Skip to content

“Mommy’s Little Girl” first book on Caylee and Casey Anthony to be released in November

June 12, 2009

Diane FanningThe first book connected to the Casey Anthony case will hit the newsstands in November-release date November 3.Caylee Anthony book cover “Mommy’s Little Girl: The True Story of Casey Anthony and her Daughter Caylee’s Tragic Fate by Diane Fanning, a true crime author with no connection to the case is written it. The suggested retail price is $6.99 and is in paperback form.  It is being published by St. Martins Press.

Her website:

www.dianefanning.com

From her “The Future” page:

http://www.dianefanning.com/thefuture.html

On Twitter

Diane Fanning on Twitter LINK

Diane Fanning on MySpace LINK

From Diane Fanning’s website: “In true crime, I am working feverishly on the Caylee Anthony story.  With news breaking nearly everyday, this case is a fascinating challenge.  As I work, I pray for justice for this little girl.”

It will be interesting to see how Diane Fanning handles this story and her take on it.  I can’t tell whether she believes Casey killed Caylee or not from the little bit that has been released.

67 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:21 pm

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I wouldn’t read any of the books generated from this case. When this case is all said and done, it will have provided more twists and turns than anyone could have ever imagined. I for one, feel like no one can really tell us any more than we already know. I have never in my life seen a case that has spawned so many villains in so many different areas. I don’t think any book could possibly cover it all. JMO.

  2. June 12, 2009 2:22 pm

    I will not want to read another word about Casey et al when this trial is over. I am following everything about it now but when it’s over it’s over. I don’t think I will want to rehash it forever.

  3. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:45 pm

    No. I’m not tempted to buy “Mommy’s Little Bank Account.” If I see it for .25 cents at a yard sale next spring I might. Might.

  4. laura permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:08 pm

    I do not plan on buying any books. Mostly because I do not know who will be profiting. Casey has not been found guilty yet, she could be working with someone through Baez, he is not the most honest man. jmo She has a defense to pay for.

  5. June 12, 2009 3:15 pm

    We live it, why buy it. It would be like watching a poorly done remake of a sad movie.

  6. laura permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:16 pm

    Ostella we are like two peas in a pod that is what I said but of course you are a lot more humorous then I am. 🙂

  7. ostella permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:16 pm

    Siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiighhh

    I will never pay $$$$ for ANY info on this case…. Simply cuz I have no idea where my cash is gonna end up…

  8. ostella permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:27 pm

    Hi Laura! Great minds think alike! 🙂 How the heck did my comment end up below yours? Its like your psychic!!

  9. laura permalink
    June 12, 2009 3:32 pm

    yours was there first I commented to you and it put me there I was like what???? Itsa, is messing with my mind, because I forgot to say hi to her again! lol

  10. MAND permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:06 pm

    Why buy a book when the story is far from being over?
    It would be more rehashing…no thanks.

    I would be interested in the early years of George and Cindy..in Ohio..

  11. Diana permalink
    June 12, 2009 5:55 pm

    I have a huge problem with the title. “Mommys little girl”????? What a lie. Caylee was never that to Casey. Of all the titles that would have been appropriate like “Cold hearted Mother”, “Spiteful, jealous bitch”………etc.

  12. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 12, 2009 6:37 pm

    OK. I’m convinced. I won’t even buy a copy for a quarter. Besides NO ONE could know the ins and outs and upside-downs of this case any better than we do, that’s for sure!

  13. laura permalink
    June 12, 2009 7:28 pm

    Maybe we should all write a chapter of our version then beat the anthony’s to releasing it and donate every penny to Tim Miller.

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 12, 2009 8:00 pm

    I agree with all of you, and I don’t understand how a book subtitled “Casey Anthony and her daughter Caylee’s tragic fate” can be written before Caylee’s “tragic fate” can really be determined. A trial has to take place and a verdict needs to be reached.

    I’m assuming Ms. Fanning is writing this book independently of the Anthony’s but I don’t know that for a fact. She is a true crime writer (as is Larry Garrison)

  15. Patti permalink
    June 12, 2009 9:17 pm

    Does anyone know how much Casey will be paid for the story? Is it true that prior to being convicted, she’s ALLOWED to be paid? Disgusting, isn’t it?

  16. halfpint42592 permalink
    June 12, 2009 10:05 pm

    Exactly how can this woman even write this story? First of all she states that she has no cennection to Casey Anthony. Secondly, would this be the first book in a series because I don’t understand how she could have an ending. Thirdly, if she is writing it as evidence and details are released, doesn’t that make us all qualfied to write a book about this case?

