Skip to content

Cindy Anthony deposed by the State’s Attorney’s Office today

July 28, 2009

Cindy Anthony was quietly deposed under oath today by the State Attorney’s Office.  She hasn’t answered Cindy deposed todayquestions from the prosecution since Caylee’s body was found, but today’s deposition was by subpoena.

It’s unknown why Cindy’s testimony was kept so quiet–in the past her appearances were made public through court documents.  Cindy walked into the State Attorney’s Office  refusing to make any comments and there was not usual media hoard around her. WFTV News was there only because they were tipped off. She was joined by Jose Baez and Brad Conway.

WFTV News asked defense attorney Jose Baez whether he was concerned about Cindy’s deposition Tuesday. “We’ll have to see how it goes. Let the state do their thing,” Baez said.

4 hours after she arrived, Cindy left the courthouse with her attorney and again made no comment.

“It’s an ongoing investigation. There’s nothing to hide. Nothing to do. It’s part of what the State Attorney’s Office does,” attorney Brad Conway said. “There’s nothing about this case for George and Cindy or Lee, there’s nothing easy about it for anybody.”

The deposition will not be made public unless one of the parties asks for a transcript. Then the transcript would be a public record.

read it:

wftv.com

watch it:

cindy arrives for deposition VIDEO

43 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:08 pm

    I find this very interesting, most especially after last weeks events. I do really think the State is hard at work. I’m glad of that.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:16 pm

    Yep, me too. Somebody has obviously convinced Cindy to shut her big mouth and to keep it shut.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:21 pm

    Amazing. Isn’t it??? Seems the good guys aren’t playing anymore games.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:28 pm

    I don’t think the good guys ever were playing, they were just hanging back and letting the bad guys make their beds so they could watch them lay in them.

  5. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:32 pm

    You know, I kind of find it amazing that Baez was there.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:39 pm

    I thought that was rather odd, too. Guess the Anthonys dislike for Baez was all show. Wonder what his role was?

  7. July 28, 2009 7:40 pm

    Hey……I just noticed something. Cindy is not wearing her green Casey button, but instead has a charm of Caylee around her neck. Maybe she is going to tell the truth today.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:41 pm

    Fat chance, Diana

  9. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:42 pm

    I think you are right about the good guys. I knew those people were on the same team. Why would Cindy need him, and could this be so he doesn’t have to request it, so it won’t become public??? Things going under the radar here. Makes me wonder.

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:44 pm

    I bet that’s exactly it! Good thinkin’ niecey!

  11. Id'claire permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:48 pm

    Why just Baez, not Baden? Why just Cindy?

  12. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:49 pm

    Did you see Hal Boedeker’s Blog? The little dig about Bozo being called Juahnnie Cochran, is something else. I don’t know whether it makes me want to laugh until I cry, or get sick.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:50 pm

    They may well depose George, too, just at a different time. I think Cindy because she has changed her story so many times. I don’t know why just Baez–Lyon was probably too busy teaching class….

  14. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:51 pm

    It really doesn’t surprise me the Way this Deposition was handled.
    All along the State has handled this Case very professional and tried to do their Investigation quietly without making too many Media Appearances or Statements
    like the Defense did.
    I think it was great the Way they handled Cindy’s Deposition, they served her with a subpoena to be questioned and kept it quiet. The State seems to do their Job
    efficiently and thoroughly. It is good to know the State is hard at Work with this Case and it is going forward even if we haven’t heard much lately.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:52 pm

    Yes, I did see Boedeker’s Blog. The Juannie Cochran justt made me want to throw up. ugh

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 7:53 pm

    Hi Hilde

    Nice to see you.

    Yep, the state has been steadfast and predictable–just as they should be. Wonder who “tipped” off WFTV–wouldn’t surprise me if it were the defense or the Anthonys themselves.

  17. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    thanks mystery,
    I had to take a Break from this Case but it is good to be back
    I am just glad something is being done while it has been so quiet in this Case.
    Some One definitely tipped WFTV of as of who I guess we just can speculate.

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 28, 2009 8:02 pm

    Silent but deadly!

