Skip to content

George and Cindy Anthony will fight giving depositions in the Zenaida Gonzales civil suit

February 23, 2009

Thursday is the day that George and Cindy Anthony are to give sworn depositions to John Morgan, Zenaida Gonzales attorney in her civil suit against Casey Anthony. They are under subpoena to testify under oath.  Mr. Morgan has said he would invite reporters to the deposition and would be asking some “surprise” questions.  Brad Conway, the Anthony’s attorney, says he will fight to keep them from having to give those depositions in court.  He’s going to ask the judge to postpone the questioning until they are in better mental shape.

“They’re both fragile emotionally and they need to recover but it’ll take a little bit of time. I don’t want them going in there without a clear head.”

Lee Anthony is scheduled to testify Friday and his lawyer has no plans to block his deposition.  He says Lee doesn’t know anything about Zenaida Gonzalez and will say swear to that.

read the article here:

wesh.com

I have to say that I agree with Mr. Conway.  There’s only one reason John Morgan would be inviting reporters and making such a big deal about asking “surprise” questions.  It has nothing to do with Ms. Gonzales plight.  It has everything to do with publicity for John Morgan and his law firm.  What does George, Cindy and Lee knowing anything about Zanny have to do with the civil suit that claims Casey Anthony defamed Ms. Gonzales ?

58 Comments leave one →
  1. Rae permalink
    February 23, 2009 3:16 pm

    That whole case with Zenadia needs to be thrown out. Morgon just wants the publicity it is all a joke. Has nothing to do with defaming the Zenadia woman. If I were the Anthonys I would sue Zenadia for making false statements. Zenadia didnt even give her real name on the paperwork. She is a joke also.JMO

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 23, 2009 3:32 pm

    I think you’re right Rae about having the case thrown out. I do think she probably had trouble finding a job, etc. in the beginning when all this started. But, everyone knows she’s not “Zanny the Nanny” at this point.

  3. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:09 pm

    The whole lawsuit is nothing but more vultures swarming the carcass. She has not been ruined. She lost a job, yes. She should be suing for wrongful termination, but obviously that job didn’t mean that much to her to begin with. They are thirsty for some of the blood money, that’s it! It is a joke, and I agree, pulling the Anthonys into it is stupid. Casey is the one who started it, and she admitted LONG ago that is not the ZG that took Caylee. Of course not, she is visible, the real one is invisible. What a waste of time and money.

  4. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:10 pm

    This is a classic example of a “real” ambulance chaser; bottom feeding slime ball, and an opportunist.

  5. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:13 pm

    Ole Bozo’s back in the hot seat. This tickles me. 🙂

  6. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:17 pm

    I miss everyone. It seems everytime I am on, no one else is; or maybe I smell bad and no one wants to tell me??? lol

  7. niecey456 permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:18 pm

    I guess Bozo needs to learn: “You reap what you sew”. Now he’s an ambulance chaser for sure.

  8. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:20 pm

    Yes maam! All of these people will have their day. God doesn’t like greedy people, liars, and baby killers.

  9. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:20 pm

    and ugly people right Niecey?

  10. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:22 pm

    Can you imagine what his students must think of him? You know they are probably aware of his being called Bozo, and his lack of experience.

  11. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:23 pm

    I hope they put a tack in his chair, slap a “kick me I’m a loser” sign on his back and run him off campus. I would pay to be there to see it too. 🙂

  12. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 4:24 pm

    And hello my friend

  13. niecey456 permalink
    February 23, 2009 5:03 pm

    Hello! You are correct.

  14. The Lunitic is on the GRASS permalink
    February 23, 2009 5:17 pm

    We can’t see the trees for the forest !!
    Maybe you should put yourself in this woman’s shoes,just too see how it feels to be wrongly accused!!I know if it were me I’d be raising cane too.As for the WHACKO anthony’s,show up in court and answer the question like you are subpoenaed to do so.As for them being fragile TFB,they listened to that Crazyc##t they raised and never met this nanny not a once.With any other this should have put the flags up,hey we never met this nanny DUH!!Just how Fckn StOOpId are these ppl anyway,Georgieboy must have been some cop in his day EH!!must have wrote lots of parking tickets.Lets step back a few paces,do we forget so soon C,G,and L all INZANEY,give yer heads a shake.Now C,G,and L go answer the questions posed to you screwball bunch…..

