Skip to content

Casey Anthony writes a statement saying she did not want a public memorial

February 9, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “RAW VIDEO: Attorney Reads Casey Antho…“, posted with vodpod

Jose Baez read a statement today written by Casey Anthony.  She said she did not want a public memorial service for Caylee.  She wanted it to be private.

The full statement, which was read by Anthony’s attorney, Jose Baez, Monday afternoon said:

“I miss Caylee every day and every minute of every day. I can’t be there for Caylee’s funeral, but some day I want to go and visit her grave and tell her how much I miss her.”I love my parents to be in charge of the funeral for Caylee. I told them I wanted her buried in a casket, and I wanted there to be a gravestone so I can go and visit her. I asked them if there could only be a private funeral for just the family. I know they cremated her. I still don’t want a public event with cameras and everybody around for Caylee’s service, but I can’t stop my parents from doing what they want. I truly hope that it will help them.”

This may be why Casey did not want to watch the public memorial.  It may also be why Brad Conway said ” Caylee’s remains are not at the Anthony’s home.  They are safe and sound at the funeral home.”

Sounds like Cindy and Casey are in a battle of the wills.  My question would be: How could Cindy have had Caylee cremated without Casey’s permission?  Did Casey sign her rights away?  I think   “I love my parents to be in charge of the funeral for Caylee” may be a typo.  Instead of love she may have meant to say I let my parents to be in charge of the funeral for Caylee”.

Was this a sincere statement?–or an attempt to foil Cindy’s memorial service?

read it below:

click orlando

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul in PG BC permalink
    February 9, 2009 7:49 pm

    What a croc of El crapola,Nice try Hose B.do we look like we just fell off the turnip truck!!
    This service tomorrow is gonna be a circus,the anthonys will be so proud of them selves[puke].

  2. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 7:55 pm

    All there was to that letter is a “look at me” attempt, and a way of her bringing more negativity toward her mother. It’s not over. Casey is pissed, and she is going to make sure someone pays, preferable her mother. There is going to be something big coming from that direction. I just feel it. She is going to try and point some kind of blame toward Cindy.

  3. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 7:56 pm

    I wouldn’t be one bit surprised if she doesn’t claim Cindy took her from the nanny and did this to Caylee.

  4. niecey456 permalink
    February 9, 2009 7:57 pm

    I guess we are reminded everyday that there is always so much more we do not know about. Like Caylee being cremated. When did that happen? It is there right. I’m a little surprised by the test of wills here. Although I’m not sure why. I guess because they appeared to stick so closely by her and she is appearing to not be on the same page. She must have given them the authority, but then if she did, how is she having her attorney sell the pics and such???

  5. niecey456 permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:03 pm

    I meant their right.

  6. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:05 pm

    It is a complicated mess isn’t it? Too many hands in the cookie jar for one. I just cannot believe (well by now I guess I can) how far these two are taking this power struggle. My God, to fight over the funeral just shows their level of ignorance and selfishness. It is not supposed to be about either of them, but about little Caylee. I do know, they were afraid of people swarming her grave. I can honestly understand that concern. Just look at the idiot protesters planning their hoop la tomorrow. I can understand them wanting to keep Caylee in a place that feels safe and less likely to be desecrated.

  7. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:07 pm

    And I am sorry for those that I may offend, but honestly why should Casey have any say? Did she not give her rights away when she decided to kill her daughter and throw her out like trash? I really do not care how she feels.

  8. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:10 pm

    Casey is not able to look beyond her own selfish needs to see the whole picture, and even if she were, she would do what was best for her not Caylee. She proved that in the way she led her life when Caylee was in her care and still alive. She only put out that letter to stab at her mother, nothing more, nothing less. She is still trying to serve the Casey Kool-aid and no one is drinking it except Bozo and Miss Piggy.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 9, 2009 8:17 pm

    niecey–I doubt Casey gave Cindy her full power of attorney. I imagine she just gave her permission to bury her.

    I understand how you feel friendlymom. It is hard to think she has the right to control what happens to the daughter she is accused of murdering.

    Paul–I originally held out hope that this would be a beautiful dignified service. Having a little trouble believing that tonight. Lenny has gone too far IMO and I hope no one from the media chooses to help him exploit this situation.

  10. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:19 pm

    I agree with ya there Mystery. He needs to take his fat a$$ back where he came from and but out. He is such a moron, and no one cares what he has to say anymore. I wish NG would kick him to the curb.

  11. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:20 pm

    I also agree that Casey did not give all control away. She is not stupid when it comes to putting money her way. She knows Caylee is money.

  12. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:21 pm

    I think they should put Cindy and Casey in a cell together and let them beat each other to death.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 9, 2009 8:23 pm

    That would be the perfect punishment IMO. Put them in a cell together–forever!!

