Skip to content

After Caylee Anthony’s autopsy, I think it’s time for some HAPPY ENDINGS

June 24, 2009

My husband and I, along with our youngest son, his wife, and their 12 month old baby went to visit my husband’s family this past weekend.  It was an 8 hour drive and was the first time we’ve all been able to coordinate our schedules so that we could take the baby to visit his great-grandparents, aunt, and many cousins. We had a great time even though the road trip got off to a rocky start when Carter threw up about a gallon of curdled milk before we’d even gone 30 miles. (It was in the middle of nowhere and all we had was a package of baby wipes for clean-up.)  It was bad. To put it in perspective, let me just say it was worse than following a double-decker semi that was  loaded to the popping point with pooping cows for 8 hours—make that 10 hours after all the stops we had to make.

When we got back, the autopsy report for Caylee Anthony had been released, but it was Sunday before I had a chance to read it.  I must say it was one of the saddest things I’ve ever read.  I wasn’t prepared for how it would affect me.  I was surprised that, even though I knew most of what it would reveal, reading the actual words was brutal.  The description of the skeletal remains, the duct tape, and the animal desecration bothered me more than I thought it would.

I couldn’t help thinking about all the law enforcement officers that had been down on their knees digging through the muck and seeing this terrible sight first hand, and I also couldn’t help thinking about Caylee’s family: Casey wigging out in the infirmary, (and rightly so!  Whatever her motives, she reacted appropriately for once), and visualizing the  Anthonys dining at the Ritz–  while all those good men and women scoured the woods picking up pieces of their baby.  Casey deserves what she gets if she was responsible for what happened to her child, and I have absolutely no sympathy for her.  But as a grandparent, my heart has to bleed for the Anthonys because I can’t even begin to imagine what it is like to lose a grandchild.  On the other hand, hard as I might try, I don’t understand how they could have been sitting in that fancy restaurant chowing down while Caylee was being put back together, or why they refuse to even entertain the idea that the evidence all points to their daughter.  I know we all grieve differently and react in different ways, but it really is just  a mystery to me how they did what they did and continue to do what they do.  I CAN, however, after reading that report, understand why they didn’t want Caylee’s autopsy findings released to the public. Who would want that?

After reading that report, I couldn’t bring myself to go back to my blog til today.  Caylee’s autopsy report along with the many new cases popping up daily of missing and/or abused children,  PLUS the kids that WERE  making headlines and now are lucky to receive any coverage at all, have really started to get to me. There are so many tragic endings (Caylee and Sandra Cantu come to mind),  but then I think, at least they HAVE endings.  More often than not though,  it seems like these cases just remain  tragic mysteries— and oh what a never-ending torture that must be for their families!

Haleigh Cummings

Haleigh Cummings

Adji Desir

Adji Desir

Trenton Ducket

Trenton Ducket

I don’t know about you, but I really needed to read about some HAPPY endings and we got one yesterday. (See my post on Haylee Donathan LINK)  I was so glad to see that child found that I decided to add another page to this blog and I’m going to call it  (duh) HAPPY ENDINGS .  It will be about found missing children, but it will also have other stories that could have ended badly but didn’t.  It will be about just what the name implies–happy endings,  and I wish with all my heart that we could all have one, don’t you?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. cassie permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:57 am

    I lurk never write but I had to say good for you and the happy endings. I will look forward to it.

    Thanks

  2. mikka permalink
    June 24, 2009 12:16 pm

    i am glad she find haylee.i wish casey anthony told the truth from the beginning,what comes after,the anthonys,defense createt the media circus and take the focus away from the real missing children,its so sad!

  3. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2009 12:21 pm

    Thanks Cassie! And maybe you’ll comment more now that you’ve “out-ed” yourself! lol

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2009 12:24 pm

    mikka

    I agree 100%. No matter how empathetic I might feel for a grandparent losing a grandchild, most of what has happened since Caylee disappeared (the media circus, the crooked bottom feeders that have come out of the wordwork, etc. ) rests squarely on the shoulders of Cindy and George Anthony.

  5. laura permalink
    June 24, 2009 1:31 pm

    Itsamystery, I have not read the autopsy report, I have read all the comments. I never read my twins’ autopsy report I can’t bring myself to read Caylee’s. It is a horrible senseless tragedy that no one in the family no how to deal with gracefully. I never acted that way and unlike the A’s I did loose two children. They have their daughter she may be in jail but they have her. Someone needs to stand up for that baby and at this point I don’t care who it is but it should be a loved one. I am happy to see you are going to have some good news to share with us and hopefully some can share their good news with us. I am glad you had a good time minus the throw up! It is always something when you put a child in the car and plan a road trip.