  15. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:31 pm

    I do not believe she accused this woman of anything. She pulled a name out of her ass. There are many people who have the same name. I do not feel she is a victim, but only for a brief moment. Her life has not been ruined, especially when Casey has already admitted, early on that this was not the woman she was accusing.

  16. MAND permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:37 pm

    This case should be thrown out of court..we have another opportunist attorney..like Dumbo he wants that 15mins. of fame.
    As for Zenaida..as someone said..she may have had some problems with employment at first but I hardly think that would be how it is now..no one believes the Zanny story.

    One more jumping in and exploiting this child..have they no shame?

    Zenaida needs to get off her butt and look for a job and stop wasting the taxpayers money. I’m sure since she has no job and 6 kids she is receiving public assistance…she sees $$$ signs in this as does her attorney. If they are serious about this then wait til after the criminal trial.

  17. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:38 pm

    That may sound like I am defending Casey, I surely am not. All I am saying is this was determined early on not to be the ZG in question. So, if she lost her job, she needs to sue her employer for wrongful termination.

  18. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:40 pm

    I agree with every word Mand. She is banking on easy money. She won’t win this suit. They have to prove deliberate intent to do her harm, and this is not the case, because Casey already said that’s not the same woman. Look your name (whole name) up on the internet and find out how many others have your name.

  19. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:43 pm

    If you have ever lived in a city, or do now, you are aware how many people will try to scheme on lawsuits. A city bus could be in an accident, with no passengers, and the next thing you know, there are accident victims laying everywhere. Most cities have cameras now, and they have caught these opportunest time and time again.

  20. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:45 pm

    It happens in small town too, with fake falls in grocery stores and such. I am not picking on cities. They are just bigger places, with many more people.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 23, 2009 6:55 pm

    you know, you are right friendlymom. The person she should be suing is the employer who terminated her.

    I have to say, I’m a little torn, really. I think this woman’s attorney is NOT acting in the best interests of this woman. He’s after the fame and notoriety. BUT, I also think this woman did suffer in the beginning. She did lose her job, and I imagine it’s difficult to apply for a job and announce that her name is Zenaida Gonzales. I also think she was down and out before this happened, and she does see this as an opportunity. (although an opportunity for what is beyond me–Casey Anthony has no money)

  22. friendlymom permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:19 pm

    Maybe so Mystery. Did you see the video with Octomom arguing with her mother? I wanted to reach in and slap that woman. She is so selfish. Living with her parents and telling they “have” to accept it, when her parents are close to losing their home. The mother should have slapped her face. I hope someone steps to monitor this situation. Those poor children.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 23, 2009 8:41 pm

    I didn’t see that. Where was it?

  24. topcat08 permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:35 pm

    I’m not so sure that lady lost her job because of Casey but, I would still like to see George and Cindy have to testify! If they have to give a deposition, then what ever story they give at that deposition, would have to match what they say on the stand in the murder trial. Thats why their lawyer doesn’t what them to have to give the deposition. They would have to tell the same story twice, under oath and thats not been very easy for the Anthiny’s.

  25. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    February 24, 2009 12:58 am

    Hello my lovelies…topcat08 is spot on!

  26. Gina permalink
    February 24, 2009 2:24 am

    They should be made to answer questions since Cindy especially had no problem throwing innocent people like Zanaeida, Jesse Grund under the bus & accuse them of kidnapping or killing Caylee.

    The Anthonys KNOW THEIR LYING WHORE DAUGHTER killed that child but obstructed justice, tampered with evidence lied, lied, lied. why should they be exempt from having to face the people who’s lives they’ve ruined?

  27. stephanie permalink
    February 24, 2009 6:09 am

    When I heard the media would be invited I was shocked. To me Morgan and Conway were doing their own little battle. I thought I heard within a day or so the media would not be there from Morgan. I also thought I heard Conway say they would only testify if they were not video taped or the tape wasn’t released. Can’t remember which because I had even forgotten they were set to be deposed this week.
    This is the only Zenaida associated with the apts. Casey brought her into this mess and I think if she feels the need to sue her she should. It wasn’t just a little accusation she threw at her but a pretty big accusation. Maybe they knew things might be getting sold off to pay for the defense, I don’t know. I do think Zenaida should get a job without a doubt, but I also think the Anthony’s should get a job.
    There was one of the attorneys for Zenaida on NG one night and it wasn’t Morgan. I really liked him and he did make a lot of sense. I just don’t understand what they all might know and we don’t. If there isn’t anything then go in and say so. I mean we do know there was no nanny. We know this is the only Zenaida that is associated with the apts. We know the Anthony’s have never seen Zenaida. Why can’t the Anthony’s just say it isn’t her. Why can’t the Anthony’s just say they have never seen her. I really don’t understand why it would be so difficult to answer, just get it done and over with.
    I do think they should be made to be deposed. When the remains were first found and Conway was seeking immunity for them…LE said they were still waiting for them to come in for the follow up interviews. IMO it just isn’t right that they continue to thumb their noses at any authority. IMO, there shouldn’t have been a second thought getting in there and talking to LE again. They were trying to find their grandchild whether she was alive or dead. To me it seems the games are still being played and it needs to stop.

