Skip to content

Andrea Lyon joins Casey Anthony’s defense team as death penalty qualified attorney

May 28, 2009

Andrea LyonAndrea D. Lyon, a clinical professor of law at the DePaul University College of Law in Chicago has been named as the latest addition to the Casey Anthony defense team. Lyon directs the law school’s Center for Justice in Capital Cases and will take her place as the lead attorney in Anthony’s defense. She has a new book coming out in 2010: “Angel of Death Row: My Life as a Death Penalty Defense Lawyer”

Lyon has over 130 homicide cases under her belt(Jose Baez is not qualified to be Casey’s attorney of record in a death-penalty case). Lyon will be introduced at a press conference this morning.

Below are a couple of videos of clips from her lectures.  The first one is called “Trusting Experts” and the second one is called, “Why we do what we do.”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Trusting Experts!“, posted with vodpod
Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Why we do this kind of work.“, posted with vodpod

According to the news release, Baez says he welcomes the addition of Lyon to the defense team which includes Linda Kenney Baden, a forensic evidence expert, and Todd Macaluso, a complex litigation expert.

read it here:

clickorlando.com

heres her website:

andrealyon.com

So, our publicity hating now ex lead attorney Jose Baez will, after much hoopla, (which he hates, dontcha know) officially welcome Lyon to the team at a despised (he hates those, too)  press conference this morning. Will Lyon really be running the show?  Time will tell…………… This morning’s hearing should be interesting to watch.

46 Comments leave one →
  1. chuck permalink
    May 28, 2009 7:00 am

    Now they have a professional liar, to confuse people even more…Her book should be called Trusting Professional Experts that lie…

  2. niecey456 permalink
    May 28, 2009 7:47 am

    Hmmm……….Me thinks this aught to be interesting. She looks like she could be one tough broad, and Bozo could get in trouble. It’s so amazing how he sacrifices and does all these things he hates so much, but I can’t figure out why. Oh yeah, the fame, glory, and most of all the money. Will she play that game???

  3. BEES KNEES permalink
    May 28, 2009 8:09 am

    She seems to be a perfect addition to the team of liars, ooops, I mean, lawyers.

  4. BEES KNEES permalink
    May 28, 2009 8:46 am

    You guys! I just read your nice words on Mystery’s older blog and I left my thank you there. You’re all just too kind.

    Now, looks like it’s shaping up to be an interesting day. I’m in anguish because I have to be out for a few hours this afternoon but you can bet all of my thoughts will be back here with you.

    I’m intrigued by this new DP lawyer. Can’t wait to see her interacting with Bozo. We’ll have to keep a close eye on her to see how she fairs with the CEV. It’s almost certain that she will become infected as she’ll be in close contact with a few that have been contaminated.

  5. ostella permalink
    May 28, 2009 9:06 am

    Wow…her and LKB could compete in the same beauty pageant, huh? Everybody on the Turd Herd has to be a fugly mess…

  6. maxineme permalink
    May 28, 2009 9:43 am

    So, another court day with nothing accomplished,, at least, I didnt undderstand there to be any rulings… I do not think I am going to like ms lieons..

  7. May 28, 2009 9:48 am

    OMG!! Ostella LMBO!!! fugly mess, lol

    Mystery, I wonder if she’ll be able to put a lease on Bozo.
    Do you know if Dr. Lee and Kathy Reichs are still on as forensic experts for the defense?

    nancy, as far as I know they are still on the team!

  8. Molly permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:12 am

    I don’t know what all the secrecy & holding back info was all about. And Baez didn’t even provide her qualifications to the court or judge! Oh yeah, he’s worried about “leaks”. What a fool he is. He TOLD the judge he could ask her questions if he wanted to….of course the judge didn’t want to…umm that’s not how it works fool. I can’t even stand listening to him.
    She wouldn’t be on the team if she didn’t agree to how Baez wants to defend her.

    You are exactly right, Molly. She wouldn’t be there if she wasn’t on the same page as Baez.