  6. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 24, 2009 1:38 pm

    Hi Mystery! Hi Mikka!

    Mystery, I’ve had to take days away from the media myself due to emotional overload. I live alone (well, with my cats) and sometimes I unplug the phone, lock the door and turn all technology OFF for a day and sometimes two. I call those my “mental health days!” There’s just so much BAD around these days. I love your idea of Happy Endings. It will be nice to read soemthing positive.

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2009 2:26 pm

    Hi Laura–

    I think you were wise not to read Caylee’s autopsy report–and to not read those of your twins. It would just be too hard. I haven’t lost anyone and reading Caylee’s really really bothered me. You are so right–the Anthonys do still have the gift (if you can call it that) of their daughter.

    I’m glad you like the idea of Happy Endings. I think we sometimes need to be reminded that there are some successful recoveries out there. I’m so glad Haylee Donathan was found alive. I just wish there were more cases that ended that way.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2009 2:37 pm

    Hey Bees–

    I’m with ya on the idea of turning everything off and giving your brain a rest from it all. But, I’d have to have some good music (a little Lynyrd Skynyrd maybe?) to go with a good book. An old black and white Margaret O’Brien movie sounds good, too.

    Glad you like the idea of Happy Endings. We’ll all have to look out for some good stories.

  9. BEES KNEES permalink
    June 24, 2009 4:27 pm

    Good additions Mystery!

  10. Hilde permalink
    June 24, 2009 4:29 pm

    Hello Every One…
    As Always Mystery You said it All, very good Post!
    It sounds like Your Family Trip was quite of an Adventure lol.

    I did read the Autopsy Report and it was one thing knowing what we already knew and actually reading it on black and white. It was very emotional to know what has happened to Caylee.
    Reading All the Details made me angry all over again and
    assured me that the Person responsible for Caylee’s Murder needs to be brought
    to Justice. I still believe with All my Heart Casey Anthony is the One responsible
    for Caylee’s Murder.
    I feel like I need to take a Break from this Case for a little While for the simple Reason I really have nothing nice to say right know. All the Excuses which are made for Casey A. from her Defense Lawyers or her Parents even some of other Defense Lawyers which we see on different TV Shows like NG naming just one,
    getting really on my Nerve.
    I can’t wait till that Day comes and Casey will have to pay for what she has done.
    Every time I turn on the News another Child disappears, some of them are found alive, thank God and some of them are found murdered or not found at All.
    In most of the Cases it is a Parent which is responsible for what has happened to the Child.
    I am lucky I can take a Break from All this when it gets too much for me.
    The Anthony’s aren’t that lucky. I can’t even imagine what they must be going through. Here again it comes back to Casey, she is the One who is responsible for what her Family is going through.
    No Parent ever will be perfect in raising their Children. I am sure the Anthony’s
    had their Problems raising their Children just like so many other Parents do.
    Lee and Casey grew up in the same Home. One turned out ok, the other One we All know what happened.
    George and Cindy have furyated me so many times with their Actions since this Tragedy started, at the same Time No One should have to go through what they are going through.
    I believe deep down they do realize what their Daughter is
    capable of and what she most likely did to their only Grand Child Caylee.
    It must be pure Hell knowing what I am almost sure they do know deep down
    in their Hearts, they just won’t or can’t accept it, maybe there is Guilt involved
    on their Part, if only they would have done some Things different….. Caylee
    might still be alive. Very sad indeed. JMO

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 24, 2009 5:47 pm

    Hilde

    You are so right. That was a great comment. You, me, and so many others wait patiently for the trial. Hopefully, the one responsible, (and in my mind as well that is Casey) will finally be held accountable. A rude awakening awaits Casey Anthony.

  12. ostella permalink
    June 25, 2009 10:20 am

    Hi Mystery! Sorry your lil one got so sick! 😦

    I think you should include Briant Rodriguez on your page of Happy Endings! He was kidnapped from his home at gunpoint, and about a week later they found him safe in Mexico! He was reunited with his family, unharmed.

    Oh, and Elizabeth Smart!

    🙂

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 25, 2009 10:41 am

    Thanks ostella! I will. Gonna work on that page this weekend.

