Skip to content

Will Casey Anthony take the stand at her trial?

June 16, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Good Morning America 6/16/09 Brad Conway“, posted with vodpod

Brad Conway, on the anniversary of the last day Caylee was seen, says that even now, George and Cindy Anthony don’t know the truth about Caylee’s fate.  He says he knows of no theory where the Casey is above suspicion.

“They support her, but they don’t know what the truth is,” Conway said. “There’s probably one person that knows the whole truth. That’s Casey Anthony.”

Conway thinks the truth will come out in the trial and that Casey Anthony will likely take the stand.

“In this matter, it’s almost inconceivable that she wouldn’t take the stand. I think based on [Casey Anthony’s attorney] Mr. Baez’s assertions, she has to take the stand,” Conway said.

Okay, this interview baffles me.  Kind of a 180 degree turn from what the Anthonys have been saying isn’t it?  What would make them change their story that Casey is innocent and a victim herself?  What about the epiphany that will be revealed at trial where we will all see what a wonderful mother and “saint” Casey really is?   Will the defense really dare to put her on the stand? Bet the prosecution is loving that prospect.

abcnews.com

Makes me wonder what that autopsy report might really reveal…….

44 Comments leave one →
  1. Sophie permalink
    June 16, 2009 7:35 am

    Perhaps the Anthony’s have come to realize that there’s no epiphany, that it will be proven their daughter did do this, and that they have come out of this looking like idiots.

    They have mistreated anyone who tried to help them, they are now social pariah’s and they might now be looking to their own future…

    I think they know well that their daughter will not climb out of this and they have to face the world day after day, while she’s hidden from view.

    So ‘suddenly’, they’re not ‘sure’ about her involvement.

    I bet they turn around on this pretty quick to save their social skins.

    It’ll probably work, because most people in the limelight who act like imbeciles, treat other people like garbage, etc…usually get their second chance and succeed.

    It’s not fair, it’s not right, but it happens. I bet the Anthony’s wind up on Celebrity Island.

  2. topcat08 permalink
    June 16, 2009 7:54 am

    Once she takes the stand, she is finished. There is nowhere to run or hide and a good prosecutor will rip her up!!!!

  3. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:03 am

    Hmmmmmm . . . how much $$$ would I pay to watch her take the stand? I think lots!!!

  4. friendlymom permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:10 am

    Most of us have said, at one time or another, that the Anthonys know she is guilty. I believe they have known it from the start, but they kept thinking she would get out of all of it. I still believe they never wanted the remains found. Maybe they are finally realizing the game is over?

  5. friendlymom permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:13 am

    I think their saddest and most frustrating day was when the remains were found. If they had never been found, she may have gone free, and the family could hang on to the “nanny” theory. They could just keep telling, anyone who would listen, that little Caylee was still out there somewhere. I believe this is why they never helped search for Caylee.

  6. friendlymom permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:14 am

    Bee Knees, I’m with you. I think I would pay lots to see her on the stand as well.

  7. friendlymom permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:16 am

    I will be on the edge of my seat watching the prosecution begin to tear down her wall of lies, as she sweats and squirms in the hot seat. 🙂 Justice will prevail!!

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 8:43 am

    Sophie

    You may be right. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again–about the only thing that hasn’t been tried is the truth!

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 8:44 am

    Topcat

    I agree. Putting her on the stand, IMO, would seal the deal. But, as Conway said, what else they gonna do?

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 8:47 am

    Bees, Friendly Mom–I, too would pay lotsa money to see Casey Anthony cross examined by a good prosecutor.

    Friendly Mom–I think they are starting to realize the gig is up. I just wonder if something that will be revealed from the autopsy is causing this different “approach”

  11. ostella permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:45 am

    Something’s up….I think you could be right, Mystery, about the autopsy report.

    If she took the stand, she would get chewed up and spat out within 30 seconds….

  12. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:49 am

    It sure is interesting that Cindy & George seem to have gone from “Casey is innocent” to “Maybe she’s not” in such a short period of time. Why??? I think you might have something there, Mystery. Just what exactly was Dr. G’s strong opinion as to how Caylee was murdered? I’m so impatient, I want to know now. Right now!! (stamping feet like spoiled brat!!!).

  13. Renee permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:51 am

    Hi, itsamysterytome, I also believe that there might be something very incriminating in said autopsy report and that is what makes the Anthonys respond and behave differently. Time will tell.

