Skip to content

Video and transcript released in Lee Anthony’s deposition in Zenaida Gonzales suit

February 27, 2009

lee-anthony-swearing-in-deposition1

read the transcript:

lee anthony deposition transcript part 1

lee anthony deposition transcript part 2

watch the video:

lee anthony deposition video part 1

lee anthony deposition video part 2

lee anthony deposition video part 3

lee anthony deposition video part 4

lee anthony deposition video part 5

62 Comments leave one →
  1. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 27, 2009 5:36 pm

    Well, I just finished watching the videos. He actually said, “To this day I believe everything my sister tells me!” That’s what he said! I think Lee Anthony is a goof.

  2. The Lunitic is on the Grass permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:08 pm

    Would we have expected anything else from this bunch of whackos.Just wait till the other 2 give there depositions,they got it all rehearsed.Going to come back to bite em in the ass.

  3. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:14 pm

    And what’s with the inappropriate laughing? Is it because he’s nervous? Or because he’s crazy?

    I know I shouldn’t judge him, but seriously . . . how can anyone keep a straight face while saying that they “believe everything that Casey tells them!” Geeeeeeeeezzz . . .

  4. MAND permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:36 pm

    Does he believe everything she tells everyone else?? She has said some pretty bad things about him..wonder what he says about that??
    If the other two feel the same it’s no surprise they are in the situation they now find themselves..!! Can it be that anyone..brother or whoever..really be that stupid?? I find that rather hard to believe…do you think he might be lying?? Well..after-all it does run in the family.JMO..

  5. niecey456 permalink
    February 27, 2009 6:49 pm

    IMO, I think now that they have found Caylee, the stories have changed. This was not his story of her honesty prior to that. I would imagine the other 2 may do the same. Hey Mand, And Everyone!
    BTW, Mystery, love the new design.

  6. ostella permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:07 pm

    I find Lees inappropriate laughter really creepy. I don’t quite know what to make of that…

  7. niecey456 permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:16 pm

    I wonder if it’s a sign of dishonesty?

  8. ostella permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:37 pm

    Hi over here, too, Niecey! 🙂

  9. niecey456 permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:38 pm

    Hey Ostella! Hello Everyone!

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 27, 2009 8:14 pm

    I’m listening to the deposition now. I, too, find it so hard to believe that Lee believes Casey. I don’t think he does. How could he? He knows what a liar she is. Maybe he just can’t bear to face the fact that his sister may have killed his niece. The laughing I think is just nervous laughter. Some people laugh under pressure. I used to laugh when I was about to get a paddling from my Dad when I was little. It would make him furious, but I couldn’t help it. I didn’t really think it was funny, but I couldn’t control it. It always got me an extra swat.

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 27, 2009 8:17 pm

    Thanks about the design, Niecey. I really like it too. Lots easier to read, I think.

  12. LVSusie permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:30 pm

    Did you hear where Lee said that Casey has gone on the record and said that she lied about leaving Caylee at the Sawgrass Apts? Is this true did she tell the police that she lied about Sawgrass?

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 27, 2009 10:07 pm

    Good question, Susie. I know that Leonard Padilla said she told his guy that Caylee was snatched in Blanchard Park by Zanny. I don’t remember whether she ever admitted it to police or not. Maybe someone else can answer that.

  14. ostella permalink
    February 27, 2009 10:36 pm

    That is a good question…I don’t know if she ever officially changed her story to LE. But even so, this info Lee has divulged can be used against her in a variety of ways. If the abduction NOW occured at JBP (by Lee’s sworn depo), I would think that prosecutors could now definitely bring in her “non-reaction” to the bag of bones being pulled outta the river there, and contrast it to the anxiety attack caught on tape when the actual remains were found. She herself has now deemed JBP the REAL ABDUCTION SITE…so can’t they definitely bring the two reactions into evidence now?

  15. LVSusie permalink
    February 27, 2009 11:00 pm

    ostella good one never thought about that.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 27, 2009 11:01 pm

    Hi ostella!

