Skip to content

Sheriff’s dept. releases a statement putting the focus in Haleigh Cummings disappearance on Misty Croslin Cummings

August 17, 2009

misty-croslin-cummings1Today, the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office released information that they consider Misty Croslin Cummings–the now step-mother of Haleigh Cummings to be the key in their investigation.

“Investigators believe that Misty Croslin-Cummings continues to hold important answers in the case. She has failed to provide any sort of detailed accounting of the hours during the late evening and early morning of Haleigh’s disappearance. Furthermore, physical evidence at the scene contradicts Misty’s sketchy account of her evening activities,” the Sheriff’s Office reported in a statement.

“Any citizen with direct knowledge of Misty’s activities during that evening or into the early morning is encouraged to report that information to the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office,” the release stated.

Haleigh’s biological parents, Ronald Cummings and Crystal Sheffield, are NOT considered suspects but investigators said information gathered in the case does NOT support the idea a stranger took the girl.

“At this point, the evidence and investigatory effort has minimized the likelihood that Haleigh’s disappearance is the work of a stranger,” the statement reported.

So who was it the work of?  Is Misty actually suspected of killing Haleigh? Are the walls closing in on Mrs. Cummings?

read it here:

Gainesville.com

22 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    August 17, 2009 5:50 pm

    My, my, my, the pressure is mounting……….I was reminded of an interview with Cobra, after reading this, and in it Cobra says that Ron told him why he married her, and how Misty refused to do a reenactment of that night. I was going to share it with you, but I’ll leave it up to you if you want to hear it, as there is a lot of cussing and some ugly things said. I found it on Youtube, it’s a video. If you’d rather hear it first I can email it to you.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 17, 2009 6:56 pm

    no, please do share it. I think I’ve heard it if it was the one on Art Harris.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:07 pm

    Here you go:

  4. niecey456 permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:28 pm

    It’s amazing to me that they didn’t arrest her for obstruction of justice and child endangerment, or neglect already. I hope all the new pressure will crack that girl, or someone that knows what she did that night.

  5. Hilde permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:36 pm

    hello mystery and niecey,
    I am so glad mystery that You keep us informed about what is going on in the Cummin’s Case.
    My Gut Feeling has told me almost from the Beginning something wasn’t right about the whole Story Misty has told back in February when Haleigh was taken according to her during the night
    None of it made Sense what she told Police about the Events of that fateful February Night when Haleigh disappeared into thin Air and no one has seen her since.
    I still believe Haleigh is not with us any more and something terrible has happened to her and I strongly believe Misty knows what happened to her. That is and has been my Gut Feeling, at the same time the Police and the Investigators are the Ones who have the hard Job to figure out through their Investigation what happened to Haleigh and who is responsible for what ever happened to her.
    Hopefully they know more after over 6 Month than what they let the Public know. Haleigh needs to be found and brought home to lay her to rest, sadly I don’t believe she will be found alive. It would be a Miracle if she could be brought home alive and save and some one took care of her for over 6 month. We all
    know that is not likely to happen, although miracles do happen sometimes.
    JMO

  6. Hilde permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:54 pm

    mystery, I believe I will take a little walk through Your Garden Gate and look around a little while I try to relax and get away from all those horrible Things going on in this World.
    I just need to take a Break from All this and Your Garden is the perfect Spot it helps me to get more positive thoughts into my mind while learning something new,
    like new Recipes for Example and all the other great tips You always seem to have.

  7. niecey456 permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:02 pm

    Hey Hilde!

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 17, 2009 8:04 pm

    Thanks for posting that, niecey.

    I find it just unbelievable that Misty has not been arrested for something–anything.

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 17, 2009 8:05 pm

    Hilde–I wish there could be a miracle here. I’m praying for one, but……

    This is off subject, but I wanted you to know I tried your beef roll-up recipe and will be posting on it tomorrow in the Garden. Meant to do it this weekend, but the time got away from me. Thanks again for sharing it. My husband absolutely loved it and made me promise to add it to the “menu.”

  10. Hilde permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:20 pm

    I am so glad You liked it mystery. Like I said it is real Bavarian Food.
    My Hubby likes it too. My I ask what You fixed with it?
    Sorry, off the Subject.

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 18, 2009 6:39 am

    Sorry! Went to bed early. My sides were exactly what you suggested and they were delicious as well. Best gravy I ever tasted, btw.

  12. Spacely permalink
    August 18, 2009 7:57 am

    Wow!! Mark NeJame is on the case for one day and threatens to bring in Tim Miller and the cops suddenly announce Misty is key suspect (although they tap danced around it again in their agile legalese manner).

    Maybe the two events have nothing to do with each other. But I keep thinking about how early on in the case, the police issued warnings against searching for Haleigh in the local wooded areas because of ‘local criminal activety’ – which I have always interpreted as pot farming and moonshining.

    The police statement so close on the heels of the announcement that Tim Miller was headed for the area in the near future seems to indicate that for whatever reason, the cops do not want anyone searching the wildlands of Putnam County.

    But I could be reading too much into all of that, but I can’t say I have been impressed with the county sherrif at this point.

  13. ostella permalink
    August 18, 2009 11:52 am

    This timing is all very very interesting, as Spacely has pointed out….there is pressure mounting somewhere, cuz it looks like things are cooking again…. Is Nejame some kind of superhero whose mere presence whips LE into shape??? I like Nejame. He’s good people…..

    Hilde, I have neglected to mention til now how much I love your avatar…. I just love angels and fairies…. Execellent choice! 🙂

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 18, 2009 12:27 pm

    Spacely–Excellent! You are right–there is some strange timing here—
    If you are correct and the reason they don’t want people snooping around is because of pot and stills then now that Nejame, a high-powered, high profile attorney that knows how to summon the media at the drop of a hat has climbed aboard, we may see this case gather some steam.

