Skip to content

Link to documents released in Caylee Anthony case 2/18/2009 and defense statement

February 18, 2009

Statement from Casey Anthony’s lawyers released today:

“The State’s forensic report on duct tape, plastic bags and other items is a one-sided law enforcement-generated report and is biased and speculative. It uses ‘junk science,’ the kind of flawed comparative analysis that the two-year study by National Academy of Sciences released today.”

Documents released 2/18/2009

Photos released 2/18/2009

photos from crime scene 1

photos from crime scene 2

photos from crime scene 3

photos from crime scene 4

photos from crime scene 5

photos from crime scene 6

photos from crime scene 7

photos from crime scene 8

photos from crime scene 9

photos from crime scene 10

3374-3463

3464-3513

3514-3524

3525-3535

3536-3590

3591-3640

3641-3669

3670-3700

3701-3722

3723-3742

3743-3801

69 Comments leave one →
  1. friendlymom permalink
    February 18, 2009 3:42 pm

    What else can they say to this evidence, besides try to instill doubt. I don’t think they can.

  2. Hilde permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:14 pm

    I realize the Defendant has a Right to a Defense.
    At the same time it just irritates the Heck out of me
    when I hear how the Defense is trying to poke holes in all the Evidence the State has collected so far including the forensic Evidence in this Case.
    It is clear Casey murdered her own Daughter.
    I would think the State has put together a very good
    Case against her and the Defense will not be able
    to discredit most of the Evidence crucial in this Case to get a Conviction.
    I believe the State is very confident with the Evidence they have to proof Casey is the One who killed Caylee and she acted alone.
    I will try not to get too aggravated when I listen to the Defense Statements every time new Evidence is released, I know their Job is to create reasonable Doubt, not just Doubt reasonable Doubt!
    I don’t think they can either friendlymom but they sure will try their Best.

  3. Paul in BC permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:43 pm

    Of course it’s junk science Hosey one,they FBI only has the best forensics lab this side of the pond.
    Lets see him pull a hat out of a rabbit.
    bet yer ass is getting sore rite about now.See how this tune changes when they put the DP on the table.
    Kiddie killer Crazycasey crispy…
    Yes there seems to be a mental defect
    SiNdy,Georgieboy,Lee and last but not lest Crazycasey..

  4. friendlymom permalink
    February 18, 2009 4:47 pm

    That’s why they get paid the big bucks. I keep having to remind myself, if this were me, I would be expecting them to do this. But it does aggravate me too.

  5. pak31 permalink
    February 18, 2009 5:03 pm

    Hilde, I know how you feel about the defense. It is always the same old story. Evidence comes out and then they come out and say it’s been contaminated, or the detectives aren’t doing their jobs right, etc. It’s frustrating but at the same time, they have to dispute every single thing that comes out. Never would I ever want to work for a defense team. Yikes.
    Hey did anyone else notice in the Anthony home pictures that for a 2 1/2 year old toddler, she had a TON of stuff!!!!! It looked more like the belongings of a 4-5 year old. Boy was she spoiled. But she was adorable.

  6. Hilde permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:56 pm

    friendlymom..
    if it were You or for that matter me, we wouldn’t have the luxury to have a Defense Team like Casey has, now that I don’t understand either, why is she so privileged.
    Ok, I will answer my own Question, because this became a High Profile Case and everyone who is someone wants a Part of the Action, did I get that right? That doesn’t mean I have to like it!

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 18, 2009 7:29 pm

    I did notice. She had a ton of stuff.

  8. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:06 pm

    The defense lawyers are all quick to say prosecution doesn’t have a strong case because there’s no weapon and no one saw the crime and there’s no video of the crime and on and on . . .

    Well, hell! Based on that thinking the jails would be empty. I mean how many murders are caught on video for God’s sakes? Just because no one actually saw the murder take place do we just let them walk? How stupid! And why can’t Nancy Grace just ask them that question? It frustrates me!!!!

  9. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:08 pm

    I guess no matter what, defense’s motto must be “Deny! Deny! Deny!”

  10. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:21 pm

    Paul in BC, did I meet you on the Twisted Mystery site a month or so ago? If not you then someone else with the same username?

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 18, 2009 8:37 pm

    The dream team will earn their money/notoriety/ or whatever the hell they are after with this case. I don’t think there is any way on earth to spin all of this. But, yes, of course they have to try! They can say whatever they want but I don’t think it will help Casey.