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 7:16 am

    I think we’d all like to hear them give a deposition about what they know, but I don’t think it should be a media circus when they do. Why invite the press to “watch” and why ask “surprise” questions? Ask the questions about Zenaida Gonzales only.

    Topcat–
    I agree that Conway is afraid they will give comflicting statements and that’s why he wants to make sure they “have all their wits about them” when they are deposed.

    Gina
    I agree they should not be exempt and I don’t think they will be. Conway is just trying to get it postponed.

    Stephanie–you are so right. Zenaida has every right to sue the Anthonys. She was definitely negatively affected by Casey and her parents. She has every right to sue. (I just don’t think there’s any money to be had at this point. Maybe there will be down the line with books, etc.)

    Amen! The Anthonys need to get real jobs and stop all the nonsense about starting foundations, etc. Their reputations and motives at this point are suspect at the very least and any association with a legitimate foundation would bring negative publicity to it. They also need to send KidFinder’s packing IMO if they want to change that perception.

  29. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 7:17 am

    Hi Jill!

    Hope things are going well in your corner of the world!

  30. stephanie permalink
    February 24, 2009 7:37 am

    Mystery
    I never understood how they would get any money out of Casey. Down the road she won’t be allowed to write a book. I think the only money whe would be able to maybe get her hands on is this money that Baez gets from the Licensing fees before Casey is convicted. But she really does need to get a job. I just can’t see it effecting her in that way anymore. Unless some employers don’t want to take a chance of cameras being around.
    I also don’t think it should be turned into a circus and that there shouldn’t be cameras in there.
    Have a good day everyone.

  31. hmm ya think permalink
    February 24, 2009 7:49 am

    I agree with depositions, wether this is thee Zenadia or not get the depositions. See who is lying and who is not. Good a place to start as any.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 7:59 am

    You, too, Stephanie. Have a great and safe day.

    I think you are right about the camera and media surrounding Cindy. Although, it is my understanding, that her old place of employment has said she can have her job back when she’s ready. Surely, the local media would respect the fact that she’s working and once the initial frenzy, things would settle down and she would be able to go to and from work in relative peace.

    hmm ya think–It is as as good a place to start as any, but it should be about Zenaida only IMO

  33. grandmom south jersey permalink
    February 24, 2009 8:26 am

    Let’s get real, there was no Zanny no babysitter no commonsense involved in this situation.She is just a cold hearted b====.She don’t deserve the death penalty she needs to live a long time and suffer.God be with her grandparents they deserve peace I can associate fully with these people.Being a grandparent my heart goes out to them.They lost there grandchild and now they know they will lose there daughter.My prayers are with them.

  34. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 24, 2009 9:08 am

    Mystery, is there another doc dump this week?

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 9:25 am

    That’s what I’ve heard.

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 9:27 am

    grandmom south jersey

    As a grandparent I can relate. I can’t relate to the behavior.

  37. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 24, 2009 10:00 am

    I have to say I agree with Gina. Whether it’s right or wrong I’m tired of seeing the Anthony’s being treated with kid gloves and ZG is as good a place to start as any. They’ve been destroying evidence and obstructing justice all along. Lies, lies, lies . . . . and they don’t bat an eyelash at accusing other innocent people ~ hell, they would testify that Jessie murdered Caylee if they could get away with it. They enjoyed an expensive dinner in California while LE gathered up bits and pieces of their precious granddaughter scattered throughout the bush. I could go on and on.

    I just can’t stand them so anything that makes their life difficult is okay by me. I don’t like feeling so hateful towards anyone but that entire slimy crew ~ Cindy, George, Baez, KidFinders etc. ~ has made it impossible for me to have any empathy or sympathy for any of them.

