Skip to content

Ron Cummings responds to allegations by Crystal Sheffield that he abused Haleigh and Junior

March 27, 2009

Crystal Sheffield and her attorney, Kim Pecazio said on Nancy Grace that Haleigh’s facial injuries “might have” been haleigh-cummings-with-a-bruise-on-her-face1caused by her father, Ron.  They are trying to get custody of Jr. from Ron.

Today, Ron Cummings’ attorney released several new photos of Haleigh along with a sharp response to Sheffield and her attorney’s charges.  He said the injuries were the result of a fall Haleigh took at school.  One of the time-stamped photos shows Haleigh on November 5th, the day before the accident at school, with no injuries. Another photo taken an hour and a half after Haleigh’s accident on Nov 6h show her with bruises.  The same day, Haleigh’s paternal grandmother, Teresa Neves, took Haleigh to Flagler Hospital’s emergency room to have it looked at.  A photo taken on November 7th by Neves show that the injury had gotten worse.  Another photo taken on November 9th shows, “natural progression and continuation of her response to the injury.”  Three days later Neves took the child back to the emergency room because of stomach cramps, nausea and vomiting.  Haleigh was treated and released and according to the attorney, no one at the hospital made mention of possible child abuse.  The last photo, taken on November 14th, shows the swelling and cuts and bruises on Haleigh’s face were gone.  The attorney said the allegations against his client are false. “These accusations were made recklessly, without any effort to obtain all relevant information.  Instead, Crystal Sheffield and her attorney sensationalized the allegations when they appeared on various TV shows.  Most importantly, the focus has been taken off the search for Haleigh by this tawdry and inexcusable publicity stunt.”

Pecazio called WJXT-TV and said the pictures Ron’s attorney released could have been taken on a different day than when they were stamped because dates can be changed in a camera.  She also said “numerous” people have given sworn statements to the Dept. of Children and Families about Cummings care of the kids.

Ron’s lawyers also refuted statements attributed to Jr., Haleigh’s younger brother.

Concerning an interview with Crystal and Junior conducted in early March by Craig Rivera, the brother of Geraldo Rivera,  Ron’s attorneys called it “shabby journalism” leading to reports that Jr. said a black man was in the house the night Haleigh went missing.

Here’s a portion of  the Craig Rivera interview with Crystal Sheffield and Junior I found on YouTube.  Sorry, but you can here whoever posted it in the background.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Geraldo – 2/28/09 Part 1 of 2“, posted with vodpod

Junior made his statement while being held in his mother’s arms and the attorney claims that Crystal coaxed Junior’s answers– that the child’s response was “mystification and /or passive agreement” to what he was asked.  The lawyers were referring to 4 year old Junior  using terms like “squeaking shoes” and “dressed in black.”  They say those terms are not normal language for a 4 year old.   Ron’s attorneys say they have “heard” that Crystal Sheffield received “a substantial amount of money” from the show, Geraldo at Large, the show Craig Rivera was representing.

Read the articles below:

firstcoastnews

clickorlando

I saw the photos today that Ron’s attorney released and it looks just like they said– A normal progression an injury like that would take.  I don’t know that much about cameras, but I suppose it would be possible to change the dates on it after the fact?  Did they do that?  I don’t know, but I doubt it.

I had also wondered about Junior’s statement.  I believed it when it was just a “man in black” but now it’s changed to squeaky shoes and that the couch was squeaking. The portion of the interview I saw looks a lot like Crystal is coercing her son.  Am I wrong?

I just can’t shake my feelings about Crystal.  I don’t think she did something to her daughter but I think she is exploiting the hell out of the situation.  Does this woman act like she has the education and ability to run a foundation??