  12. friendlymom permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:38 pm

    Then Casey can use more tax dollars in all her appeals.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 18, 2009 8:44 pm

    LOL. that’s the sad truth.

  14. Paul in BC permalink
    February 18, 2009 11:14 pm

    Yes I was over there the trolls were making me nuts. PPL here are civilized.

  15. Paul in BC permalink
    February 19, 2009 1:55 am

    In her own words,she’s totally screwed and Hose B no’s it.Inzaney is not a defence.The defence may have no choice but too put the DP on the table and the Hosey one won’t no what hole to look in next.This clown does not have the exper. to try a case of this caliber,just gonna give this PSYCHO more to go on appeals.

  16. stephanie permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:32 am

    I agree with your post at 8:37 Itsamytery

    Hilde your post at 6:56…So true

    Paul
    I heard last night the state could not put the DP back on the table. They had 45 days to do this and it has run out. I heard this a while back, but continued to hear attorneys say they can put it back on because of finding the remains. I don’t think they can, but wish they could. I would really like to see the judge get Casey on the record that she would like to continue with Baez with his limited experience. This would help Casey’s appeal on grounds of inadequate counsel be denied. I don’t think they would win if they were to go back to court. But, what this is costing the tax payers I would hate to see it make it’s way to court again.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 6:58 am

    Paul–I do believe you gave us all a compliment!! Thanks! I agree with you that Casey will appeal to hell and back if she gets the chance–Jose or no Jose. She’ll go down screaming–and if she can figure out a way to implicate someone else, she won’t go down alone.

    I had not heard that the time was up, Stephanie. That sucks for the defense doesn’t it? Because now, why would LE want to work out a plea deal?

  18. stephanie permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:39 am

    I am pretty sure they cannot put the DP back on the table. I remember the first time it being said the state had 45 days after formal charges to decide on the DP. I heard they also can put it back on because the remains were found. As time was going by and hearing conflicting things on the DP…I searched and searched back in Jan for info on the 45 days and how it works in FL. I could not find anything so I can’t say 100%. I can’t remember which show it was last night between Mike G, JVM or NG that said that.
    I would to see her given as little reasons as possible for an appeal.

    I was mad all over again last week when I was listening to George’s interview with LE. He did start off stating he believes Jesse loved Caylee more then Casey. As the interview goes on he believes Jesse could have something to do with harming Caylee. Because he believes he was jealous of Casey’s other relationships. We have seen mates take the life of a child to get back at their mate. That however is when the mate is normally obsessed with the other mate. The mate wants to take the thing the other holds dearest. They are normally jealous of the love the other mate has for the child. I don’t see that with Jesse if anything Casey was jealous of the fact Jesse loved Caylee so much. Jesse worried about Caylee getting hurt because Casey didn’t pay attention to her as she sat on the phone, computer and so on. IMO it just doesn’t fit.
    I too believe if she can implicate someone else she will.

  19. Boston permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:41 am

    I think because the DP is off and she is now looking at Life than there is more than nothing to lost but attempt to win the junk science award. I read teh anguuish or was it utter resignation in mystery’s voice when she wrote “whatever the hell they are after in this case”.

    What do they want? Where can they get it and who will it exonerate?

  20. stephanie permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:41 am

    The judge is on The Today Show just said there is no way if she was the state she would offer a plea. She stated they have a rock solid case. She also said the state can show if the diary was written in 2008 or 2003. That is what I thought otherwise they wouldn’t have introduced it into evidence.

    Have a good day all I must get to work.

  21. Boston permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:49 am

    Stephanie-You are so right. What upset Casey the most was that others had feelings for Caylee that she couldn’t feel. She couldn;t feel love for Caylee and she took it out on people who could.

    Remember the audacity she portrayed on the phone with her parents on August 14th? Telling Cindy that Jesse was somehow a person who could not be trusted. She totally through him under the bus all the while thinking that her words had substance and meaning. She loathed him because he loved her child. Casey will always be an emty vessel.

  22. stephanie permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:00 am

    Yes Boston Casey threw Jesse under the bus, but I find George and Cindy as responsible for continuing to throw Jesse under the bus. I understand they wanted their daughter to be innocent. But to continue down a road that they knowing how much Jesse loved Caylee I think is sooo wrong.

    Now I really am getting out of here.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 8:18 am

    I agree with you stephanie 100%. Jesse wouldn’t do something to Caylee because he loved her –unless he was delusional which he WASN’T. He seemed to be the only guy she’s had around her that acted like a responsible adult!

