Skip to content

Fingerprints on the duct tape or not? Contradictions from new’s sources in the latest Caylee Anthony documents

February 17, 2009

A second news station is saying, no, there are no fingerprints on the duct tape.  Channel 6 news sources contradict WESH2 news sources.  WESH2 sources implied there were fingerprints on the tape and it wouldn’t be good for the defense. (see previous post) Which is it?  I guess we’ll have to wait til the documents are released to the public and read it for ourselves.

Below is the information from Channel 6.

Sources told Local 6 News Monday that no fingerprints were located on the duct tape found wrapped around the skull of Caylee Anthony.

Hundreds of pages of additional documents are expected to be released in the case against the slain toddler’s mother, Casey Anthony, as early as Tuesday.

The girl’s skull was wrapped in duct tape, and sources told Local 6 News that sheriff’s investigators headed to the Anthony house the day the discovery was make, looking for evidence that might link Casey Anthony or items in the house to the crime scene.Sources said the soon-to-be released documents will show that investigators never found a duct tape roll at the home but did find a similar piece of tape on a gasoline can in the house. Sources also told Local 6 News that FBI lab tests reveal no fingerprints were found on the duct tape.

Celebrity bounty hunter Leonard Padilla, who has been involved with the case since he bailed Casey Anthony out of jail, claimed the opposite last week on national TV. A tabloid magazine also reported that Casey Anthony’s fingerprints were found on the tape.Sources inside Casey Anthony’s defense team said they are “sick of Padilla’s lies” and want him to “go away.”

clickorlando

Here’s what WESH2 reported yesterday.

According to a source close to the investigation, test results from the FBI crime lab on the duct tape found on slain toddler Caylee Anthony’s skull are in that new batch of evidence.When asked by WESH 2’s Bob Kealing if Casey Anthony’s fingerprints were on the duct tape, a source with direct knowledge of the investigation said, “This is not going to be good news for the defense.”

wesh.com


72 Comments leave one →
  1. Rrainne permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:08 am

    I can’t wait to find out what these new test results actually show. How can there be no prints? …. I hope they release this info today.

  2. Barbara permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:10 am

    It is interesting to me that dog hair has never been discovered on the blanket or duct tape that was found with caylee’s remains. Anyone with a dog knows dog hair is everywhere, no matter how much you clean. There are pictures of the Anthony dogs on Caylee’s bed in a video of Caylee’s room.

    THE ANTHONY’S ARE A VERY DISFUNCTIONAL FAMILY.

  3. Boston permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:15 am

    Mystery-Good reorting. this is what happens when the media gets in and has a word fest over the impending release of the documents. It could be good for business but it sure doesn’t look good for Casey and never has.

  4. Boston permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:15 am

    “reporting”

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 9:21 am

    I’m laughing Boston. I was headed to the dictionary to look up re0rting! You have definitely increased my vocabulary since I’ve met you!

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 9:23 am

    Rrainne–I heard they may be released as early as today.

    Barbara–maybe they did find dog hair. I agree. If you have a dog there’s hair.

  7. Boston permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:43 am

    Mystery-You are so funny and such a good writer. I doubt very much if ya need much help from me!

    By the way, I just listened to last nights account from WESH-a defense attorney was suggesting that this was the time for Jose to come forward and work out a deal with the DA. We’re not lawyers but we’re all on the same page with that one!

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 10:06 am

    Sounds like it, Boston. Wonder if he will? If it turns out there are no fingerprints, I guess he’ll probably plow forward.

  9. niecey456 permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:35 am

    I could be wrong, but I’m thinking there were finger prints, and I’ve had a feeling for a while that this may not go to trial. Again, I could be wrong, but these are my feelings. It’s not that I’m a big LP believer, but I’m thinking that Jose’s stomach troubles could be an indicator too. Unless of course Bees Knees is right and it is the deadly Casey Ebola virus.

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 10:43 am

    niecey–I’ve held out hope that there are fingerprints, too. Guess we’ll see in the next few days.

  11. MAND permalink
    February 17, 2009 11:08 am

    Hi Ladies
    How could there not be prints on the tape? I have believed that the prints on the tape would be hers and it would put a wrap on this case..I’m going to hold onto believing there is and add a little prayer..Something got Dumbo’s tummy in a knot…I was so hoping it was him seeing his big dreams of finding KC “innocent” and the big trial of the century and all the money going south!!