And another thing that’s bothering me–Crystal has said she is afraid that someone will take Junior, too.  Sooooo, why would you plaster his face all over the Geraldo Rivera show?  Here’s a link to the interview on Geraldo’s site.  You can see the little boy’s face plain as day.

geraldo at large link

52 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:35 pm

    Hey Mystery! I never can get a handle on anything I really think in this case. I knew that Ron responded to the allegations and I really have remained neutral on that. The new thing this afternoon from Crystal was the “sex, drugs, and rock n roll” lifestyle was inviting something to happen to the children, or one of them and it did. Neither he or his lawyer responded to the allegations. IMO, I am not so sure that I think any of them would hurt Haleigh, but I think somebody has information they could be with holding, out of fear of something. I’m not sure what. I think there is a reason Misty is so inconsistent. I’m not sure why. I did pick up on Crystal and her mom in the beginning being critical, before they decided to come together for Haleigh, and so I saw this custody battle coming. That’s all I’m sure of. This case baffles me.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 27, 2009 8:54 pm

    Me too, Niecey. With the Caylee case it was pretty obvious from the beginning that Casey is probably guilty. This case is different. They are all acting strange.

    I think drugs were probably happening at Ron’s house, too, and I think the statement that their lifestyle was just inviting something to happen to the kids is true, too. But, I also think it is very irresponsible on Crystal’s part to allow 4 year old Junior to be in an interview on national television.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:00 pm

    I agree. Can anyone of them just think of the kids for a while, and what’s best for them???

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:02 pm

    Nope.

  5. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:41 am

    Geraldo 😈 told Bill O’Reilly that he will be featuring the Haleigh case on his Saturday show..probably worth watching as he really hates Ron and is clearly on Crystals team..hopefully he may let something slip……….

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:12 am

    Hi Jill! Thanks, I’ll watch it!

  7. 1lily1 permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:05 pm

    I have a problem with the photos of the children, Haleigh and Junior. Haleigh’s lip appears very swolen in one of the pictures. No one can tell ME that happened on the monkey bars at school….

  8. 1lily1 permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:12 pm

    I love Geraldo… he never misses a beat..! I will watch that tonight too; what time?

  9. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 28, 2009 1:28 pm

    So right you are Mystery, if this were like the Caylee case it would be plain to see who was at fault. I like Niecey go back and forth as to what I really think happened.
    No, I do not think that the children have been or are the priority in any of these peoples lives. I do agree that the pictures do seem like natural progression and that if the hospital thought otherwise this child would have been investigated immediately. My sister is a nurse and manager at a big hospital here and has run into many suspected abuse cases. The one thing I know is that they do not give the benfit of the doubt when any type of abuse is suspected.
    I too believe that Junior seems coerced in his statements. Furthermore, if I was so frightened that someone was going to take my other child, you would never see his face, much less know his where abouts. This is another example of her inept parenting.
    Ron and Misty are not the poster parents for raising children either. Her inconsistencies seem like she is scared, a child herself and quite possibly worried about Ronald Cummings reaction to things she might say.
    In the end there is a huge in justice being done to another child by the people who should be doing everything possible to bring her home safely.

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:10 pm

    lily–Geraldo is on at 9:00pm central time

    Haleigh fell off the monkey bars onto the ground was my understanding?

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:15 pm

    halfpint

    Maybe if the kids had been a top priority in the first place, they wouldn’t have disappeared.
    I take that statement back cuz’ it’s really mean, but I didn’t erase it completely because it’s the damn truth.

  12. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:13 pm

    Hah Mystery that was great! It wasn’t mean either. As my grandmother always said you call a spade a spade… It’s ok, if you get bashed for it come sit next to me:)

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:09 pm

    LOL. Yeah, I read that thread over at your house! Whew! You can keep those guests! Don’t want them knockin’ at my door!

  14. niecey456 permalink
    March 28, 2009 7:48 pm

    Now Mystery I read that comment. I agree!

  15. niecey456 permalink
    March 28, 2009 7:54 pm

    (The one you had the line through.)

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 9:20 pm

    Niecey! I couldn’t help myself!

  17. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 29, 2009 12:06 am

    We didn’t learn anything from Geraldo today..maybe he will have more on tomorrows show. Wish LE would stop pussyfooting around Misty {she is turning into a Casey}..its high time she told the truth and accepted the consequences..{I don’t think she had anything to do with Haleigh’s disappearance because she was either out partying or asleep and stoned when it happened.} Of course I could be wrong..wouldn’t be the first time – hi!

  18. the lunitic is on the grass permalink
    March 29, 2009 2:08 am

    she was screwing some guy while the hillybilly bo was at work.
    well she had to pay for the crack some how did she not.
    The should send the crack man around,wired she will l give it up.