  14. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:24 pm

    Does that looney bi@#h really think she will ever get a chance to go to Caylee’s grave? Ha What a joke.

  15. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:25 pm

    Yes it would. Hell it would be. They would fight over everything from pop tarts to stinky farts.

  16. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:27 pm

    Let em have at it, and this way no one else suffers another day from their wrath. I honestly have never seen anything more sad. When you look up family disfunction, their picture will be there as an example.

  17. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:28 pm

    I think we can all safely say we have definitly learned what not to do with our children.

  18. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:47 pm

    One last thought. As soon as this memorial is over, the media, or anyone else, should not give these nuts an ounce of attention. Let them hear us loud and clear………….IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN ABOUT CAYLEE………. not you selfish hateful fools.

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 9, 2009 8:48 pm

    nice thought, friendlymom–but highly unlikely.

  20. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:48 pm

    The only thing I want to hear from this point on is GUILTY ON ALL CHARGES.

  21. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:50 pm

    You are right, because too many out there want to run it into the ground. It’s like watching Days of Our Lives only with idiots on the cast. I honestly do not care what any of them have to say, unless it is the truth and ownership of their part in this mess. That is it.

  22. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:52 pm

    Much of Casey’s behavior was learned; only she got meaner and more spiteful in the new generation.

  23. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:55 pm

    You know, Cindy and Casey will keep the gossip going with their ping-pong comments, then add loser LP in the mix and some of the other circus clowns. It just astonishes me that none of them realize that people only tune in to hear and see them continue to make fools of themselves. No one is taking them seriously. They are all jokes.

  24. friendlymom permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:56 pm

    Including Bozo and his bleach blonde side kick.

  25. detwill39 permalink
    February 9, 2009 9:00 pm

    Wow, this blog is getting as fast as Humbles and these old eyes are having a hard time to keep up.

    “I love my parents to be in charge of the funeral for Caylee.” Am I taking that out of context or did Casey make that statement in a snide way?

    Casey has alot of anger towards her mother. It was evident in the lost jail video when she chose to see her father over Cindy. She mentioned that she wanted to get closer to her father as they had been distanced in the past.

    The rift is still on between two strong headed women.

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 9, 2009 9:29 pm

    detwill–I think the gloves have come off between Cindy and Casey and we ain’t seen nothin’ yet. I thought Bozo Baez was gonna cry during his reading of Casey’s statement. If he hadn’t gotten so irritated at all the honking cars I believe he would have squeezed a tear out.

    I hope they tone it down after the memorial, too friendlymom, but there is supposed to be another document dump this week so I doubt that will happen.

  27. detwill39 permalink
    February 9, 2009 10:21 pm

    I wonder if there will be any forensic evidence in the document dump. It would be interesting to see if any prints were visible on the duct tape or if it matched the tape on the gas cans. Also any DNA evidence on the things removed from the Anthony house.

    Do you think any of Caseys previous friends will be at the memorial? Annie Downing, Amy H, KioMaria, Tony, Ricardo, Chris Stutz, Sean Daly… I don’t even know if the Grunds are allowed to attend.

  28. Molly permalink
    February 9, 2009 10:54 pm

    Amy & the Grunds are not allowed in. Mr. Grund will be at the site with LP doing their own little thing. I’ve always liked LP, wish I was there, I’d be at the site too.
    This statement today between Cindy & Casey is HUGE. There is trouble there & someone’s gonna blow!
    Document dump coming this week, bombshell stuff I think. That’s why all the tv time for Baez. It’s a pattern now with him.

  29. Boston permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:13 am

    Casey gave over the responsibility of Caylee’s remains to Cindy and George. I would assume that since she had no money for the funeral that they made a conscious decision to cremate her. I doubt even further that Cindy and George unilaterally decided to cremate Caylee without telling Casey. I find that very,very hard to believe.

    I think Jose is pissed off that they are doing the memorial but couldn;t get Casey to shut up about it. He regrets taking on this case. I think he is stuck but others have gotten away from cases they were uneasy with. Can’t think of any right now but I will.

  30. pak31 permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:27 am

    I don’t know what the truth is here but all I have to say is that there is no way that anyone should read that statement above and believe that it is 100% from Casey. Come on, this woman probably commited this horrible crime against her child, let her rot out in the woods, partied till the cows came home, etc. etc, and now all of sudden, right before the memorial service she’s finally speaking out on behalf of herself and her daughter? She actually now CARES where Caylee is buried, yet it was okay to toss her in the woods before?? No way Jose is what I say. This is just a defense tactic to get sympathy for Casey, that is all it is IMO. If she really cared she’d have spoken out sooner. I just can’t believe that some people are actually believing that these are the words of Casey. Even if it turns out that they are, it would be like others said, more about the fued between her and Cindy than anything to do with Caylee.

