I’m done puking…

    I’m starting to think that this entire case is a portal to pure evil. Everyone attached to it is a diabolical predator looking to make a fortune off murderabilia. Does anyone in the state of Florida have a conscience? Is anyone capable of standing up for this murdered baby and forbidding this blatant exploitation of a horrific tragedy? What is wrong with these people?

  12. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:55 pm

    I am ashamed to know I have people like this sharing space in our great nation. I pray that someone can stop this from happening. Better yet I beg people not to buy this symbol of degradation!! This is DISGUSTING and the most insensitive thing I have EVER seen!!!!

  13. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:59 pm

    I can’t even finish watching that fu#@ing heartless, money grubbing piece of sh$#!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

  14. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:00 pm

    Excuse my french, but there is no other way of expressing my anger. I am shook to the very core.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:01 pm

    OMG is right, Nancy!

    Mand, the thought has crossed my mind that Bozo and KC are behind this. Like I said, if they’re not, I would hope they would sue.

    Ostella–I guess when you invite the circus to town, you should expect a side show to follow–but this is just beyond anything I could ever have thought of. Nancy Grace tore the president of that company apart.

  16. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:02 pm

    With Bozo being under investigation, I hardly think he is behind this one. He’s stupid, but not that stupid. This is just another sleaze bag, and sadly there are far more to come.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:04 pm

    I know exactly what you mean, friendlymom.
    And the nerve to use a Caylee look-a-like to hold the doll.

    Mand, the reason I thought it might have something to do with KC was because of the “beautiful life” reference. Don’t you find that a little strange?

  18. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:05 pm

    I am still in shock that ANY company would sink so low as to try and score a buck from a murdered baby. I am so sad and angry. I am just bawling.

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:05 pm

    I hadn’t thought of that–although I would imagine if a deal was made, it was made before he was put under investigation. Maybe it’s one of the reasons he’s being investigated.

  20. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:06 pm

    I just think this company is cashing in on the story. I don’t think anyone had a part in this. I hope God strikes that factory with lightening!!!!!! and burns it to the ground.

  21. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:08 pm

    Well Mystery, this is true, it could have been made before, but if it were, why come out now? I mean it’s bad timing don’t you think?

  22. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:10 pm

    They have all sold their souls to Satin. I pray that George does not hear about this right now.

  23. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:11 pm

    I know how I would feel, if this were me. I would probably go postal of them all.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:11 pm

    I know a little bit about how that works because of my own work. This deal could have been made months ago–It would take a while to make the product and get it ready for merchandising. Their release date would not necessarily be coordinated with the timeline in this case. If this was the time they were planning on releasing the doll, it would have been costly to postpone it. Plus, the company manufacturing the doll probably isn’t following the case closely.

  25. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:12 pm

    This guy just managed to make LP look like a good guy, and that isn’t easy to do. Damn, this takes the cake.

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:13 pm

    They would also definitely want the doll to hit the market while the story was still “hot”. I know that sounds cold, but it’s the truth.

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:13 pm

    I hope George doesn’t hear about this as well.

  28. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:13 pm

    I just cannot imagine any attorney (involved in this case) being this stupid. They have sunk their reputation, if it is true.

  29. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:15 pm

    Even Cindy is going to be deeply hurt and angered by this, but George just doesn’t need anymore upset right now. He is just too fragile.

  30. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:23 pm

    You are right Mystery. While the story is hot, and right before the funeral. I just cannot understand HOW they can do this without the family’s consent. I mean we do not “trademark” our family members, but do they not belong to us? Please someone explain this to me.

  31. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:25 pm

    I urge anyone, who is considering buying this doll, to please take a moment before dipping into you pockets, and ask yourself how you would feel if this was a doll of YOUR murdered baby.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:28 pm

    I don’t think people will buy this stuff they’re selling. Surely not. I wouldn’t give a plug nickel to this outfit.

  33. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:31 pm

    Mystery, I am writing a letter to the president tomorrow. I urge others to do the same. We need to help bring about a law that stops this from happening.

  34. sophie permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:31 pm

    Umm, is this Celine Dion singing the lullabye? And if so, has anyone contacted her about getting her permission to use her voice in a disgusting attempt to make money off of a dead child?

    I think that she’d like to know about this. If it’s her, I hope she finds out and sues the pants of this asshole.

  35. sophie permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:32 pm

    In addition, whoever the singer is on this video, if she DID give her consent for this to be used for these sales, she, whoever she is, should be boycotted for life.

  36. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:34 pm

    I am a woman on a mission now. They fu@#ed up, they do not know what determined women we are.

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:36 pm

    Amen! Sophie!

    I’m in friendlymom.

  38. friendlymom permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:36 pm

    I agree. We need to call every news station, write the president, just make some noise. If we cannot get a law, maybe we can at least run them out of business.

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:43 pm

    I don’t think it will matter if you write the president friendly mom. Go to ripoffreport.com and put in Showbiz Promotions. They aren’t a reputable company.

  40. Just sayin' permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:48 pm

    We need to put a stop to this before they start selling heart stickers and duct tape as the doll’s accessories. Can we please come up with a plan of action or something? I just can’t stand anymore!

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 8:57 pm

    Just sayin’

    It’s a free country with free enterprise and if any member of the family or their attorneys signed a licensing deal with this company it’s perfectly legal. (not sure if it is if there wasn’t a licensing agreement). We can hate it and send letters and boycott the company but that’s about it. Showbiz promotions has a bad reputation already. They’re not gonna care what anyone thinks and probably considers this all free publicity. It definitely sucks.

  42. trensota permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:42 pm

    Ugh!!! I honestly thought this was just a sick joke!

    Tongue firmly in cheek, they say they ‘had to do something to raise awareness’!! More like, had to do something to take advantage of the riptide of public awareness carrying this case along with it.