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 11:22 am

    Yeah, me too, Mand. We’ll just have to wait. There may be more even more damning evidence in the documents.

  13. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 11:59 am

    Niecy, is there any way to “talk” to another blogger privately?

  14. niecey456 permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:01 pm

    Yes, there is. Is there a problem?

  15. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:04 pm

    To be or Not to be…….that is the question. Sorry ladies, but it just makes me think of Shakespeare. This has been like watching a really bad play; more like a cheap B movie. I am on the edge of my seat.

  16. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:07 pm

    I appears that someone around here has been barred again? Guess that’s what happens when you can’t play nice in the sandbox.

  17. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:09 pm

    I’ve been thinking all along too, that the duct tape would have prints. Maybe it does. We are def. getting conflicting information right now so don’t give up yet.

    Besides fingerprints on duct tape, it could also be fingerprints on sticker, or Casey’s hair on duct tape or sticker, maybe even DNA on sticker (from licking sticker) ~ depends on what type of sticker it is.

    Whatever evidence they’ve found I hope poor old Baez doesn’t crap in his “Big & Tall ” pants!!! Snort!

  18. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:10 pm

    I just cannot imagine there being “nothing” of value on that tape. You would think a carpet fiber, dog hair, something that could put that tape in Casey’s hands would have been present.

  19. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:12 pm

    Hi to everyone by the way. Good to see you around Mand. I missed you.

  20. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:14 pm

    Hi Niecey! I don’t know if there is still a problem or not. Give me a minute and I’ll see if I can find the original comments that were made yesterday. It could be that my experience was not as similar as I first thought BUT there’s a good chance that it was. Be right back. Thanks for your patience!

  21. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:25 pm

    Hmmmm . . . sorry Niecey, can’t find the original thread where I first read about the problem but I’m pretty sure it involved East Coast Deb, Humble and Southshorepi. And the reason I asked you the question Niecey, was because you had good advice for me the other day and I thought you might have some advice that could help out these three bloggers, too. If you’re not interested , I can understand completely ~ but if you are and I can speak directly to you I would like to. I apologize to everyone who thinks I’m being weird or mysterious. I’m really not.

  22. artgal16 permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:26 pm

    Wesh never says that there are fingerprints on the duct tape – he only says that the documents arent good for the defense – there is a difference

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 12:28 pm

    Who’s been barred friendlymom?

    Bee’s Knee’s: I think it’s probably Big Boy’s Huskies–don’t think Baez is very tall!

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 12:29 pm

    You are right artgal. But they certainly insinuate it.
    Perhaps there is other info in the docs that will “not be good for the defense.”

  25. Augie52 permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:30 pm

    The tape could have other evidence linked to Casey other than her finger prints ON the tape itself . . . ie: fibers, skin cells, her hair, even saliva as many people tear at duct tape with their teeth.

    . . which is why the comment “doesn’t look good for the defense” may have been made even though finger prints may not be on the tape.

  26. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:32 pm

    I don’t see MM post any longer. Did she get barred or did she just scoot out quietly?

  27. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:34 pm

    I am guessing they have something that is solid. Ole Casey’s probably got her fingernails bitten to the nubs.

  28. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:37 pm

    She’s probably singing the blues……..old jailhouse hits like…..Nobody knows the troubles I’ve seen, Nobody knows my sorrows. While the other inmates yell back “put a sock in it Crazy……Nobody Cares”!

  29. niecey456 permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:39 pm

    She’s still there Friendly Mom. Just caught in the page change. Still on Casey’s forum. Bees Knees, I will help if I can, but not sure what you are referring to. I don’t currently have your email to ask, cleaned my email this morning. Don’t know what’s going on. Sorry Mystery, off topic.
    I do think there has to be some pretty upsetting news in the new docs, or Baez wouldn’t be so sick. JMO

  30. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:39 pm

    Oh wait…..that’s a parody isn’t it? HeHe

  31. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:40 pm

    Hmmmmmm . . . fibers, skin cells and saliva Augie52! You’re right!!! She really is the gift that keeps on giving. HA! Lots of possibilities. We don’t care what they have as long as it guarantees life without parole!

  32. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:41 pm

    Yes, I am with you Niecey, got him upset enough to get a lead in one of those Peptol Bismal commercials. Can’t you just picture him doing the dance????

