Skip to content

Will Jose Baez be allowed to keep his “secret” investigations in the Casey Anthony case under wraps?

April 1, 2009

An important question for me was answered today. (I think)  Defense attorney, Richard Hornsby, on weighing in on Jose Baez request that he be allowed to keep whatever info he’s gathering, secret, said he wonders if Judge Strickland will allow the motion.  “He (Strickland) has an obligation to disclose them to the state attorney.” He said Baez can keep his theories secret, but he can’t keep subpoenaed records from the state or the person whose records he’s seeking. Baez says the matter is “critical” to the defense.

Hornsby said, “Sometimes I subpoena multiple things so that the most important one isn’t obvious. In some ways, he’s raising a big red flag.”

read it here:

WESH.COM

I wasn’t sure whether or not the defense had the same obligation as the prosecutors or if they could keep everything under wraps, including the depositions they are conducting. If Strickland says no to Baez’ request, doesn’t this mean that we will see his depositions of the state’s witnesses?

Is Baez’ request common, and is it a smart move– or is he just showing some more of his now famous case of “chronic dumb-ass syndrome”?  Just askin’!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. MAND permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:51 am

    Mystery..I have no answer on those questions..will be interesting for sure.
    This man envisions himself a big name attorney..asks the unusual to look important and to let on he knows his stuff!! NOT

  2. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:42 am

    I agree Mand! That dog won’t hunt. I don’t think the Judge is going to let this fly. I think it is a game. The prosecution must be made aware, just like the defense must be made aware of what the prosecution has. I think Baez can’t get past his “surprise” tactics, as he did in the last case and it is pure and simple his laziness and lack of ability to put a case together. JMO.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:46 am

    The Judge said NO! Check it out:
    http://www.wesh.com/news/19063043/detail.html

  4. paula permalink
    April 1, 2009 11:04 am

    Will Jose keep on using his “surprise tactics” till it actually works. Such a dope like trying to open a square lock with a round key. He doesn’t even know when to quit. I am so angry with this case but if I lived in Florida I’d be outraged at the amount of money these losers are costing taxpayers. And, the amount of time they waste. Waiting for Strickland to tell him to just shut up!

  5. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 11:47 am

    I do live in Florida! And I am outraged!!! I wish the good Judge would site him in contempt.

  6. ostella permalink
    April 1, 2009 11:50 am

    Denied! Strickland knows terminal jacka$$itude when he sees it. I think he just didn’t wanna have to spend any alone-time with Baez. Can ya blame him?

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 12:53 pm

    So…………..does this mean we get to finally, at long last, after all the speculation…………we FINALLY get to know why Casey couldn’t possibly have killed her child?

  8. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:04 pm

    LOL! Mystery, I wish we could, but somehow, I don’t think he is privy to that kind of info. I think it’s just a game. Bet the document dump will be good this time, judging from the circus.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 1:30 pm

    Oh yeah! I almost forgot about that.

  10. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:54 pm

    “Damage Control” at it’s finest! Aught to be a good one!!!

  11. April 1, 2009 2:08 pm

    Neicey you should protest tthe $$$$ being spent on this waste!!! While the future generations of our country are theatened with a subpar education, CUBA IS RATED AS HAVING A FAR SUPERIOR EDUCATION SYSTEM THAN OURS!! Our is listed dangerously close to thir world nations.. and we are spend ing how much on Casey? How many schools are being closed, programs cut, and teachers laid off.. and how much of Florida’s tax money is being spent on this girl? It’s a travesty, and I’m from PA!

  12. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:27 pm

    I do Andrea! I protest to everyone I talk to about this case and I protest on the blogs. I think it’s an injustice. I know that our schools are in trouble, don’t know if they are worse than Cuba. Cuba is a third world country. The good news is if they lose and they will, they have to pay the court costs. If you lose you pay. So I’m sure they are going to rack up their tab. I think the state aught to sue after she loses, because she could have told the truth to start with. I think TES should sue too. I also think they should sue the A’s for their new found wealth as they had everything to do with the circus and they are making the money to pay for it, oh and don’t forget Kid Finders, Michelle Bart, etc.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 3:47 pm

    I’ll bet somehow they’ll get around paying court costs Niecey. Casey will say she’s indigent–she won’t be able to make any money if she’s convicted I don’t think. Her parents won’t be liable.

  14. niecey456 permalink
    April 1, 2009 4:05 pm

    They will make her work for it. As for the A’s, it was a nice dream…………..

  15. April 1, 2009 4:47 pm

    It’s still a double edged sword in that when she loses the taxpayers still have to support her ever growing ass as it rots in jail eating candy from the commissary that a bunch of losers who send her $ pay for. And good for you niecey!!I hope someday someone listens to yours and the others outraged in Florida over misspent $.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 1, 2009 7:02 pm

    With the amount of money this case has cost Florida, Casey could work til she’s 100 and never come close to paying off her debt. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