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 8:21 am

    I agree with you, too, Boston! (aren’t we all just so agreeable this morning? LOL!)

    Casey couldn’t understand feelings unless they were about her. When Jesse’s feelings included the “little snothead” that was unacceptable and to hurt him she took the baby away from him. She apparently did the same thing to Cindy–only she took Caylee away for good with her!

    (It was disgust I was feeling, Boston! I know they have to defend their client, but I’m still disgusted.)

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 8:22 am

    Have to run some errrands. Be back later.

  26. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:34 am

    Not only can they perform tests to date the ink and paper, they can simply investigate when the journal was manufactured. I am certain, if they did not have evidence to support this, they would not have submitted it into evidence. My God, they have enough already. They can clearly see the ’03 as the rest of us can. I am sure they questioned it as well, and did whatever tests were necessary to prove their hunch.

  27. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:37 am

    I am very curious as to why there is no mention of the book they put so much attention on earlier. I wonder if they are holding back, or it just hasn’t been released yet. Or maybe it was simply not what it appeared to be. It sure did look like the book Caylee had been reading on the 15th.

  28. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:39 am

    I say, if it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it’s a duck folks.

  29. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:44 am

    I also want to say, I am so glad to see the DNA excludes Lee as the father. I was so hoping this would be the case. I think, after reading these documents, that the family had been slowly giving into the thought that she is guilty. It appears as though they were cooperating with the police. This just further supports my thoughts, which I have felt for awhile, that they act differently to the media. I just think for one that they are hoping to “kill her with kindness”, that maybe she will confess, and second, I believe they simply do not want to hurt her case but speaking of her guilt. They do not want to help put her on death row. I may be wrong, but it does appear as if they were trying to help the authorities.

  30. Paul in BC permalink
    February 19, 2009 11:09 am

    Seems that the Hosey one don’t know his arse from a hole in the ground EH!!Better attorney’s then him have tried to pull the rabbit out of a hat,GREGEROUS??Scott P.we will prove that he did not kill his wife ,well the punch line never did come did it and he’s on DR.Well HOSE B bad news dude,you ain’t got a leg to stand on.Your junk science theory well you obviously spent a lot of time at disneyland,if you think GOOFY,MICKEY,MINEY are gonna make good witnesses,good luck.I would bet dollars to donuts that SiNdy altered her diary,so my Q is why have charges not been brought against her??obstruction/tampering!!

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 11:14 am

    Friendlymom
    It seems that way–sort of. Except for Cindy sending her own people out to search the woods (Dominic Casey?) Why wouldn’t she have suggested this to LE if she suspected something might have been there? Also, George’s reaction when they came back to the house after finding the remains with another search warrant. George was so angry and confrontational Cindy sent him to the back porch to hang with Dominic Casey and the Milsteads.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 11:16 am

    I was also glad to hear Lee was not the father of Caylee. That would have been too much! I wonder about the book that appeared to be at the crime scene. I haven’t looked at all the photos yet. Maybe it wasn’t what we thought it was or it will be coming out in discovery at a later date.

  33. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 11:18 am

    I don’t know, Paul. Why wouldn’t Cindy just rip that page out of the diary–or better yet do away with it?

  34. MAND permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:27 pm

    IT is good to know that Lee is not the father..that would have put G&C over the edge. I was wrong about that..but there is so much that pointed to it being possible…but in this case what you see is not what you get..things that could be are not and things one would think could not be are!!

    I don’t think Cindy had anything to do with the diary..like you said Mystery..she would have thrown it away..she wouldn’t have a problem with that..she laundered the pants.

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 12:56 pm

    Hilde–I’m sorry, I must have missed your question earlier, but you answered yourself quite well! LOL Of course everyone wants a piece of the action–as long as they think they will get something from it.

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 12:58 pm

    That’s the truth, Mand. She wouldn’t have had a problem with destroying it. She overlooked it if it was found in the house.

  37. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 19, 2009 1:39 pm

    Hi Paul! Yep, that’s the same reason I left. I was Just sayin’ . . . I noticed that Twisty finally shut the blog down.

  38. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:11 pm

    Paul, not only are the people here nice, they also kick trolls off!