  9. ostella permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:41 am

    I think I’ve figured out her superhero costume for court: She’s a ventriloquist-dummy version of the Cowardly Lion. She sits on Bozo’s lap with his hand up her ass, and asks all the tough questions at trial. And she finishes each round of questioning with, “Baez is superhot and not fat at all! Go Turd Herd!” Can’t you just see cindy standing behind them in her straitjacket, saying under her breath, “Obey…..”. 🙂

    How to accessorize her, though? Needless to say, she could benefit from a Wizard of Oz spa day: a deep conditioning treatment for that fried lion’s mane, some serious declawing if she’s to follow cindys orders, and maybe a shamrock green bow in her hair to top it all off….

    I dunno, ostella–I think the green bow might be a bit much! LOL

  10. May 28, 2009 10:46 am

    Stop! Stop! Ostella I can’t catch my breath I’m laughing so hard!!!!!

  11. ostella permalink
    May 28, 2009 11:09 am

    🙂 !!!!!

  12. Molly permalink
    May 29, 2009 12:41 am

    Just found this on another site about Lyon’s:

    Andrea’s sister Rachael is a Filmmaker/Director and Producer and has done films on some of her sister’s cases which also aired on PBS.

    well, that’s very convenient, isn’t it? a filmmaker on set…………

  13. ostella permalink
    May 29, 2009 3:43 pm

    Good news everyone! I’ve figured out MacLoser’s superhero costume: he’s a Transformer!!! He says “ugly coping” 3 times in front of a mirror, and then he morphs into the Turd Herd Mobile, which (ironically) looks just like a short yellow schoolbus! 🙂 The outside is plastered with ads for their legal services and bogus charities. He carts the Turds around town for their many media engagements. But he can’t go faster than an ice cream truck, and all he’s got is a bike horn and bell to warn others when he’s coming…. 🙂

    that’s okay cuz if they need to get somewhere in a hurry they can always take the bass boat…..

  14. May 30, 2009 9:09 am

    Lawson Lamar prosecutes people for political gain and he keeps getting it wrong! He will be prosecuted for Malfeasance in Office. This will be his LAST mistake! Caylee Marie Anthony IS NOT THE DEAD BODY IN THE DITCH! You can’t prosecute a woman for a murder THAT DID NOT OCCUR! Lawson Lamar, Nancy Grace, Jane Velez-Mitchell and Leonard Padilla are all to blame for this fiasco! The body in the ditch IS NOT THE BODY OF CAYLEE MARIE ANTHONY! The pathologist has clearly said this and she wanted more time to prove it. She was overruled by the Coroner. The human remains are too YOUNG by several months! She knew the body WAS OF ANOTHER MURDER VICTIM! The body was not identified in any way, shape or form. The work up was INCOMPLETE! Only 50% of the body work had been done. I hardly call 50 percent complete. Skull reconstruction is usually done first to aid in identifying the victim. In this case it WAS NOT DONE AT ALL! This is the most BUNGLED homicide case I have ever witnessed! Caylee is either still alive, or she was left some where else.

    You appear to have lost your mind, James L. McIntyre. I truly hope you find it soon.

  15. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 9:15 am

    Good morning everyone!

    Yall might remember this link I posted regarding the A’s and the braindead trolls, and their conspiracy to fabricate reasonable doubt. There’s a part in there about how they’re gonna try and say caylees remains weren’t caylees remains…. Sound familiar? Check it out here:

    http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread432443/pg6

    Have a lovely day, and for the love of God, do not drink this idiot’s koolaid….

    Thanks for reposting that link, ostella.

  16. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 9:35 am

    I tawt I taw a twoll….I did! I did taw a twoll!

    Thwack.

    James, are you wearing a Turd shaped pledge pin?

    Do you believe in one-armed nannys?

    Siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh…

    It takes all kinds, it takes all kinds…..

    lol! Thanks for holding the fort down ostella! I’ve been tied up most of the last two days. Carter’s first birthday party today and a big bbq yesterday.