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 29, 2009 7:41 am

    Paul
    Actually not a bad idea to wire someone and have them cozy up to her. She’s probably talking like a mad woman to her friends.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 29, 2009 7:43 am

    Jill

    I agree. I don’t think she hurt Haleigh–she just wasn’t watching.

  21. ostella permalink
    March 29, 2009 3:22 pm

    Hi everyone! I’m sick as a dog today, so I’m home with steady access to a computer for some serious sleuthing (or as Daffy Duck would call it, “deducting!”). About these abuse allegations…I could see if she fell flat on her face from the monkey bars, yes, there would be a ton of swelling and bruising around the nose and eyes. There couldve been hairline fractures, cracked bones, etc that could make it look really gnarly as it healed. And let’s not forget, Turner syndrome weakens the immune system, so her body wouldn’t heal as quickly anyway….however, having said all that, I don’t trust any of these people…I suspect some pretty major substance abuse is going on with ALL of them. I don’t think Misty killed the child, but I don’t think she’s being honest about her activities that night…my jury is totally out on Ron; I don’t think he’s “Father of the Year,” and in all honesty I’m creeped out by any grown man who dates teenagers. (And he’s got one of those moustaches I call a “molestache”). I don’t think he is directly involved in the disappearance, but I think he knows more than he’s shared… And I tend to agree with mystery about Crystal…

    Satsuma needs an enema! 🙂

  22. March 29, 2009 3:45 pm

    Hi Mystery, my take on Ronald and his Lawyer on Junior’s story of the man in black and etc, is that Ronald and his lawyer protest too much. Ronald was at work remember, his lawyer was no eye witness either and my question is, why would they be so hard fast to prove this is a coaching set up by bio mom Crystal? How would this benefit Crystal in any way? It is well known someone or something happened to Haleigh as she is missing, is she not? If anything i would think if Ron were innocent which i do not believe for a minute he is, then wouldn’t Junior’s story help verses hurt ronald and misty, as it would attempt to take the focus off them. Ronald has a drug rap sheet half as long as my arm, he has never done any jail time for. I Saw his record myself. why? I Cannot verify if this mom part is true, but i read Ronald’s mom works for a judge and has for years. If that is true could explain a lot. How Ron avoiding getting any jail time and how he may have gotten custody of these two kids. Also we have no known knowledge if Haleigh went missing when misty and ron says she did either. I Believe Ronald knows exactly where Haleigh as i believe he killed her in one of his temper rages, and i believe he put her first in that dumpster those three cadaver dogs hit on and moved her before staging this enactment of events he and misty are saying now as to when she went missing. Some person was dead in that dumpster as cadaver dogs are good and we know they don’t lie. who else is missing in florida? That dumpster is not far from Ronald’s home. The police have questioned Misty endlessly and five hours at a time, i think if Misty really knew what happened she would have broken by now. she is not a casey anthony hard nut to crack in my opinion. Misty may have not been home and left the kids while she thought they were sleeping. not sure on that one. If misty did leave the kids awhile to go out it makes no sense as to why she would prop the cinder block against the door to leave it open. The lock is a dead bolt style and will not automatically lock on it’s on, only with a key. the spring type glass storm door would not lock on it’s on either unless you had the latch locked in place when you closed it shut first. misty is 17 not very mature but i don’t think she would leave a door wide open while gone at nite with a almost four year old and a five year old left inside. I believe Ron is attempting now to turn this in an anthony copy cat case unless he killed Haleigh on purpose to copy cat the anthony case. Isn’t the timing just too odd as when this all went down? early next morning after caylee’s memorial was the day before. why this time to do this? perfect as Ronald thought the focus would be off Caylee long enough now to get it really going world wide on Haleigh, therfore more shows to be invited on, donations coming in and so on. Also as with the caylee case, who comes in to save the day? A BOUNTY HUNTER. Sound familiar? copy cat, copy cat. Ronald snatched misty up and married her while his child is missing? why? if misty does no anything at all he thought she would not have to testify against him being his now wife, secondly, the more stranger you act in a case like this the more exposure it is going to get and more tongues wagging, (henceforth like in the anthony case) Problem is, it is not getting all the notoriety ronald had hoped for as the anthony case is still the main focus more than this one. However, he is getting to lay off work and taking in those donations and getting some show benefits and could be paid for those right now but it will never in my opinion be big as the anthony case is.

