Skip to content

Kiomarie Cruz, Casey Anthony’s childhood friend deposed by Jose Baez today

April 1, 2009

kiomarie-cruz-arrives-to-be-deposed-by-baezKiomarie Cruz was deposed by Jose Baez today.  We all joked about Kiomarie selling her story to the National Enquirer, but there is now some speculation that by doing that, she has damaged her credibility.(She sold her story for $20,000 dollars by the way for those of you who remember a discussion we had with a friend of Kiomarie back when she did the article. As I recall, Kio’s friend was under the impression that she was donating the money to charity and didn’t know how much she was getting paid or something like that………….)

Cruz showed up for the deposition with a bodyguard and didn’t answer any questions for the cameras.  Baez, on the other hand, spoke for several minutes with reporters, and said about Cruz, “The more information we have, the closer we get to the truth.”

Kio had told the Enquirer that the place Caylee’s body was found was in the same area she and Casey hung out.  Crus said they used it as a pet cemetery, dressing up in black and praying over the dead animals. She said she gave this information to the police.

According to Anthony family PI, Dominic Casey, that was the tip that led him and James Hoover to the site a month before Caylee was found.

When asked what he hoped to accomplish with Kiomarie’s deposition, Baez said,”When you take all the facts, we’re in the process of investigating a lot of facts, really taking time to prepare based on information we have and piecing it all together.”

Jail Sergeant, Dennis Moonsammy was also deposed by Baez today.  He supervises Casey at the jail, but told moonsammy-depositionEyewitness News that he didn’t see Casey’s response the day Caylee’s remains were found.

WFTV reporter Jeff Deal asked Moonsammy as he entered the State Attorney’s Office to answer Baez’ questions,

“Did you see Casey Anthonys reaction when they found her daughter’s remains?”

“No sir. No sir,” said Moonsammy

Moonsammy had a lawyer with him during Baez’ questioning. He stated to reporters that he didn’t know why he was even there since he didn’t see anything.

Baez said, “Every witness is critical.”

“It’s a life changing situation so I think every part of it is,” he said

3 other corrections officers will be deposed by Baez this week, 2 of which witnessed Casey’s reaction.

PI Jim Hoover and several OCSO investigators will be deposed on Thursday.

wftv video link to Baez’ comments

read it below:

wftv.com

According to WFTV the videos of the depositions will not be released but the transcripts could possibly be made public a few months down the road.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. MAND permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:41 pm

    Mystery..I just heard this on HLN Prime News and I thought about Kiomaries friend so diligent about Kio donating the money..well it’s being reported she did get paid and as you said twenty grand..now she could have donated it after the NE paid her but the fact remains she has made no effort to get it known she did-not keep the money for herself. By selling her story does lessen her credibility..and refresh my memory Mystery wasn’t she to give the NE another story??
    The other thing with Kiomarie is that I don’t believe her story about her adopting Caylee..they were middle school friends not high school and after friends..she just happened to run into KC one day at Walmart and offers to adopt Caylee? I don’t think so..KC is not that open with anyone..not even her best friends. They may have gone to the woods together as kids but I don’t know about the rest of her story..she like the rest of the money grubbers took the money and ran. I bet the prosecution thinks twice about using her as a witness..had she waited to sell her story I may be inclined to believe her but not now.

  2. ostella permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:48 pm

    Exactly, Mand.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:53 pm

    It is a shocker, but I think Casey dumped Caylee there as a convenience, not because it was a pet cemetery. Wasn’t that across the street anyway? I never valued her statements much anyway, and I think the prosecution has enough for her to be rather irrelevant. I don’t doubt she pocketed the money. I also didn’t think she was that close to Casey when they were older. I did think she was trying to get her 15 minutes after a while. At first I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt, but after a while and the stories kept rolling. Remember there were at least 3. Mystery got one, Mand got one and Niecey got one. Were there any others? I don’t think she will hurt the case, but she didn’t help it either.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 4:03 pm

    I think she will be relevant. Kiomarie told about the pet cemetery when she was first interviewed by LE back in August. That was long before Caylee was found in that area. She didn’t start selling her story until after Caylee was found in December.

