Skip to content

Judge Strickland rules-Casey Anthony’s check fraud case to be in the “near future” plus a docu-dump tomorrow

September 3, 2009

Amy HuzengaJudge Strickland has ruled that Casey Anthony’s check fraud case will be sooner than later.

The prosecution requested a trial date be set for the fraud case as soon as possible, but Anthony’s defense team argued that preparing for that case would be a deterrent for their preparation in the murder trial. Judge Strickland sided with the prosecution.

The spokeswoman for Casey Anthony’s attorney, Jose Baez, said the defense team’s reaction to the judge’s ruling is “disappointing.”

“All our resources need to be focused on defending Casey Anthony from the State’s determination to seek the death penalty,” spokeswoman Marti Mackenzie said in an e-mail to the Orlando Sentinel.

The state submitted an affidavit from Amy Huizenga, the victim and friend of Casey, to support its motion for the trial to be held as soon as possible.  Strickland wrote in his order that he found Huizenga’s affidavit “compelling.”

“The affidavit states that the duration of this legal process over the last year has caused her a great deal of mental stress,” Strickland wrote.

“After considering all of the factors and argument of counsel, this Court feels that the best resolution is to set the matter for trial in the near future,” Strickland said. “In terms of legal skill and analysis, this case is rather simple.”

He added that there will be few witnesses in this trial, and not counting jury selection, it should not take more than a few days to reach it’s conclusion.

“This Court cannot justify making the victim wait even longer to have this matter resolved,” Strickland wrote. “Therefore, in the coming days the Court will set this matter for pretrial and trial.”

The State Attorney’s Office announced that more evidence will be released tomorrow (Friday)  morning. The information will include several audio and video clips and it’s expected to include an interview with California bounty hunter Leonard Padilla.

read it here:

orlando sentinel

Judge Strickland’s order to set check fraud trial date LINK

Defense’s motion to delay check fraud trial LINK

FINALLY!  and good for Judge Strickland!  I still think the only reason the defense wanted to delay this trial was so that Casey wouldn’t go into her murder trial, already a convicted felon.  Their argument was quite lame–and I bet they are VERY disappointed with this latest ruling!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:01 am

    Had Casey been taught a few years ago to steal was bad, this might not have happened. Lesson for everyone teach your children right from wrong, what they learn at home they really do take out in the real world! I am happy for Amy, I can only imagine the stress of having your best friend steal from you and then have to wait for it to be proven. We on know Casey stole from her but as I keep hearing innocent until a court says otherwise!

  2. ostella permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:15 am

    Yay!!!!

    Go Amy go!

    Here’s my cheer for Amy and the state:

    BE AGGRESSIVE! B.E. AGGRESSIVE! GO!

  3. midget48 permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:17 am

    the problem with kc is that she has always felt that she di not have to abide by the rules of society. she felt she was above that and she honed in on people who were vulnernable and exploited them. that is what psycopaths do best. she has wreaked havoc in the lives of many innocent people, ans still, she believes she has done nothing wrong. she cries, not out of remorse, but for the fact that she was caught. the sad part is that psycopaths feel as if they are smater than anyone, and in this delusional state of mind, they do STUPID things. imo, concerning caylee, i believe her stupidity will be the death of her, and rightly so. justice for precious caylee!

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 10:44 am

    Hi Laura

    Yep, it’s good news indeed. A little hard to say innocent until proven guilty when a store video catches you red-handed, and your own attorney pays restitution to the bank! LOL. Why don’t they save the state a few bucks and change her plea to guilty as charged and get it over with? Oh, wait! I bet they’re gonna say the REAL killer forced her to steal Amy’s money and buy new sunglasses and a t-shirt at Target.

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 10:47 am

    You said it, Ostella!

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 10:48 am

    midget-

    I agree with you. Casey Anthony’s stupidity will be the death of her. If she had any smarts at all, she would admit her guilt and try to let Andrea L. make a deal with the state for life in prison.

  7. September 3, 2009 10:48 am

    hello to everyone here,yes thil will s isexciting news the the fraud chargers are going through l am so happy for amy.its about time the judge keeps his eyes open.l hope all goes well and that casey the douch bag get what is coming to her.this family is more that just crazy.they all need major medical especailly cindy she is so ugly l cant stand her no more.l also hope that the judge gets the original copy of bozo saying lp signed which i dont believe.thats just another lie.its no wonder all criminals are on the streets because of how laywers lie to get the defender back on the street so they can do more crimes how sad this is.l wake up with caylle in my head and l go to bed the same way its something l cant right now take the act that this mother has done so justice for caylee and hope the bitch chokes when she eats her food in her cell.one day bozo will get whats coming to him for all the lies that he is telling.lp will testify too bad for bozo.what is he doing asking questions when he was told that he needs to get another lawyer why is he still sitting there?thats all for today.

  8. ostella permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:04 am

    I’ve often wondered if the $$$grubber sociopath defense attorneys of the world care AT ALL about keeping society safe…are their pocketbooks and their fun toys really worth unleashing a predator onto society? Do any of them have children that could fall prey to these lunatics they manage to set free? Do THEY feel safe knowing they’ve poisoned society by releasing these monsters? I know not all defense lawyers fall into this category, I’m just talking about the ones like Bozo, Lyons, Cochrane, and the like…. How do they sleep at night? Have they or their loved ones ever been a victim of violent crime?

