Skip to content

Farrah Fawcett–a legend in her own time passes before her time

June 25, 2009

Farrah FawcwttThis is off topic for me, but I just had to note the passing of Farrah Fawcett.  For those of us coming of age in the 70’s she was the “It” girl.  I wanted her hair–EVERYONE wanted her hair, and every beauty shop in America had their own version of the Farrah cut.  Her body, that smile, her sexy voice–who didn’t worship Farrah?  I think my husband may STILL  have his copy of that famous poster of her stashed away in the back of a closet somewhere—a bittersweet reminder of days long gone.  Didn’t every young man in the 70’s own that poster and consider her his “ideal” woman once?

Farrah was not the best actress in the world when she first made her appearance on Charlie’s Angels, but I think she  grew into a fine one.  (If you’ve never seen The Burning Bed, I recommend you find a copy and watch it.  She dispelled the notion that she was just another pretty face with that movie.) Farrah, like another very famous icon, Marilyn Monroe,  didn’t live up to her potential as an actress.  I suppose she let her messy private life get the better of her as do many outlandishly beautiful woman that live their lives in the public arena.  But no one can say she didn’t live her life to the fullest, and no one that saw  her strength and inner beauty in the recent television special about her cancer could fail to acknowledge she was one hell of an American legend.

Farrah Fawcett.  Gone too soon at 62.  (Where on earth did the time go?—could it really be possible that you were 62?)  Your passing makes those of us that grew up fantasizing that we could be you (or fantasizing that you could be ours) so painfully aware of our own mortality.

God bless you and your family and may you truly rest in peace.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    June 25, 2009 8:21 pm

    Excellent Post Mystery. I agree with you. God Bless Her and Her Family.
    I used to want that hair too! I’ve seen the Burning Bed, and there was a movie she played a mom that killed one of her children and injured others, and claimed she was car jacked. It was a true story, can’t remember the name of it, but she played that part well too. She did grow much as an actress. She will be missed.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 26, 2009 6:41 am

    I don’t remember that one, niecey. Farrah dying was expected but what a shocker that Michael Jackson died–and on the same day.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    June 26, 2009 7:12 am

    I know and Ed MacMann earlier in the week. She did a really good job in that movie. If I think of the title I will let you know. It was a 2 parter.
    I grew up watching Johnny Carson and Ed. Remember the Jackson 5 on Saturday morning and Michael had the high pitched voice? It’s hard to believe how fast the time flew by. Remember when Farrah was new in her stardom she was married to Lee Majors, who was the Six Million Dollar Man, and before that Heath Barkley on the Big Valley. Michael was very talented, as Farrah and Ed were too, each in their own ways. Now I’ve remembered things I haven’t in years.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 26, 2009 2:20 pm

    I remember watching the Jackson Five on American Bandstand. I was a big fan of theirs back then. I do remember Farrah being married to Lee Majors but not Heath Barkley. As I recall (and I may be wrong) she left Lee Majors for Ryan O’Neal?

  5. niecey456 permalink
    June 26, 2009 7:36 pm

    No, sorry, Lee played Heath Barkley on the show Big Valley. 🙂

  6. niecey456 permalink
    June 26, 2009 7:37 pm

    That was a big role for Lee Majors. I watched it every afternoon.

Leave a Reply

