Skip to content

Florida Bar investigates Casey Anthony’s attorney, Jose Baez–again

April 7, 2009

It seems the Florida Bar has launched another investigation into Jose Baez!

Allegations have been made against Baez that he told private investigator Dominic Casey to NOT call 911 if he found Caylee Anthony’s remains. There has been nothing presented as proof that Baez did this, but the Florida Bar has begun an investigation to find out if he violated any rules.  The bar would not say who made the complaints but did confirm that several have been made.  Whoever filed the recent complaints signed a sworn affidavit that they believed an ethics violation may have occurred.

Dominic Casey told detectives in January he did not find the remains but if he had he would have called 911.

“I wouldn’t have moved. I would have said a prayer. I would have called 911 and I would have stood right there — if I were to have found Caylee Marie I would not move from that spot,” he said.

BUT, D. Casey told the detectives in that interview that someone asked him to keep quiet if he found the body.  A judged deemed that part of their conversation “confidential” and did not release it to the public.

Baez called the accusations ridiculous, and issued the following statement today.

“Mr. Baez has done nothing unethical throughout the investigation and as Casey Anthony’s defense lawyer. He and his counsel will respond at the appropriate time to refute any and all of untrue allegations.”

“Like I’ve told everyone all along, the defense has not done anything unethical,” Baez said.

read it

clickorlando

I don’t know if this is true or not, but the Florida Bar has taken it seriously enough to investigates.  Dominic Casey would not be in my list of top 5 most honest guys in the world.

But if it is true, does that mean it was Jose Baez on the other end of the phone while D. Casey was searching the area where Caylee was found–not Lee, as Hoover suspects?  D. Casey worked for Baez before he went to work for the Anthonys.  That means anything he heard Casey Anthony say would be considered confidential.  Does it also mean anything Baez said to him was confidential?

Most important of all, if this is true, and if D. Casey had followed instructions, what did the person,( be it Baez or someone else) giving him those instructions  have in mind for Caylee’s body?  Was he gonna move it, compromise it, or something more sinister than that?

38 Comments leave one →
  1. ostella permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:14 pm

    Nice. I wonder if Dominic is cracking (remember he’s been a no-show for his depos and may be held in contempt), and now he’s ratting out Baez cuz he knows he’s screwed and the ship is sinking…? Maybe he’s one of those who has complained to the bar? Something tells me this guy may eat his gun before this whole thing is over…

    Ostella–I think he’s the weak link if there is a daisy chain. According to Hoover, D. Casey wouldn’t do anything illegal. I wonder. Of course, this could all be nothing, too.

  2. laura permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:21 pm

    Well the poop just keeps hitting the fan. I would hope nobody would choose to leave a baby in the woods, but we already know her mom did so really the rest of these scum just keeping following suit. Thank god Caylee is safe from these monsters. I hope Florida starts throwing the book at this scum. The whole lot of them.

    Laura–Yep, the poop is hitting the fan, and the odds are that at least some of it is gonna stick.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:24 pm

    If this is true, then my gut feeling that Baez was on the phone and Casey did tell him the truth is well, true. If this is true then I think what Mand has continued to maintain is true, if they had found the remains they would have taken them somewhere else. Probably far, far away. Amazing that George is saying what a great guy Baez is now. I heard Hoover say, when he broke his silence, that D. Casey was on the phone many times, and it made him feel as if he talked to more than one person. Cindy? Baez?? Cindy did say she had the area searched. Did she? Or is she protecting someone???

    Niecey–I just can’t believe that they would really have moved Caylee’s remains if they found them, but I’m starting to change my mind. D. Casey, of course, is not all that reliable of a witness, and someone may just be trying to cause aggravation by filing this complaint.

    I would like to know who filed the sworn complaint. IMO, how credible that person is will decide whether or not there’s any meat to this accusation.

  4. MAND permalink
    April 7, 2009 8:07 pm

    Everything is heating up..this investigation and now all the hoopla about the docs that got dumped and were not to be in the dump…Dumbo is going to have a field day with one..after him asking that the prosecution not leak info!!!
    I do believe Niecey that if they had found her she would have remained missing …never to be found…Dumbo would have had his defense..and that would have been just what Cindy and George would have wanted..so they could all have been in on it!!

