Skip to content

Was Jim Thompson possibly the last person to see Caylee Anthony alive?

October 5, 2009

Jim Thompson one of last to see Caylee alive Was this man one of the last people to see Caylee alive?  It sure sounds like it.  Jim Thompson was interviewed by WESH News and according to that interview and his statement to a Maitland police station released by the state in their latest docu-dump, Jim Thompson’s sighting of Caylee with Casey the day after Father’s Day, June 16, 2008, at a Walmart puts the time-line at about lunchtime.

Is he telling the truth?  Unfortunately there’s no way to prove what he said, although he has suggested that someone check the surveillance video from that Walmart.

It’s not hard to imagine that Casey actually might have stuffed  her daughter in the trunk of her car and possibly drugged her when you listen to his description of her treatment of her daughter shortly before Caylee disappeared for good.

Read it and watch the interview with Jim Thompson below:

wesh.com

Wesh video LINK

link to Jim Thompson’s statement to police ( page 2)

33 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 7:48 pm

    This man seems very believable to me, but what does it add besides the fact that we already knew what a horrible mother Casey was to little Caylee? And where is that beanie baby? It can’t be at the house. Maybe she threw it away after she murdered her baby.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 5, 2009 7:56 pm

    nothing really, other than it says Caylee was alive at 4:00 pm on June 16th and she was definitely not being treated like a human being at that time. What jerk of a mother leaves her 2 year old that far behind her,lets a door slam in her face, and then makes her open a door that probably weighed more than she did? Not the loving mother her parents have described.

  3. johninflorida permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:35 pm

    “Was Jim Thompson possibly the last person to see Caylee Anthony alive?”

    No silly, Casey was. And that is why she is guilty of killing her.

    John, yes she was though I will be surprised if she ever admits it. I doubt we ever know what really happened in the last hours of Caylee’s life, but if this man is to be believed, we certainly got a glimpse.

  4. Bees Knees permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:08 pm

    He certainly seems credible. I would like to ask him why he waited so long to come out with this information. That’s my only question.

    Bees–He says he didn’t think it was important until now (July 22, 2009) He must have told someone who said hey, you really should go to the police. It could help with the timeline. Or maybe he just didn’t want to get involved–there was so much hoopla surrounding the case from the beginning.

  5. Carolyn permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:23 pm

    He seems credible enough.But why would Casey buy a monitor,I thought she had a laptop,isn’t that where they found all her searches for chloroform?And I agree with John in Florida, Casey was the last one to see her daughter.

    according to this guy, she was looking for an external monitor for her laptop.

  6. October 5, 2009 10:01 pm

    Now, why would a computer guy suggest the checking out of a surveillance tape at Walmart for that day? He should know the tapes are constantly taped over save for if a crime is committed where the tape would be needed.
    I’m not buying this yet…I just don’t trust Baez…what if he told this guy to say these things?

    not necessarily, Sherry. He might not have known they taped over the videos. I didn’t know that til I started following this case.

  7. Molly permalink
    October 5, 2009 10:23 pm

    Well if he did see her, it also proves that she wasn’t with any nanny either. so that whole story is also blown!

    I agree, Molly.

  8. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    October 6, 2009 6:31 am

    Hiya my l♥velies…His timeline doesn’t seem to fit with the cell phone pings. I think KC killed her at home…I don’t think she would have had enough time NOR petrol to drive back home – do the “dirty deed” then drive over to Tony’s….hmmmmmmmmmmm!

    Hugs ♥♥♥

    It’s approximately a 33 min drive from that Walmart to Casey’s house. Tony’s house was about 9 miles from Casey’s house and a 20 min drive. But it was only 4.33 miles and a 10 minute drive from the Casselberry Walmart to Tony’s house. Casey’s cell phone pings show her within 2 miles of Tony’s apt. at 4:25 on the 16th. Jim Thompson said he saw leaving Walmart around 4:00. She was with Tony at the video store just before 8:00 PM minus Caylee.

