Skip to content

Ron and Misty Cummings appear on Today show to talk about Haleigh

March 13, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Today 3/13/09 Ron & Misty Cummings“, posted with vodpod
Vodpod videos no longer available.

Last night, after getting married in Ron’s grandmother’s backyard,  he and Misty traveled  to New York to be on the Today show. Their lead in story and interview this morning was, I thought, very revealing, and I have to say, I’m starting to get a very uneasy feeling about Misty.  Watch the Today show video and the video of her on the courthouse steps when they were getting their marriage license.  There’s just something really odd there.  For one, she acts almost defiant and sarcastic at the courthouse when she speaks of passing the lie detecter test.  The inconsistencies in her story really bother me.  Her behavior in general is troubling.  Maybe it’s just because she’s so young, but I’m tellin’ ya there are some strange vibes coming from Misty, IMO. When she was point blank  asked in the Today show video why she changed her story about what happened when she realized Haleigh was gone, she just sat there looking very uncomfortable and nervous, looked at Ron, and then finally, after a very long pause, said, “I don’t know.”     I don’t know?

I still say I don’t believe Ron did anything to his daughter.  I really don’t believe Misty did anything to her either, but I can’t shake the nagging feeling that she’s lying about something.  What?  And, WHY?

44 Comments leave one →
  1. The lunitic is on the Grass permalink
    March 13, 2009 12:51 pm

    Is it just me,these 2 never look rite into the camera.there eyes are all ways shifting away.Sumpthin ain’t rite here.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 13, 2009 1:34 pm

    Yep, there’s something rotten in Denmark here. I just can’t figure out what.

  3. Jan In Santa Fe permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:38 pm

    I just caught a clip of Misty answering the question of why she changed her stories so many times.

    Law enforcement in FL must really be lax! This woman appears SO guilty it’s mind boggling! How can she not be considered a suspect! It just seems like there is SO much she’s not telling about that poor little girl’s disappearance.

    She appears to be on drugs or something.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 13, 2009 2:04 pm

    I thought that interview was very strange,too, and you can tell the interviewer did as well. This case is being held much closer to the vest than than the Casey Anthony case so we don’t know much. I would not be surprised to learn they do suspect Misty of something. Even if she passed her lie detector test, which she is saying, but LE hasn’t said one way or the other. Like I said earlier, I don’t think she killed the little girl or anything like that. I hope and pray Haleigh is still alive. I just think she’s not telling the truth about something.

  5. ostella permalink
    March 13, 2009 11:32 pm

    Mystery, I feel the exact same way…something just doesn’t sit right with me about her. I have no idea what it is but its been nagging at me from the beginning, and its only getting worse…there’s something very strange goin on there…

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 14, 2009 6:45 am

    Ostella

    I think she’s hiding something, but I don’t understand how Ron couldn’t see she’s hiding something as well. Which also makes me suspicious of him. When she went silent and looked at him after being asked why she changed her story, the camera wasn’t on his face so we don’t know if he reacted in any way. My guess is that he didn’t. She then, in a flat cold voice said she didn’t know. Very weird.

  7. ostella permalink
    March 14, 2009 10:40 am

    Very wierd indeed! I don’t think Misty’s guilty of hurting the child, but something just doesn’t add up…I definitely don’t think Ron had anything to do with it, but this impromptu wedding is just plain wierd…I don’t know what to make of any of it…

  8. anne scott permalink
    March 14, 2009 12:43 pm

    They are both liars and druggies! She did Not pass a lie detector test as people are Not told if they passed or not. She’s just saying that to look better. I think they both Know what happened to that little girl and, God help us, I think they fed her to the crocks so there would be no evidence left! Ronald beat up his first wife and probably abused the kids too. The Real mother should now get the little boy.

  9. ostella permalink
    March 14, 2009 1:23 pm

    I was wondering if LE would really tell them if they passed the lie detector(s)… it seems like a counterproductive tactic if true… I honestly can’t think of another case where theyve questioned a witness (Misty) six times, and repeatedly requested polygraphs for no apparent reason. It just doesn’t sit right with me…

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 14, 2009 4:25 pm

    Anne–Apparently, the real mother, Crystal, is a drug addict. She didn’t want to let LE take a DNA test because she was afraid they would be able to tell if there were drugs in her system. Only after she found out they couldn’t tell that from a DNA test did she agree to take it. She is obviously less fit to be a parent than Ron who works full time and has custody.

    Ostella–It’s my understanding that they would not tell them one way or the other if they passed the lie detector test. I think Misty may well be suspected of something—maybe just lying about what really happened.

    Something’s got to give soon. A child doesn’t disappear off the face of the earth without any clues whatsoever. Of course, there could be lots we don’t know. This case doesn’t have the leaks the Anthony case has had.

  11. JAN IN SANTA FE permalink
    March 14, 2009 4:33 pm

    Oh boy…all I can think of is that poor precious little girl! Looks like she never had a chance right from the start with a family like that!

    And to think there are so many couples out there who would just DIE to have a little girl like that!

    It’s just SO SAD!