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 10:10 am

    I don’t want to see their life be any more difficult, but I do want them to be accountable for their actions. Not sure that’s going to happen though.

  39. February 24, 2009 11:36 am

    I feel if they have nothing to hide, then show up and get it over with. The only reason Conway does not want them to is because they are going to say they do not know her and she is not the Zeniada Fernandez Gonzalaz- that would throw off the trial for Casey -Casey says she that a person with that same name was the one last seen with Caylee…Which we know is BS. Remember we do not know what the defense is going to use in Casey Anthony’s trial for murder.

  40. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 12:45 pm

    True. I figure he’s also worried that a year from now they may not remember everything they said in this deposition. They might contradict themselves.

  41. stephanie permalink
    February 24, 2009 3:31 pm

    Sorry Mystery,
    I was rushing to write a comment when I knew I needed to get out the door. I meant I didn’t understand how Zenaida would get any money out of Casey. I don’t understand the not getting employment either unless an employer was concerned she(Zenaida) might bring the media. You know I was thinking today about what Zenaida did before she lost her job. She cleaned houses which can be more difficult when you are thrown into something like this. First you probably make triple if not more then you would if you were working at McD’s. Then you have the keys to people’s homes that contain things that are very precious to them like guns, collectibles, safes, jewelry and so on. If there is the slightest question of a persons character you don’t want them in your home and certainly don’t want to give them keys. Having said that I still think she should get a job as this case moves forward even if it is at McD’s. When I separated from my x, I worked two jobs and one was a fast food place until I could get on my feet. You do what you got to do.

    I think you are right about Cindy and the media. If she goes back to work I think the media will respect that.

    I don’t think media should be at the deposition but it should be video taped just like every one else’s is video taped.

  42. MAND permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:00 pm

    Hi Steph..
    The way I see it ..Zenaida is not going to benefit from this law suite..KC has no money..the one that benefits is the attorney..he gets free press..that’s why he wants them there..frankly I have never heard of such a thing..he’s just like Dumbo..unknown and looking for the 15 mins. of fame.
    Everybody in the free world knows there is and never was a Zanny the nanny..so her name is not ruined..she may be more well known than she had ever planned to be but in some ways she could use it to her advantage..say up-front she is the infamous Zanny the Nanny…and as for the housecleaning employment..she can get a job with Molly Maids..they work in pairs or more and all are licensed ..bonded and insured.
    As for G&C being deposed..I think we all want to see how they are going to act and what they will say..and for what? When KC ‘s case goes to trial they will have to testify..and that is where it will count.
    I think this is a frivolous law suite and once again it exploits Caylee..and there has been enough of that.JMO

  43. stephanie permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:34 pm

    Hi Mand
    Yes it may be a frivolous lawsuit but I still think she has the right to do it only because Casey brought her into this mess. I never understood where they thought Casey was going to get any money to pay. Unless it was from the licensing fees for all the pics. She can go work for a maid service but in reality she still won’t make the same amount she would working for herself probably half that. Don’t get me wrong I think she should be working no mater what the job. Times are tough and many people losing their jobs are taking whatever they can get. She does need to get a job. BTW we have some one suing us right now. The insurance company was going to pay way over what the accident was worth but she wants big bucks. I don’t know where she thinks that is going to come from either, lol. The accident happened at 4:30 pm and they were all there for 30mins. She walked around and didn’t want to go to the hospital. I know things can be different in the morning, but she called at 8:30am next morning and already contacted an attorney.

    Because we know there was never Zanny the nanny and the Anthony’s know this is not her, why can’t they just say that and get it over with? I really don’t care what they have to say in the deposition. What bothers me is they feel they don’t have to answer any questions they don’t want to. Not just to the law suit, but the case also which is just wrong. IMO, they should have to follow the same rules we all have to follow.
    I don’t think when Zenaida filed the law suit it was her intention to exploit Caylee. You are right there has been enough exploiting Caylee. The list is never ending and it is very sad.

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 8:46 pm

    Stephanie, you are right. She probably did have a harder time cleaning houses. Now that everyone and God knows there is no Zenaida Gonzales, nanny, and everyone and God knows this Zenaida Gonzales, housekeeper, is innocent, surely people would hire her, but I could be wrong. Like you said, though, she could get a job at Mickey D’s temporarily.