    Thompson said she was in his video store on the 9th with Caylee. The 9th was when she picked Tony up at school and took him to pick up his jeep at the mechanics. It’s about a 9 minute drive from the mechanic’s to Thompson’s computer store.

    The 9th was also when Casey started staying with Tony–minus Caylee. June 9th Casey said she went to work at Universal and left her child with ZG. That is significant if she was with Caylee at Thompson’s computer store when she supposedly had left Caylee with ZG.

    Dunno where I’m going with all that, but I’ve been doing a lot of reviewing. Thompson seeing her in his video store on the 9th is quite possible as she was in the area taking Tony to get his jeep. It’s also feasable that she was in the Casselberry Walmart on the 16th.

  9. Sophie permalink
    October 6, 2009 7:43 am

    Or maybe he figured he’d cash in on the gravy train and get a few more interested customers into his store. I think that’s his entire motivation. Unless he went to authorities in the beginning and he’s just now allowed to talk about it and they’ve beeb keeping this under their hat.

    I still believe this is just free sensationalist publicity.

    Sophie–look at my above reply to Jill.

  10. johninflorida permalink
    October 6, 2009 7:45 am

    mystery, I was pulling your leg, I know you knew that. I believe the guy and can see why he did not come forward.

    The only thing I am sort of Leary on is the door at Walmart, are they manual open or automatic????

    lol. I know you knew I knew. Some Walmart’s do have both manual and automatic doors.

  11. Spacely permalink
    October 6, 2009 7:53 am

    I have several reservations about believing this man:

    1) I find it extremely hard to believe that he lives in Florida where the media coverage of this case is far beyond the normal scope of any story, yet did not think his sighting was important enough to report. I guess that all could be explained away by not wanting to be involved, but why has that suddenly changed a year later?

    2) I have been to a lot of Wal-marts and at all of them, the main entrances and exits are automatic doors. Most do have a side entrance on the atrium that is a manual door, but most of the public enters and exits through the automatics. I guess she could have been using the side door, but that just seems odd to me. But to be absolutely fair, I have never been to a Wal-mart in Orlando, so would love to know the door set-up there.

    3) The story about the door feeds into my desire to dislike KC, which makes me suspect of it, as if I am being manipulated. This is just a personal feeling.

    I could be totally wrong and this could be legit, I just have a funny feeling about it.

    Spacely,

    I don’t know whether he’s telling the truth or not either. I also find his waiting for a year to be odd. But, see my reply to Jill above. It is feasable that he’s telling the truth.

  12. mikka permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:03 am

    i agree with john,i believe this man,i am sure he was afraid,when he comes forward,cindy ,or the defense will blame him,to have something to do with this case!

    I think he could have not wanted to get involved and his conscience finally got the best of him and that’s why he came forward.

  13. mikka permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:04 am

    spacely,thompson describe cma how she is,a spiteful biatch!

  14. ostella permalink
    October 6, 2009 10:13 am

    I’m having trouble buying this one. My cyber wondertwin Spacely has already explained my reasoning, so I won’t rehash all the same points. I’ll just say, “Yup, what Spacely said.”

    ostella, read my response to Jill above. I kinda think he may be telling the truth. Not sayin’ he hasn’t embellished the truth, just sayin’ it’s possible it happened.

  15. frosty permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:11 pm

    I live in the East Coast. We have 2 Walmarts in town. One is a super Walmart. I frequent them both along with another super Walmart 20 minutes away.

    All 3 of the stores have doors that must be opened manually, they ARE NOT automatic. Just a FYI. Of course. this still does not verify what it is like in Florida.

    thanks for that info, frosty.

  16. ostella permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:22 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    http://blinkoncrime.com/2009/10/06/cayleecasey-anthony-case-will-a-conviction-in-fraud-case-hemorrage-the-defense-fund/#more-2586

    WOWOWOWOWOW!!@! I love it!

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 6, 2009 9:13 pm

    Hi! I responded to the comments within the comment boxes.

  18. Spacely permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:26 am

    Mystery,

    Thanks for the timeline and ping info. Extremely interesting.