    😦

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 14, 2009 4:38 pm

    Jan–and there are soooo many children born into families like that. It really isn’t fair is it? People that shouldn’t be having children seem to effortlessly pump out babies, one after the other, while people that SHOULD have babies can’t even have one.

  13. ostella permalink
    March 14, 2009 4:54 pm

    I have a friend who recently got married, is financially stable, and would do ANYTHING to be a mom (and she would make a great one, she’s a wonderful person). After suffering 2 miscarriages (and nearly losing her own life the last time) she was told she could never carry a baby to term due to some rare genetic condition that effects her reproductive system. She was absolutely devastated, and is now researching surrogates, because she wants so badly to be a mother…seeing cases like this enrage her; I can’t say I blame her at all… Sorry, I just felt like sharing that… 🙂

  14. JAN IN SANTA FE permalink
    March 14, 2009 5:04 pm

    😦

    It just makes you wonder, doesn’t it!? It is just not fair at all!

    And then there’s creatures like that Octo-Mom who is USING her precious little ones just to see how much money/gifts she can get out of them! It just makes me sick! Now she has 14 she cannot even come close to taking care of and then there are people like your friend who would give anything for one of those babies!

    Thanks for sharing!

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 14, 2009 6:25 pm

    Ostella

    Thanks for sharing that. I have a friend, actually she was a friend of my sons, who from the time she was in junior high, when I met her, she wanted to be a mommy when she grew up. Well, she did grow up, married a minister, and is a teacher. They tried for 6 years to have a child without success and have spent the last 3 years on a waiting list to adopt. The teenage mother that chose them to be the parents of her baby daughter, delivered 3 weeks ago. This little girl escaped the fate of so many children born to crack moms today and will have a loving, happy childhood. I wish more young women that have no desire to be a parent would give their babies up for adoption rather than have abortions or bring them into the world with no intention whatsoever to be a real parent.

    Jan

    I don’t have a clue what to think of Octo-Mom. That’s just insane.

  16. March 14, 2009 7:13 pm

    i get the feeling that the father knows what happened to haleigh and the girlfriend/babysitter knows but won’t say.she dose’nt want to squeal on the boyfriend.she’s only seventeen and is definitely under his thumb.something is funny about the dumpster.the dogs smelled human decomposition in it and those dogs are trained only to alert their trainers to human decomp.

  17. JAN IN SANTA FE permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:09 pm

    Hmmmm. You don’t suppose the rush to suddenly get married was so that they couldn’t be forced to tesitfy against the other, do you?

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 14, 2009 8:30 pm

    jan

    I thought that to, but then found out it doesn’t matter if they are married or not if the crime involves a child. I also think it wouldn’t matter as the crime happened before they married.

    cathy

    I believe that LE is keeping a lot under wraps. This sheriff’s office is handling things a lot differently than the sheriff’s office in the Caylee Anthony case.For instance, Misty has said she and Ron passed their lie detector tests, but LE hasn’t said they have, and it’s highly unlikely that the tester would have told them whether or not they passed.

  19. ostella permalink
    March 14, 2009 10:01 pm

    Maybe they got married because of the brewing custody fight with Crystal? To look more stable and “grownup”so they don’t lose custody of Jr? But I really don’t see Crystal having much of a shot at custody at this point (if she is a drug addict, and since Ron is employed and has full custody anyway)…its certainly not so viable a threat to justify running out and gettin married when your daughter’s missing…

    Ya, I just can’t think of a plausible answer for this one…I’m stumped…

  20. the lunitic is on the Grass permalink
    March 15, 2009 11:08 am

    My take on this one,the dad goes to work takes the kid with him ,strangles her and disposes the body never to be found.Now they milk it for all it’s worth!!charges will be forth coming.

  21. Rico Reynolds permalink
    March 15, 2009 1:11 pm

    It is entirely possible that Ronald may have been facing charges relating to his sexual relationship with a minor. This may have been the motivational factor behind the ‘shotgun wedding’. It is quite apparent that it is Not the depth of their love that inspired this marriage.

  22. ostella permalink
    March 15, 2009 4:03 pm

    Does anybody know the age of consent in florida? And what the penalty is if you’re caught with someone underage?

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 15, 2009 9:13 pm

    You may have nailed it Rico.

    Ron is 25!

    Ostella see the law below in Florida

    Age of consent in Florida

    The age of consent in Florida is 18, but close in age exemptions exist. By law, the exception permits an adult younger than 24 to engage in legal sexual activity with a minor aged 16 or 17.

    794.05 Unlawful sexual activity with certain minors.– (1) A person 24 years of age or older who engages in sexual activity with a person 16 or 17 years of agecommits a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. As used in this section, “sexual activity” means oral, anal, or vaginal penetration by, or union with, the sexual organ of another; however, sexual activity does not include an act done for a bona fide medical purpose Florida code, Title XLVI, Chapter 794

  24. ostella permalink
    March 15, 2009 9:58 pm

    Yup. There ya go…

  25. Kirsten permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:40 pm

    Misty will be knocked up within 3 months, mark my words!!!

  26. JAN IN SANTA FE permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:59 pm

    heh-heh-heh! GEE! Maybe she already is. Maybe that’s what the rush was.

