Skip to content

Georgia parents tattoo their kids–don’t get why they are being charged with a crime…..

January 5, 2010
Vodpod videos no longer available.

Are people really this ignorant?

A Georgia woman and her boyfriend decided it was okay to tattoo a  black cross with a homemade tattoo gun on their 6 children, and they don’t seem to have a clue why they are now in trouble with the law!   Patty Marsh and her boyfriend, Jacob Edward Bartels,  are both covered in homemade tattoos. Marsh says she is proud of  the tattoos Bartels put on her and can’t believe she was arrested.

“We have kids from separate marriages, ok?  So, I mean, I have 4 and then he has 3, but they are all ours, you know?  It’s like—anyway, so, I mean, they wanted one, so we were like, “ok!”  It’s a little bitty cross right here, ok? (points between the thumb and forefinger)

“I don’t understand why this got blowed up so big. I love my children. We would never do anything to harm our kids.”

Chattooga County Sherriff, John Everett, said Marsh and Bartels went too far by tattooing the children–one child is 10, two are 11, a 12 year old, a 15 year old, and a 17 year old.

Everett said the children were tattooed with a black cross on their hand in the web between their thumb and forefinger using a homemade gun that is plugged into an electrical outlet. The tattoo gun works with an electric motor, wiring, an  ink pen barrel, a sharpened piece of guitar string for the needle,  and a bottle of black ink for coloring. Everett said the needle was used on all six children by Bartels.  Blood tests were conducted on all of them to find out if they were infected.

Apparently the mother of some of Jacob Bartels children discovered the tattoos.

“The mother picked the two children up and noticed the marks on their hand, and she brought it to our investigator’s attention, and we did the investigation and found there was six children,” Everett said.

Marsh and Bartels are charged with illegally tattooing their children, cruelty to children, and reckless conduct.

“I don’t think we did anything wrong. This is crazy, and this is blowed up so bad,” Marsh said.

It’s a crime in Georgia for anyone under 18 years old to be tattooed.

I read stories like this and all I can do is shake my head in disbelief that a parent can be so reckless with their kids. Never mind that it’s against the law–how could you let your children be tattooed with a dirty guitar string needle with a makeshift tattoo gun that God knows how many people may have used  before them?  Plus, there’s a reason you have to wait until you are an adult to get a tattoo. Chance of infection aside, tattoos are permanent unless you are willing to spend the big bucks to have them changed from a tattoo to a scar!  How could a kid intelligently make a decision to PERMANENTLY brand his body?

GEEZ!!

http://www.wesh.com/news/22129969/detail.html

8 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    January 5, 2010 4:25 pm

    Hey Mystery! This story is so amazing. Do these people have brains? I’m amazed. I’m wondering if they should even have driver’s licenses? Poor kids.

  2. Hadley permalink
    January 5, 2010 5:43 pm

    Hi Mystery,
    This is absolutely awful! Those poor children. I hate tatoos on anyone. I think they are trashy, and remind me of “prisoners”….

    I just hope some caring citizen where the children live will take up a donation or something to get that garbage removed!

  3. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 5, 2010 8:28 pm

    Hey Niecey!

    Just amazes me how so many parents think they literally “own” their children and therefore can do anything they want to them. Then, they are shocked when they find out they can’t!

    Some people never come to the realization that we do not “own” our children. They are not ours to do with as we please. They are on loan from God–a gift. Not possessions.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 5, 2010 8:33 pm

    Hi Hadley!

    I guess these folks thought it was ok since it was a cross……
    I’m not a big tattoo fan for anyone either, although two of my sons have a tattoo on their backs. One is very straight-laced and the other is more unconventional and they both think it’s ok. It’s a generational thing I suppose. Although, I have to tell you, I toyed with having a small cross or my favorite quote (a scripture actually) tattooed on my shoulder where you couldn’t see it…..I chickened out, plus all my kids (including the two with a tattoo) threatened to dis-own me if I did it! lol

  5. niecey456 permalink
    January 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    Amen to that Mystery! You hit the nail on the head and I wish some of these folks would learn it.
    I’m not one much for tattoos either. I don’t have the courage either. My rebellion when I was young was three earrings in each ear. If I had it to do over I wouldn’t have done the 3rd set as they were very painful and gave me a hard time. Never would I pierce anything else and I couldn’t do a tat. I have 2 sons that have tats too. I would not allow them to do it until they were old enough to make the choice to do it. Over 18. Not on my watch. As you stated they do many times have regrets.

  6. Spacely permalink
    January 6, 2010 9:12 am

    In a related story, Patty Marsh and her boyfriend, Jacob Edward Bartels, don’t understand why Chlorox with Bleach Alternative is not an acceptable Kool-Aid mixer for their kids.

    “I mean, geez, it’s Bleach Alternative, not real Bleach”, Marsh said, “This is all blowed up out of portions.”

    The couple is also at odds with the authorities over their choice of bedding for the children.

    “We have kids from separate marriages, ok? So, I mean, I have 4 and then he has 3, but they are all ours, you know? It’s like— where are they all posed to sleep? We can’t afford that many beds. What’s wrong with hanging them upside down by ropes around their ankles for ate or tan hours? It’s a little rope burn right here, ok?” (points to cankle)

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 6, 2010 9:54 am

    Spacely–LOL! It is as incredulous as the suggestion that a parent might use bleach as a Kool-Aid mixer to think any adult is ignorant enough to tattoo their 10 year old with a dirty guitar wire dipped in what looks like a filthy ink bottle and believe it is no big deal! If this mother truly doesn’t think there was a problem with what she did, then I hope her punishment includes long-term parenting classes.

  8. Nick permalink
    September 3, 2010 4:12 am

    Very mean!

    http://uglymetalkids.com/site/is-it-wrong-to-get-a-tattoo/

Leave a Reply

