Skip to content

Remembering our blessings at Christmas

December 25, 2009

As I write this I’m looking out my window at the most amazing sight for this part of the country–a very white Christmas!  We actually had a blizzard in Oklahoma yesterday–a rarity beyond rarities!  Oklahoma City actually got 14 inches!  I don’t know how many inches we got here, but it’s spectacularly beautiful here this morning.

It wasn’t so beautiful yesterday while it was happening, though.

Our youngest son works  near Oklahoma City and what normally would be an hour’s commute took him 5 hours.  Our Christmas Eve was nerve-whracking,  and his sweet little wife would call him every 20 minutes or so to get a report on his progress.  The interstate he was traveling on was closed down, and he was one of only a few travelers that managed to get on the highway before it was blocked.  At 20 miles an hour–sometimes less in his little Cobalt, and with no snow plows on the road, we were pretty worried that he might get stranded out in the middle of nowhere.

I can’t tell you the relief we felt when we saw his car pull into the drive.   He said he kept having to pull over and clean his windshield wipers, and the last 30 miles or so he had to stick his head out the window so he could see to drive in the blinding snow with cross winds at times up to 70 miles an hour.

We were very grateful to see him, slightly frozen, but very much alive, (his 19 month old son wouldn’t let him out of his sight for the rest of the evening).

Even though our annual Christmas Eve Sing-a-thon  (LINK) was cancelled, it was a wonderful night in front of the fire with just our immediate family–8 of us (minus one son who couldn’t get through, but he will be here today).   It was the first time in many years that we were able to actually sit down and quietly enjoy and reflect on what Christmas means to us–  For my family, the birth of our beloved Savior, Jesus Christ.  I’m ashamed to say that I sometimes am guilty of  getting  so wrapped up in the trappings of Christmas that I forget why we are celebrating in the first place.

I don’t know who wrote it, but I love this quote. It really brings it all into perspective.

Tradition: sitting with someone you love in a room lit only by tree lights and remembering that your blessings outnumber the lights.

Today is Christmas Day, and we are digging our way out of the worst snowstorm in our state’s history.  Hopefully the rest of my family and friends will make it here for our traditional Christmas lunch, and tonight, after the last dish has been washed and the last scrap of wrapping paper has been stuffed in the trashbin,  I know my husband and I will be sitting in front of our tree, exhausted, happy, and very grateful that our blessing do, truly out-number the lights on our Christmas tree.

I wish you all a very merry Christmas and my hope for you in the coming year is that your blessings always, ALWAYS outnumber the lights on your tree–and that you never get too busy to remember that simple fact.  I know I won’t ever forget it again.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. azrenee permalink
    December 25, 2009 11:47 am

    Have a wonderful Holiday season Its a, and its no mystery to me that your blessings are counted so eloquently. Thank you for your hard work here at the site, and I hope you have a wonderful safe day filled with love and a New Year filled with good health, good fortune and more blessings! Sunshine here of course, but we drive an hour north and watch the snow fall!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 25, 2009 6:23 pm

    Happy Holidays to you, too, azrenee, and thank you very much!

  3. motherclucker permalink
    December 25, 2009 8:40 pm

    What beautiful pics, Mystery! We didn’t get a white Christmas here in Chattanooga, but we did get a good snow a few weeks ago…I am looking forward to some more, so Susie Q and I can play..LOL! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas full of blessings! Peace and Love, MC

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 25, 2009 8:49 pm

    Thanks motherclucker!

    It really was pretty–and odd to see so much snow here! All children here, including my dogs, Murphy and Abby absolutely loved playing in the snow today. (golden and lab) Our little mutt, Sadie–not so much. She thought the other two had completely lost their minds and refused to go outside even to potty! LOL

    I’m also laughing because you reminded me that my mother used to call me Susie Q.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, motherclucker!

  5. motherclucker permalink
    December 25, 2009 9:09 pm

    Oooh! Poor little Sadie! LOL! Sounds like you all had a great snow filled time! I’m glad! That is really neat that your mom used to call you Susie Q..LOL! I am always singing Susie Q to Susie..LOL! “Oh Susie Q, baby I love you, Susie Q!”…LOL! Hugs, MC

  6. Hadley permalink
    December 25, 2009 9:52 pm

    Mystery,
    So beautiful! I’m so happy your son made it home safely. It’s so inspiring to hear that you and your wonderful family reflected on the birth of Our Lord and Savior.

    Baby looks like he loves “all that white stuff” lol How blesssed you are!

    Thank you for sharing these gorgeous photos. I wish you are your family the Happiest New Year Ever!

    God Bless,
    Hadley

  7. Hadley permalink
    December 25, 2009 10:21 pm

    Mystery,
    I just read Blinkoncrime’s latest…another little child is missing. A little 11 yr. old girl. They are holding a registered sex offender that her Aunt was dating. My heart is breaking, I think we have another “lost” child.

  8. December 25, 2009 10:22 pm

    Mystery, I hope you had a GREAT Christmas! Love the weather you are having/had! I will have a white Christmas next year! Stay warm and safe!

  9. Hadley permalink
    December 25, 2009 10:40 pm

    Mystery, sadly, her little body was just discovered. Why, oh, why was this pedophile ever released?? Laws have GOT to be changed!

  10. Marica permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:22 am

    Your snow scenes have beauty, but the first photo was very powerful.
    I can’t quite describe the impact. I am an Iowan, and what you describe is common here. I have driven the same drive your son did many times here in Iowa. It is very frightening to be the only vehicle on what is other wise a heavily traveled road, and having to drive.. face in the wind to manage to stay on the roadway is something one never forgets.
    Tell him next time don’t even try it. To know he is safe someplace is more important than getting home for Christmas.