  17. maxineme permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:47 am

    the little remains were caylee anthony,,, accept it..boy, they are really in denial . this is the dumnest remark I have heard yet, where do these people come from??? The woman in jail is not casey~~~ hows that ??? she is really the perfect toothed, #10 ( NOT) nanny zanny….

    lots of strange theories out there. One I’ve heard and I’m starting to think might have some “tooth” to it, is that Casey and Zanny are the same person.

  18. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:00 am

    Maxineme, another that calls itself “mac” just hit another one of mysterys threads (right after hitting this one). Wow… Now THAT’S creativity…changing your name from macyntire to mac…
    Here’s that thread:
    https://itsamysterytome.wordpress.com/2009/05/28/casey-anthonys-attorneys-will-argue-against-release-of-jailhouse-video-this-morning/#comments

    Fu*#ing Brainiacs….

    There’s two of them–I checked the IP addresses. Just one of those “coincidences” that seem to be in abundance in this case.

  19. MAND permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:10 am

    Ostella…james has had his head up his butt to long..it has caused brain damage..this due to the lack of oxygen.

    Not even G&C belive this…they had a memorial for Caylee and cremated her remains!!!!

    That’s right, Mand. This theory is even too far out there for the Anthonys!

  20. maxineme permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:13 am

    I am going to check mac out right now.. thanks for links ostella

  21. maxineme permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:35 am

    Ostella,, there is just lately within the last20-30 minutes a mac over at caylee daily express’ site…..

  22. Molly permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:50 am

    If it’s not Caylee, obviously no one believes that as NO ONE is looking for her, not even the family. What do NG, JVM & Leonard Padilla have to do with identifying a body? Sounds like someone just doesn’t like them very much.

    Good point, Molly! Of course, no one in the family had their boots on the ground looking for Caylee before that little body was found.

  23. BEES KNEES permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:51 am

    Very nice sleuthing, ostella. You were bang on!!!

    James L. McIntyre, HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

  24. Molly permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:52 am

    maxineme – you’re right about the person in jail being zanny the nanny though!

  25. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 2:49 pm

    I had to take a little break from playing Whack-a-Troll to get my daily jog in…I did 3 miles today! 🙂 ….Do trolls know what jogging is? The concept of running (and exercise in general) is probably foreign to most of them….hmmmm…how to explain exercise? Maybe if they go as FAST as they can from the couch to the fridge and back, they might begin to approximate what it feels like to run 3 miles.

    …Ready….set….GO!

  26. thommacintyre permalink
    May 30, 2009 3:08 pm

    Long time listener, first time caller. My name is Thom MacIntyre, born in the U.K. moved to Pittsburgh, PA with parents when I was 10. Not a blogger until I read the crime library story on Caylee and then listened to the universal studio interviews. Then I was hooked. Don’t know who James L. is, nor do I care much. “Mc” is Irish, “Mac” is Scot for those who do care 😉 The whole reason I quit going to Topix was the trolls. Anyhow, keep it up! All the DA has to do is play the LE interviews Casey, George, Lee, then $indy. Absolutely awful, it would be funny if it were not about a child’s death. After that, they can rest their case. It is the grandparents (for lack of a better word and to keep it clean) starting up a gravy train with that little cherub’s death that really gets me goat. grrrrrr

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 30, 2009 4:09 pm

    Hi–responded within the comments above Bees Knees’ comment.

    Bees. The IP addresses put them in different parts of the country so it’s just a fluke!

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 30, 2009 4:13 pm

    ostella–I don’t jog, but I go to the gym 5-6 days a week–I alternate cardio, free weights, and machines. Even with all that, I STILL have to watch every bite I put in my mouth!

  29. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 30, 2009 4:21 pm

    thom

    glad you decided to let your presence be known. (although it appears to be an unfortunate day to post for people with “Mac” in their names! LOL) Welcome.