  14. halfpint42592 permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:00 pm

    Hi Mystery: Glad to hear the trip was successful. When you think about it, if the only problem was the throw up I’d say the trip was great. I did have a laugh though and it brought me back to the many road trips we did back and forth to New York when the kids were young. Funny now that they are grown, the trip that I used to set aside twelve to fourteen hours for is really only about ten!lol
    The autopsy was very hard to read indeed. To think about the fact that this poor baby was already killed by her mother was enough, but to read what happened to her in the woods was absolutely heartbreaking.Casey Anthony should be tied up and left in the woods. No child should have to endure what Caylee did in life or in death.
    I too have a hard time figuring out how the Anthony’s, knowing what was going on in those woods, were able to sit at a dinner as if nothing happened. I know I am going to catch hell for this statement as I will be reminded for the hundreth millionth time that everyone grieves differently. However, if they grieved at all that day it wasn’t anything that showed on their faces or through their actions.
    Yes, Casey did react the right way for once, and yet this is the side that nobody wants the public to see. The judge felt that it could harden to the jury to a guilty plea. But I say it should be shown and then maybe they will have a little compassion for her. At least watching her reaction may show that she is human, remorseful and quite possibly spare her death. While I do believe that she should not get off that easy, I also know that for one year there has been no emotion and maybe that is what potential jurors need to see.
    I said I wasn’t going to read the report, I said I didn’t need to. Of course, as much as we knew, the things that we didn’t know only further proved to me that Casey Anthony has no right to share the name “mother” with me and all alike. The “mothers” who realize that we were given such a gift and that it is our job to do all we can to keep them safe and teach them all of life’s lessons.
    Sorry to be so winded but when it comes it comes…

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 25, 2009 1:40 pm

    Hi halfpint!

    Yes–our trip brought back some not so pleasant (but also some very pleasant) memories of when my boys were young, too.

    Your comment was perfectly said as usual. You didn’t say anything most everyone else feels and anyone that wants to give you grief over it can give me grief, too, cuz’ I think you are absolutely right! Yes, we all grieve differently and grief comes in all different kinds of ways–But, if someone says that the Anthonys grieved by dining for free at the expense of a tv network in a 5 star hotel, I’m sorry, I have to disagree. They may have been stressed, they may have been upset, they may have been any number of things, but you don’t grieve by eating a steak at the Ritz.

  16. ostella permalink
    June 25, 2009 2:33 pm

    Mystery and Halfpint, Zanny the One Armed Nanny ordered them to stay at the Ritz and eat steaks and crab puffs that night. It was part of the script she gave Crazy when she stole the baby at Blanchard Park. She also ORDERED them to join supervillain forces with Kidfinders, and ORDERED them to buy the Go Go Gadget boat with donations $$$$. Also she was the one on the phone with Dominic Casey in the bodyhunting video. Its all her. She’s an evil genius.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 25, 2009 2:41 pm

    Well, of course that’s how it happened, ostella!

  18. MAND permalink
    June 25, 2009 4:15 pm

    Halfpint & Mystery I agree with you both about G&C and the way they showed their grieving by dining at the Ritz.They may have loved their granddaughter but they had a poor way of showing it to the public…they have been far to involved in the exploitation of Caylee….maybe that’s how they showed their grief??
    Halfpint…I have to disagree with you on KC showing emotion and feeling some compassion for her b/c of this show of emotion…I think the emotion was fear…she was now caught…all will know soon Caylee is indeed dead…she would have been thinking that they could now possibly trace it to her…anyway that is my opinion…I would be one of the jurors the judge was worried about!!!

    TMZ is reporting Michael Jackson is dead????

  19. Hilde permalink
    June 25, 2009 6:20 pm

    Yes Mystery Michael Jackson is dead, it is on all the News Channels 😦
    Also Farrah Fawcet died this Morning. I guess by now You already know.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 25, 2009 8:13 pm

    Thanks Hilde. I wrote a post about Farrah Fawcett and heard about Michael Jackson. They say it comes in threes: Ed McMann, Farrah and Michael.

  21. June 25, 2009 9:56 pm

    Mystery, i am just popping in to say Hello to you. I hope your doing well. good to see your back. I totaly agree we need more good news.

  22. June 26, 2009 12:00 am

    off topic but very sad news indeed today, farrah i expected but the king of Pop has been a shocker. Even more so that he and Farrah died on the same day. Who would have ever thought it? seems unreal to me still.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 26, 2009 2:32 pm

    Hi Knight Owl–Hello to you as well! I agree that Michael Jackson’s was very shocking–Farrah was sad but we all knew it was coming. I feel very sorry for Michael’s children.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 26, 2009 2:33 pm

    Yep, I knew Hilde but thanks anyway!

  25. June 28, 2009 1:12 am

    Hi Mystery, looking at little Trenton Duckett, i had forgotten how much he looks like his mother Melinda. How sad his Dad Josh still has no answers as to where and what happened to his son. Also Haleigh Cummings, i am hoping Monday since they have started digging due to a tip i believe, we will find out what happened to her. Unfortunately i do believe little Haleigh C is deceased. Back to the celebrity death news, i am afraid next this year is going to be Patrick Swayze. 2009 has not been a good year.

Leave a Reply