    But it has me wondering what time Tony arrived home on June 16th. I would conclude from the timeline that if she left Walmart at 4pm and was pinged close to Tony at 4:25, that she headed straight to Tony’s. He was obviously home by 8:00pm when they were picking out movies. That leaves a less than 4 hour window during which Caylee died, but maybe a lot less depending on what time Tony or his roommates got home that night.

  19. Sophie permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:52 am

    Thanks for the information…I suppose I am still not convinced about this man…he could have ascertained the same information about the pings as you did…and concocted a story to go with it. I am being pessimistic I know.

    But….on the other hand, it does mess with the defense’s story about ZG and what Casey was doing on that day. Perhaps this will help the prosecution.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2009 8:30 am

    Spacely–I’ll do a little more digging and see if I can find out when Tony or the roommates were there.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2009 8:30 am

    Sophie

    You’re exactly right.

  22. Spacely permalink
    October 7, 2009 9:01 am

    Thanks, Mystery.

    I don’t know why, but it seems even more chilling that KC might have killed Caylee in broad daylight than the middle of the night during an fit of rage at Cindy scenario that I have been leaning towards. And then to calmly fix dinner and go to Blockbusters with her boyfriend… that is even freakier than imagined. I was always thinking she had several hours to calm down or come down from the high it gave her or whatever ungodly reaction she had to her actions.

    But then I start thinking that maybe Caylee was in the trunk from about 4:30 on, suffering as KC went about arranging her leisure activities for the evening before eventually passing away at an unknown time that night.

    If this guy turns out to be a hoax, I am going to be ticked off this guy made me think through all this horrible stuff.

    Spacely, Thompson said he saw her at Walmart at lunchtime. I misread the statement. That, to me, means he’s mistaken and if he did see someone it wasn’t Casey and Caylee. George said they were home until just before 1:00 that day. (unless George is completely lying.)

  23. LVSusie permalink
    October 7, 2009 12:55 pm

    I was just thinking, Mr Thompson did describe Casey with what she was wearing and more but can he tell us what Caylee was wearing?? Wouldnt that help the prosecution establish what was found in the woods?
    Probably not at this point LVSusie. Maybe if he had come forward back in July of 08, but not July, 09.

  24. mikka permalink
    October 7, 2009 2:54 pm

    16.october 9.30 hearing in the cma case,bozos motions to dismiss the case and now the best,
    Strickland will also preside over a status hearing in the check fraud case against Casey Anthony on the same day

  25. mikka permalink
    October 7, 2009 3:49 pm

    In other developments today, Casey Anthony’s defense team will receive more investigative reports from prosecutors, a notice filed by the State Attorney’s Office said.

    About 40 pages will be released to the defense. Most of those will be forensic entomology investigative reports, the state’s court filing said.

    The documents are being released to the defense as part of the discovery process. The items will later be released to the public.

    Thanks for keeping us updated, Mikka!

  26. October 7, 2009 4:12 pm

    Hi ya Mystery! According to his statement to police, he saw them at lunch time! I believe this guy is out for 5 minutes of shame!

    That’s what I get for trying to write a post with a baby helping me! I don’t know where I got the 4:00! You are right. He said it was around lunch time. Impossible if George’s timeline is correct.

  27. mikka permalink
    October 7, 2009 4:40 pm

    Also Wednesday, Casey’s defense team got another 42 pages from prosecutors detailing forensic entomology reports from August 28 and December 11 of 2008. Those reports talked about the insects experts analyzed from the trunk of Casey’s car and the scene where Caylee’s remains were found.

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 7, 2009 8:26 pm

    My apologies–Mr. Thompson said he saw Casey and Caylee at lunchtime on the 16th at Walmart–not 4:00 pm. (not sure where I came up witht the 4:00 scenario!) That would be impossible if George is telling the truth, and he last saw his daughter and grandaughter as they were leaving their house at just before 1:00 PM on the 16th. (Thanks for correcting my error, Humble!)

  29. Spacely permalink
    October 8, 2009 7:19 am

    🙂 “if George is telling the truth”

    ROFL

    Is that even possible?!?

