Skip to content

Does the prosecution’s Motion to Determine Counsel suggest they have more evidence against Casey Anthony?

May 8, 2009

Was just reading through the motion the Prosecution filed to determine Casey Anthony’s counsel, and Question #5 kind of jumped out at me.

Excerpt from Prosecution’s motion to determine Counsel:

#5) BASED UPON NEW EVIDENCE OBTAINED SINCE THE REMAINS WERE FOUND, the State filed it’s Notice of Intent to Seek the Penalty of Death on April 13, 2009

Are they basing that statement on information already released to Baez and the public or do they have even more compelling evidence that has not yet been revealed?  It’s a mystery to me–but it sure wouldn’t hurt if there is!

read the full motion here:    Motion to determine counsel LINK





13 Comments leave one →
  1. laura permalink
    May 8, 2009 9:39 am

    I think there is a lot of information that we don’t know about. Here we go with the media blitz again and a doc. dump is just around the corner.

  2. niecey456 permalink
    May 8, 2009 9:39 am

    I think the latter. I have a feeling they have some pretty damning stuff not yet back from the lab, or not fully investigated out. It is an ongoing investigation, so you can’t release what you are not finished with yet for discovery. Can you? I think the document dumps will heat up closer to the trial. The next one is supposed to have her autopsy results.

  3. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 8, 2009 10:08 am

    Hope you guys are right! I tend to agree with you–there has got to be something pretty major for them to change to the more difficult to prove death penalty

  4. paula permalink
    May 8, 2009 10:14 am

    I recently read that the FBI can withhold information from the defense. I never knew that before and I think they have the goods on Casey.

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 8, 2009 10:17 am

    paula–I didn’t know that either! Hope that’s correct!

  6. Molly permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:11 pm

    I think the prosecution knows exactly what they’re doing in regards to what they are releasing. I’m truly confident that they have the goods or they would not have put the dp BACK on. They could have just gone on with the case for life in prison, I’m sure they have more evidence that we don’t know about yet. I had heard that also about the FBI, who knows what they’ve got.

    Hopefully what they’ve got is the irrefutable truth!!

  7. ostella permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:19 pm

    I agree with Molly. I don’t think they put the DP back on the table for $hits and giggles, or purely as a strategy to dropkick bozo off the case (although that may be an added bonus 🙂 ). I think they’ve got somethin really juicy and smutty against her, and we haven’t seen it yet… I’m fairly convinced the FBI is holding onto a lot of the lab results until RIGHT before trial…

    No, they would not put the death penalty back on for nothin’. They have a reason and I think we haven’t seen what it is yet.

  8. May 8, 2009 1:29 pm

    PLEASE LET IT BE THE SMOKING GUN THAT PUTS THIS BABYKILLER AWAY FOR LIFE!!! SOMEONE SHOULD DUCT TAPE HER MOUTH SLAP A STICKER ON IT AND THROW HER IN HER CELL FOR GOOD!

    I don’t know if it will be a smoking gun, but I hope whatever it is it’s good enough!

  9. Sophie permalink
    May 8, 2009 4:22 pm

    Oh, there’s plenty of information we the people don’t have. And it’s probably information Baez DOES have…but would be a fool to comment publicly on.

    Baez may have a lot of information, but what he doesn’t know is how much of that information LE knows–It’s driving him crazy!

  10. Molly permalink
    May 8, 2009 4:30 pm

    I’m not even sure Baez has all of the FBI findings yet. Remember he petitioned the court (blaming the prosecution) because he was not getting the information & documents from the FBI. Judge Strickland had to tell him that he has to request that info directly from the FBI ! Great move Baez, really shows your courtroom savvy. And he’s teaching a class on this? scary

    Professor Baez is turning out a whole new generation of little Bungling Baez’es.

  11. MAND permalink
    May 8, 2009 9:54 pm

    Molly you hit the nail on the head…Dumbo should have known he had to make his request directly to the FBI…had he had experience he would have known this…now this is rather minor compared to what he will be expected to know on creating his defense…he should be brushing up on death penalty cases.
    I heard that about the FBI not having to turn over their evidence but I don’t know how true that is.

    I’ll see if I can find out.

  12. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    May 9, 2009 1:17 am

    Don’t you just love Marti’s statement

    “At that time, the defense will introduce the highly qualified and outstanding death-qualified attorney as the newest member of the defense team,” she said.

    What tickles my fancy ïs the word OUTSTANDING…she is just like Bozo…loves to bignote!

    LOL. They must be cut from the same cloth. Casey better watch out!

  13. BEES KNEES permalink
    May 10, 2009 8:48 pm

    I agree that Bozo doesn’t know everything yet. That’s why he’s going through his brown undies at such an alarming rate. I don’t believe the feds put the DP back into the picture just to scare Casey. They don’t have to ~ they’re the F-freaking-B-I!!! As for when it all has to be released, I’ve heard they can save some of the juicier stuff till last. I don’t know if that means they can introduce evidence once the trial has begun or just up to that point. Boy, we are sure going to know the laws in Florida by the time this wraps up. We will most definitely be more qualified as lawyers than Bozo will ever be!!! We need to open our own office in Orlando.

Leave a Reply