  17. June 13, 2009 12:09 am

    To everyone above.I will be interviewing Diane Fanning on this book and requesting my readers to come up with questions.The questions you have look pretty good to me so watch out for my post today on my blog.Get your answers straight from the horse’s mouth.

  18. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 13, 2009 4:06 am

    Yikes! Patti I hope we can find out if ANY of the Anthony’s are making ANY profit from this book.

  19. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 13, 2009 6:14 am

    Yvette, I’m assuming this is the link. It’s what comes up when I click on the book cover. But I can’t find anything there pertaining to the Anthony case. What am I doing wrong? Can you tell us what time your interview will be on?

    http://truecrimebookreviews.blogspot.com/

    Hi Jill! What are you doing up so late? (Is it late?)

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 6:18 am

    Yvette

    I don’t know if you have been following this case or not, but the #1 question that I would like to ask Diane Fanning is two-fold. Were you hired by the Anthony family or Jose Baez to write this book, and who will profit from it?

    Here is the link to Yvette’s blog:

    http://truecrimebookreviews.blogspot.com/

  21. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 13, 2009 6:54 am

    Mystery, those are excellent questions! Instead of adding two more questions (in case she has a limit) I’m going to recommend she ask yours.

    I wasn’t able to find the right spot on the site to leave our questions. Going back to look again.

  22. halfpint42592 permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:00 am

    Hello everyone: While I absolutely love Yvette’s blog, I am still not sure how I feel about this woman writing this book. I want to know what is her connection to anyone in the Anthony Family? That will make a big difference in the way I feel about this. I am really interested in WHO will be paid for their input on this book. If it starts with the letter A at all then I am just going to scream.

    It is slated for release in November, I believe I read. I guess I am still shaking my head at how you have a book about a mother (using the term loosely) who is accused of murdering her own child and yet hasn’t been to trial, hasn’t spoken a word worth printing, and has a family who refuses to believe anything other than she is innocent…Weird, that is all I can say, Weird.

  23. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:06 am

    It sure is weird, HalfPint!!! I don’t get it either. But I’d like the opportunity to ask Mystery’s questions. However, I cannot find any information regarding this interview with Yvette on Diane Fannings blog. I’m truly a techno-dummy so if I’m missing something obvious, please share. Thanks, thanks, thanks.

  24. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:28 am

    Mystery, were you able to find out how to leave question for Diane Fanning with Yvette? I feel as though I combed her blog pretty thouroughly and didn’t come up with anything.

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 11:24 am

    Hey everyone–

    I emailed Yvette and asked her where to find the interview and to look at our questions. I just did it, so hopefully she will respond. Sorry, I was tied up all morning.

  26. Sophie permalink
    June 13, 2009 11:54 am

    Why bother publishing the book now, before the trial?

    I think I might buy a book on the subject, depending on who wrote it, where the proceeds were going and the tone.

    If it was serious journalism, with the monies going to a good cause, I might be inclined to read it.

    But I won’t read crap just to line a jerks pocket.

  27. June 13, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hi Everyone
    Sorry I took so long to finally do the post.
    Here is the final link.After I saw the comments above I rushed over and quickly did it.I think I broke the record (lol)
    http://truecrimebookreviews.blogspot.com/2009/06/have-you-got-any-questions-to-ask-diane.html

  28. June 13, 2009 12:07 pm

    I am not sure if my comments just went through.Sorry guys I got sidetracked a bit.Found a wonderful restaurant that caters to children and looks after them while they play
    Anyway here is the link

    http://truecrimebookreviews.blogspot.com/2009/06/have-you-got-any-questions-to-ask-diane.html

  29. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 1:36 pm

    I just posted my questions for Diane Fanning at Yvette’s site. Anyone else?

    I asked:

    1. Did the Anthonys or anyone associated with them or Casey hire you to write this book?
    2. Who is profiting from the book?
    3. Where did you get the information for the book–interviews with family and friends, released discovery, or the media?
    4. Why write the book now rather than wait til the trial and the verdict?

  30. ostella permalink
    June 13, 2009 1:56 pm

    Where is the $$$$ ultimately going, and who is tracking it to make sure it gets there?

  31. ostella permalink
    June 13, 2009 1:57 pm

    Oh ya, hi everyone! Happy Saturday!

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 2:24 pm

    hi ostella

    did you go to yvette’s blog and ask that question? I don’t know if she’ll check back here or not.

  33. ripcaylee permalink
    June 13, 2009 3:58 pm

    It is so sad that people have to profit from this poor girl’s death. I hope the Anthony family doesn’t see any of the money. I am tempted to buy the book, only because this story is captivating… but I won’t. I hope the fry that crazy b@t#h!