  19. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:20 pm

    I must admit, I am surprised Baez was able to sit in on Cindy’s Deposition by the State Attorney. I don’t see the State sitting in while Baez deposes his selected
    Witnesses. Am I missing something?
    Unless niecey is right and Baez just wants to go under the Radar without the Public knowing what is going on. niecey usually is pretty close to have a hunch what is going on.

  20. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:21 pm

    Thanks Hilde!

  21. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:22 pm

    where are my manners anyway lol
    Hello Every One, better late than never 🙂

  22. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:22 pm

    no problem niecey, I just say it as I see it

  23. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:23 pm

    Hey Hilde! Hope you are doing well.

  24. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:29 pm

    niecey, thanks for caring, I am taking one day at a time, my family needs me, I have to concetrate on them and be thankful for what I still have. I am still trying to deal with the Loss of my Sister, but I will be ok in time. It is just a Reminder we All won’t be here forever and we have to make the most of the time we do have and treat each other right.

    Hilde, I’m so sorry about your sister. It sounds like you were very close. Our church has been doing a series on making the most of the time you have because you just never know when it will be your “time” or someone you care about’s time. The point being, you should really think about what’s important in your life–is life really about the pursuit of “things” or is it the cultivation of relationships. Do you really want that new car instead of taking time off to spend with your children, etc.

    Losing someone you love, really does make you realize what matters. It changes the way you see things. That’s a good thing, but I sure wish there was a better way to learn that lesson…………

  25. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:36 pm

    Amen To That! I’m still praying for you and I’m glad you are doing well.

  26. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:38 pm

    thanks niecey…. I appreciate that more than You know.

  27. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:40 pm

    🙂

  28. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:47 pm

    when I watched Cindy on that Video today going into the State Attorney’s Office,
    she seemed to be more conservative and maybe a little more calm. Maybe just maybe she realizes now what is important and she knows she can’t play around with
    the State Attorney like she did at the Morgan Deposition. She had time to think
    and I would hope she came out of her Denial by now and will see the Situation
    more clearly as sad it may be, after all her beloved Grand Daughter was taken away from her in such a horrific Way and I would think she would want Justice for her
    little Baby just as much as we do if not more. Ok, maybe it is just wishful Thinking on my Part.. JMO
    Or maybe by her having Caylees Picture hanging around her Neck in a Pendent
    she just wants to make a good Impression for the State Attorney, I hope that wasn’t her Intention.

    I don’t know Hilde–Looks like she was there for 4 hours Tuesday and is there today (Wednesday) again. I guess that means she’s either cooperating fully—-or not cooperating at all like she did in the ZG deposition and they’re having to pull information from her like teeth.

  29. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:49 pm

    I feel like I am the only one talking here, what happened to every one?

    sorry, I went to bed!

  30. niecey456 permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hilde, I wonder what it was about. Was it about the Dominic Casey thing, or about Casey and Caylee, or all of the above. Baez could have been there because they are trying to find out who was on the phone with Dominic Casey. I don’t think they were deposing him too, but I wonder about this. Baez already knows what’s in it, so he doesn’t have to request it, which in turn would make it not public. I guess we will have to wait and see. I’m sure Cindy was making a good impression, but I wonder if they have the fear of the Law in her now. I am just wondering about what happened last week and then here this is. Last week was about D. Casey and Hoover. Oh well. Got to go to bed. Goodnight Hilde, and Mystery. 🙂

    As I said earlier, I think your thought is exactly why Baez was there. He needs to know what she said but he didn’t want it public.

  31. Hilde permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:06 pm

    good night niecey, it’s time for me too to call it a night
    good night mystery, if You are still here 🙂

  32. MAND permalink
    July 28, 2009 9:27 pm

    I think this all ties back to the State asking for the docs from G&C last week…there is something there…maybe it has to do with D.Casey
    and what he has told the State? They have something on G&C…a depo is taken to see how the person will react to questions that would be used in trial…it is based on evidence the State has….so if Cindy went in there and lied and they have proof she is lying she will be charged.
    It will be interesting to see if George is subpoenaed.They have George’s interview with the FBI…he was pretty truthful in that interview…Cindy has never been truthful through the entire process.