  45. MAND permalink
    February 24, 2009 8:59 pm

    Steph…I agree that G&C need to follow the rules..just as everyone else does..no special favors..I to am sick of them thinking they are special.
    My concern is with Zenaida’s attorney..he’s trying to play it up big time..he wants his name remembered..and like I said he is the only one that will benefit from this..and like Dumbo he’s in it for himself..he is the one exploiting Caylee.

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 9:00 pm

    Mand–That lawyer thinks he’s going to benefit by bringing notoriety to his law firm, and then he’ll start getting bigger cases–He and Bozo should start their own law firm–I’m sure it will be a whopping success–NOT!

    Stephanie–Yes, let it all be videotaped, but no media circus.

  47. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 24, 2009 9:03 pm

    Mand-we are definitely on the same page tonight. Great minds think alike? or is it small minds think alike? LOL

    Stephanie–Without a doubt the A’s need to be treated just like everyone else. I think they will be forced to give depositions–I just don’t know if it will be this week.

  48. MAND permalink
    February 24, 2009 11:15 pm

    Mystery..it has to be great minds…the small minds are those of Dumbo and sidekick!!

    Steph..I think we are pretty much on the same page..as weusually are.

  49. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    February 25, 2009 12:17 am

    Hello my lovelies ..very interesting comments..guess we will have to wait and see if the “depos” happen on Thurs & Fri.

    Things are a little better here in OZ..but it will take time to rebuild and heal {your economy affects ours..wish you would tell your Prez to stop “flappin his gums” & give some decent tax breaks so that your folks can recover!} [Ooops..sri guess that won’t happen..Nancy Pelosi is in charge!]

    Sri…slapping self on wrist..gotta stop being naughty!

    Cheers from down-under xxx

  50. stephanie permalink
    February 25, 2009 6:05 am

    From what I understand we will hear today if they Anthony’s have to testify. Again I hope they do just like we all would have to.

    You know I have often wondered if Zenaida called Morgan or if Morgan had called Zenaida.

    Off to work hope you all have a good day. 🙂

  51. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 26, 2009 10:01 am

    Jill–yep–don’t think tax breaks are coming our way-unless you consider $14.00 a week reduction a real tax break. IMO the $250,000 and up crowd will soon be joined by everyone else in getting a big tax increase. Even the wealthiest in this country don’t have the funds to finance Pelosi’s folly.

  52. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 26, 2009 10:03 am

    Stephanie–I wonder as well. Something tells me he searched her out.

  53. Joanne permalink
    February 26, 2009 12:49 pm

    ugh not joining this site ……………..toooooooo one sided defending the Anthonys omg

  54. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 26, 2009 1:03 pm

    Joanne-

    Sorry you feel that way.

    I think if you look at the posts and comments you will see that few of us are defending the Anthonys–but not many of us are stringing them up either.

    Most, but not all, think they have lied and covered up for their daughter to the detriment of their grandchild. We have a lively debate when we disagree, but we don’t personally attack each other. Sometimes we just agree to disagree.

    If you are looking for a completely one-sided blog for Anthony bashing, you are right–you are in the wrong place.

  55. February 26, 2009 1:06 pm

    I’m sick of these people obstructing everything in view. Cindy’s hard as an old boot and George wasn’t too fragile to go on TV …. AGAIN, so i think they should just answer the questions. How hard is it to say, ‘No,I don’t know anything about the imaginanny but then again she’s a fictional character dreamed up by my daughter who lies even more often than her mother’!!!

  56. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 26, 2009 1:17 pm

    I agree TC, but the judge apparently is giving them the benefit of the doubt. Why? Conway had no proof that it would “traumatize” George and Cindy. Neither one of them has been afraid to talk (and scream) at the media before, so why would they be afraid of the questions that might be asked of them? Just do it and get it over with.

  57. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    February 27, 2009 1:59 am

    Apologies for my earlier comment..it was off topic..Mystery I hope you spend your $14 dollars wisely..just a thought you could send it to Casey’s commish account..noooooo I don’t think so…Equusearch would be better.

    Lee – depo 2morrow
    Casey – in court Mon 4:15pm for yet another hearing {Bozo doesn’t want her pics shown…these are the ones we have all seen before the site was removed..makes me wonder if he has changed his calendar to 2009?

  58. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 27, 2009 7:56 am

    Good point, Jill–I doubt there is anything new in this batch of pictures–and the ones we’ve seen floating around the internet are seared in our memories. Won’t matter if they are released or not.

    Think I’ll keep my 14.00 thank you very much! LOL

Leave a Reply