  39. ostella permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:33 pm

    Hi everybody! I definitely agree that the FBI are not a bunch of morons who wouldn’t look into the ’03 issue in the journal. I’m sure they tested the ink, the book, etc and got the answers they needed before submitting it into evidence…I loved Bozos “junk science” comment! That was precious.
    I just wanna say that I really like this blog because everyone behaves like grownups. No bullying, no trolls, just a free discussion of ideas without judgments and accusations hurled at eachother. This is one of the only blogs I post on anymore cuz cyberspace is so full of bullies who wanna get under peoples skin just for kicks…so thanx for being civilized, folks! 🙂

  40. Boston permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:00 pm

    Yes, what a treat Ostella to always be able to write and write and say what we feel as well as ask questions which push the discussion forward. It’s great to learn new things and be helpful and hopeful to others. Too often we take it for granted but I want to beat Mystery in thanking you first. We don’t thank our blog hosts enough!!!

  41. Boston permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:02 pm

    Paul-We are so nice on this blog. Even if you come down with a virus with unknown etiology we will attend to your needs. We are only a click away when it comes to the medical workup for the Casey Ebola Virus. Treatment here at all hours.

  42. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:29 pm

    Hello everyone! 🙂

  43. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:32 pm

    I have just read all the comments, and I agree with most of them. Cindy would have thrown anything away that she felt was incriminating. I am sure of that. Yes Mystery, I am curious to find out about that book. The pictures, they released earlier, sure did look like it could have been the book Caylee was reading. They made such a fuss over it, and yet it is not included in this evidence. I would like to know, if it is because it proved to be nothing of value, or are they withholding some things?

  44. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:34 pm

    I also found it odd that the specify the fingerprints exclude George, Cindy and Lee. Why does it not say Casey too. I noticed on other tests, it was worded no match, or inconclusive. Why list names, but leave one name out?

  45. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 4:37 pm

    Thanks for the nice compliments. We all try to be pleasant, and we welcome different opinions. Most of us have been around for awhile, and thanks to Niecey and Mystery, we were given a wonderful place to gather. And yes, we will run off bullies.

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 4:51 pm

    Gee whiz, Bees Knees, Boston, Ostella, and friendlymom, –while we’re handing out compliments I’d just like to say it’s all because of people like you guys and the others that exchange ideas on this blog and Niecey’s. You all are the reason it is a stress free place to hang. None of you judge each other or anyone else, and you are all very welcoming to newbies. And, I might add, you give everyone a chance–and even a second and third chance. So, thanks to all of you for that!

    friendlymom, I’m anxious for the next round of discovery. Perhaps it will have the definitive answer about Casey’s fingerprints on the duct tape and the book.

  47. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:04 pm

    Me too Mystery and You Are Quite Welcome 🙂 I appreciate all my friends here. I think we all try hard at being hospitable and fair.

  48. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:10 pm

    I did find it funny that the defense chose to call the evidence “junk science” when they have all the legal rejects working for them.

  49. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:19 pm

    You know, I have thought many times, since this story hit the news, how long did Crazy think she could keep us this facade? I mean, honestly, she had to have known it would all come out eventually. I just cannot fathom her really thinking she could convince everyone that the nanny took her, knowing they would try to find this person. I think the reason she chose Zanny, is because she probably thought someone, who may be an illegal, would be harder to track down, plus, she probably thought they would assume the person just went back to Mexico with Caylee. I have always thought that she had some plan of leaving the area; probably after she found another victim with enough money to get her on her way out of town. I still feel she would have ended up hurting someone else, if she had not been caught when she was.

  50. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 5:21 pm

    Cindy better thank her lucky stars it wasn’t her, and very well may have been.

  51. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 5:37 pm

    I’ve wondered that as well, friendlymom. I think she didn’t think Caylee would be found (although why she thought that when her remains were a block away from her house is beyond me.) and she would stick with her Zanny story. All she needed was reasonable doubt.

    I’m not sure Casey thought too far ahead with anything in her life. I think her first thought was to say the car got stolen (with Caylee in it) but if a car thief did entertain the idea of snatching it from Amscott, when they opened the door and took a whiff they probably hightailed it out of there pronto.

    With that plan foiled, I think she was playing around with the idea of going to California because she was emailing that soldier guy. (can’t remember which one) but she just–never—quite—got—around—to—sealing–that–deal. (Oh fiddle-dee-dee, Rhett–I’ll worry about it tomorrow……) She was a lazy a#s and was having too much fun to get the heck out of Dodge.

    Then, she just plain ran out of time.