  9. ostella permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:08 am

    What good is a reputation for a “win” if that “win” means you’ve just jeopardized the safety of your entire community? How is that not criminal in and of itself?

  10. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:33 am

    Where is Bees and Niecey, these two have to tell us how excited they are! BEES, NIECEY WAKE UP!!

  11. Molly permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:47 am

    WoooooooHooooooo!!! 😆 Yeah! I applaud judge for doing the right thing here. I hope it’s soon, can’t wait to hear this bull from the defense team.

    Ostella – I agree, I don’t know how they sleep at night. They don’t care that’s the thing, they just want to win & or course recognition & $$.

  12. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:50 am

    Hi Mystery!

    I am so glad Judge Strickland made this decision. I really wanted Amy to have her day in court BEFORE the murder trial. Woo Hoo!!! The Justice is coming for Amy and precious Caylee will also have her day in court. Well done Strickland!!! It’s time the victims get the vindication they deserve!

    JUSTICE FOR CAYLEE!!!

  13. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    Mystery, do you know if this means that George and Cindy Anthony now have to finish their depositions with Morgan on the civil case as well? It seems they have been putting off civil depos because the defense was “focusing” on the murder case and now the focus has shifted back to the civil case. I hope because of Judge’s ruling they won’t be able to dance around those things anymore. JMO

  14. mikka permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:31 pm

    i can only say,its pay back time and justice for amy! and when this case move on,we will have justice for caylee!

  15. Spacely permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:36 pm

    But Your Honor, this is simply not fair! We only have 27 attorneys working on the defense team so we can’t possibly have time to prepare for a trial on 13 felony counts! There is so little evidence, this shouldn’t even go to trial! All the prosecution has is the testimony of multiple witnesses, the crimes being committed on videotape, the signed checks some with my client’s name – all with her handwriting, video of her wearing some of the stolen items, more merchandise found in her room, and a tatoo on her shoulder. It barely took me 5 minutes to review all the evidence… I mean, it’s going to take me like a hundred years to get through all this stuff… so I can’t do this and the murder trial at the same time!

    How do we plead? We plead… hey, Lyons, what’s the opposite of she did it?!?!?… oh, yeah… NOT GUILTY!!! What do you mean, what about the video?… oh yeah… I mean, Tony made her do it… he signed a paper that says so… I have a copy right here in my briefcase… what do you mean, where’s the original?!?… I didn’t know anyone would want to see the original, so I burned it along with other incriminating forgery evidence… I mean… it’s at the office… yeah… ok, fine, if you don’t like that one, I have this other signed paper that says Jesse made her do it… what is it with you and all these questions about originals?!?!… this is exactly what I was talking about earlier… I don’t have time to fake all these originals because I am busy faking originals for the murder trial… She is INNOCENT… what’s that, Lyons?… oh, yeah… I mean she probably didn’t do it… someone else did… who looks just like her… and borrowed Amy’s car at the same time… and bought a very similar blue hoody and big white sunglasses… but even if it was my client, prove it… without all these evidentiary tricks… is it time for lunch yet?!?!?

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 12:46 pm

    anniepaws

    I’ve always been of the opinion that what goes around comes around! Casey will get hers one way or the other–either in this life or the next–though I hope hope hope it’s in this one so I can see it. Bozo will get his, too.

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 12:50 pm

    ostella–

    I so agree with you. The injustice of it all just floors me. I know our justice system requires that a person be represented whether they are guilty or not, but I honestly can’t see how Lyon can really believe she was justified in letting an innocent man spend all those years in jail. Or how, if an attorney knows for a fact someone is guilty, they could try with all their might to get that person off.

    I agree there has to be honest defense attorneys out there that have consciences and a true desire for justice to be done, but I swear I can’t name one—-can you?

  18. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:52 pm

    Mikka, I agree with you!

    It’s about time for Amy and soon for Caylee too!

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 12:52 pm

    Laura,

    Bees is around somewhere–or she was earlier, but I think Niecey must be on a mini-vacation! She should be back soon! Niecey, we is missin’ you!!!!

  20. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:53 pm

    Does anyone think the A’s holiday weekend has been ruined???

  21. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 12:54 pm

    lol Laura!

  22. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 12:56 pm

    Wooohooooo is right, Molly! I’m anxious to see the defense “in action” though I think a different attorney will be dealing with this case.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 12:57 pm

    Nancy,
    That’s a good question, and I think, yes, it means the Anthonys will be forced to move forward in ZG case.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 1:00 pm

    Spacely,

    That’s very funny, but on a somber note, you have managed to sum up the complete absurdity of Casey Anthony’s defense and her defense team. Bravo!

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 1:03 pm

    mikka–I agree with you!

    Laura LOL! I’m sure their holiday is totally wrecked–but hey, why shouldn’t it be–don’t you have to actually “labor” to truly enjoy labor day? Just kidding!!!

