Skip to content

People Magazine’s cover features missing children, including Adji Desir

November 11, 2009

People Magazine’s newest cover  features 6 missing children that have disappeared this year. One of them is Florida boy,  People MagazineAdji Desir.

adji desir

Adji Desir

Remember Adji,  the little boy who has been missing since January 10, 2009?  There has been virtually no media coverage on his case for months.   “Ji Ji” was visiting his grandmother in Imokalee, Florida while his mother was at work when he simply disappeared without a trace. He was last seen at around 5:15 PM playing with other children in front of his grandmother’s house.

There have been no witnesses come forward, and no clues as to what could have happened to him have been found. It’s like he just ceased to exist.

Adji’s turned 7 in October. He is developmentally disabled and functions on the level of a 2 year old.  He recognizes about 5 English words, including his name. His family needs to know what happened to their “Ji Ji”.

If you have information or think you  may have seen this little boy, please contact  the Collier County Sheriff’s Office: 1-239- 793-9300  You can also  call Crime Stoppers at 1-800-780-TIPS (8477) and annonymously report information about Adji Desir, the other children featured in this week’s People, or another missing child you might have knowledge of.

It’s heartbreaking to know there are so many missing children out there who have not received the national coverage that could help bring them home. These kids’ stories are every bit as important as the high-profile cases of Caylee Anthony, Haleigh Cummings, and Trenton Duckett.   They deserve to be found, and their families deserve to have closure.  KUDOS to People Magazine for their part in helping these children receive national attention!

42 Comments leave one →
  1. azrenee permalink
    November 12, 2009 8:11 am

    I thought the Anthonys foundatin and Kidfinders were supposed to be looking for missing children, Oh I guess they get the proceeds first, then when they have paid all their bills, renewed their disability claims, THEN they wil be freed up to devote their energy on someone else, besides themselves and their FREE CASEY campaign. I wonder how many people realize their donations for missing children are being routed to skin art, a criminals defense ( any way you cut she is contributory in her daughter death and theft), and nada to find any children.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 10:35 am

    I know, azrenee-(sigh) Unfortunately, unless you are following these supposed “non-profits” closely, it’s very difficult to discern which ones are the good guys. It goes back to people making informed decisions with their money. Many don’t, and that’s how fly-by-night scam orgs manage to exist.

  3. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:44 am

    Here is an interesting article about yet another Florida family and their child:

    http://www.wptv.com/content/news/martin/jensenbeach/story/baby-left-minivan-jensen-beach-monica-alastra-and/vsTTBFpIPECNGDgsWdV4tA.cspx?rss=762

    Not sure why Florida is such a hotbed for excellent parents like KC, Ron, and this couple…

  4. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:46 am

    Ok, I take back that last statement… this might be why:

    http://www.wptv.com/content/news/topstories/story/DCF-worker-arrested/i8KalsCy50-7TMhqSD5t2w.cspx?rss=762

    If you can’t even trust the DCF…

  5. Molly permalink
    November 12, 2009 12:14 pm

    Thanks mystery! A nod to People mag too. I was wondering what happened to Adji & think they should keep his face out there even though they have no clues or leads.

  6. November 12, 2009 12:36 pm

    Hi ya Mystery! It sure is sad that all of these children have not received national attention. I have started a page for missing children, I just need to update it!
    Unless the death penalty is automatic for anyone who kills a child this will keep on happening. I think after they are found guilty, they get one year to get their life in order then, then the needle. I was NOT at all for the death penalty, the Caylee case has changed me on that, but unless there is total punishment, nothing will stop! It has been so sad to see all of these kids gone missing. And adults too!

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 12:39 pm

    Spacely,

    It just floors me that these people didn’t think they were doing anything wrong, and in fact were indignant when they were arrested! Plus the car was off and the doors were unlocked???? People like that don’t deserve to have their precious little ones. Unfortunately, I would not be surprised if that baby was already back with them.

    As far as the DCF worker-Surely she will lose her job and hopefully get some jail time. It’s time to take very harsh action against people that would do harm to our children and our elderly. No second, third, and fourth chances for these people.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 12:42 pm

    Forgot to say I don’t think Florida is any different from anywhere else, we are just more aware of the crimes against children because we’re following the Florida papers so closely in the Caylee and Haleigh cases. I would agree that the missing children in Florida seem to get more attention than anywhere else.

  9. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:01 pm

    Mystery,

    I live in Florida.

    I am not sure if Florida is any different than anywhere else in the US as far as the number of incidents occuring. What I am sure of is that the news reporting about these events is vastly different than the rest of the country.