    As for Crystal showing junior’s face on tv, i think Crystal was not thinking as to would expose junior’s face since she is worried about him being harmed now or taken, i think she had her mind on getting out his story and any clues she thinks is possible to find Haleigh.

    now my opinion on what happened to Haleigh’s face. School record shows only Haleigh was noticed by the school nurse to have a cut on her nose. Six days later there are documents to show Haleigh was taken to the emergency room but it did not state as to what for. just she had to stay home for 3 days. IF You look at Haleigh’s face from the side view it looks to me like she was punched hard. it has a big puffed out section a little ways down from her eye. looks bad. school records have not mentioned monkey bars that i have yet to find so i am wondering if ronald made that part up. I believe Ronald is indeed a child batterer and i believe he used a stick to hit on junior with like it was said. Haleigh said, i also believe he is a woman abuser as well and i believe crystal when she said he was as you can tell crystal is afraid of him this very day. I also believe Misty is afraid of him in this way too but she is a dumb 17 year old and wanted to marry ronald. anyway, that is my two cents or should i say my book on this subject for now that is .

    oh and what is sickening to me is what ronald has on the back windshield of his white pick up truck. Reads in large white letters, ”only God Can Judge Me”. HOW ARROGANT~~

  23. 1lily1 permalink
    March 29, 2009 4:18 pm

    I don’t think Ron put Haleigh in the dumpster. I think he disposed of some other items like clothing; and that’s why the cadaver dogs ‘hit’ on the scent.. Haleigh’s decomposition was on SOMETHING that was thrown in that dumpster.

  24. March 29, 2009 4:19 pm

    The bounty hunter started all this about Misty having an affair with the what he called the white boy. This could be true but how did a Bounty Hunter find all this personal stuff out for one, and also this bounty hunter is saying on audio that ronald told him he already knew about this guy and misty. I find that strange as i can see Ronald has a temper big time so i would think there would have been a confrontation of some kind way before Haleigh went missing with Ronald and this guy. Also the bounty hunter was saying ronald said he should go and get his pistol and put it in Misty’s mouth and make her tell the truth. So what is real with this bounty hunter and what is fictional?

  25. ostella permalink
    March 29, 2009 4:20 pm

    Hi knight owl! You make a lot of very good points…I have also wondered why Ron was so quick to dismiss Crystal’s story about Jr saying the “man in black” stole Haleigh?! Why be so quick to discredit a story that doesn’t appear to implicate him or Misty in the slightest way? If anything, it shifts the focus off them….it doesn’t make sense…and Rons rapsheet is quite a read! No time served for all those drug charges?! Can you say “narc” ?

    I didn’t see that written on his truck…there was some footage a while back of him outside the house next to a white pickup that said “GRAVE DIGGER” across the back window. I didn’t know if it was his truck or not, but I remember thinking, “HMMM” at the time…but “ONLY GOD CAN JUDGE ME?” Coming from a criminal who has never had to serve jailtime for multiple drug charges, and who has repeatedly commited statutory rape without ever facing any legal consequences? Yes, “arrogant” would be the perfect word to describe that!!!

  26. March 29, 2009 4:24 pm

    oh and i believe LE thinks Ronald is the culprit. They have not arrested Misty with all her incosistencies on child endangerment, or anything of any kind. Misty is not the big fish they are looking for. I believe when a case is as hush-hush by LE as this one is, they are looking a family member and my guess would be Ron. Ron is using being at work as his alibi, but like i said before, we only have him and misty stating the time frame as to when haleigh actually went missing. jmo.

  27. March 29, 2009 4:32 pm

    Hi Ostella, Thank you. I had not seen the pick up truck that said grave digger on it, but i saw Misty and Ron getting in to this white one with, Only God can Judge me. it was stated Ron had cleaned it up all nice and shiney for their wedding. What made me not believe Ron from the get go was that whiney voice seeming to make himself sound like it was pitiful type cry when the 911 operator was asking him a question i think about what was Haleigh wearing, he said, i don’t know i was f’ng work. Also i found strange was when misty was on with 911 and misty didn’t know haleigh’s weight and and height and so on,she was asking ronald but he was not interested in answering, he was saying they are just f’ng jerking us around, they are not even gonna come out. I thought what? why would he think 911 was not sending anyone out, maybe ron was thinking they don’t believe us. hmmmmm~~

  28. March 29, 2009 4:48 pm

    I Think the other familiarity in this case is Ronald has a lawyer just like Bozo Baez in the anthony case.

