Skip to content

Inmates become playmates as they care for a toddler found on the side of the road

March 30, 2009

A prison work crew in Maryland became guardian angels when they were called to babysit a 2 year old little boy wandering alone on a rural highway.  The six minimum-security inmates shared their lunches with the baby and played with him while authorities spent hours trying to locate where he came from.  LE said a dump truck driver saw him early Friday on a hilly quarry road near the Pennsylvania state line.  The truck driver gave the child to the litter crew for safekeeping.   State troopers found where the child lived and his father said he was supposed to be being watched by his teenage daughter.  Apparently she just left him there without telling anyone she was leaving…….

The situation is under investigation.

read it below

clickorlando

WTF????????????  And on top of it he was returned to his family while they investigated?  Why was this baby not taken into custody until it could be determined exactly what happened that he ended up wandering around on a highway?   This just blows my mind after following the Caylee Anthony and Haleigh Cummings cases.

And we wonder how there could possibly be so many missing children in the world!  It’s because we are careless with our babies–we take for granted that nothing will happen to them, we think that kind of stuff happens to other people’s kids, and that everyone we leave them with will care for them the way we do.

I hope there is some kind of follow-up on this story.  Why did the teenager leave the 2 year old alone?  How old was she?  Was there really someone watching him?  If it is true that his teenager just left, I want to know that there were consequences for her actions.

Please God tell me these people have been down on their knees praising You for returning that precious child safely to them.  This story could have so easily ended tragically.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:27 am

    Unbelievable!!! Thank God the baby is okay!!!!! Why is it that people don’t realize that children are breakable??? They are not unbreakable.

  2. March 30, 2009 6:18 pm

    Good thing my kids are grown! I’d be home-schooling just to keep them safe from what’s out there today. IF the Dad’s story is true, I’d bet the daughter will never turn her back on that baby brother again. Thank GOD for a safe ending.

  3. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 30, 2009 8:07 pm

    niecey–I know. Couldn’t believe what I was reading!

    Bj–You and me both. I am so grateful that my kids are grown. Now I have to worry about my grandkids!

  4. niecey456 permalink
    March 30, 2009 8:41 pm

    Okay I’m back. I get so upset about these things. I had to go to Mother Clucker’s and poke Casey in the eye and hurl things at Cindy in the supermarket. It relieves the stress. I’m so glad this baby is okay. I can’t say that enough. At least we have had 2 success stories lately. The 2 month old was found safe as well. The lady turned herself in and handed the baby over. Oh yeah, there was a third. A 12 year old was missing yesterday, but she came home and is safe. So we have 3 success stories. It’s sad when prisoners have more heart for a child than the person that was supposed to be watching him. I have to ask Humble’s question: “What is this world coming to”?

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 30, 2009 9:15 pm

    I don’t know what it’s coming to, niecey, but it’s going to hell in a handbasket!

  6. niecey456 permalink
    March 30, 2009 9:18 pm

    I agree. I sure wish the world would wake up and see the big picture. I pray everyday that it would just wake up.

  7. MAND permalink
    March 30, 2009 9:46 pm

    Hi Ladies…what a story…and a prime example of just how much Children’s Services care about these children..it makes you think about Haleigh Cummings and whether she was abused?
    This little guy should be somewhere safe..maybe another family but certainly not back where he is not taken care of. God was babysitting this one for sure..so many things could have happened to him..he could have been struck by a car..picked up by a predator and who knows?

  8. niecey456 permalink
    March 30, 2009 9:50 pm

    I agree Mand! God was watching after this baby. Thank You Lord!!!

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 31, 2009 9:20 am

    Hi Mand–

    For some reason, this story struck me on several levels. I thought it was wonderful that those prisoners took care of the little boy and shared their lunch with him. It was probably good for their souls as well as keeping the baby safe.

    On the other side of the spectrum, I was really surprised that the teenage girl left him. There’s got to be more to that story, but I can’t imagine there being any reason on this earth to leave a 2 year old unattended. I wish there would be some more information on what exactly happened.

  10. pak31 permalink
    March 31, 2009 10:13 am

    Wow, that was unreal. At first I thought it was kind of scary that the trucker would even consider leaving a baby with inmates!! But these inmates were more caring than the sister was. That is if the story about her was true. I do want to say Mystery that I know it was a general statement but not all parents or caregivers are careless with children. I sometimes think that I am fairly overprotective with my kids. My 12 year old walks to close friends homes alone rarely, that even worries me. My 7 1/2 year old son will play basketball in our driveway and I check on him like every minute because I am paranoid and trust no one. I have lived in my neighborhood for 10 years now with only on incident of a break in about 10 years ago(not on our house) otherwise it’s been fine. But I still trust no one. That is why I am shocked when I see little kids running around that don’t live by me, alone without an adult. Some parents just don’t seem to care or just don’t think their child could get hurt or stolen. I saw a little boy last year who was 5, out on his bike alone crossing a fairly busy street and just can’t understand how a parent could allow that. We don’t even want our 12 yr old to cross that road yet. It’s really scary that more parents aren’t so protective especially in this day and age.

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 31, 2009 1:14 pm

    Hi Pak

    Yes, I didn’t mean everyone in the world is careless with their children. I know that the majority of parents are like you. They treat their children as the gifts they are and safeguard them as much as they can. Bad things can still happen–even if you’re the most careful parent that ever lived. Sadly, that’s just a hazard of living in our world today. I’m sorry if anyone thought I might be making a blanket statement.

    And kudos to you for being one of the careful ones!

Leave a Reply

