Skip to content

Reward increased for Haleigh Cummings safe return as Ron and Misty make marriage plans

March 10, 2009

A month after her supposed abduction, there’s still been nothing, in spite of all the leads,  (2400 so far), that would

Misty Croslin and her mother at courthouse

Misty Croslin and her mother at courthouse

give an inkling as to what has happened to little Haleigh Cummings. Another $5000.00 has been added to the $21,500.00 that has already offered for her safe return.

There have been a number of people of interest, but none that have become suspects.

“I believe God will deliver daddy’s little girl, Haleigh, home. Whether it’s home to me or home to him, God will deliver her home,” father Ronald Cummings said.

This past weekend, Ron Cummings surprised his girlfriend, (the last person to see Haleigh) Misty Croslin, age 17,with an engagement ring.  Misty was beaming as she entered the courthouse with Ron to get their marriage license.She has had very little to be happy about since Haleigh disappeared.  Her mother had to sign for her because she is underage. She and Ron have been together for 7 months.

“Last night at Chili’s he got he down his knees and said, ‘Will you marry me?'” Croslin said.

Croslin said they are getting married because of Haleigh.

“Everybody’s probably going to take this marriage thing the wrong way, but it’s not. Everything’s still focused on Haleigh. This is what Haleigh wanted. She’s always talked about, and even if she’s not with us, she is still with us,” she said.

read about it below:

wesh.com

clickorlando.com

Anyone with information about Haleigh’s whereabouts is asked to call Crimestoppers at 888-277-TIPS.

This is really becoming a baffling case.  There’s been no one coming forward with a ransom note or ransom demand, there are no clues as to where she is or who took her, (that is being shared with the public anyway), and it appears everyone in the family is not suspect.  So where is Haleigh????  Any theories?

As for Ron and Misty getting married. Yes, it’s in poor taste, but I think they aren’t thinking about what the public might think.  It has crossed my mind and others that the spouse of someone accused of a crime does not have to testify against them in a court of law.  Do I think they are thinking that as well?  No, I don’t–at least not at this point from the information we have available to us.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 12:27 pm

    I am thinking they are doing this to keep Haleigh in the news . . . maybe a wee bit for “love” but more so to keep Haleigh in the news. Everyone is going to have a feild day with this tidbit . . . between her age, the length of time they have known each other, to him & his previous marriage . . . so even if it is negative I really think they feel this will keep Haleigh talked about.

    ~ May you ALWAYS be Blessed & may you ALWAYS Bless others ~

  2. pak31 permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:03 pm

    I don’t know what to think. I guess I could go either way with the marriage proposal. Only 7 months together, she’s only 17, he called her a stupid b**** in front of a reporter or something. It’s just really odd but everyone is different I guess. I think personally if my child was taken from my home and I had not one idea of where she was and it had only been 4 weeks then I couldn’t function just yet.

  3. K.D. permalink
    March 11, 2009 8:31 am

    >>I think personally if my child was taken from my home and I had not one idea of where she was and it had only been 4 weeks then I couldn’t function just yet

    I agree.
    If my child were kidnapped, my own happiness would be the last thing on my mind.

    IMO, there should be no rush on marriage for these young people.
    Misty is sooooooo young, so naive. Ron, well…. don’t get me started on this character.

    Misty should concentrate on getting an education and career before signing on the dotted line. She still hasn’t “found herself” yet @ just 17 years old!

    Her mother & father SHOULD be the voice of reason here but I guess they just don’t care about their daughter’s (amd future grandchildren’s) future.
    I mean, they thought it was perfectly fine for Misty to shack up w/ 25 y.o. Ronald and be “mommy” to his children and maid/cook/lover to him.

    If they sanction this union, they will be sorry somewhere down the line- wait and see.
    Perhaps a long talk w/ Crystal Sheffield over coffee would help them change their way of thinking? Maybe if she herself gave detailed accounts of the abuse she suffered at Ron’s hand, Misty’s parents would smell the coffee.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 9:07 am

    Bogart–That’s a very good point. Although, I think it may not be how Misty feels. Did you see the video of her? She was beaming as any newly engaged girl would be. Ron, on the other hand, didn’t say anything, and looked very grim as he left the courthouse.

    And sorry, your comment got temporarily caught in spam!