  14. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:51 am

    Not only my own selfish eagerness to know what happened but I have great sympathy for the taxpayers of the Sunshine State. Let’s get this show on the road! Enough with the motions to stop the motions to stay the motions! Let’s go! Chop! Chop!

  15. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 9:55 am

    Yeah, and nobody’s going to convince me that George & Cindy don’t already know what’s in that autopsy report, as they say. They absolutely DO know!!! How would they know it would be more painful to endure if they didn’t know what was in it??? (in Dr. G’s report). Of course they know. Geeeesh! Why do they keep insulting our intelligence?

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 10:03 am

    I just think it’s really odd that Brad Conway is on one channel talking about Casey and how she’ll have to testify and George and Cindy are on another channel promoting themselves.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 10:04 am

    I’m anxious to see that autopsy report, too.

  18. friendlymom permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:11 am

    Mystery, I too wondered the same thing. Are they now realizing the truth may surface? (at least as much of the truth that the authorities have found; not from any of them for sure) I have concluded none of them will ever come clean, unless it’s after the trial and they go to sell the story, and even then I wouldn’t believe most of what was said or written. They are so far removed from truth, I don’t believe they know what truth is.

  19. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:12 am

    mystery, it’s veeeeeeeeery interesting!

  20. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:14 am

    I agree friendly mom. If Casey were to turn in a signed and witnessed confession we still wouldn’t know what really happened to Caylee. Casey could tell the truth but no one will ever believe her.

  21. June 16, 2009 11:09 am

    Hi Mystery, Hi Everyone! Mystery, remember when C&G went on LK the second time and they were INSISTING that there was NO duct tape and NO heart shaped sticker! Well I thought that was very interesting on how they could be so SURE about that if they CLAIM to have never seen the autopsy report themselves, hence the motion from ol’ Brad to block the release of the autopsy report. IMO, this media appearance, is just about more damage control and more and more the Ant’s are seeing the writing on the wall become much more clearer. I think they are still trying to save their own necks because I recall at the depositions the attorney asked Brad during the preceeding if the Anthony’s were being charged with something and Brad said he didn’t know yet. Huh? Just like the Anthony’s, ol’ Brad keeps changing the story, while he is on the media blitz it’s always no they are NOT being charged but during a civil proceeding it’s all of a sudden, “I don’t know.” It just doesn’t make any sense to me! In a way I believe it is Bozo who doesn’t want them to come around the jail to see KC, but as hateful as KC can be towards her parents, IMO, I think she is still pissed off about the memorial they did for Caylee and because it wasn’t done the way KC wanted because according to her statement to the media she wanted Caylee buried and not cremated and a private memorial versus a public one. Yep, I definitely see her holding a grudge for that one, I mean she doesn’t even acknowledge them at court for crying out loud! But I am definitely with you about the autopsy report and especially the opinion that Dr. G. wrote could be very telling!

    God Bless you sweet Caylee!!!
    JUSTICE FOR CAYLEE!!!

  22. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 11:41 am

    friendlymom–

    I don’t know what to think. I do believe they want to be able to continue with their “new” jobs and in order to do that they are gonna have to garner some public approval. If that means admitting (through a 3rd party) that Casey maybe sorta coulda had something to do with Caylee’s disappearance, well, so be it.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 11:42 am

    Bees–

    It’s kinda like the little boy that cried wolf one time too many. With all the stories she and her family have told, we’ll never really know the truth even if someone actually tells the truth.

  24. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 12:22 pm

    Exactly, mystery!

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 12:49 pm

    Hi Nancy

    I don’t see how they could not have seen or at least have been informed about the autopsy report–otherwise there would be no reason to protest it. Either that or they are afraid of what might be revealed and that’s why they don’t want it out there.

    I also wonder how the coroner who originally said it would be impossible to know how Caylee died could now have an opinion as to how she died? Did the autopsy show more than she thought it would?

    I think the Anthonys are still worried about being prosecuted even though LE has said they would not be filing charges against them.

  26. laura permalink
    June 16, 2009 12:59 pm

    Casey will not take the stand. She got arrested on a whim and surely she has to know if she couldn’t fool a couple police officers it is going to be even harder to fool 12 jurors, they could send her to prison on a whim. LOL Now on to G&C they are probably feeling the pinch since the money is probably not pouring in like they thought so now we are going to see the new softer side of them. It would almost be believable but then George went and told another half truth, mis-truth, mis-spoke or as I call it lied again about putting Caylee in the car seat. Next week he will have drove Caylee to the sitters and dropped Casey off at work. Stop LYING JEEZ! Oh and one more thing Cindy didn’t you send Tim Miller away? This is why they need to ZIP IT!!!!!