  52. ostella permalink
    February 19, 2009 6:08 pm

    Ya I can’t help but wonder if she was at least tossin around the idea of killing her folks too…needless to say, she’s a lunatic, but it blows my mind how STUPID she is. I honestly can’t think of a dumber criminal. Actually, I take that back: I read about a bank robber once who walked into a bank with a shotgun and a clever disguise of whipcream slathered all over his face. He then proceeded to STAND IN LINE AND WAIT HIS TURN with a teller. In the meantime, the whipcream all melted and dripped off his face, and of course the bank called the cops and they arrived before the genius got to the front of the line (still holding the shotgun), and they arrested him. Ya, he is dumber than Crazy, but she isn’t too far behind…

  53. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 6:20 pm

    Good night, was he related to Casey? 🙂 She was probably using Tony long enough for the other guy to front the money for her trip out to Cali. And I agree Mystery, stupid skank ran out of time. I can just hear her now, “I’da got away with it to, if it hadn’t been for that medlin’ kid”. Yeah, she never thought Caylee would be found.

  54. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 6:34 pm

    ostella

    Is that story for real?? I’m laughing so hard I’m crying. Yes, that guy is definitely dumber than Casey.

  55. ostella permalink
    February 19, 2009 6:51 pm

    Mystery, I swear to God its a true story! I couldn’t make that up if I tried! 🙂 I read it in the newspaper after it happened, and they even showed pictures from the bank surveillance video. Melting whipcream, shotgun, and all! I almost wet my pants I laughed so hard at that!

  56. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:09 pm

    It’s hard to believe people can be so dumb, but they can be. That story is too funny. I can just see him standing there melting.

  57. ostella permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:18 pm

    Apparently the other people in line just stood there staring at him wondering if it was all some kind of hidden camera prank. Nobody was scared enough to scream, run, or do much of anything. Business as usual 🙂

  58. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 19, 2009 7:47 pm

    that’s amazing too! I suppose he would have pulled it off then, if the whip cream hadn’t melted and he had used a pistol he could have hidden in his pocket. LOL

  59. niecey456 permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:17 pm

    LMBO!!! That is hilarious!

  60. ostella permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:19 pm

    Ya, or if he had enough common sense to yell, “everybody down, this is a robbery,” instead of waiting patiently in line while holding a shotgun! 🙂 Can u imagine how sticky his face must’ve been after all that?!

  61. MAND permalink
    February 19, 2009 8:52 pm

    Ostello….that is to funny…it should make it on that program…Dummest Criminals on TRU..TV.

    Well at least he had manners..he waited his turn!!

  62. friendlymom permalink
    February 19, 2009 9:17 pm

    Did you girls here of the duct tape bandit? This guy tried pulling off a robbery with his whole head covered in duct tape. You know those cops were so gentle when they removed all that tape. They showed the goon later. His whole face was red, and he hardly had any eyebrows left. I am laughing so hard I can hardly write.

  63. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 20, 2009 9:08 am

    I haven’t heard that one either friendly mom. I think I’ll add a page of stupid criminal stunts. We could all use a few laughs.

  64. Jeff permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:34 am

    Statement from Casey Anthony’s lawyers released today:

    “….. It uses ‘junk science,’ the kind of flawed comparative analysis …”

    We’re going to assume that Baez will fire his team of expensive “forensic and scientific experts” that are working for Casey’s innocense project

    – since under Baez premise they’re all “junk scientists” which have no value

    – hence their expensive debunk the evidence burlesque show at Casey’s trial will not be required.

  65. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 20, 2009 12:12 pm

    Very well said, Jeff. What’s good for the goose should be good for the gander! (I just love the old sayings–they ring as true today as they did 100 years ago!)

  66. connie permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:38 pm

    Science can confuse the jurors, yes, they just get confused, especially with Henry Lee, he is good at that, the defense will twist the science.

    But, look at all the other evidence, No expert will be able to confuse the jurors with all the other stuff. No way no how. Plus, there is more evidence that has not come forward yet, they are saving the best for last. Cant wait, hope she fries.

  67. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 21, 2009 4:29 pm

    I agree, Connie. No amount of twisting can change the fact that she waited 31 days to report her missing (and only because Cindy forced her to report it) and she acted like she was free as a bird and happy as a lark that whole 31 days. I can’t wait to see what other evidence the prosecutors have.
    Also another document dump is due next week.

  68. Shame on Casey permalink
    February 22, 2009 2:42 pm

    Casey Might think that nobody saw what she done, but oh yea..God was watching her that day..and she will have too answer to him, and that’s one time she won’t be able to lie..

  69. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 23, 2009 1:11 pm

    I agree.

Leave a Reply