    I feel Cindy has finally realized this is not a game and her BUTT is in trouble…not much else would convince her to keep the lip zipped..
    neither Conway or Baez have been able to accomplish that in the past.

    Why would Baez be permitted to sit in on her depo? He does not represent her…would he be privy by being the Defense Attorney in the case? If that is the case then it would be to avoid having to ask for the transcript.

    Bet the tip to KB came from the office of Baez…he just can’t pass up the opportunity to mug for the cameras..did you notice the SH*T EATING GRIN???

    Hi Mand!

    They are deposing George this afternoon (Wednesday) and Lee tomorrow. Cindy is back on the hot seat this morning–obviously, she requires more “attention”. If she is as hostile in this deposition as she was in the ZG depo, they are probably really having to drag answers out of her. If that’s the case, she better be darn careful or as you say she will find herself in a cell next to Casey.

    I think you are right about why she’s keeping her mouth shut. A little bell finally rang in her head.

    Not sure why Baez would be allowed to be there. The prosecution was in the defense’s depo, but as representatives of the witnesses.

    I absolutely believe the defense leaked the info.

  33. ostella permalink
    July 28, 2009 10:27 pm

    Mand, quit stealing all my thoughts and posting them right before me. Now all I have to say is, “Ya, what Mand said.” How do you manage to do that so often? You’re quick like a ninja when you steal from my brain; I never sense you at all……Do you own nunchucks?

    I’m not surprised at ALL about “Juanny.” Yall thought I was kidding about him sleeping with Johhny’s pic under his pillow, but now I can proudly say I told you so. 🙂

    I have a feeling somethings about to give…just a hunch….

    lol, ostella! I hate it when you’re right, but you were right! Juannie is prolly bustin’ his buttons to be compared to Johnny Cochran.

    I thinks somethin’ is up, too…

  34. MAND permalink
    July 28, 2009 11:01 pm

    Sorry about that Ostella…you must have some strong brain waves..
    my brain keeps picking up your messages!!
    Try wrapping your head in foil before you post!!! It’s supposed to scramble brain waves!!

    lolololol You can pick up some tin foil over in The Garden, Ostella

  35. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    July 29, 2009 5:17 am

    Hello all my l♥vlelies…just when you thought things couldn’t get any stranger…along comes Bozo with Spindy…hmmmm…something fishy going on BUT I don’t know what…maybe we will find out tomorrow :mrgreen:

    Hugs ♥♥♥

    Prolly not today, Jill, but I think somethin’s a brewin’ and it ain’t beer.

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 29, 2009 6:15 am

    Had to go to bed last night–was an lonnnggggg day. I’ve responded to comments within their comment boxes.

    Hilde, I’m so sorry about your sister. I wrote you a note in your comment box.

  37. July 29, 2009 7:18 am

    I am a friend of Hal’s. This is what he told me.

    “Both sides are allowed at the depositions. The defense needs to hear what the prosecution is doing.”

  38. Hilde permalink
    July 29, 2009 7:29 am

    thanks mystery for Your kind Words
    I didn’t realize it got so late last night, no Wonder every one left, except niecey, she tried very hard to respond to my Comments 😆 till we both decided we better call it a night.
    Kayle… I didn’t realize both Sides can sit in at the depositions, I guess that would mean the Prosecution can sit in when Baez deposes his People.
    Hm, learn something new every Day.

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 29, 2009 8:01 am

    Thank’s Kyle for clearing that up. Mystery solved!

  40. Hilde permalink
    July 29, 2009 8:51 am

    mystery, Your Comment about Cindy needing probably more Attention because she was called back a second time to be deposed, was outstanding and probably so true lol

  41. Joy permalink
    July 29, 2009 11:04 am

    “Ain’t she cute, just a walking down the street” LOL Boy it must be nice to have Dead Baby money to get our hair fixed up and FAKE, just like her. Hope we get to see or hear all Cindy Sues’ answers, should be very interesting. Good to see that she is FINALLY keeping her big mouth shut in front of the media camera. LOL

  42. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 29, 2009 12:35 pm

    sad but true…..

  43. itsamysterytome permalink*
    July 29, 2009 12:35 pm

    She does have “attitude” these days, Joy.

Leave a Reply