  5. MAND permalink
    April 1, 2009 4:15 pm

    I just heard on HLN that they will not use her if they have enough without her but if they have to they will get her on and off as quickly as they can..she in no longer a crediable witness.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 4:52 pm

    I saw that but, I don’t understand it. If she talked about the pet cemetery in August to LE, and Caylee was found in the area of the pet cemetery in December, how does the fact that she sold her story in February impact the August interview?

  7. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 4:59 pm

    Mystery, This is just my take, but it was my understanding that the pet cemetery was behind the school, which is on the other side of Suburban, near that house. Am I wrong? I really thought it was. I think Casey just tossed Caylee there from the street, because she didn’t know what else to do. I don’t even think she went in those woods. Caylee was like maybe 5 feet from the road, if that. That is where I think Kiomarie’s story goes irrelevant on that part.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 5:41 pm

    Ahhh—Thanks for clearing that up!

  9. MAND permalink
    April 1, 2009 5:49 pm

    I think a lot of Kiomarie’s story is fabricated..she may have talked to LE but they didn’t take her that serious..they didn’t look in the woods and if they did maybe it was a different area. I think Niecey has it right.

  10. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 5:56 pm

    The only thing that may be relevant is the heart sticker, if she told that to LE way back when and not just the NE, but even that had the backing in Casey’s room, so they really already have her on that.

  11. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:08 pm

    Niecey, I had no idea that Caylee was found THAT close to the road! WOW!

  12. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:17 pm

    Yeah, I’ll have to find it but she was so close to the road it was amazing. I was being generous, it could have been a little less. The woods are so thick in Florida, it’s amazing Kronk even saw her that close to the road. You can’t just walk in them without a masheti and chain saws. That’s why our state forests are kept with controlled burning to keep the underbrush down.

  13. ostella permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:22 pm

    I think I remember hearing the body was more like 20 feet from the road; still ridiculously close however you look at it…
    I don’t think Kio’s THAT critical a witness…they’ve got so much against her already…

  14. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 7:05 pm

    This is the best picture I could find. I couldn’t post it as a comment, so here it is:
    http://niecey456.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/where-caylees-remains-were-found/
    Hope you don’t mind Mystery.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 7:16 pm

    Thanks, Niecey–I don’t mind at all!

  16. Diana permalink
    April 1, 2009 7:51 pm

    Wow……I didn’t realize just how close to the road Caylee was. Wonder if Casey drove by there daily looking at that area, and wonder if she was worried when the area was flooded that Caylee would be washed out into the road?

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 7:59 pm

    I know–I wonder that, too, Diana. But, I really think she put that baby there, drove away and never looked back. She put it completely out of her mind and never gave it a second thought—at least until she got caught.

  18. laura permalink
    April 1, 2009 8:01 pm

    My thoughts I would hope Casey and Jose don’t throw stones about being paid they did receive 225,000. Anyone who collects off a dead baby is not trustworthy PERIOD! The whole lot of them should be charged with lying, conspiracy and to bad you can’t be charged for stupid because they would all do life!!!!!

  19. Diana permalink
    April 1, 2009 8:09 pm

    I don’t know ~Mystery
    I’m always trying to get into Caseys head and try and figure out her thoughts. Perhaps the ONLY time she thought about what she had done was when she woke up at Tonys in a cold sweat (at least her subconscience felt some guilt or fear), and also when Tony caught her crying while looking at the last known video of Caylee singing the Sunshine song.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 8:27 pm

    laura-that was funny–“too bad you can’t be charged for stupid…”

    Diana–I kinda, sorta, maybe remember her crying while looking at the Caylee video from the nursing home. My brain is mush today!