    Misty should have been considered a suspect all along–maybe she has been and we didn’t know it, but they’ve certainly let it draw out. Maybe like Sheriff Andy Taylor of Mayberry–they’ve been patiently giving her enough rope to hang herself!

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 18, 2009 12:28 pm

    Ostella–at first I didn’t like Nejame–I thought he was just a little to slick–both as an attorney and in looks–I’ve done 180 degree turn. I love this guy!

  16. Hilde permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:06 pm

    ostella, thanks
    I too love Angels or Fairies. I like to believe they do exist 🙂 at least the Angels.

    I also agree, Nejame has shown he is a good Person who has moral Standards what You don’t see too often anymore with Lawyers. Most Attorney’s are more concerned with Money and Fame than what is right.
    I also didn’t like Nejame in the Beginning, he seemed arrogant to me but I have changed my Mind about him. He is definitely ok in my Book and very intelligent,
    he knows what he is doing.
    He stands up for what he believes in and won’t participate in any kind of Circus
    just wants to find out the Truth.
    I sure hope there will be a Chance to find Haleigh. Lots of the Time the missing
    Person/s are found by a complete Stranger and by Accident, just like it was the Case with Caylee.

  17. Spacely permalink
    August 18, 2009 2:06 pm

    I have done the same flip flop of thinking about NeJame. He was too slick and too quick and too Anthony at first. But he seemed to have figure out what the Ants were up to and abandoned them to their chosen fate. I believe Tim Miller is about as good a guy as you can find out there. I was very impressed by him during his search for Caylee. He seemed to be much more emotional and heartfelt about finding Caylee and understanding what she went through than any of her own family. I was very concerned that he hooked up with NeJame. But now, I am thinking Tim had insight that we don’t have and NeJame must be a good guy too.

    I have started reading rumors on the net hinting that Tim is a shady character, but I don’t believe these rumors for an instant. I personally believe that Jose has started these internet rumors, much as Kim Picazzio started net rumors about everyone not siding with Crystal in the Haleigh case. But this goes hand in hand with my personal belief that Jose is the ‘leak’ he keeps blaming on the prosecution. Anytime that info is released by the prosecution as public record, it goes directly to the clerk, where it is distributed to those that request it. But first, it is released to Jose. If you go back and look, it seems to me that every ‘leak’ occured within a few short days of that same info being released by the clerk. So, we either believe that Jose is correct and there is a leak in OSCO, the jail, the state attorney’s office, the forensic labs both in and out of state, and possibly the FBI. Or, the one person who has all of this info… Jose… is the leak. I believe he does this to drive the media frenzy that he then complains about.

    Misty – I do believe everything she has ever said about the night Haleigh went missing is a lie. However, I do not believe she was actually involved in the dissappearance. I still believe it was Ron and happened before he ever went to work and that Misty has been trying to tell the lies he set up for her, but is too dumb to keep it all straight (besides the fact the lies were not constructed well enough to cover the time period to start with). But she does not know where Haleigh is or what happened to her. Ron knows how dumb she is, so he made sure she never knew the whole truth because she is the weakest link in the chain.

    Ron’s constant smirking at the camera, his ‘Only God Can Judge Me’ sign, his marriage, his immediate abandonment of the trailer, his actions towards Misty’s family, his threats to hunt someone down and kill them on the 911 call, his lack of knowledge of his address or Haleigh’s birthdate, and his leaving his kids with an underage bimbo who was cheating on him the night before and who had several vistors that night all lead me to suspect him above all others.

    But it could just be that hat with the tag on it. It is so goofy.

  18. ostella permalink
    August 18, 2009 3:33 pm

    Ron has one of those skeezy moustaches that I call a molestache….

  19. MAND permalink
    August 18, 2009 8:52 pm

    Looks like LE is going to make a move now that they will be having company in a few weeks….are they going to go after Misty at last and try and wrap this up so there will be no need for TES and Nejames to come in???
    Misty could have been charged in the beginning but they ….for whatever reasons….decided not to….I still believe in my theory that it is a corrupt little town and those in charge are the ones responsible for Haleigh….but if they are forced to blame someone it will be Misty…

    Ron looks like he is doing a lot of Meth!!! The weight loss and the mouth/teeth….typical looking Meth user.

  20. Chrissy permalink
    September 3, 2009 4:16 pm

    When I called the tip line I was hoping it helped. I had tried to reach Mr. Cumming to also provide him with this direct information to aid in the search. To this day I have yet to contact Mr. Cumming but believe the information is still accurate. I really feel for the mother and father of Haleigh but their daughter will not be coming home. I had told other people the day this story broke what I believe happened in details to Haleigh.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 4:28 pm

    Chrissy

    I’m assuming you are a psychic?

    I don’t believe Haleigh is coming home either, and I’m not a psychic. I think the boom is being lowered on Misty and we will know soon what happened.

  22. Chrissy permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:24 pm

    Yes I am a psychic. I didn’t want to get involved in this case but was urged by those including a laywer that know of my abilities in these cases. I have given detailed accounts of this case to the point the police asked for my help as well. I believe they had recieved upwards of 200 other psychic calls. I’m not saying I’m the only one that can see, I just delievered the information I had recieved. I realize many law enforcement agencies nor sceptics believe in a ” psychic” and many have earned the reputation of being less then honest. I have been doing readings for 46 years and trust the images I recieve. Personally I don’t care for the word ” psychic” and am just happy to do what I do best and that is to help others with answeres to some times some difficult questions. I don’t want fame or fortune nor looking for a name, just my help to others is my reward. I have never charged the police on any investigations and no I’m not always 100% accurate either and I have no problem admitting that.

Leave a Reply