  26. niecey456 permalink
    September 3, 2009 1:16 pm

    We were just way past due for this piece of wonderful, awesome, great (and I could keep going) News! Yaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!! I soooooooooo wish I could stand if front of the defense right now and say Nanananna! 🙂 Of course if I could be in front of them, I would have much more to say than that, but it’s a good start! I hope Bozo was wearing his brown onsie for this news.

  27. mikka permalink
    September 3, 2009 1:50 pm

    spacely,hahhahahahhah 😆 ,i dont cant better write it! it sounds like the clown team!

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 2:17 pm

    Hey niecey!

    I think you would be the perfect person to stand in front of the defense and fire questions at them! If Bozo wasn’t already wearin’ it–I imagine he has a NEW brown onesie now!

  29. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:44 pm

    Mystery, LOL I never thought about it being Labor Day, I was just happy to have a long weekend! They can celebrate the fact they have not been laboring. In between the tears. I just read each one of those 13 counts could get her 5 yrs. I think she should get at least one year for each, but I am not the judge!

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 3:46 pm

    Well if she gets 65 years for those charges plus life (if she’s incredibly lucky) for murder, she shouldn’t ever have to worry about what she’s gonna do on a Saturday night, again!

  31. niecey456 permalink
    September 3, 2009 3:52 pm

    Hey Mystery! Why thank you, I think we both should be able to interrogate them. 🙂 All in all I think the way those motions were ruled upon was very fair, and I love love love love love the fact that the Judge is looking out for the victim. That’s the way the Justice System is supposed to work. There is hope yet. I’m looking forward to Lenny’s interviews tomorrow, and I think we should have lots of coffee and cyber treats for the occasion. (Cyber treats have no calories.)
    So now after the week ending in bliss with this case, we will have to hear from the Lyon next, but I think it will be a piece of cake.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 4:08 pm

    Niecey–your enthusiasm is contageous! I’ll bring the calorie free treats from the garden if you provide the lattes!

    Yep, Lyon has already given us a taste of what she can bring to the table–I think that piece of cake will be calorie-free, too! LOL

  33. niecey456 permalink
    September 3, 2009 4:31 pm

    Consider it done! I look forward to the garden treats and the lattes will be ready bright and early.
    LOL! Yep the Lyon cake will be calorie free. 🙂
    Me hopes she’s got brown onesies too.

  34. Renee permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:14 pm

    I read about a date of Sept 8 somewhere…..can’t find where…..but could be that more depos are scheduled for that date (G&C)

  35. Renee permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:17 pm

    Taking her celebrity status into consideration (he he), I believe she will get between 5-7 yrs……to serve 85%

  36. Renee permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:18 pm

    danget, she can’t serve any of that time…..she’s getting the needle. bummer!

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 5:19 pm

    I think sept 8 was when Andrea Lyon is supposed to be onstage?

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 5:22 pm

    You’re right Renee! We won’t have the satisfaction of watching Casey rot in jail cuz’ she’ll be dead@!!

  39. Renee permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:35 pm

    http://blogs.orlandosentinel.com/entertainment_tv_tvblog/caylee_and_casey_anthony/

    ..read about the duct tape….wow!

  40. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 5:42 pm

    Wow is right, Renee! I had no idea that the duct tape was rare. Things are definitely looking up! Thanks for the link, girlfriend!

  41. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 11:26 pm

    Wow Mystery! Amazing news about the duct tape!!!!! I was looking at the information about the duct tape and on it it’s printed it’s from Avon, Ohio. Isn’t Cindy Anthony from Ohio? I don’t know if that means anything, but it’s just a thought.

  42. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 4, 2009 5:01 am

    Hiya all my l♥velies…I did my pennance for being a doubting thomas at Niecey’s site. Fantastic news…cheered me up no end 😆 :mrgreen: 😆

    Renee sometime ago I marked my calendar that at 3:15pm on the 9th September with “Morgan vs Dom Casey + C & G”
    Silly me…I didn’t put whether it is a depo or in front of Judge Rodriguez {sp}…. does anyone else remember?

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  43. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 4, 2009 5:06 am

    Spacely I left this for you at Niecey’s…

    Jill from Western Australia
    SPACELY do you remember when Lexie and Lissy’s Papa {LLPapa} bought up a sample of every Henkel brand duct tape in Orlando then he and his grandgirls unwrapped them to see if they could find the “logo?” He spent over a week in contact with Henkel during his very thorough investigation.

    I know he was in touch with one of the detectives. I wonder if his findings had any bearings on the outcome?

    I would love to contact him…do you still keep in touch? If so please invite him to join us here with Niecey…I’m sure he would enjoy her super site as we all do.

    Wheeeeee…I’m floating on cloud nine with all the super news….

    Hugs to everyone ♥♥♥

    I really should have asked you to invite him to both Niecey and Mystery’s sites 😳

  44. niecey456 permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:14 am

    Mystery, Where are you this morning? I have the lattes and a fresh brewed pot of coffee as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Judge Strickland Rules-Casey Anthony’s Check Fraud Case To Be In The “Near Future” Plus A Docu-Dump Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