    I think when she woke up in the cold sweat it was F-E-A-R. She was afraid of what was going to happen to her. I don’t think that girl has any conscience whatsoever unless it involves herself. You couldn’t toss your baby a block from your house and go on about your life for 31 days (and who knows–maybe forever if her mother hadn’t dragged her home) and have any kind of care or concern for your child. Her only regrets to this day are that 1) she got caught and 2)they found Caylee.

  21. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 8:38 pm

    Okay, John In Florida said it was farther, and so I went and researched it. Sheriff Beary said the remains were found 20 to 30 feet off of the road. John said that he has a satellite photo somewhere of a white car parked about where the tent was around the right time frame. If the car was parked that far in, she still could have tossed her that far, and just left. I always thought where the main tent was, was where the remains were found. But 20 to 30 feet is very close to the road still. Had to clarify. Don’t want to tell a story.
    Mystery, I so agree with the cold sweat being FEAR of being caught.

  22. Molly permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:41 pm

    Yes neicey, I remember it as 25 feet from the road, still pretty close though considering what she wanted hidden.

    I also agree that Kiomarie’s actions are not too noble, but she did tell LE to look there way back in the beginning. But like it was stated, if you’re 5 feet off in that dense area, you don’t see anything.

  23. LosAngeles permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:24 pm

    Hi everyone. Yeah, I agree with Niecey and Itsamystery that KC woke up from a nightmare out of FEAR for herself of possible consequences of her actions.

    As far as KC watching a video of Caylee, her former boyfriend, Tony Lozarro, said that when he woke up one morning, he saw KC sitting on the bed looking at a video of Caylee and crying, but he said it was a weak type of crying and a pathetic attempt to appear to be crying, and he said that it was nothing like the intense crying she did when he told KC that he might move to New York(even though he was lying, she didn’t know that he was lying).

  24. LosAngeles permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:38 pm

    Itsamystery, I love your avatar. It’s so cool. 😎 😎

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 2, 2009 5:11 am

    Thanks, Niecey!

    Molly, I don’t know if you remember or if you were even reading this blog when Kiomarie did her first story with National Enquirer, but one of her friends commented on a post about it several times. She told us over and over what a great person Kio was and how she was donating any money made from the Enquirer to a favorite charity of hers. She couldn’t tell us what charity or how much money she made, though. Someone else that knew Casey and Kio in school commented and painted a very different picture of her–and it wasn’t all that nice. It was an interesting thread. Obviously, friend #1 was wrong about what Kio did with the money. Nothing has ever been written or said that I’ve found insinuating that she donated the money to charity.

    I don’t think anyone gives a rat’s a** what she did with the money–or even that she made the money. She’s just one more opportunist in a long line of opportunists. I just wish she would have waited til after the trial to sell her story. I guess it wouldn’t have been worth as much then, though.

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 2, 2009 5:12 am

    Thanks Los Angeles for refreshing our memories about when Casey was crying. I remember it now that you’ve said it.

    Could it have really been the one where Caylee was singing to her great-grandfather in the nursing home, though? Wonder when Casey would have gotten that? It was taken on June 15th, and she and Cindy had the alleged fight that night. George said he saw her last on the 16th. Did she later steal it from the house? I somehow doubt Cindy gave it to her in the heat of their battle.

    Thanks about my avatar!

  27. laura permalink
    April 2, 2009 5:49 am

    Casey went back home many times, on the 27h when she ran out of gas and Tony picked her up at Amscot she had frozen chicken and some kind of ice cream from her parents house. I think she went there to get stuff when her parents was at work. As far as dumping her that close to the road I believe she was more then done with Caylee and the quicker the better. Also since records show she has not a job in a FEW years it was probably to much work to take her farther into the woods. How sad and pathetic is this girl. I hope there is a light at the tunnel for Caylee’s Justice. This case is so weird. Why don’t the A’s say enough is enough I love my daughters too but killing a baby or doing any crime you have to be accountable. One other thought if Casey is 100 percent innocent why wait 31 days to tell? I couldn’t go 1 hour if my child was kidnapped I could not live without my girls so what if they promised harm on me my kids are worth my life!