    I moved down here about 6 years ago from a midwestern state, where I lived in most populated city in the state, so it was a big city with a bunch of local news organizations.

    My experience up until moving here was that the nightly news consisted of about 5 minutes of startling, violent, crime-centered news followed by 5 minutes of politics, 10 minutes of sports and weather, and 10 minutes of commercials. On heavy news days, it might reach 7 minutes of top stories, on slow days, maybe less than 1.

    Maybe that has changed since I moved, but I noticed as soon as I got down here that their mix consists of about 15 – 20 minutes of top stories that totally blow your mind. Which is one of the reasons Caylee is such a big deal down here. There is virtually no story that is followed up for more than 2 or 3 days down here, I think because all the nightly stories are so outrageous it really takes something special to stand out.

    I could be totally wrong about all of this, but it really does seem to me that either more happens down here or they focus more on it during the news broadcasts.

  10. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:07 pm

    For instance, here is another article out of Florida:

    http://weblogs.sun-sentinel.com/news/specials/weirdflorida/blog/2009/11/_rports_naples_daily_news.html

    At first, I thought perhaps Zanny had struck again…

  11. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 1:09 pm

    Ok, I swear, this is the last one for today, but things really are weird down here:

    http://weblogs.sun-sentinel.com/news/specials/weirdflorida/blog/2009/11/prime_rib_arrest_2_men_accused.html

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 3:02 pm

    I think they should too, Molly, but unfortunately there has to be some news to broadcast in order to keep a story front and center. The media can’t just keep repeating the same stuff. People will stop reading or listening. Why doesn’t LE make it part of their job to send out updates on a regular basis–even if it’s just to say, we’ve got a lead or we don’t have a lead, we’re checking out a tip, etc. Just something to keep the name of the child in the mind’s of the reporters, and hopefully they would pass that on to the public.

    IDK, it appears that it is to the child’s advantage to have an outrageous parent doing mind-boggling things for the media to report…….

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 3:06 pm

    humble–

    I so agree with you. I honestly believe that if the crime for abusing a child was harsher than a slap on the wrist or a couple of years with time off for good behavior, there would be a lot less abuse. And if the penalty for killing a child was the death penalty–no ifs ands or buts–I believe there would be a lot less dead children. People that harm children are cowards.

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 3:17 pm

    Spacely–those two links were a hoot. Who needs The Star or The Enquirer with local stories like those?

    That’s interesting about Florida and I agree it does seem like there are some fantastical cases being covered there. I suppose you are correct, in that because there are so many crazy headlines, it takes something really sensational (and I don’t mean that in a good way) to hold the attention of the readers/viewers. They have been de-sensitized by the media.

  15. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:53 pm

    Did Misty and her dad move to Kansas? You be the judge…

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091112/ap_on_fe_st/us_odd_burglar_stuck

  16. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:56 pm

    Ok, Ok, just one more Florida story:

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091112/ap_on_fe_st/us_odd_burglar_stuck

    My question is even if it was a dog, why would you stick your hand into it’s face?!?

  17. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:57 pm

    Nope, my bad, Croslins still in TN:

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091112/ap_on_fe_st/us_odd_ditch_sleeper

  18. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:59 pm

    This one is for Jill:

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_odd_australia_car_wash

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 4:11 pm

    LMAO Spacely–Well, I’d say dumb-a## is a universal problem, and people everywhere like to read about them. LOL (BTW, your second post linked to the first one. Ya gotta fix that cuz’ I have to know what you were talking about!)

  20. Spacely permalink
    November 12, 2009 4:27 pm

    Sorry about that, Mystery! 🙂

    Here is the link: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091112/ap_on_fe_st/us_odd_alligator_bite_1

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 12, 2009 7:04 pm

    Ok–you win Spacely–There must be somethin’ in the water in Florida! lol

  22. Hadley permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:45 pm

    Someone (sorry, can’t remember who) mentioned having video cameras turned on when children leave school. I think that’s a great idea. However, I think that they would have have to be installed on every block. I’m sure most parents would agree to pay the school (or state) a fee for this if it’s within reason.

    However, these sicko pervs. would probably find a way around it. I would be a WRECK if I had small children nowadays!

  23. niecey456 permalink
    November 14, 2009 9:35 am

    Hey Mystery And Everyone!!! I read this article the day you posted it and I gave you my Excellent Vote! I have been so busy I haven’t been able to comment. I just wanted to say what a great post this is and I give my Kudos to People as well for giving these children’s cases a bit more attention. Most people have no idea how much this is happening. Most of their little faces don’t get the attention that the high profile ones do. It makes you wonder if they could have been found, had the press and the public paid a bit more attention. I truly believe that Caylee was found because the public would not let it go, yet most of these children don’t get the public’s attention on that level. We need to not let any of their faces go. We need to be vigilant for all of them. It’s not all the public’s fault as I think the media is the first to drop the ball. I know I have posted on a few cases that the names just disappeared and you can’t find any progress on their cases or notices of searches, nothing. I pray for all of them.