    Great point you made. If Zaneida nabbed Caylee in Blanchard Park wouldn’t she have freaked when Lenny found the bag in the Econ? A normal person would have if that story was true. I would think the two reactions could definitely be brought into evidence but I’m not a lawyer. Where’s our paralegal?

  17. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    February 28, 2009 4:20 am

    Watched all the videos..can anyone tell me how “Zanny” could change Casey’s password to “Timer55” {maybe I am computer dumb – hi!}
    It should be easy for LE to find the so called “deleted” posts etc..they have the hard drive.

    When Z told Casey she was going to take Caylee to “teach her a lesson” WHY OH WHY didn’t Casey snatch up Caylee & run like hell?????????

    If Bozo thinks a jury will believe any of the above {after the remains were found in December} then methinks he is digging himself a very very deep hole {will keep an eye on my garden..if it is deep enough you never know where he might pop up!}

  18. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 28, 2009 9:12 am

    Let me chime in about your new page design, Mystery. I really like it and I agree it’s very easy to read.

    As far as Lee Anthony goes, I have been wondering lately if there is something wrong with him. Besides the inappropriate laughing and the incredible statements!!! Like maybe he’s developmentally challenged in some way.

  19. The lunitic is on the Grass permalink
    February 28, 2009 11:41 am

    Well,well. more anthony BULLSHIT.of course you believe the ignorant slut,yer guilty of something Lee,just can not pin it down yet.Anyone figger out what he thought was so funny,lie’n SOB.
    When they put him on the stand,he’s gonna hang her,lie after lie.There not finished with him yet either.
    Lets get the other 2 in for deposition,fragile my ass.They asked for it they got it.\
    As for the shoes in the bag ,they find fluids on em thats game over for the Spacecase..see you in court on Mon.

  20. LVSusie permalink
    February 28, 2009 2:55 pm

    Just finished listening to part 5 of Lee’s depo, hmmm J Blanchard Park I have never heard police even talk about that at all only the Sawgrass Apt is where Casey left Caylee. I think she thought about what the police knew about Sawgrass apts that no one lived there for a certain amount of days so that story wasnt going to fly so she made up the JB Park. And they finally got him to admit that Casey does lie, so how can he believe everything she says??

  21. February 28, 2009 3:47 pm

    I wrote about Jay Blanchard Park on my first post about this case, November 13, and that Casey said Caylee was taken there. I don’t know exactly where the info came from off the top of my head, but it was credible enough to write it. My guess is that it came from a police report.

    My point is that I documented it back then and I’m certain I wasn’t the only one. I said that she had changed her story from Sawgrass. I hope that clarifies it a little.

    I went to the park the day Padilla was there with the dive team and I had a chance to talk to him and take pictures.

  22. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 28, 2009 3:50 pm

    Hey! Great point, lunatic! Let’s see them dance their way out of Caylee’s decomposed body found on Casey’s shoes! Please God make it happen!!!

  23. BEES KNEES permalink
    February 28, 2009 3:53 pm

    Oh, look!!! Earlier today I thought there was only the three videos available to watch and I was wondering, Why are people saying there are five parts?” Now I see them. Must go listen to Storytime with the Uni-brow. heh heh heh . . .

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 4:44 pm

    Bees Knees–

    Just now able to settle in and catch up on posts. I’m glad I started with this one. I can always count on you to make me smile! LOL. (and thanks about the new page design)

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 4:48 pm

    If I remember correctly, it was Leonard Padilla that first mentioned J. Blanchard Park. When they were staying at the house after she was released from jail on bond, she told JD or RD or someone like that, that Zenaida and her sister threw her on the ground at J. Blanchard Park and took Casey to “teach her a lesson.” That was way back in September or October? I don’t recall LE ever talking about it, though they could have and I don’t remember.

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 4:49 pm

    Interesting Dave-about you going to watch the dive team and getting to meet Lenny.