    I agree, and I think the prosecution has a solid case. I believe Andrea Lyon was brought in to get Casey a life sentence rather than death.

    I agree with you that the idea of making money on Caylee’s death is really disgusting.

  30. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:04 pm

    Mystery I hope you know that jogging post was directed at the couchpotato trolls, and nobody else…. 🙂

  31. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 5:09 pm

    I’ve noticed their pattern of “tagteaming” within minutes of each other…that’s happened a few times lately with diehard, pro-Anthony trolls across the country from eachother….

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 30, 2009 6:16 pm

    yeah, I knew, but I thought it was cool that you jog everyday. You didn’t make that part up did you?

    I’ve noticed that pattern as well–that’s why I’ve started checking IP’s . As far as I know, you can’t fake where those are coming from. They must set up a time to hit the blogs and then they all do it at once.

  33. ostella permalink
    May 30, 2009 6:58 pm

    No I didn’t make that up about the jogging; running is my thing! 🙂 I love it…

    Do you think the trolls dress up to ‘get into character?’ Sometimes I picture them all as dumpy Star Wars fans wearing stormtrooper costumes, glued to their computers, waiting for the signal to attack. I bet MFM is like Darth Vader to them…all the lesser trolls tremble in her presence. I swear I hear Vader’s theme music everytime I spot that avatar of hers….

  34. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 30, 2009 7:39 pm

    Haha! Thanks, ostella–now I’LL hear Darth Vader’s theme every time I spot her!!

  35. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    May 31, 2009 4:14 am

    Hi Mystery et all…just to let you know I’m available…posted this on Niecey’s site

    Hello my l♥vely troll hunters. Ratz..I missed all the fun!
    I’m sitting here with untied shoelaces…a huge mallet by my side just in case they strike in the middle of your night.

    Ostella/Bees et all.. you bat-em down-under…I’ll “modify” their skulls for a while then with one huge thwack send em back over the pond.

    Does anyone know of a good hairdresser in Orlano? They could make some good $$$’s if they were to hang around the defense :mrgreen:

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 31, 2009 6:50 am

    Thanks, Jill

    lolololol! Thanks for re-posting! Good to know we can sleep safe and worry free at night with the knowledge that you are at the helm!!!

  37. MAND permalink
    May 31, 2009 3:36 pm

    Jill they need more than a hair dresser….they need to be on that realities show…Extreme Make-over!!!
    There are some that think we are being cruel by criticizing these women
    I disagree..these women are professionals and they owe it to themselves and the law profession to look the part.
    They have no dress code b/c they are independent..and work for themselves…I’m sure if they were connected to a law office they would be told to clean up their act.
    The jury…just like us ..will be looking at these women and what they see could be a turn off.
    They are so concerned about KC’s appearances in the court room…trying out the different looks..hair in a bun…no bun..suit..no suit…they feel it is important b/c the jury will be looking at her all day in court…so then why wouldn’t the attorney’s appearance be just as important???

  38. May 31, 2009 6:47 pm

    Mand – You know your argument in provocative and has me thinking. When you think of all of the media images of Casey Anthony I don’t really know what a “normal” look is for her when you think of her in the Fusion Lounge photos, then the pics of her and Caylee where she looks like an ordinary mom, pictures of her draped in the American Flag for the No Clothes party, another pic of her vomiting in the toilet, urinating behind a parked car, the list goes on. I do agree that finding the right look for her, as if to market her properly, is kind of transparent when you think of the past images that have defined her. I think they should just let her pick out something and hope for the best. The idea that they are going to try and pass her off as some kind of innocent virgin mother is kind of silly, in the scheme of things. Don’t you agree? Barbie Girl

  39. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:21 am

    Mand I l♥v your suggestion re Extreme Makeover..boy it sure would take some work wouldn’t it?