  27. ostella permalink
    June 16, 2009 1:02 pm

    BlinkonCrime has maintained (even to this day) that there are 2 partial prints on that tape belonging to Crazy, and that the FBI has determined that it was applied post-mortem. I have no idea how they know that, but Blink says her source has confirmed it more than once, and I trust Blink… So I’m thinkin that might have something to do with all this….

  28. laura permalink
    June 16, 2009 1:18 pm

    Ostella I believe blink is dead on. I think they have Casey’s dead to rights with prints. In college I took Criminal Justice, when we seen fingerprint reports they did not list people unless they had usable prints. They cleared Cindy George and Lee, they did not clear Casey. If there was no prints why not add Casey? They have had her prints since the day of her arrest, I believe they did not add Casey because Casey screwed up and left her prints.

  29. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 16, 2009 1:55 pm

    ostella–post mortem–that means after death occurred right? That would mean she applied the tape to Caylee’s mouth after she was dead. There’s some comfort in that if they can prove it.

    I think blink is dead on, too, Laura. That was glaring that they omitted Casey’s name.

  30. ostella permalink
    June 16, 2009 2:03 pm

    Mystery, yes- after death… I’m really curious how they can determine that….

    I agree with you guys about the prints

  31. Renee permalink
    June 16, 2009 2:27 pm

    well, i just left humble’s blog….a few people there are beginning to feel sorry for the Grieving Grandparents….yuk! How can they fall for their scaming ways.

  32. artgal16 permalink
    June 16, 2009 3:28 pm

    I find it interesting in the last couple of court appearances which I have watched Casey does not acknowledge her parents. She doesnt make any attempt to turn her head to look into the seats behind her even as she walks in or out. Why? Last time I actually felt sorry for Cindy she looked so hangdog leaning over while standing hoping for even one glance her way which didnt come. What could be the reason that Casey no longer acknowledges them? I thought that its the same fit of pique
    that she harbored when she was in jail the first time and thought her parents were having a party at home for Caylees birthday which she was in jail. Shes giving them the cold shoulder because she thinks that they have gone on with their lives – is what I think.

  33. ostella permalink
    June 16, 2009 3:38 pm

    I think she blames them for “throwing her under the bus” by calling LE one year ago today and reporting that pesky smell in the car. She’s guilt tripping them. Hence their backpedaling, lying to cover for her, doing everything they can to publically support her, to “try and make up for it” now. I also think they could be worried that Crazy and Bozo could try and pin the murder on one of them to get Crazy off. So they don’t wanna piss her off… JMO

  34. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 5:10 pm

    Wouldn’t we love to know what’s been going on behind the scenes these past few days?

  35. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 16, 2009 5:13 pm

    Ostella, can you just imagine what we’d see and hear if Casey tried to pin the murder on Cindy??? Ahhhhh . . . sweet karma!

  36. Boston permalink
    June 16, 2009 7:37 pm

    Friends-Forgive me for not reading your responses. Big mouth here wants to say that for Brad C. to say that Casey would take the stand is just a ploy to make Casey look good or seem anxious to tell her side of the story. Garbage. This girl hasn;t said one credible thing to anyone since her child was reported missing/abducted or murdered. Can we all recall her first phone call home looking for Tony’s number and telling Cindy, “I was arrested on a F****** whim”. Ya, right-this girl is going to take the stand? She should realize that while she is trying to put the noose around someone else’s neck the DA is working to put it around her. That’s some tug-of-war. Of course I’m going to the trial. She will be absent her girlish good looks and possibly by then she will have stopped eating all those doritos.

  37. Molly permalink
    June 16, 2009 10:54 pm

    I can’t see them putting her on the stand. they’d make mince meat out of her “story”. conway, blah,blah, blah, just talking. First, this is not his case & has nothing to do with it. I thought he wasn’t going to comment on it. that ended a while ago. He got on tv & talked about casey so C&G would look better today of all days & not talk about her. They only talked about caylee TODAY. of course they mentioned the foundation…. Cindy crying with no tears. I don’t even know why they would want to go on tv today, you would think they would want to be home, quiet, ya know with family. Nope, they thought it a good day to go on national tv.

    and George with his new version of the 16th!!! where did that come from? more damage control. ugh, they are infuriating.