    You may be right, Mand. I sure hate to think George and Cindy would have let that happen. Of course, Cindy and George would have known where Caylee’s final resting place was and would have had closure for themselves, I guess.

    If this turns out to be a true allegation, wouldn’t the case pretty much be over? How else would Baez have known where ti look unless Casey told him, and how else would Casey know where she was unless she put her there. Would that make it an open and shut case?

  5. LVSusie permalink
    April 7, 2009 8:30 pm

    Im thinking someone wants Baez off this case really bad, for what reason I dont know maybe to bring in some other attorney that has more experience.

    LVSusie–That’s an interesting thought. Baez won’t willingly remove himself from this case, even though he knows he’s not qualified. Someone else may be drumming up all these allegations to rid themselves of him so that a more qualified attorney can take over.

  6. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 7, 2009 8:50 pm

    LV Suzie, you know that thought has crossed my mind a couple times lately too. Do you suppose it could be one of his defense team that wants him off the case? I can’t imagine how embarrassing it must be to be working with him on anything! Almost every time he opens his smarky (?) mouth he either sticks his foot into it or is trying to deny his shady past reputation.

    Bees Knees–If this turns out to be another false allegation, I’m betting LVSusie hit the nail on the head. It may be George and Cindy. No matter what George is saying now, the whole family is on record saying they did not like or trust Baez. He has taken control right out of Cindy’s hands.

  7. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 7, 2009 8:54 pm

    Ostella, yes • ~ • imo D. Casey is a shady character indeed, but personally if I had to be stuck in an elevator with one of them for 24 hours I would choose DC over Bozo.

  8. mikka permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:05 pm

    bees knees 😆

  9. detwill39 permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:17 pm

    Bees Knees~~you go after Dominic and Cindy will come after you.

  10. ostella permalink
    April 7, 2009 9:28 pm

    Bees, I would actually choose Baez; he’s so ripe for comedy I could literally spend the whole 24 hours ridiculing him. I could rock that. But Dominic gives me the heebie-jeebies. He’s creepy and snakelike. I kinda shudder at the thought of being alone with him…

  11. LosAngeles permalink
    April 7, 2009 10:52 pm

    Hmmm. that’s a tough one. Baez or D. Casey? I would pick D. Casey, and then I would just ignore him in the elevator.

  12. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:25 am

    LVSusie you could be right..however if Bozo is kicked off as lead defence it may save a mistrial or an appeal.

    Bees Knees..the word you were looking for is snarky {but like you I was thinking smarmy as well}..Mystery would be very mad if I used some other words to describe him 😳

    Mand..its a wonder that we haven’t seen Bozo wailing into any available microphone about how he was “wronged” by the accidental release of the AUDIO tapes. Wouldn’t it be a “hoot” if he only mentioned the word VIDEO in his motion :mrgreen:

    Mystery I have heard this scenario “bandied about” before BUT this is the first time I have heard that it will be investigated. Like you I watched the entire video of Jim Hoover and felt that he was hesitant to answer many questions because they were not relevant to the Zenaida case. The “truth-meter” scale has a low reading for both Hoover & Dom Casey…lets see what the outcome will be.

    Hi Jill–I don’t think The Bar investigates attorneys for the fun of it. There must be something there they think is worth looking into. I still would like to know who these people are that signed sworn complaints.

  13. paula permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:01 am

    I have had suspicions about Roy Kronk for quite some time. His story just strikes me as nonsensical. Could he be tied in with Dominic Casey, Hoover and the Anthonys somehow? I hate to be unfair to this man but something seems “off.” Does anyone else feel this way?

    Yep, Paula—Leonard Padilla—He believes there is a daisy chain and that it started with Kronk’s girlfriend. Does anyone remember the circumstances around his theory? Can’t remember why his girlfriend would have had inside info.

  14. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:26 am

    Paula, I tend to believe that Kronk is telling the truth. But, having said that, it wouldn’t take much to convince me otherwise. Such a shady lot of dark characters. Little Caylee was the only beam of pure sunlight and her brightness wasn’t strong enough to touch the hearts of any of these bad people.

    Thanks Jill. Smarmy, yes!!! He is that. He’s the smarmiest of all smarm ever!!!