  34. niecey456 permalink
    June 13, 2009 4:56 pm

    Hello Everyone! Wow!!! Interesting conversation. I went over to Yvette’s site and posed a question in the form of a statement. It went something like this. I would like to know if there will be a sequel to this book, as there is a lot of information that has not been made public. Things like Dominic Casey’s full interview, as it gives away defense secrets. There are many things that have not been made public yet. It will be interesting to see if these questions are posed. I guess the comments are all under moderation, as they are not showing.
    I hope everyone is doing well today.

  35. thommacintyre permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:19 pm

    Hi, Miss Tree 🙂
    I have been going to some of the caylee sites where i am welcome or at least known and plugging my attempt at spreading recovery for the addicts who still suffers.
    http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1821821/need_to_get_clean_but_you_are_afraid.html

    If any of your many readers love someone who needs to get clean and sees this, please swing by.
    Deeply sincere,
    Thom
    ps Thanks!

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 7:59 pm

    Hi everyone

    check this link out. It’s an article written by Diane Fanning concerning the book she wrote about Caylee and Casey. It answers a lot of the questions we’ve been asking. Be sure and read the comments as well.

    http://womenincrimeink.blogspot.com/2009/01/to-write-or-not-to-write.html

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 13, 2009 8:01 pm

    Thanks for posting this Thom. I will add you to my links. I think there is definitely a need for a site like yours.

  38. ostella permalink
    June 13, 2009 8:42 pm

    I just read the author’s statement. If she really has no deal with the A’s (which I’m inclined to believe), I have only one question: is she scared of Cindy coming after her in the phallic shaped racecar for not donating all proceeds to the CMA Fraudation?

  39. niecey456 permalink
    June 13, 2009 9:21 pm

    Wow Thom, I would like to put your link up at my place too. Great work!
    Mystery thanks for the links. I think Diane will do a good job. I hope that maybe she can raise the awareness. I hope the troll circus does not attack her too bad.

  40. ostella permalink
    June 13, 2009 9:34 pm

    Hi Thom! I like your avatar. Spock rocks.

  41. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 14, 2009 1:54 am

    This google alert just arrived in my in box…Bozo is being paid $4,500/Semester & is supposedly trying to recruit the students into assisting him with KC’s case…hmmmmmmmmmmmmm!
    **********************************************************

    Google Web Alert for: Jose Baez

    Asterpix Interactive Video Casey Anthony Attorney Jose Baez Law …
    crimesearchersonline.com Baez gets a job as upper level law professor at FAMU. For more updates, documents, discovery and discustion vist the blogs or …

    **********************************************************

  42. laura permalink
    June 14, 2009 6:19 am

    Maybe they will teach him how to file his motions correctly and the judge won’t have to keep wasting valuable court time “schooling him.”

  43. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 14, 2009 8:54 am

    Ostella, the author’s judgement is cloudy right now. One of the very first symptoms of CEV.

  44. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 14, 2009 8:56 am

    Jill, you are past your bedtime, I believe? ‘Night! See you in the morning.

  45. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 14, 2009 8:57 am

    Jill ~ ( ( ( ( HUGS ) ) ) )

  46. ostella permalink
    June 14, 2009 10:41 am

    Betcha some of his students are the trolls we’ve come to know and whack!

  47. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:02 am

    Yeah, I wonder Ostella.

  48. ostella permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:22 am

    Bees its just a feeling I have, but I betcha he’s giving some of them passing grades for “extra credit work” they’re doing for him…remember he trains lawyers, judges, etc on how to use the internet as a “research tool” for cases. I think that’s Turd-speak for “private lessons in trolling.” JMO 🙂

  49. lupe permalink
    June 14, 2009 2:27 pm

    I am looking forward to read your book. I know is going to be intriguing and interesting. Writing a book is an art and not every one has this talent. Those who criticize have nothing else to do. Please don’t make negative comments especially if you have not read any of her books.

  50. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 14, 2009 5:29 pm

    Ostella, I bet you’re right! I hadn’t thought of that but it would be just his style. Douche bag!

  51. ostella permalink
    June 14, 2009 5:47 pm

    Bees, I think that’s part of the reason Bozo took the teaching gig to begin with…to recruit some students with “Johnny Cochrane dreams” onto the Turd Herd Troll Network to help him fabricate reasonable doubt. They are obviously all exposed to CEV, as we are no doubt seeing all over the blogs as of late….

  52. June 15, 2009 5:47 am

    I absolutely will read this book. Diane Fanning is a respected true-crime author, and has in no way colluded with the Anthony’s or the defense team in their pursuit to profit from this case and the death of Caylee Anthony. In our country it is a given that one can choose to write and/or give their opinion on any subject, and I look forward to Ms. Fanning’s take on this tragic murder.