  33. niecey456 permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:42 pm

    We must keep Casey Ebola quarantined!

  34. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:42 pm

    I would be satisfied with a life sentence, but death row wouldn’t hurt my feelings either.

  35. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:45 pm

    Yes they do need to keep it quarantined. It’s deadly! Isn’t it nice to know they watch NG together over the laptop. Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy…….NOT! Then Baez gets all pissy cause she drops Pop Tart crumbs in the keyboard.

  36. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:46 pm

    Don’t know why she cares so much about what people think of her now. She sure didn’t when she was pissing in public, and showing her goods all over the place.

  37. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:50 pm

    Nope, don’t see her. She has been removed before, and looks like it happened again.

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 1:10 pm

    Augie–You could very well be right!

    No problem niecey. I have Bees Knees email if she wants me to pass it to you?

    It’s there friendlymom. I just read the post and the comments.

  39. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:17 pm

    I didn’t see it. Why do they tolerate bullies around here anyway?

  40. February 17, 2009 2:23 pm

    Hello Mystery and hello to everyone here, i am hanging in there with fingerprints are on the duct tape until i hear it from LE . These sources never get anything correct. Lenny too is wrong sometimes but he is right sometimes too. OOH, i hope this is on JVM and NG tonite. I have to say if they are on the duct tape, i really would rather they do not put the death penalty back on the table. Not for Casey, but for C&G. They have to live the rest of their lives without Caylee and i do believe they loved her with all their hearts, dumb as they were with believing Casey’s lies and not even meeting the so called baby sitter. That would be over the top devastating as they would never know when the day was going to come she would be up for the execution. I think they are going to have a hard enough time living without caylee in that home. I remember George saying to the FBI the house was just too quiet. you know it is when you have had a baby around for 2+years.

  41. February 17, 2009 2:24 pm

    Bees knees, that big old Bee avatar gives me a laugh everytime i see it. I like Bees and find them very interesting . thanks.

  42. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:25 pm

    Yep, she is there. Don’t know why it wasn’t showing earlier. I am a bit confused though, why are we being titled the angry ones? If she doesn’t think she’s acting angry, I would hate to see what she is like when she “really” angry. So sad to be so bitter. Needs to turn the frown upside down. WordPress should be watching for bullies like this.

  43. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:26 pm

    Hellow Nightowl. Good to see you too.

  44. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:27 pm

    HaHa I laugh at myself, that is supposed to say Hello. Mystery get your dictionary again.

  45. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 2:35 pm

    Hi Knight Owl. I doubt they’ll put the death penalty back out there. I really believe she will get life in prison, and I think that would be a fitting punishment.

    George and Cindy and Lee will be able to visit her and unfortunately probably be subjected to her verbal abuse for the rest of all their lives.

  46. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:50 pm

    Good point mystery. It does seem just when you put it like that.

  47. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:58 pm

    I agree with you Nightowl, I think the Anthonys have suffered enough, without having to see a daughter put to death. I think the prosecution feels this way too. Casey would be punished more by having to live everyday behind bars, wondering how much fun she is missing. The money, and the Pop Tarts will run out and then the cold lonliness sets in. I still think she should be forced to keep pictures of Caylee all over her walls. Let the eyes of her victim stare at her everyday.

  48. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 3:12 pm

    Where did everybody go? Do I stink or something? lol

  49. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 3:35 pm

    friendlymom-

    I was just headed to the dictionary again, friendly mom! LOL!

  50. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 3:39 pm

    LOL! Friendlymom! I was playing with my grandbaby. His mom will be here to get him in a few minutes.

    I think keeping Caylee’s pictures in her cell would be something she would want to do, don’t you? That was her baby. Very weird that she doesn’t want to look her photo.

  51. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 3:57 pm

    Indeed it is. You can bet, if I couldn’t have my kids with me, I would have their pictures all around me, unless for some odd reason I just couldn’t look at them???????

  52. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 3:58 pm

    I can’t hardly stand this waiting game. I am on the edge of my seat anxiously awaiting this document dump.

  53. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:00 pm

    Kiss that grandbaby for me too. I miss mine. She doesn’t come around very much these days. We get punished like that.

  54. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:01 pm

    I hate to see children used as pawns. I would rather not get to see mine, then to put her through a bunch of drama. Our daughter has many issues, and it’s a way of hurting us. Grandparents have no rights, at least not in our state.