    Thanks for the research, Mystery. Now it is Wait-a-Year versus Smell-of-Death-ly-Pizza as to who is telling the truth… it’s like trying to figure out which cleans your clothes better – used motor oil or chocolate syrup???

  30. October 20, 2009 8:06 pm

    Hey, I have tried to clarify as much as I could that my lunchtime on that day when I’m working second shift is whenever I can break free … usually when things are quiet in the afternoon before everyone gets off of work. I estimated the time off the top of my head based on the temperature at the time and ambient light that I could remember (like it wasn’t the hottest part of the day and had cooled off a little due to some brief afternoon showers and was a little overcast and the sun was starting to go down), and my travel time from my Rotary meeting, business clients and my store to Walmart push my earliest arrival to Walmart to be around 4pm … however cannot state a specific time because it could have been anywhere between 4 and 5pm and I have no way to remember the specific time and it wouldn’t be unfounded to say I was coming in the walmart doors at exactly 4:36pm when Casey and Caylee were coming out. All I can give is a general arrival time between 4 and 5. Could it have been a little bit later due to daylight savings time or something … maybe but really no later than 6:30 because the lighting conditions would have been different than I remembered and I generally consider 6:30 to be early evening and likely would have remembered it as such. Hopefully the prosecution will find the walmart security tapes or other people will remember Casey and Caley in and around WalMart and the general area. I remember seeing Casey on the Target security tapes and used to think “who cares that they caught her on tape” and accordingly “who cares that she came to my computer store or that I saw her in Walmart”. Who could have ever thought that mattered, but after her story resurfaced on the internet this year after Fathers day and they stated that was the last day anyone had seen Caylee, I realized I had to double my efforts to report my story to the authorities so they could investigate it. Since they had yet to call me back to ask me about my sighting, I had no choice but to go to the local police department to make a statement to get all of this accumulating pressure off my chest. If I had been following the case closer to the time period when Caylee disappeared and learned this information earlier I would have driven to investigators office immediately and jumped up and down on his desk until he listened to me, but now the only thing that matters is finding other people in the Casselberry, Winter Park, Fern Park, and Maitland areas that may have seen Casey and Caley on June 16, 2008. Casey had to get gas, eat, drive around, go through intersections with traffic cameras, drive by businesses, apartment complexes, banks, schools, and stores with security cameras so what about those. Surely someone somewhere in the Orange County Sheriff’s Office is looking into these things?????

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 21, 2009 12:06 pm

    Mr. Thompson

    Thank you for taking the time to post a comment here.

    So, you are saying your “lunch time” on that day was around 4:00PM. That explains the earlier confusion for us. As I said in an earlier comment if it was around 4:00 or even later than 4:00 then it would have been entirely possible that Casey was in that Walmart and you saw her.

    As I’m sure you already have been told, most places of business tape over their video surveillance recordings and reuse them. It’s highly unlikely that the tape from that day still exists, but you are right, someone else had to have seen them if they were there. The problem is whether or not it registered with them that they saw her. The only reason it registered with you was because you had just met them the week before.

    you said:
    I realized I had to double my efforts to report my story to the authorities so they could investigate it. Since they had yet to call me back to ask me about my sighting, I had no choice but to go to the local police department to make a statement to get all of this accumulating pressure off my chest.

    Does that mean you had tried to contact authorities earlier and got no response?

    Mr. Thompson, I hope your story does pan out. I have no reason to believe you aren’t telling the truth, and it certainly shows that Casey was not the loving mother her own mother is trying to portray her as.

  32. October 27, 2010 8:33 pm

    i only buy my pc parts on very reputable computer stores both online and offline;.”

  33. James Thompson permalink
    June 9, 2013 7:10 pm

    I’m so disheartened by the results of this case. The prosecution did a completely incompetent job. No walmart tapes. No purchase receipts. Casey probably purchased the Nyquil at WalMart when I say here there and drugged her in the parking lot. The reason why her hair was so wet when I saw her in WalMart was because she had just been swimming. The prosecution, Orlando PD detectives are incompetent morons and should be fired.

Leave a Reply