    Horrible, ghoulish, disgusting! I am going to try and believe that no one will buy these things and that the company will receive nothing but hate-mail.

  43. MAND permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:48 pm

    Mystery. .if KC sold the rights to Caylee’s name there is nothing anyone can do about it..she has not been found guilty of a crime..as for Dumbo being a part of this..it would be by KC’s request..he is her attorney..and so sorry to say he is doing nothing wrong.
    You’re right Mystery..there is not much that can be done about this ..it is free enterprise.
    This has been in the works for sometime..they are ready to go to market..I am thinking this may be what sent George over the edge. JMO

    I would like to think no one would buy this doll..but sad to say I know there are those that will..for whatever reason..there are those that buy morbid art? John WG..the morbid clown prints.and so many more.

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 9:55 pm

    Kari, did you see the president of that company on NG? Talk about a sleezeball.

    Mand, I wouldn’t be surprised if that was the straw that broke the camel’s back with George.

    On Greta tonight she said that the Anthonys were not involved with the doll. That doesn’t mean Baez isn’t involved with KC approval. I can’t imagine that company would blatantly take Caylee’s name and make a bunch of stuff without someone’s permission.

  45. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:58 pm

    I know this may be a shocker of an idea, but has anyone thought that maybe the Caylee Foundation, the non-profit that the family started could be the charity??? Another thought: if it is found to be traced back to Casey in any way couldn’t the State of Florida sue for some of the profits to recoup some of the costs of this case, if it is found to be profitted on her behalf??? I mean this case wouldn’t have cost so much if she had told the truth.

  46. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:00 pm

    I’m sorry this just makes me sick and there has got to be a way to combat this.

  47. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 10:00 pm

    Doesn’t she have to be convicted before they could do that? I don’t know.

    Interesting thought about the foundation. The guy stuttered around and said something about he couldn’t disclose the charity. (sounds like the National Enquirer!

  48. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:07 pm

    Yeah! We have heard this before. She may have to be convicted first.

  49. MAND permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:13 pm

    It would be a civil suite..not criminal..and like they said she has no money so why bring a civil suite.
    I chuckled a little to myself at the charity thing Mystery..where have we heard this before?

  50. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:15 pm

    What about Kid Finders and Michelle Bart???

  51. topcat08 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:19 pm

    Yes she does have to be convicted first. But if they get what they can now!!!By the time the trial is over she will have already used the money for the dream team. There is no way anyone would come out with a product like that without buying the rights from someone!!

  52. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 10:19 pm

    From one of our “friends”?

  53. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:20 pm

    I agree. I really would like to know what charity if there is one. I think that would be very telling as to who is behind it.

  54. ostella permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:20 pm

    By the way, Mystery, great work catching the “beautiful life” part of that press release…very sharp!

    I would think that by law, the company HAS to disclose the charity they are donating to; ESPECIALLY if they’re using it as a marketing ploy. You can’t lure people in by advertising that proceeds go to charity, and then refuse to divulge WHAT charity their money will end up in. Maybe it’s different in TwilightZoneFloridaLand, but that seems just downright illegal.

  55. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 10:21 pm

    I thought about that Niecey–sounds like something they might get involved in.

  56. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:22 pm

    I think I may do a little research tomorrow.

  57. niecey456 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:22 pm

    It does and that guy has a rap sheet. He’s a pro at swindling.

  58. topcat08 permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:38 pm

    Well if Baez isn’t screaming Law suite in the next day or so we will know they made the deal.

  59. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 26, 2009 10:45 pm

    You’re exactly right topcat. Something tells me he won’t say a word!

    Gotta go to bed–I have an early day tomorrow. Goodnight!

  60. MAND permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:52 pm

    Niecey..hope you find something..
    I don’t think you will hear from Dumbo..I think this was part of some of the deals and he’s right..it’s not a book or movie!!!

    Goodnight Everyone..Sweet Dreams..

  61. luvanrs permalink
    January 27, 2009 12:57 am

    Please, for the sake of all decency, no one buy that doll, bracelet, T-shirt, etc.!!! Also, stop purchasing the find Caylee bracelets and T-shirts that the Anthony’s are selling. Stop supporting this disgusting mess.

  62. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 27, 2009 1:14 am

    Made in america,GBA.EH!This shit would NEVER happen here in Canada,NEVER.If Hose B is behind this hang the pr**k by his nuts!!The anthony’s we all understand,bunch of WHACKO’S,one day they are going to have answer to a higher authority,only the growlies are going come to get em,to take them to the hot spot.Need they ever wonder why!!
    Now ppl can throw rocks at them,Scummy ,scummy ppl.I try and tell my friends about this case,I have followed this from day 1.and when I try to explain just what is going on they look at me like I made this up or read it in some B movie script,no it’s made in america.They make me so happy to be a Canuck, lifes just grand up here,cold but grand.GBA cheap liquor
    handguns,and crack/meth,take ur pick.How about you BOYCOTT this company that wants to produce this sick and twisted………..money making scheme,WTF.

  63. Paul in PG BC permalink
    January 27, 2009 1:25 am

    Heres the jerkoffs email at SHOWBIZ,
    showbiz04@earthlink.net send the jerk an email,showbiz to no biz.boycott

  64. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 27, 2009 7:43 am

    I’m sure the movie deals and books are still on the table–and btw did you hear NG last night? I swear I heard her say SHE was writing a book about this!

    luvanrs–cannot imagine that anyone would buy this stuff, but was looking on ABC’s blog and they had a poll up. The vast majority of people said no they wouldn’t buy the doll, but 40 people had said they would!! Unbelievable.

    Thanks for the address, Paul. If you’re sure it’s the right one I’m gonna put it in my sidebar.

Leave a Reply