  55. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:03 pm

    The baby’s dad will bring her to us though.

  56. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:07 pm

    Mystery I apologize. I missed your comment awhile back. Yes, if you can give my email to Niecey I would appreciate it.

    And Niecey is right everyone. Baez has no doubt been infected with the most deadly disease in Florida for which there is no cure, the Casey Ebola virus. Initial symptoms are flu-like and may include: lying, greediness, stupidity, early signs of male pattern and other non-specific symptoms. Apparently Casey Ebola spread her virus all over him last week at the Orange County jail where Casey and her lawyer-lover were spotted getting “cosy” in a corner of her cell hunched over his laptop.

    We must not make the mistake of underestimating this virus. Anyone who comes in contact with the virus must immediately quarantine themselves as the disease can spread rapidly. We have observed the devastation the disease has wrought on others who have become contaminated as a result of close contact with Casey Ebola. Don’t make the same mistake. Like a parable from the Bible, we should return to the story of Jose and Ebola time and again to stay vigilant.

  57. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 4:13 pm

    That’s really sad, friendly mom. It would break my heart if I didn’t get to see my sweet Carter.

    Grandparents have no rights here either.

    I’ll do it right now, Bees Knees. Funny post, too.

  58. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:16 pm

    Yes is it sad. I fear if we push too hard, she will try to seek a restraining order. She has threatened more than once. We just enjoy what time we get, cherish is more the word. It just breaks our hearts, as well as hurting our other three kids who love their little neice so dearly.

  59. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:18 pm

    The father does not approve of the treatment. He knows we love her, and he says she loves all of you too. He will bring her around when we ask. We try not to impose too much on his time though.

  60. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 4:25 pm

    That’s rough, friendly mom. I’m very sorry for you. Thank goodness for the dad!

  61. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:29 pm

    How old is Carter? I’ll bet he’s just precious.

  62. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 4:49 pm

    He’ll be 9 months old this weekend. He started crawling last night!

  63. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:56 pm

    Oh, you are in for it now Grandma. This such an adorable stage. They really start to show their little personalities. 🙂

  64. friendlymom permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:59 pm

    My granddaughter is 17 months old now.

  65. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 17, 2009 5:11 pm

    That’s a precious age, too! Their personalities are really strong at a 1 1/2 years. They are starting to show that they have minds of their own.

    I’m off to dinner. Will check back in later.

  66. QFC1 permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:43 am

    The duct tape forensics ruled out George A., Cindy A. and Lee A. It never mentions whether or not Casey A. was ruled out on the tape findings.

  67. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 23, 2009 1:03 pm

    QFC1

    I’m thinking that information just might be in the next document dump?

  68. Erika permalink
    February 28, 2009 2:27 am

    I agree that casey should be forced to sit in a cell with photos of caylee all over. They should put a cd in her room that is on repeat and plays you are my sunshine over and over. I’m sorry but their is nothing in her favor to help with her defense. Who gets a tattoo stating “good life” while their child is missing?? I don’t care what anyone says she is guilty until proven innocent, which will never happen!!

  69. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 12:55 pm

    Erika

    I agree. No one-guilty or innocent would get a tattoo of any kind right after their child went missing. Most murderers aren’t that stupid, and an innocent person would be too grief-stricken. Casey falls under the dumbest of the dumb either way.

  70. April 17, 2009 9:27 am

    can anyone tell me if there was any fingerprints on the duct tape. i saw where they said i think on wesh that there were no fingerprints that belonged to cindy, george, or lee but did not mention casey. made me wonder if they did find ones that belonged to casey but did not come out and say it
    will be glad when the trail starts

  71. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 17, 2009 11:15 am

    tina

    The prosecution has not released any more information saying one way or the other whether there were fingerprints on the duct. All they said was that G, C, & L’s were not.

  72. August 16, 2011 4:11 pm

    It’s funny to hear the about fingerprints, and how individuals believe that id an object is touched that a fingerprint is left behind. That’s necessarily true in a lot of case; an individual can touch a surface and not leave prints there. Prints are 98% water and 2% chemical, the sebaceous and eccrine material left behind mat present enough ridge detail to identify them to a specific person, and it may leave enough to go on. This is case very interesting, and I believe the forensic examiners will do the best job they in this matter.

Leave a Reply