    Pak-I agree with you, and I would add that I think Misty strikes me as having classic low-self esteem and without knowing her background, I’d venture to say this isn’t the first time a man has called her names or abused her in other ways. She obviously didn’t have a good home life–why, at 17, was she living with him and not her own family?

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 9:13 am

    K.D. I should have read your post before I posted! Great minds think alike! I agree 100%–why was this girl allowed to live with her boyfriend and take on the role of mother and wife? She’s only 17–did she drop out of high school or is she still a student?

    Statistics show that seasoned marriages often don’t survive the loss of a child, and add to that the fact that she’s still a teenager and there are already signs of, at the very least, mental abuse from Ron.

  6. K.D. permalink
    March 11, 2009 9:41 am

    I am just plain AFRAID for young Misty, itsamysterytome.
    I am a mother of a beautiful and STRONG teenage daughter.
    Since the day she was born, I have reinforced her WORTH as a human being. I have told her on a daily basis that she is beautiful, intelligent and WORTHY of being loved and respected by everyone she associates with. I have also reminded her that SHE is JUDEGED by the conpany she keeps.

    Also, I have always stressed the value a good education and good self-esteem. She is on the right path, thank the Good Lord!
    She has many great friends, is an Honor Student @ school and plays in the band.
    Along with me and my husband, she’s been following this case (as well as the sordid Chris Brown/Rhianna case- don’t get me started) and just can’t understand what the “big rush” is on this marriage between Misty and Ronald.
    She said last night, “Mom, doesn’t she realize that she’ll probably be TOTALLY dependent on Ron for her food, clothing and roof over her head”? She will feel forced to take any abuse he throws at her!”
    Wise words, spoken by a teenage young lady, don’t you agree?!

    And I am not going to pick on the family’s economic status, either.
    I have read so many blog entries where people call Ron & Misty (as well as their families) “white trailer trash”.
    I don’t much care for that term, as people can be GOOD & DECENT, even if they happen to be in a lower income bracket.

    Me and my husband are not rich by any means (paycheck to paycheck these days) but we love and RESPECT our children– we will always do what’s best for them.
    If our daughter @ 17 wanted to shack up w/ an older man attached to an unsavory past & present, let me just say that we’d make sure it didn’t happen. Oh, and there would be no “consent” to marry off our minor child to someone like that!

    Thanks for your comments, keep ’em coming please.
    I am keep HLN on all day & evening so I’ll be back w/ more comments, I’m sure, LOL!

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 12:42 pm

    K.D.

    I agree and Kudos to you and your husband for the way you are raising your daughter. You “get” what so many parents don’t. A child does not raise itself. I get so sick of hearing people say that parents are not responsible when their grown children do despicable things. That’s a complete cop-out. Those children are who they are inside thanks to the way they were raised.

    IMO a normal newborn baby is an unformed lump of clay and a blank slate–It’s up to the parents to mold them into responsible adults. Their future spiritual values or moral code, the way they treat others, the way they see and treat themselves, their ability to distinguish right from wrong, their work ethic–all are learned at the knee of their parent or role model. A parent gives their daughter (and son) his/her sense of worth and let’s not forget that the son learns how to treat a woman from his father or role model as well. If that role model is out getting drunk or high every night, cursing his mother or worse beating on her, how is he going to treat the woman he ends up with?

  8. K.D. permalink
    March 11, 2009 1:33 pm

    Your comment above was awesome, thank you 🙂
    ==>I feel the need to mention that I’m also Mom to a wonderful “tween” son 🙂

    My husband is a wonderful example for him; he knows that a REAL MAN does NOT abuse a woman, physically, verbally or mentally.
    He also knows that a real man supports his family, spends quality time with them and does not spend his nights out drinkin’ & druggin’ with unsavory characters who may infiltrate his family’s well-being.

    I am so thankful for my family (you have no idea- I had a rough childhood). We are not rich, not “holier than thou” & we are certainly NOT anything “extraordinary”.
    I just wish that ALL children could grow up with a *chance* at a good life. If parents love their kids, live right & teach by example, there’s always a chance for them, rich OR poor.
    Still praying for Angel Haleigh’s safe return.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 9:28 pm

    Me, too, K.D. but, sadly, more and more children are not growing up with a chance at a good life or anything else. I’m still praying for Haleigh’s return as well.

    PS: I have 3 sons, no daughters. My husband alway said that God knew what he was doing when he decided not to give him a daughter. I’ve always been told girls are harder to raise.

Leave a Reply