    Ostella, I haven’t been paying much attention to D. Casey and as soon as I read your comment about him being “creepy and snakelike” I realized you’re right. I’m going to look at some videos of him so I get a better sense of the worm’s character.

    I expected Bozo to climb up on his soap box immediately after Monday’s doc. dump as he usually does, trying to discredit the evidence. I’m really surprised he has only responded by releasing one sentence through his spokesperson • ~ • and btw, why the hell does a lawyer need a spokesperson?

    Bees Knees–I find that really odd that Baez is being so quiet. Could it be that he has more to worry about than the docs accidentally released?–Like the allegations being checked out by The Fl. Bar?

  15. paula permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:35 am

    Yes, Bees Knees, the cast of characters in this saga is unreal. You couldn’t make this stuff up. As for Kronk, I am old enough to realiuze that very few things in life are a coincidence. Finding that same bag a couple of times, with months in between, seems too neat. I have a feeling he’s tied in with the crazy Anthonys – if not, I owe him an apology!

    Paula–I’ve thought for a while that there are waaaayyyyy to many coincidences in this case to be be real coincidences.

  16. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:33 am

    Ooooops, sorry Jill. The word IS snarky! He is the snarkiest of all snark ever! I’ll get it right sooner or later.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 9:36 am

    Hi guys! I commented within each comment again–I’m starting to be chronically behind! Big Easter dinner to get ready for. Sorry.

  18. MAND permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:43 am

    Mystery..If they had found Caylee That would have been their defense..No one could prove for sure if she was dead or alive..the doubt factor..and KC would have had a chance at a lesser charge.Seeing as to how G&C are now acting..mostly George I think they would have been okay with it..Cindy did say she had them look in that part of the woods and Caylee was not there..she never told LE that ..and was still out there looking for a live Caylee. George and Cindy would have said they would spend the rest of their lives looking foe Caylee..and without a body you know there would have been sightings just as there had been up to when they found her remains.
    I doubt any of this will be proved..they are all going to cover their own butts…and LE has what they need to convict KC..to go into this would open a new can of worms..I don’t see it happening..JMO.

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 11:29 am

    Mand

    Sadly, I think you are right. They would have done whatever they needed to do to continue to protect their sorry daughter. I wonder if she has a clue how much she means to her parents? Obviously, she is everything to them. A shame Caylee didn’t get that same unconditional love from her own mother.

  20. paula permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:21 pm

    Mystery, I forgot about Leonard Padilla saying there was a chain including Kronk. This case is turning my brain to mush – so many unusual things. In the end everyone will get what
    s coming to them – one way or another. But, with each month that goes by it becomes more obvious that poor Caylee was living a wonderful, loving life.

  21. paula permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:37 pm

    I meant that poor Caylee wasn’t living a wonderful life. In George’s analogy of the human hand I wonder which finger he would pick for Baez?

  22. MAND permalink
    April 8, 2009 2:03 pm

    I doubt she cares Mystery…and they continue to do whatever they can to aid in her defense.
    I understand them loving their daughter but I fail to understand the unconditional love they have for KC….to the point Caylee became the sacrificial goat.
    If KC loved her parents she would tell the truth…but we know that will never happen and G&C would never want her to do that…I believe they also feel she may have a chance…dumb thinking but they march to a different drummer!!

  23. BEES KNEES permalink
    April 8, 2009 2:25 pm

    Paula, I know which finger I’d pick for Baez. HA HA HA!!!!

    Gosh, I hope we are right to be thinking that Baez is running scared. Just the thought makes me grin. I do think it’s interesting that he hasn’t been shooting his stupid mouth off since Mondays dump. Veeeeeery interesting, to say the least!

  24. niecey456 permalink
    April 8, 2009 2:42 pm

    Most especially after the info on him. One would think he would really be crying foul at this point.

  25. April 8, 2009 4:39 pm

    mystery…….I believe I remember Kronk’s girlfriend works in county jail and may have overheard something. (One of the theories)

    Also as far as Baez yelling about the release of the jail observation…..Judge Strickland had given him 20 days to review that and to file a motion to not have it released and that time had elapsed…..so I suppose he has no recourse.

    Good job on keeping up with things!

  26. April 8, 2009 4:44 pm

    Also I read where JUDGE STRICKLAND is one of the people submitting complaints to the Florida Bar against Baez!!!!!!