  27. February 28, 2009 5:16 pm

    Yes, itsamysterytome, because I was just hoping to get a few pictures to send a friend who was (and still is) nuts about Nancy Grace and the Tot Mom stuff. She and her husband live in south Florida. I was in the area working that morning and I figured, what the heck. I had been blogging for a few years and I decided to write about my experience that day and all of a sudden, more Anthony posts began flowing.

    Padilla was a nice guy, by the way, and even offered lunch.

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 6:24 pm

    I had a feeling he was genuinely a nice fella. I like Padilla–although I think his usefulness has been over for quite awhile as far this case goes. He is what he is and makes no bones about it. You have to admire that in a person–or at least I do.
    Bet your friend was thrilled.

  29. February 28, 2009 7:16 pm

    itsamysterytome, my memory says to me what you said about the Blanchard park story and Padilla. At that point Baez stopped her from talking to LE so it is not in any of the recordings.

    I am starting to think I see a new type of law case scenario developing here and it is not a joke. You simply lie about everything, everything you say. It’s like the old game when you say “everything I say is a big lie and that is the truth”. Something like that anyway. If there are so many lies it would be very hard to come back and say this was a lie and that was a lie, they just become un-credible witnesses. They make fools out of themselves but they all get off the hook.

  30. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 7:57 pm

    Now that is a chilling thought.

  31. thecla permalink
    February 28, 2009 9:15 pm

    I have read the deposition and I noticed that when Lee was searching for Casey at a bar on one particular night, he failed to catch her there but was able to get her on the phone and he said she lied to him about where she was. She said she was in Jacksonville and he said, “No you are not. I know you are not.” I guess he just chooses when it is convenient to believe her lies. She must have some kind of hold over all of them or they are in the most denial of any people I have even seen. All I can think of is that sweet little child, gone too soon.

  32. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 9:19 pm

    thecla

    I, too, find it amazing that he can sit there and completely contradict himself and I suppose think no one will notice. I think the all 3 of them have spent their lives covering for Casey and that’s all they know how to do.

  33. thecla permalink
    February 28, 2009 9:45 pm

    Lee also said something else in the deposition that was interesting. He was asked about using the initials CMA at the service for Caylee and he said there are women in my life with those initials, my mother, Casey and Caylee. I thought, that can’t be who you really meant because Caylee is not and was not a “woman”, she was a child. His mother was standing right there by him, so he meant it to be for Casey. At first I did not want to believe that but after hearing him say what he did in the deposition, I am inclined to believe he meant it only for Casey. I am beginning to believe these people did not deserve this little angel Caylee that they had. Isn’t anybody in that family ever going to stand up for her?

  34. thecla permalink
    February 28, 2009 10:03 pm

    its a mystery to me:
    Yes, I think you are right, they have made a habit of covering for Casey and old habits die hard but someday they may have to face the truth instead of making up excuses for her (Casey). How can they look at that child’s beautiful eyes and hear that sweet little voice singing, ‘You are my Sunshine” and not contrast that with Casey’s lack of emotion and lack of action when her daughter was missing?

  35. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 28, 2009 10:55 pm

    thecla-

    The moment Lee used the initials C.M.A. I felt he was speaking to Casey. I think he thought Casey was watching the service and he was speaking to her. There has been speculation that the laptop he had at the podium was online. It was stated that Jose was with Casey at the jail during the memorial. He has been allowed to take his laptop in when he sees her. I would not be surprised to learn that this was how she watched the memorial.

    I tell ya, it breaks my heart every time I see the video of her singing that.

    I’m going to call it a night! Good night!

  36. thecla permalink
    February 28, 2009 11:09 pm

    itsamysterytome:
    It breaks my heart too. Thanks for having this blog and goodnight.

  37. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 1, 2009 12:38 am

    Hello Mystery..what baffles me is WHY the jail ALLOWS Bozo to bring his laptop??? Obviously the Ants are all communicating via this mode!

    BUT all phone calls and visits have to be monitored!!! I believe that Bozo is not allowed to bring a phone…THEN WHY can he bring a laptop?

    I suspect someone will tell me that it is Lawyer/Client confidentiality, but to me it appears to be a BLATANT misuse of the rules.