    Barbie you really are correct in your thoughts on what KC should wear..but IMO it is up to her defense team to present her groomed and appropriately dressed when in public. {I kept expecting her blouse buttons to “explode” and hit some poor unfortunate person in the eye.}

    Just a thought…maybe she should be made to wear “mittens” to stop the continual fiddling with her greasy hair :mrgreen:

  40. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:27 am

    By the way I am looking for a better title/slogan for my new venture…..

    “Down-under Whack-a-Troll Agency” {available for the US “graveyard shift” 😆 }

    I know you ladies will be able to improve on this 😀

  41. Lee & Casey incest permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:15 pm

    Wow what a wonderful woman Andrea Lyin is. Dedicating her life to defending child murderers and rapists, by any devious tricks possible. And some people just want to feed the homeless or cure cancer!
    Really, REALLY makes you wonder how far our legal system has come from what was originally envisioned. How is this lovely lady getting paid? Isn’t what she is doing unethical? Of course it IS, but the legal profession makes up its own rules and its own ethics. Utterly disgusting that this lady would dedicate time and energy to an obvious murderer. Hope she enjoys a special place in hell. Sick, sick, sick.

  42. Samuel permalink
    September 2, 2009 11:01 am

    Muito bom o site, gostaria de propor uma troca de links como parceiros, meu site é o http://www.futebolforum.co.cc , valeu.

  43. Danielle permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:08 am

    I just stumbled on this site today….

    I do have several comments. First, “IF” in fact Casey did not kill her daughter out of fear for her life or the life of her family, it has been well over a year since the discovered of Caylee. And yet to my knowledge no one has attempted harm to any in the family. Second, it “IF” she knows who took and ultimately killed her daughter, why is it being not being discussed? I would think that “IF” I knew who did this why spend another day in jail? It makes no sense to me. I do not know how this child died. And I doubt I ever will. My theory, and only my opinion, if that Casey had intended on killing her parents. Everything seems to appear that way. Again this is just my observations. I do not know a thing other that all of you do. With all the depositions and statements made by her friends…she hated both of them, and was expecting to get the house. Or is that another lie? I don’t know. I found an interesting video, I believe done by Lindsey Lohan, who has the same tatoo. In this video she is throwing away pictures of herself as a child and blaming the father. It is quite interesting. And it speaks volumns. I believe it is still on YouTube.

    Andrea Lyon first tried to give us the mental image of the one armed man then, and forgive me for not remembering the image, and now the Salem witch trials. It seems as though she is thowing everything possible out there to see which one does not get laughed at. Again, I do not have any more information than what I see on various blogs, WTFV, etc. So I can’t say she did it. This just seems to be a desperate attempt to see what doesn’t get laughed at. As far as her “THEME” at the trial I sort of expect to see….”She learned how to lie at the knees of both her Mother AND Father.” I truly expect them to thrown under the bus at some point. AGAIN…I do not know if Casey is guilty or innocent. I have my ideas, but not proof so far.

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 11, 2010 12:21 pm

    Danielle–

    Thank you for your insight. I didn’t realize that Lindsay Lohan had the same tattoo as Casey. That parallel DOES say volumes. Two very troubled young women–

    I agree with you that there doesn’t appear to be an answer to the question of who killed Caylee other than Casey. It’s the only answer that makes any sense at all. I also agree that she would throw her parents under the bus if given the chance.

  45. Lisa permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:55 pm

    James McIntyre has been hitting the net (CNN, Orlando Sentinel) –STILL– proclaiming it is not Caylee Anthony’s remains that were found.

    Mr. McIntyre: who would have bribed three well-known pathologists, two of whom were hired by the Anthonys, to falsify legal documents which are pretty much going to scrutinized to the utmost? Did the pathologists hired by the Anthony’s for the second autopsy also confirm that it was not Caylee they examined?

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 21, 2010 7:30 am

    Lisa

    Now, that’s unbelievable! I know the Anthonys’ stated in their depositions that they believed Caylee could be alive. I didn’t know anyone else would climb on that bandwagon.

Leave a Reply