  38. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 17, 2009 1:49 am

    G’day all my l♥velies. Well we finally learnt that it is Bozo who has put a stop to jail visitations. I am 100% convinced that KC is sending messages via BB’s laptop {definitely to Lee..dunno about G&C.}

    I’ll take that a step further and suggest that Bozo has instructed KC NOT to acknowledge nor even look in the direction of her parents…this may be his ploy to convince us that they are “holding grudges” etc. {I suspect his students may have suggested this..don’t imagine that he could think it up all by himself!}

    Well…the Conman certainly is living up to his name…whatever made him suggest that KC might take the stand? If he believes that then I have a bridge between Oz and Florida that I would like to sell him. :mrgreen:

    I wonder what Bozo thinks about this statement…after all he still states that KC is innocent and told us that we would all feel compassion when the truth comes out..yeh!..I’m waiting for the flying pigs 😆

    There truly is something very very fishy going on..I’m with Bees…stamping my feet furiously.

    Thanks for keeping us up to date Mystery..hugs from over the pond.

  39. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:27 am

    Good Morning l♥vely Jill. I wonder if we all stamped our feet at the same time, would it be a righteous thunder heard around the world?

    The Sunshine Laws and the media have created drama addicts of us all. How dare they think they can give us document after document, tidbit after tidbit, interview after interview, depo after depo . . . and then once we are completely hooked they STOP releasing anything!!! AAAAARRRRRGGGGH! Hurry, hurry, hurry Stan. You have a nation waiting on your next move.

    Jill, do you have any theories as to what Dr. G’s strong opinion might be?

  40. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 17, 2009 9:29 am

    Hmmmmmmm ~ me thinks our l♥vely Jill has gone nighty-night.

  41. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 18, 2009 2:29 am

    Oooooh Bees…that is the 64,000 dollar question. I have thunk and thunk and then thunk some more…still have not come to any conclusions that would hold water…do you have any ideas????

    Sometimes I feel a long long way away from my “cyber family” fortunately when I turn the ‘puter on the distance decreases proportionally to the number of posts that I read {wheres the grammar police?}

    My Oz friends know that I follow this “case” with a passion but have no desire to discuss it as we do on these lovely sites created by Mystery/Niecey and many others.

    Soooo I just sit here chucking shoes/stamping feet/thwacking trolls back over the pond whilst looking forward to the day that the maggot gets her cumuppance {sp} :mrgreen:

    =^..^= thinks my rantings are hilarious…but they are short lived as his thoughts turn to his tummy again 😆

    Hugs my friend…see you on many other blogs soon ♥♥♥

  42. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 18, 2009 8:27 am

    Jill, me too. I just can’t guess. Have you checked out Blink’s site by the way? I really like her and she has determined to get to the bottom of the money trail which will be a lot of fun to follow. Also, have you already seen the video of Cindy raging at Tim Miller? It is wild! If you haven’t yet, take a look. Classic Cindy. Vintage 2008.

    http://tinyurl.com/l2b62x

  43. ostella permalink
    June 18, 2009 9:27 am

    Hi guys! Jill From the Future, you must remember to wear your futuristic goggles whilst throwing your shoes at the ‘puter! You are 15 hours ahead; you must dress the part!!! 🙂

    Bees, I love Blinks site too. I read that article, and asked her if we would learn how the Turd Herd found each other, and where the money trail goes, and she said, “Yep.” (OMG, she talked to me!!!! 🙂 Just kidding…) I found myself smiling, and a feeling of calmness came over me….this sudden shift in their behavior(s) makes me think they know the jig is up, and somethin REAL big is about to go down. Blink also said she is sure Lyons will make Crazy take a deal…she said she would have no choice…so that makes me think Bozo is on his way out, he’s just stuck in the revolving door of the Bar investigation at the moment. JMO….

  44. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    June 19, 2009 1:31 am

    Roger wilco Ostella…I’m adjusting my 22nd century goggles as I type…do you think I should have a hypothetical plane to match my image? {I could chuck shoes instead of “bombshells”} waddya think? :mrgreen:

    Thanks Bees…I am 100% up to date with Blink…suffered the sarcastic spindy spewing supercillious spite at our Tim grrrrrr 👿

    Like both you gr8 sleuths I think “something” will happen in the not too distant future. The fishy smell increases with every new TV appearance…notice the Lyin is conspicuously absent…hmmm!

    Left further comments for you on the jailhouse article…hugs for now xxx

Leave a Reply