    I realize that Florida has the Sunshine Law which is very relaxed..is this the only State that allows laptops???

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 7:26 am

    Thanks thecla!

    Hi Jill

    It’s my understanding that it’s up to individual jails. I could be wrong though. Does anyone know for sure?

    I think you are absolutely right that this is how Casey is communicating with her family.

  39. March 1, 2009 7:32 am

    The jail does not allow laptops, Baez had to submit a motion to the judge to get it approved. The judge apparently did approve it.

  40. March 1, 2009 7:33 am

    To add to that, it is not known if there is wifi there????

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 7:53 am

    Good morning John!

    I see we’re both early risers! Or at least I am–I’m an hour behind you.

    I couldn’t remember the details on this and had to go look it up. The jail rescinded their previous no laptop policy and decided to allow private attorneys to bring theirs in right before Baez was set to file a motion asking for personal permission. That’s where I got the idea that it must be up to the individual jails. I’m assuming Baez couldn’t have been the only reason the jail decided to change it’s policy and other attorneys had complained as well.

    http://www.wftv.com/news/18052701/detail.html#-

  42. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 1, 2009 8:16 am

    I’m angry to think that the Anthony’s are still being treated better than anyone else. Why would a judge allow this? I hope you’re right mystery, and that the new rule applies to everyone!

  43. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 8:45 am

    Good morning, Bees Knees!

    According to the news article:

    “…the jail told Eyewitness News it has suddenly changed its laptop policy. They will allow private attorneys to carry in their computers starting next month.”

    Sounds like they did change the rules for everyone. (This was in November, so starting last December Baez was allowed to bring a laptop in according to this)

  44. March 1, 2009 11:06 am

    Thanks for clearing that up as I hated to think Baez was getting special treatment.

  45. MAND permalink
    March 1, 2009 11:40 am

    Good Afternoon All..
    After the memorial it is obvious they have communications with KC. the funeral plans KC made and of course Cindy did not carry out..but I do think this is how they keep in touch…no recordings this way it stays private.

  46. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 1, 2009 12:04 pm

    Oh, thanks, Mystery!

  47. Augie permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:11 pm

    My first gut reaction to the Lee (and most likely his parents too) is he STILL believes his sister’s claims that “a” Zenaida took (and not said, killed) Caylee . . .

    Well if that’s the case . . why isn’t the Anthony family screaming on America’s airwaves (as they did in the past) to demand the search for the “real” Zenaida they claim still took (and not said, killed) Caylee?

    Cindy’s public accusations that Caylee was kidnapped by Zenaida that Zanny the nanny and made several statements that Zenaida was the nanny for a year and a half – intimating that she knew OF Zenaid Fernandez Gonzales prior to this “kidnapping”

    . . .yet we hear Lee in the deposition – casually and glibbly = admit the first time he ever heard the name was the first time his parents ever heard the name: Zanny aka Zenaida Fernandez Gonzalez at the time Casey was making the accusations to the police.

    Cindy, etal . . . never once in their plethora of public statements and luxury trips to other cities and TV shows . . . stated they’d never heard of Zanny the nanny UNTIL Casey was communicating it to the police.

  48. Augie permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:12 pm

    sorry about typo/sentence mash-ups

  49. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    Augie, I think Lee said it was the first time he had heard the name “Zenaida Fernandez Gonzales” and he assumed it was the first time his parents had heard it–though he said Cindy later stated she knew of the nanny.

    I think it is so revealing that no one from that family has been in front of the cameras or at least put their “people” in front of the cameras with a composite of the “real” Zanny while demanding everyone look for Caylee’s real murderer. Why haven’t they opened a Zenaida tip line and followed up on sightings? Where is their outrage that their daughter is being falsely accused of murder while the real murderer is still out there?

  50. Susan permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    Since, as Mike stated, NONE of the Anthony clan or their spokes people nor LAWYERS have made demands of ANY law enforcement agency to find their “real” Zenaida, the nanny/kidnapper we can assume it is the same reason Jose Baez has not had press releases and television statement/demands to find the “real” Zenaida either.