  24. November 15, 2009 3:21 am

    I pray for all of these children. It is so heart wrenching. I pray for Caylee and all of these beautiful beings. Why was Caylee brought to the forefront? Because it got more publicity from the fanily (UGH) and NG. The family thought that they could save their daughter at one time but I don’t think that is going to happened. I pray for Allmissing and abducted kids. Kidfinders is a fraudulant website and I hope they be brought to justice.

  25. November 15, 2009 3:25 am

    I would love to see that Kidfinders website taken down. What is up with that????????????? It is a scam!!!!! How do you go about it?

  26. November 15, 2009 10:47 am

    Hi Dierdra , their site is down.

    John In FL posted an article on it.

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 15, 2009 2:24 pm

    Spacely,

    those last two links were hilarious. I’ll have to add Florida tattoo boy to my Bad Bandits page! Thanks!

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 15, 2009 2:43 pm

    Hadley, I think the cameras are a good idea. I read somewhere ( I can’t remember where) about a tracking device you put in kid’s backpacks or lunchboxes. Good idea, too.

  29. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 15, 2009 2:46 pm

    niecey–I agree with you, but the media says in their own defense that if they followed every missing child case, that’s all they would do. There would be no time for any other news. I’m sure that is true but it’s still very sad.

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 15, 2009 2:48 pm

    Dierdra–I see Humble told you that Kidfinder’s website is down. Thanks, Humble!
    A link to John’s site is on the right side of this page.

  31. mikka permalink
    November 15, 2009 9:10 pm

    itsamystery,heads up to you,good job,all this missing childeren,makes me sick!

  32. November 15, 2009 11:19 pm

    I AM GOING TO ECHO WHAT OTHERS HERE HAVE ALREADY SAID. WHY IS IT THAT MOST OF THESE CRIMES HAPPEN IN FLA.? IT JUST SEEMS THAT THEY HAVE MORE THAN THEIR SHARE OF CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN. I THOUGHT LITTLE ADJI’S BODY HAD BEEN FOUND IN SOME WATER. BTW, gascangeorge and bees knees, I can see why you don’t blog on the Caylee daily anymore. and they have lost a lot of others that use to be on there too. I can really understand it now.

  33. November 15, 2009 11:28 pm

    humbleopinion now they need to work on the Anthonys money making scheme. that all it is. how many children have gone missing in Fla. and how many have the Anthonys gone out and actively looked for? NADA, THATS HOW MANY. and that in itself is telling, they are just using this so called foundation to make a living when they are not making money on selling Caylee’s likeness to the dumbA$$ media. they really need to be investigated for this. these people belong not in the jail but under the jail. they did not even go out looking for Caylee because they knew she was dead.

  34. November 15, 2009 11:35 pm

    Cindy made a remark about Caylee was getting more attention than anyother missing children out there. she knew Caylee wasn’t even missing and if her foundation was on the up and up, why don’t they help get these children out there in the media’s view? I would like to help a ligitamate organization in some way but, I don’t know how or who to contact. I REALLY WANT TO USE WHATEVER TIME I HAVE LEFT IN THIS WORLD TO DO SOMETHING TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE AND TO HELP OTHERS.

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 16, 2009 8:55 am

    ArgentinaRose–

    You are not alone in wanting to help, but not knowing where or how to help. I’ve been doing a little research, and I’m writing a post about some of the actual legitimate organizations that really do help children. I’ll also post how to contact them. Hopefully will have it posted this week.

  36. Linda From New York permalink
    November 16, 2009 1:35 pm

    I forgot about this little boy. It is sad that these children are forgotten about, not by their families and loved ones, but by the rest of us.

  37. mikka permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:23 pm

    Child Care Complaint Sends DCF To Anthonys’ Home

    http://www.wesh.com/news/21632064/detail.html

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 16, 2009 9:00 pm

    Linda–We, the public are quite fickle and require lots of stimulation to hold our attention. That’s just human nature, I guess. That’s a good argument for keeping the media involved at all costs. Missing child + nutty family= more media coverage.
    If the family isn’t making the news, there is only so many times you can repeat “a child is missing”. Sad but true.

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 16, 2009 9:01 pm

    mikka

    Thanks for the link. I saw that earlier. I wonder why anyone would want the Anthonys to watch their kid in the first place!

Leave a Reply