  29. March 29, 2009 4:50 pm

    ostella, you make good points also. Narc was one of them.

  30. March 29, 2009 4:55 pm

    1lily1, Ronald throwing something in the dumpster with Haleigh’s decomp scent is a good point but was said LE did not find anything when they searched the dumpster, or did they perhaps and keeping it under wraps. hmmm.

  31. ostella permalink
    March 29, 2009 5:04 pm

    The fact that LE has stated that NOBODY is officially cleared as a suspect speaks volumes to me. I think you’re right theres a lot that we don’t know…the dumpster search is troubling to say the least…

  32. March 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    Ostella, Let’s not forget Ronald ran out and got a tatoo of haleigh on his lower leg above his ankle. Sound familiar? Oh yea, your really worried sick about your little daughter missing so you go and get a picture of her face tatooed on your leg. I know that is just what i would do if my child were missing. I agree with your statement on the dumpster search. That got very little press attention and has been hush- hush, so that speaks volumes to me as well.

  33. March 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    Ostella, i hope you feel better soon.

  34. ostella permalink
    March 29, 2009 6:24 pm

    Thanx Knight owl!

    Now I’m wondering if the white pickup truck I saw with “Grave Digger” on the back was in fact his, and he has since changed it to read “Only God Can Judge Me?” I don’t know, maybe it was a neighbors truck that I saw, but if it was his, and he changed the writing since this all happened, then that raises a giant red flag to me???!!! Especially when you consider the possible subtext of the different messages…Does anyone know anything more about this?

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 29, 2009 6:40 pm

    Hi guys–just finished reading–knight Owl, you’ve really given this a lot of thought! I can see your theory but the thing about Ron saying he didn’t believe Jr. said that about the man in black and that he was coerced by his mother makes sense when Ron said Jr. had NEVER mentioned the man in black to him until he was with Crystal. If you watch that video, Jr. is pretty uninterested and only shakes his head in response to Crystal. I also believe the fall on the playground was verified by the school nurse. Haleigh’s second visit to the emergency room was with her grandmother who said she had been vomiting and was ill with flu-like symptoms.

    I can’t tell who’s telling the truth and who isn’t in this one. I think, Ostella, you are leaning towards Ron doing something with his daughter, too?— I don’t know. I’m not convinced at this point and I just can’t shake my feeling that something’s not right about Crystal. Something’s off with her. She was $4000.00 behind in her child support payments that she owed Ron and he had just filed papers attempting to get her to start paying right before Haleigh went missing. Maybe I just am getting vibes that she might try to exploit the situation for money. (Her heading a “Haleigh Bug” foundation.)

    I don’t know much, but I do know the longer this goes on, the less likely it is that Haleigh might still be alive. I’m still hoping she is, and what the cadaver dogs hit on was an animal or something.

  36. 1lily1 permalink
    March 29, 2009 6:42 pm

    KNIGHTOWL : Thanks. That is my guess. Ron or Misty disposed of an article perhaps of clothing with decomp on it. The cadaver dogs are never wrong. If it had been a bandage or other item, they would not have hit on it. These dogs know the difference.
    Investigators are keeping quiet and not telling the press or family in order not to taint the case.

  37. ostella permalink
    March 29, 2009 8:09 pm

    Mystery, I’m not solidly convinced one way or another about Ron (at this point). He’s no boy scout, he’s a criminal with sleazy connections and a fixation on teenage girls. Prince Charming he certainly isn’t. Do I think he has a temper? Yup. You betcha. Do I think he abused his kids? Its entirely possible, I would even say probable, but I haven’t seen anything rock solid (yet) to make me say yes. Do I think he did something to Haleigh? I don’t know yet, but sadly I wouldn’t be too shocked to find out he was indirectly involved somehow…

    I don’t trust any of them. Every single one of them is SHADY!