  27. ostella permalink
    March 17, 2009 9:31 pm

    Wow…I think you could be on to something, guys…I guess we’ll see soon enough…

  28. Rico Reynolds permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:10 am

    Misty makes an interesting comment on the courthouse steps . She says ‘ I just want everyone to know that I was home the night Haleigh disappeared –because — the lie detector test says I wasn’t lying” this is said in a rather giddy fashion. LE needs to flat come out and state that the polygraph has not proved anything and that a pass / fail analogy has never been given to her. She is not simply a confused teenager.

  29. pak31 permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:52 am

    Interesting stuff. I too, like many others, find the timing of the wedding odd. I bet if Misty were 23, for example, they might not be married just yet. As for the Today interview, this is the first time that I have had a chance to watch it and it is strange that her response is “I don’t know”. Yes she’s young but still, at least give some sort of reason. The way they can’t look into the camera or that they look down when talking shows either nervousness or guilt. They may not be guilty of harming Haleigh but Misty isn’t being completely forthcoming. If, and I say if the back door was locked when they went to bed, then with no forced entry and no one having a key, as Ron claims, how did someone get in there??

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 19, 2009 9:44 am

    ostella, kristen and jan—I wonder! Still, I doubt he would have married her if it weren’t for her age. He really could be charged and then Krystal would for sure get custody of Jr.

    Rico–I think she is in over her head in something. Like I said, LE is just not flopping all their cards on the table in this case. There’s a lot we don’t know.

    Pak-I also don’t think Misty is as innocent as she’s acting. My “something’s fishy in Denmark” radar goes off loudest concerning her.

  31. sally permalink
    March 19, 2009 1:12 pm

    When they decided to get married they took the focus off Haleigh.How can you get married a month after your child goes missing.For another thing that toddler bed Haleigh was sleeping on doesn’t that have plastic on it?That would of made noises if someone tried to grab her from her bed.

  32. PozeLenore permalink
    March 19, 2009 2:07 pm

    Have yall ever listened to the youtube posts from Albatross234?

    Her psychology information is fascinating! most comments have been re anthony case but she has an interesting theory already for Misti and her evasiveness.

    I think she may be right. Misti on the spacy, a pot deal out side, props open door herself and wanders around out back … she can hear the kids kind of reasoning? she is a young babysitter. she is afraid of the husband. Geez he doesnt even “fetch” her at the courthouse, she just sorta skips to catch up with him. He really skipped a body movement there, if he loves this woman.

    My only other workin theory here is the last maintenance guy to visit that house. Cleared by LE or not. Its too easy.

    And I agree, the father doesnt look into camara but for a fleeting moment, even when he is addressing Haleigh out there, directly. How very sad. He is angry. The first wrong thing I heard out of him was “Howd you git my dawter stole, biach?” and thats just out of it.

    but do go listen to ALBATROSS234 on YOUTUBE. Its rich

  33. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 19, 2009 3:40 pm

    I agree Sally. Ron has also taken the focus off Haleigh.

    I’m headed over there to check out ALBATROSS234 right now, Pose. Thanks.

  34. Ginnie Adamus permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:22 pm

    This is such a senstive time for that famly. Why didin’t Crystal
    Wait until later to filefor custody ???????
    If she lost custody why didn’t she stay in town to be near them ????
    Ginnie

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 21, 2009 7:40 pm

    Very good points Ginnie. I wonder the same thing.

  36. sally permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:03 am

    Could it be that Crystal has Haleigh somewhere and is waiting until she gets custody of Jr.Crystal doesn’t shed one tear she is always wiping away no tears at all.How do u forget where u put the kids to bed at?That should be an easy question to answer.Misty is hiding something?

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 23, 2009 10:38 am

    Oh, I think Misty is hiding lots! I’ve wondered about Crystal, too. Although, if she has Haleigh somewhere–what would she eventually do with her? Is she planning on absconding with her and Junior?

  38. sally permalink
    March 24, 2009 12:44 pm

    Have u checked out Crystal’s myspace page under General – Taking care of my baby girl Chloe and the other brats thats pretty much it!!!! Oh yeah and my grown up baby Chad!!! Her other brats that’s a real nice comment about her other children.That goes to show much they mean to her.There are hardly any pictures of Haliegh,just of her new baby.

  39. sally permalink
    March 24, 2009 12:49 pm

    And another thing if that was my child i would have confronted Misty being she was the last person to see haliegh.As a mother of 5 children of my own i would of had my own questions to ask Misty.

  40. sally permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:35 pm

    Has anyone ever searched Crystal’s house or around it?

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 24, 2009 1:36 pm

    Sally–Do you have a link to Crystal’s MySpace?

  42. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 24, 2009 1:38 pm

    I don’t know if anyone has searched or not, but I would think LE would have checked all family members out–at least I hope they have!

    Yes, Misty and I would have had words already if it had been my child–and Misty saying, “I don’t know…..” to my questions would not be an option.

  43. sally permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:06 pm

    I just added her to my friends on myspace.

  44. sally permalink
    March 25, 2009 6:50 pm

    She changed her myspace.It doesn’t say brat’s anymore.

Leave a Reply