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 26, 2009 9:11 am

    motherclucker–I remember my dad singing that song at me! My middle name is obviously Sue. lol

  12. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 26, 2009 9:15 am

    Hi Hadley–Merry day after Christmas! Our grandson was fascinated with the snow–He kept calling it “bubbles”, but then when he would touch it he would say “Whaz zat????”

    I read that about the little girl. Very sad. I agree with you that there should be some special laws in place for pedophiles. From everything I’ve read there is really no rehabilitating them.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 26, 2009 9:21 am

    Humble–

    My husband says every year I wish we would have a white Christmas. He’s always saying he wants to rent a cabin in the mountains somewhere to make sure we will get snowed in on Christmas. This year he finally got his wish and he was in holiday heaven—until he tried to make a grocery store run! LOL I hope you do get your white Christmas next year! It was really (once I knew everyone was off the road and safe) quite wonderful.

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 26, 2009 9:25 am

    Merry day after Christmas, Marcia–

    Thank you for the compliments on the photo.

    We lived and spent a winter in Iowa when we first got married. Let me tell ya, this Okie could not believe the mountains of snow that accumulated! I experienced my first “white out” in Iowa. That was very scary!

    We tried to get my son to stay where he was, but there wasn’t a snowball’s chance in hell (pun intended) that he would not attempt to get home to his wife and son on Christmas. Thank God it turned out okay.

  15. Valhall permalink
    December 26, 2009 10:50 am

    Dear mystery,

    I hope you had an awesome Christmas! It sure sounds like you did. And I’m very happy your hubby got his white Christmas. We got one, too – and when you live in southwest Oklahoma – that’s pert near a miracle! I did not realize you were a fellow Okie!

    I love the pic of hubby and baby looking out the window – that’s awesome.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 26, 2009 12:19 pm

    Hi Val

    I live in south central Oklahoma. We get an occasional snow but nothing like this. I’m glad you got some white stuff, too! Our weather tends to be aligned with with Dallas weather–quite a bit warmer than OKC.

    You is an Okie, too!?–We be kindred spirits! OU or OSU? I’m OSU all the way–which could have something to do with that’s where I went to school and where one of my sons and daughter-in-law went. lol

    The photo is of my son and his baby boy. (You made my husband chuckle!) That was shortly after he managed to make it home from his harrowing road trip.

  17. Valhall permalink
    December 26, 2009 7:00 pm

    Sooner fan here – but I’m not all that tied to a particular football team….unless the game is against any Texas team, and then I get real aligned irrespective of an additional S or not…lol.

    I’m glad I gave your hubby a laugh. I’m in the grandkiddos era of my life as well.

  18. niecey456 permalink
    December 26, 2009 8:57 pm

    Hey Mystery! What a wonderful post!!! Thank you for sharing. I don’t see too much snow in Florida, it’s truly a rare occasion, but it has happened more than a couple of times in my life. We have no idea what to do when it does happen so everything shuts down.
    I’m so thankful for your son making the journey safe.

    I so agree with you about the Blessings Being More Than The Lights. The Lord is so good to us, many times we do lose sight of that very important fact. My grandbaby was hospitalized with pneumonia a few days before Christmas, and I was just beside myself. I prayed and prayed, and I continued to go through the motions of preparing for Christmas as best I could, like an act of faith. Christmas morning he went home and he’s doing much better, and I took Christmas dinner and all the gifts and things from all the other relatives I’d seen to them. The greatest miracle though is that he’s gonna be okay.

  19. December 27, 2009 10:40 am

    Mystery, yea getting snowed in isn’t all cracked up to be [I miss the white Christmas’]! Guess you need to make sure you have enough food for a month! 😆 He needed to take the snowmobile out to the store! Or the snow blower! 😉

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 28, 2009 9:42 pm

    niecey

    I’m so sorry about your grandson getting pneumonia. Bless his precious little heart–he has had his share of sickness in his short life. I’m so glad to hear he’s doing much better now. He and your son and his wife are very lucky to have you.

    Here’s hoping the New Year is a good one for Christian and all of us.

  21. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 28, 2009 9:45 pm

    Humble–

    We’ve thawed out and most of the snow is gone today, but now I’m hearing we’re gonna get it again tomorrow. We may just have to invest in a snowmobile–Guess I’ll have to go to Kansas to buy it–no snowmobiles in Oklahoma–or snow blowers for that matter. Just a few back hoes and tractors.

  22. niecey456 permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:02 pm

    Happy New Year Mystery! I pray it’s the best one yet! 🙂

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 31, 2009 6:49 pm

    to you, too niecey! Happy New Year!

  24. nancy permalink
    December 31, 2009 8:02 pm

    Hi there Mystery!!! Just wanted to stop in and wish you and your great family a safe and Happy New Year!!!! I am really looking forward to a year of new beginnings. I just want to say thank you again for being there for me and always being warm and kind, again thank you!

    I do have a request Mystery, do you think I could have one of your first copies of the book you will be writing, that’s right you heard me, I love that way you write and I would flip out if I could read a book written by you. (I’m an avid reader by the way) How about it!!!!!! Oooooo I can’t wait!!!!

    God Bless!!!!!

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    December 31, 2009 8:42 pm

    nancy

    you are such a sweetheart!! I promise, if I ever get that book published, you will receive one of the first copies S.W.A.K. Thank you for your encouragement, girlfriend.

    Happy Happy New Year to you and I hope 2010 brings you and your family your heart’s desire.

Leave a Reply