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:32 pm

    Betty–I just heard that as well!! Whoa Nellie!!!!!

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:35 pm

    Paula–I guess Baez can take Caylee’s spot in the hand analogy.

  29. niecey456 permalink
    April 8, 2009 5:37 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaay Judge!!!!!!!!!!
    This is deeper than we thought. It will be interesting to see how this comes out. Baez is awful quiet. Not like him at all.

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:46 pm

    Mand– I think the Anthonys–all of them—love in a skewed way. They also seem to be able to compartmentalize this tragedy.

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:47 pm

    Bees Knees, Niecey–There must be some truth behind this one or you KNOW he’d be in front of the cameras.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:48 pm

    We’re on the same page Niecey. If Strickland did it there has to be something there.

  33. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 8, 2009 5:49 pm

    Betty–Thanks for refreshing my memory about Kronk’s girlfriend!

  34. MAND permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:33 pm

    Mystery…I think the lid is about to blow off this pot…Conway is also being investigated…Dumbo could lose his licence to practice law!! That would be a blessing…the man is a con artist. Everything could be brought to a halt and they would have to start over..if this was to happen it would be interesting as to who KC would get as her attorney…does she have any money? What about the experts? She could end up with court appointed council!!! Just a thought.
    I wonder if any one will be arrested as a result of this fiasco? DC seems worried..he wants an attorney??
    This is a Pandora’s Box.

  35. T-L-I-O-T-G permalink
    April 8, 2009 9:39 pm

    Now he no’s the theory of the craseyone ain’t gonna work,not too many left to throw under the bus EH!If a judge makes a complaint against you to the BAR your in trouble big time,so it must have it’s merits,goodbye Hosey one.Back to hanging around the MENS washroom at the courthouse,say heehaw!!

  36. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    April 8, 2009 10:57 pm

    OMG…gudonya Judge Stan {I’m going walkabout for HUGE gum leaves}…
    if this was a script for a movie it would win oscars…methinks Bozo is in deep doo doo this time.

    Bees… I feel a song coming on…♫Snarky..Smarmy..he sure needs an army♫ {an army of publicists that is…use your imagination.}

    Remember the “Clown Judge” Larry Seidlin in the ANS case who spent days “auditioning” whilst on the bench..he must be Bozo’s idol..idiots the pair of them. Much as I will hate to see him disbarred {only because his antics help to keep our sanity {just} whilst waiting for the trial} it would be for the best. Sure hope no other money hungry twit of a lawyer wants to represent that despicable murderer…let her take her chances with a public defender {is Blagojevich available?}

    Sorry Mystery…I’m ranting {whats new?}…this is truly unbelievable.

  37. halfpint42592 permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:55 am

    Hi Mystery and All: I have been trying to catch up. My father has been in the hospital for a week and I haven’t been on. Lots of new info.

    So many players in this game. My question is why? Other than the Anthony Family, why would all of these people help to cover this up? What would they gain? Now, don’t get me wrong I believe many of them thought they were going to have a chance to profit from this tragedy. BUT, when it gets to the point that you are asked to cover up finding a baby’s body, lie cheat steal or what have you, doesn’t common sense kick in? Morals? Values?

  38. MAND permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:23 am

    Remember that most of those that are involved in this case were connected to one another prior to the case…they are all of questionable character…and Dumbo had shown them there was big bucks to be made of this case..the photos alone..and seeing the potential..all were more than willing to do anything Dumbo told them to do. This group has no morals..they are driven by greed alone.
    Dumbo didn’t want Caylee to be found..that was his defense…she was a missing child..kidnapped…and he felt there was hope for a lesser charge if she remained missing. That was also true of Cindy..even tho she knew Caylee was deceased she continued the missing child and live sightings..it was beneficial for her and George and I’m sure she felt as Dumbo did that it would help KC.
    They are all in this and I think it may come to the point that charges are going to be brought up against Dumbo and DC and George and Cindy may be looking at some charges..she had the PI’s looking for Caylee in the area where she was found …someone directed her to that spot..she didn’t report it and continued adamantly to profess that Caylee was alive and was checking out the live sightings.Wouldn’t that be fraud amongst other things?
    This is going to be very interesting…and notice..Dumbo is not saying a word..he has never been so quiet???

Leave a Reply