  31. friendlymom permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:47 am

    Good morning friends 🙂 I went to bed last night thinking of some of the lastest events in this case, and then I said a prayer. I ask God to watch over the memorial service and all who are attending. I ask that he help keep Caylee’s memory front and center in everyone’s hearts, and that he ease tempers and give guidance to those who are struggling with their emotions. I cried for Caylee and all the other children who are lost, damaged or gone forever. I am mailing my donation to Equasearch today. My husband and I are sending a donation in Caylee’s honor. I only have one comment about yesterday’s events and that is in regards to Casey’s comment of not wanting a public event. Why Casey? It didn’t bother you to throw your daughter out like trash, after you duct taped her little mouth and killed her. You left her to the elements, the animals and left her alone in it all. You walked away and went on as if she never existed. You have not cried for her, only yourself. You lied and eluded the authorities, who were trying to find your missing daughter, all the while you knew she was dead. You have devastated your family beyond repair, as well as all others who cared about you and Caylee. So why care now? You don’t, that’s the truth. You only care that everyone is fussing over Caylee and not you. You are done, a bad memory, and we want you erased from society, as if YOU never existed. May God have bless your daughter and keep her and may God have mercy on your evil soul.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 10, 2009 8:05 am

    detwill–I’m hoping hoping hoping there was a fingerprint on the duct tape and that’s what we will be hearing–I haven’t heard who will be there–only that George and Cindy are planning on attending and Cindy is supposed to speak.

    MollyI had not heard that Amy and the Grunds were on the list–How long is that list anyway? Cindy won’t have time to take part in the memorial she will be so busy policing the place. She probably is afraid Amy will hit her up for the money she took from Casey’s wallet the night they called 911 knowing full well it had to be Amy’s.

    Boston–my guess is they informed Casey they were cremating Caylee and if Casey in fact did protest, they ignored her. I would imagine money was a factor although I can’t imagine that if people would send money to Casey for snacks in jail they wouldn’t pay for a funeral for Caylee. I would have sent money for that if I could have been sure it was going where it was supposed to go.

    That’s a beautiful prayer, friendlymom, and a great idea to donate to Equusearch in Caylee’s name. Any money sent to TES would be put to good and honest use.

    I still believe it is now not only a power struggle between Cindy and Casey, (the winner gets the “prize” in their eyes–the right to make money off the tragedy by selling personal items, photos, videos, etc. of Caylee) It’s also an attempt to improve their approval numbers with the public–pointless IMO. Sitting by Caylee’s bed holding a teddy and writing letters saying you hoped to visit your little daughter’s gravestone and now you can’t does nothing to make people change their minds about them. It reinforces the fact that these two women are very self centered and self serving.

  33. friendlymom permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:08 am

    Mystery, I read your statement on your other blog about the earlier statement made by Casey. I agree with you, and it has haunted me as well. Did Cindy know something. I also heard the 911 call where you can hear Cindy and Casey talking before the operator came on. Cindy says No, I’ve already given you 31 days. She did not say, you have already had 31 days, but “I have already given you 31 days”. I really do not know what to make of any of it, because there has been little truth and many lies. But my heart tells me that there is more to this than anyone knows of. It has always bothered me that Cindy was so close to Caylee, and then just wouldn’t bother checking in on her for so long. I just never bought that. For someone who is so controlling, I just do not feel she would have waited that long to stick her nose in. I don’t know, much of what they do makes little sense. I do know this though, these two women have been exposed to the world. The ugliness of their behavior, the possessiveness of Caylee, and the power struggle that ended Caylee’s life. I personally hold them both responsible. It just goes to show that people should not use children as weapons against each other. It happens all too often, and the children are always the ones to suffer. Why can they not put their own selfish needs aside and realize the children want to be able to love all of them without fear or guilt? It is just so devastatingly sad. 😦

  34. Boston permalink
    February 10, 2009 2:57 pm

    Mystery-She had so much to say yesterday but couldn’t help the cops find her darling child she forgot to report missing.

    Jose is too stupid to tel her to shut up. They both will be in the same cage soon.

  35. Carmell permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:42 pm

    A psychopath is a psychopath. A person cannot feel where there is no ability to feel. I am a survivor of arsenic, zinc, and warafarin poisoning by someone and am crippled for life. This was done by a psychopath in my own family. Yet, just like Scott Peterson who ruthlessly murdered his wife and child…everyone thought he was so handsome and nice. Sorry to say but most psychopaths are. My advice to others is– you’d better watch who you think that you actually know

Leave a Reply

