Skip to content

Court will address motions in Casey Anthony case this morning

January 30, 2009

Orange Osceola State Attorney’s Office said there’s no factual or legal basis for the defense motion asking to remove prosecution from the case.  The defense team has accused the State’s Attorney’s Office of leaking info to the media about a Florida Bar investigation of Baez.  A spokesman said it’s a rare request and will be tough to prove.

“I view it more as an effort to harass the prosecution team,” Mason said. “If that’s the case, they’re wasting their time.”

Baez  claimes that prosecutors wanted the Florida Bar to investigate his dealings.  Prosecutors deny the allegation.  There has been no hearing date slated for this motion.

Mason said he thinks the judge will side with the defense on a motion to access the crime scene, but he believes it will be a win for prosecutors to force Baez to redo his potential witness list–a virtual carbon copy of the state’s list.

“They listed three, but said the defense includes the state’s witness list,” Mason said. “That’s not good enough.”

Another motion was filed on Thursday, this time by attorney Mark NeJame. He is asking the court to toss out a request to have members of Texas EquuSearch appear as defense witnesses.

read about it here:

wesh.com

Casey Anthony is to appear in court this morning and the hearing will be streamed live on wesh.com.  I hadn’t heard about the carbon copy witness list.  He didn’t even bother to list the names individually. (Is he just too busy or what?  (I bet one of his new law student’s would be happy to take care of that itemized list for him)

Does that mean every witness for the prosecution will also be a witness for the defense??  Someone enlighten me–is that normal??

25 Comments leave one →
  1. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:33 am

    It should prove interesting. I am at the point where I have almost stopped trying to predict the outcome, because this is the most bizarre case I have ever known. Not much surprises me anymore. I do feel, if Bozo keeps this charade up for much longer, he may be the one removed.

  2. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:34 am

    and should be…he’s just stopping up the court system.

  3. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:39 am

    Mystery, I am beginning to wonder if he even has a plan (or a clue for that matter). He seems to be doing much, thinking little. The wheels turning but the hampster ain’t home.

  4. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:40 am

    Maybe the teaching job is back up; he may never get another client after this circus act.

  5. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:46 am

    Mystery, do you feel, as I do, that the body was first buried somewhere else? Of course, the soil found in the trunk may have been from the shovel. Since she only had the shovel about an hour, it makes sense that she was buried close to home.

  6. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:52 am

    I don’t think they can have the same witnesses. This is why we have “cross examination”. Bozo has the right to try and discredit every witness on the stand. However, the witness cannot be wishy washy claims that support each side. Good Gravy, surely he knows this much, if not, he better go back to Law 101.

  7. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:54 am

    Is he really this stupid, or is just acting like he is. Maybe that’s his tactic, you know like a pool shark going somewhere new and acting like they can’t play, then when money is put down, they sweep the game. Hmmmmmm

  8. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:03 am

    Mystery, I am not seeing any coverage on the hearing. Please update me, when you can. Thanks friend. 🙂

  9. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:12 am

    Mystery, am I understanding the Athony’s attorney’s request? Did that sound like he was asking for them not to be put as witnesses, due to conflict of interest? I am not sure what he was trying to say, and the audio wasn’t the greatest. If so, I believe that speaks volumes in their believing she is guilty.

  10. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:22 am

    Are the parents asking that her remains be released on Geraldo? I am lost here.

  11. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:37 am

    I believe I have finally understand. I guess he was just saying the Anthonys have no problem with Bozo looking into TES’s records. Okay?

  12. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:17 am

    I pray this trial does not go into next year. That just seems ridiculous. Maybe they are thinking more will come of this, so it’s better to wait. What do you think?

  13. MAND permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:32 am

    Good Morning F Mom…They have said this case will not go to trial for at least a year..sometime in 2010..Dumbo will be hoping all the hoopla dies down and people will forget about the case as something else will grab their attention.

    Good Morning Mystery.

  14. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:34 am

    Mand, I believe this also. It is probably smart, as emotions will subside some. However, I feel confident that the people will NEVER give up on wanting justice for Caylee, and will NEVER let her be forgotten.

  15. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:40 am

    If Casey had not lied, if Casey had not been partying up in the clubs, if Casey had not lead the police on a wild goose chase, if Casey had told “anyone” her daughter was missing, if Casey had bothered to act concerned about little Caylee in the least, the media probably would not be on her like they are. SHE created the enviornment in which she now lives within.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 30, 2009 11:46 am

    good morning friendlymom and mand–

    friendly mom you asked some really good questions that I can’t answer. Anyone know for sure that a person cannot be on both the prosecution AND at the same time on the defense witness list? Doesn’t seem like you could, but I don’t know for sure.

  17. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 11:57 am

    Well, I cannot imagine you could have a witness present themselves as defending “both” sides. It that not setting the stage for “reasonable doubt”?

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 30, 2009 12:12 pm

    friendly mom, I don’t think the body was moved. JMO. I think several people (Dominic Casey, maybe Lee–who knows, maybe Kronk) knew the body was in the area it was found but had been unable to find it.

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 30, 2009 12:13 pm

    I think it was said that the ground had been disturbed in the back yard, but that it wasn’t deep enough for a grave. I think Casey was going to bury her there but it was too hard to dig. When she realized that she tossed her.

  20. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 12:16 pm

    Yes, I tend to think the soil found in the trunk was from this site. She may have thought about putting her in the back yard, but thought not; too close. I still DO NOT believe in an accident theory. She would have come clean about that eventually, when she starting missing Caylee. She shows no signs of missing her as far as I am concerned. I think this to be a insult everytime I hear it mentioned. And if it were, why the fu@#ing duct tape!?!

  21. MAND permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:02 pm

    Both sides can call the same witness to testify..thus the term Hostile Witness..if a person is testifying for the prosecution and the defense calls them to also testify..then they are a hostile witness for the defense..I’m pretty sure I said it right.

  22. friendlymom permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:22 pm

    How much credibility would they hold though? And why would you not just cross examine, instead of calling them up for your side? It doesn’t make sense to me.

  23. MAND permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:34 pm

    It usually has something to do with statements given…if the attorney doesn’t get enough on cross or something comes up they subpoena the witness… I would imagine scare tactics would come in to play also..I could be wrong but I think that is how it’s done.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 30, 2009 2:22 pm

    No, I long ago gave up on the idea of it being an accident–though I really wish it had been. You are right, she would have eventually admitted it and she also would have been distraught.

  25. MAND permalink
    January 30, 2009 6:09 pm

    I don’t think I got it right on the hostile witness..it is a little complicated..you can look it up..type in legal definition of hostile witness..there’s a bevy of info.

Leave a Reply