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 29, 2009 8:16 pm

    You and I are on the very same page, Ostella. I just wish something would break in this case.

  39. March 30, 2009 12:26 am

    Hi Mystery, i know Crystal owes child support back money but i still cannot see her being involved in this case. I can see Junior is not interested when talking in this tape but i don’t think much is strange about it or he was coached to say this, as that could be he is intimidated and shy being a little four year old with a guy he does not know and a camera and mic in his face. It would make no sense to me to coach junior to say this. I am not sure on why Haleigh was at the hospital six days after the playground incident was written by the school nurse was only a scratch on her nose. I am only going on what Crystal’s attorney was saying on NG that six days after the nose scratch how did Haleigh end up from a scratch to her nose to the emergency room with under her eye bruised and in this condition. maybe she was taken to the emergency room more than once in that six day period and one of those times was with the stomach issue.I Don’t know or Ron’s mother is lieing as to the reason she is saying why haleigh went. I have only found one emergency room document in this time lot and date, and the doctor did not write what was wrong with haleigh, just said she had to stay home from school for three days.From looking at Haleigh’s face from the side view it was not good at all. sort of distorted her face and was all poofed out in a big area lower under the eye level and i still stand firm ronald did it to her. Cadaver dogs only hit on human decomposition, not animal, trainer on NG said this when she had the dog hunt the hidden bottle containing a cloth with cadaver fluids on it, so it was a either a human in the dumpster or something that had human decomp fluids on it one. My guess still is it was Haleigh placed there and later removed. I don’t give either side of this family much credibility but Ronald definitely is one i don’t trust any farther than i could throw him and i don’t trust his mother or grandmother not to lie for him either. LE are very quiet on this case and there is a reason for that in my opinion and it speaks volumes to going right back to the beginning, Ronald and misty. When they get the real goods figured out, i believe the clanking of jail bracelest are going to be heard by Ronald. Misty has inconsistencies for sure but it is because she has been coached by Ron what to say and she is not very good at it. I think LE Cannot crack Misty as she really is not clear on what happened or she is too in love or afraid of ronald one, or both, or she was high on drugs that nite one. If Junior actually saw this man in black i say it was Ronald and junior didn’t see his face or did he? who knows he is a mere four year old. jmo.

  40. March 30, 2009 12:31 am

    Mystery, forgot to say, maybe Junior did not mention the man in black to Ronald because he knew it was Ronald and it scared him dressed this way. or could be that only Crystal questioned him if he saw anyone take his sissy and that is what got him talking. I don’t think Ronald questioned junior that nite about anything. Isn’t it just too strange that according to ronald and misty this child was taken within 1o,15 or 20 minutes before ronald drove in the driveway from work? I don’t buy it.

  41. March 30, 2009 12:33 am

    1lily1. your welcome. I like your avatar by the way. I think we should have been homicide detectives. lol.

  42. March 30, 2009 12:38 am

    Mystery, i think i should have just written you a book instead as that is what it looks like already. lol. your great and i love your blog.

  43. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 30, 2009 6:50 am

    Hello Everyone! As usual, all of your theories and points definately give food for thought. I really do believe that there is so much that we do not know. I also believe that LE has learned alot from the Caylee Anthony case and that there was too much information given out day after day.
    I have a really hard time with Crystal. Not that I have an easier time with Ronald, but as a mother I cannot understand her actions.From the beginning until now she is not the distraught mother that will give her own life for her daughter. She was notified 1/2 an hour after Haleigh was reported missing and did not even show up until the next morning, she had so many answers of ” I don’t know” each time a question pertained to her daughters living conditions, school attendance, and so on. Lastly, the “Bug” foundation just blew my mind. As a mom, I cannot fathom how on earth she could even begin to think about this kind of project when she doesn’t even know where she is, much less put the plan into action.
    Ron, Misty and Crystal are all people of interest in this case. If you ask me, Misty is the one who break this wide open. Not because she is the most likely to have the information. She is only 17, if LE has her alone long enough, with the proper interrogation tactics, she can be broken.

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 30, 2009 9:29 am

    knight Owl–You can write a book here, anytime!

    You make some compelling arguments. I think Halfpint is correct that Misty is the only one that can really tell what happened.