  53. friendlymom permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:21 am

    Hello ladies! 🙂 Mystery, thanks for fixing my problem. I’m glad to know it was not something I had said. I hope everyone is well. I agree with all of you, I won’t be spending one dime on anything related to this case. I think it’s sickening, and money driven. I can listen to the news, and mostly all I anticipate hearing is…….Guilty on all charges!!

  54. friendlymom permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:36 am

    Mystery, thanks for posting the link to the book. There are some interesting points made. I am sure her intentions are good, but it still bothers me that someone, anyone would make money from the murder of a child. However, then I thought…there could be points made that could prevent someone else from going through this. Maybe it could be a good thing? So long as the Anthonys or Bozo won’t see a dime, it’s not so bad.

  55. friendlymom permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:40 am

    Bozo’s signature lesson should be…How to Lose a Case in 10 Days. I just cannot fathom him honestly teaching others. At least he gives hope to all the crooks and theives that they too can do it??

  56. June 15, 2009 9:25 am

    To ostella & friendlymom:

    I don’t know how my son’s avatar has gotten mixed up with both of yours, but I have written Mystery & hopefully it will be fixed. Sorry!

    calipam 🙂

  57. June 15, 2009 9:26 am

    That was fast…thanks, Mystery!

  58. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 15, 2009 11:29 am

    You know, I think I might read this book. I would come closer to reading a book by someone like Diane than I would an autobiography or biography
    by one of the “players” in this case. She’s an outsider. She’s bound to be more objective.

    The main reason I would NOT read it is because this case has not been resolved and therefore whatever she concludes is speculation and we all do plenty of speculatin’ on our own! LOL

    Yes, Diane Fanning is making a profit on the book–She’s a professional TRUE crime writer. She makes her living writing about crimes. She appears to be a well-respected writer and by all accounts is very good at what she does. Someone’s going to right the story, it might as well be her. Again I wish she would have waited til the verdict to do it, but I’m sure her publisher sees $$$$$ and want to make some bucks while the iron is hot.

  59. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 15, 2009 11:31 am

    calipam–

    I’d love to take credit for fixing your avatar (good lookin’ boys by the way)
    but it’s a mystery to me how it got fixed! LOL

  60. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 15, 2009 11:32 am

    friendly mom

    I didn’t fix yours either! Something must have been messed up with wordpress.

  61. Sherri Adgie permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:58 am

    I will definitely read the book. I know the facts and would like to see if there were anymore evidence brought up against this monster I may have not heard about. I have followed this case from day 1. Casey is a cold blooded selfish sick person. If you followed this case from the beginning with all the evidence there is no way this girl could be found anything but guilty.
    If she were to be found not guilty I will thoroughly give up on the Court system. This is a total waste of tax payers money but trials have to take place. I hope she gets the death penalty and has to see videos of Caylee in her cell everyday and night until the day of execution.

  62. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 23, 2009 11:55 am

    Sherri—I have decided that I will read the book as well.

  63. sauer kraut permalink
    September 27, 2009 8:43 pm

    I’m waiting ’til the trial is over… I sense an OJ ending to this.

  64. me,myselfand i permalink
    April 28, 2011 11:27 am

    I honestly think, Diane Fanning is very honest with this book. On the process of her doing this book. i met someone who knows diane. I was impressed with what i heard and i think someone who took her time and wrote the details of a broken story that made most of us hurt or cry we found more to it. Diane i honestly admire all your work and ofcourse she makes money with this because she took her time and effort to it. this is my opinion as well as yall had yalls. Thank you Diane for this book.

  65. May 15, 2011 6:33 pm

    i think that a lady and a 2 are 3 year old child can bond together i do not think that casey has killed her child and they are acussing her of wat she has never did and i really dont think she has killed this wonderful child and i really do hate it so we will see if she is gultiy are not and this has been going on to long and i dont think this should and when u find out she is not gulity i want ever body to take back the hurt this they said and did to this women and i want to see what the trail says i hopes it proves yall wrong and yall see wat can happen out there i just hope cause this in nothing but nonsense i just know its not true i know

  66. Andrea permalink
    July 8, 2011 2:33 pm

    It seems to me that this book was not written with the permission of the Anthony’s so I’d guess then they are not making money off of it. Therefore, I have no problem buying it. I’m about a quarter into it now and it is very good. I hope Diane does a follow up now that the case is over and maybe a year or two from now when Casey screws up again and is back in jail 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. UPDATE: Diane Fanning interview with True Crime Book Reviews answers “It’s A Mystery To Me” reader’s questions « It’s a mystery to me!

Leave a Reply