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 2, 2009 6:13 am

    laura–I just find it odd that she would take a video of the daughter she had done away with in one of her house forages.

    I agree 100%. If someone threatened me or my family, I’m sorry, I’d still call LE. My child would be more important and LE could protect my family.

  29. laura permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:09 am

    Maybe it was because it was most recent video and she thought of it as trophy?…. As far as her crying while watching it I think she had night mare about getting found out. She may have been doing something else on computer and just decided to watch it. jmo

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 2, 2009 11:34 am

    Yeah, I don’t think she was having some sort of conscience attack. Just fear for her own well-being.

  31. prettyinpinkxo permalink
    April 2, 2009 1:07 pm

    I have always just assumed that Cindy downloaded that on the family computer when she got home from the visit and Casey just happened upon it and sent it to her laptop(well Cindys laptop that casey was using as her own). Or maybe Cindy sent it to Casey to irritate her and rub it in Caseys face that Caylee was singing Please don’t take my Nans sunshine away.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 2, 2009 1:55 pm

    You’re probably right! I hadn’t thought of that. Cindy probably did send it to her through email.

  33. Ms.Torres permalink
    April 5, 2009 8:50 am

    Once again I don’t know who this ” A friend” person is but I have talked to those who are very close to me and none them know who it is. I would love to know who it is and if you all have any information if someone could possibly e-mail me that would be great. By the way that was definitely not a bodyguard, that’s my fiancee (who is as big as a bodyguard). Here’s the thing about the National Enquirer. They added and changed things around from what I really said. Everything I told investigators in the beginning is in that story. It’s not my fault that they did not do anything right or didn’t follow up (I mean maybe they did but I don’t know that). Listen I did receive an amount of money from the National Enquirer but most of it did go to help my family and donated to charities of my choice (i.e Corgi Rescue fund (anonymous donation per my choice) SPCA/ Humane Society (anonymous donation my choice also) Children’s Miracle Network also (anonymous donation once again my choice). You know what I don’t understand to this day and will probably never understand is why is it that people that knew Casey are being accused of all these wrong things if they really did not do anything wrong at all. I’m sorry but I freak out if one of my corgi’s goes missing for more than three minutes in our apartment. Let alone if one of my sisters goes missing. I don’t understand how Casey could let this go on for as long as she did.

  34. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 5, 2009 11:38 am

    Ms.Torres–

    How do I know you are who you say you are? If you wish to email me privately you can–My email is: itsamystery2me@live.com.

    As I said before, I don’t think anyone cares what you did with the money, and I can certainly understand why you did it. The problem I have with it, and the problem I think others might have with it, is how it will affect your ability to be a credible witness at trial.

    As I said, I believe your statement to LE months before Caylee was found is pretty damning. But, in that interview you did not say anything about the heart stickers. That came later-AFTER Caylee’s body was recovered and it was public knowledge that there was the residue of a heart sticker on her mouth. Your statement that Caylee was named after you when we know that she was named after Cindy and Casey, your claim that you were still good friends when, in fact, you weren’t and hadn’t been for a long time. These statements also damage your credibility. BUT,that said, I believe your original statement about the pet cemetery will still trump your mis-statements in court.

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 5, 2009 11:48 am

    I think why Casey’s friends are on the hot seat is for this simple reason–A baby went missing and was later found dead. No stone could be left unturned in finding out what happened. What did Casey do with Caylee all those months when she didn’t work and claimed to have a nanny? Where did she hang out? Somebody has to know the answer to that.

    “I don’t understand how Casey could let this go on for as long as she did.”

    Casey is still letting this “go on” and continues to claim someone else took Caylee. IMO, that may be end up being her defense–to put the blame on one of her friends.

    I think you are on the hot seat because you very publicly sold your story to the National Enquirer–a known rag.

Leave a Reply