    I want to know—What she is hiding? What secret could be more important than to find this baby? I guess it could be as simple as she was so drugged out she doesn’t know what happened and is afraid of the consequences if she tells, or it could be as you said, she’s afraid of Ron, or it could be she wasn’t there, and a man in black did take Haleigh, or Crystal could have taken him to spite Ron for some past sin. We just don’t know. I think all of these people are equally suspicious at this point. They’ve all done things to make you raise an eyebrow and say, “sumthin’ ain’t right here!”

  45. 1lily1 permalink
    March 30, 2009 5:57 pm

    KNIGHTOWL : I think YOU MISSED your calling ! You could have been a homicide detective!!! I wish you were so you could get to the bottom of this…
    Haleigh’s lip looks worse than Rihanna’s lip after the beating SHE took from Chris.. Someone HIT that poor child. My guess it was Ron Cummings.

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 30, 2009 8:05 pm

    knight Owl, ostella, halfpint and lilly,

    A woman from Ron’s mother or grandmother’s church family has commented on the post below. She has some interesting things to say about Crystal.
    I asked her how she knew these things, and she wrote a follow-up comment explaining her statements.

    It won’t change your mind about Ron, but it might give you pause about Crystal. Sounds like she may be a real piece of work.

    https://itsamysterytome.wordpress.com/2009/03/23/crystal-sheffields-haleigh-bug-foundation-is-open-for-business/#comment-7457

  47. 1lily1 permalink
    March 31, 2009 5:12 pm

    MYSTERY : Thank you Dear, I had known about this website last week from Jane Valez-Mitchell. It is slander against Crystal to disuade people from thinking Ron had any involvement. I stand firm; it WAS Ron…..

  48. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 31, 2009 8:22 pm

    lily

    I still think there’s not enough info out there yet, so I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree! Hopefully something will break soon, and whoever is responsible will be brought into the light.

  49. jane davis permalink
    May 12, 2009 2:12 pm

    Hi! I was thinking about some things after reading a little bit about the “Florida Sunshine” law that requires case materials to be made public. I think it said that case evidence and other materials can remain hidden from the public if the police are still investigating it or words to that effect. I wonder if the police are merely continuing to say that they are still investigating because as long as they do, they don’t have to share what they’ve found with the public? Perhaps they don’t want to have this case end up like the Anthony case is shaping up to be? I don’t know….we don’t have that “open to the public” law here in California and I was shocked (as was a Sacramento County Superior Court judge’s wife friend of mine) when I learned that I was able to read all the transcripts from the Anthony case. I just don’t see how they can find impartial juries in Florida with all of the pre-trial information that is put out to the public. Finally, what is the law in Florida regarding having sex with minors? Shouldn’t that Ron guy have gotten in trouble for being with Misty? Is that why he got married, do you think? Or, as someone else said, being married protects them from testifying against each other. Is that true? I’m just curious. This entire case is very strange. I sure hope that I’m right and that law enforcement knows waaaaaaaay more than they’re saying. Thanks for any information on Florida’s laws that any of you can provide.

  50. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 12, 2009 2:30 pm

    A minor in Florida is anyone 17 years of age and under. Ron is 26. He could have been charged with having sex with a minor.

    As far as testifying against your spouse, it wouldn’t matter in this case–When a child is involved the law states you have to testify whether married or not–Also if the crime occurs before you were married you have to testify.

  51. lisa permalink
    January 7, 2010 4:54 pm

    We know have proof that Crystal was on drugs when she crashed her car, in the form of a sworn statement from her father that she had him take the drugs before LE came. She had her baby Chloe in the car when she had this crash. This is felony child endangerment had her dad not taken the drugs for her she would have been charged. We also know a doctor told her not to drive since she had seizures and that the same baby Chloe was born with illegal drugs in her system. Yet Crystal wants to claim he is a bad dad? Why does she even have Custody of Chloe? She has put the life of this one year old on the line twice and the child is only one?

  52. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 7, 2010 5:39 pm

    lisa

    You are exactly right and I wonder the same thing. Why does Crystal still have Chloe? Why has no one with authority asked that question? That is one messed up case, and I’m really afraid Haleigh will never be found.

Leave a Reply