    If any one noted above thought that there was a “real” Zenaida with keys to Anthony’s home as Lee stated Casey stated she had . . . they all WOULD be screaming from the roof tops to the very compliant press the Anthony’s and their reps and filing endless accusations against ALL law enforcement agencies for shirking their jobs as they did until
    ooky dead snake and skull embedded with plant roots were found down their own street.

  51. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 1:44 pm

    Mand–

    I think you are as right as rain. There is no way in the world that Cindy would go this long without having some sort of communication with Casey.

  52. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 1:48 pm

    Susan-

    We are definitely on the same page. The big question for me is if this is the story the defense is going to try and get Casey off with, why isn’t he doing just that–alerting the media-passing out fliers with her composite on it, etc.(Didn’t Casey say early on a police artist drew up her description of Zenaida?)

  53. Susan permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:01 pm

    Yup, I do recall Cindy telling the police that Casey called from cell phone to (lie) say that she was going to a hospital to be with Zanny who was in auto accident whilst Casey was driving behind Zanny’s car.

    All bull, as we know but yup, Cindy did make that recorded statement during police interview.

    But my instincts standfirm: We witnessed the Anthony’s and their cabal of talking heads talking points patronize the Zanny the Nanny story; their dog and pony show falls flat for the simple reason they are making NO EFFORT to find the manufactured “real” Zenaida Fernandez Gonzales that mystically and magically had the same NY state license plate who mystically appeared at the Sawgrass Apartment complex just like the one the family has interred in a homeless shelter and terrified of death threats.

    Let us not forget: Casey gave THIS Zenaida’s NY license plate TO the police in her earliest communications with the officers.

    She had two premeditated victims being set up for her new tattoo’s message to have real meaning . . . It’s a beautiful life for her to put some other mother behind bars while pole dancing miles from her own child’s corpse.

  54. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:03 pm

    Knowing that Zanaida’s running out and about freely with keys to their home have they even changed their locks?

  55. Susan permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:35 pm

    Reading and listening to the transcript: Lee casually talks of his sister’s friends and his having been mutual before she graduated high school.

    For a family to made umpteem claims to be so loving, close and perverse wrist kissing worthy enough to be backing up each others lies and lives of crime: how is he doesn’t know his sister DID NOT graduate from high school — a fact Cindy used against Casey when Jesse Grunde was sitting on her sofa during a Cindy tirade.

    Even one of the many boy toys Miss Helium In Her Heels was “dating” that was interviewed by the PD stated he dumped Casey BECAUSE she didn’t have a high school diploma and lied about going to college.

    It seems they one and all manufacture a life style of which they wish they were accustomed to so much so they even lie about what level of education each other has.

  56. MAND permalink
    March 1, 2009 3:29 pm

    Why isn’t Kid Finders out there with all the info printed on the side of that van..and like you said passing out fliers with her description on them?? Kid Finders aren’t busy looking for anyone and they are all such good friends..help old G&C out!
    Someone should ask if the locks on the house were replaced. It’s interesting how they worked in that Zenaida now has keys to the house..that being said after Caylee was found and LE got a search warrant for the house and there was evidence that things that were with Caylee’s remains came from the house..Cindy is going to let someone she doesn’t know have keys to her house?? Wonder if the neighbors ever seen Zenaida coming and going from the A’s home???PLEASE..LE IS NOT AS DUMB AS G7C!!!

  57. MAND permalink
    March 1, 2009 4:20 pm

    OOPS..that was G&C Not7

  58. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 1, 2009 5:08 pm

    Lee’s description of Cindy when Casey told her Zenaida had a key really had me shaking my head in disbelief. She was okay with it and understood?? Who the heck would be okay with a perfect stranger they’ve never met having a key to their house? I don’t care if she babysat my grandchild or not, I do not hand out keys to my house and I would be absolutely furious if one of my grown kids gave someone–ANYONE a key to my house without my knowledge or permission. Just all bull corn.

  59. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 1, 2009 7:30 pm

    You’re right mystery. It is ridiculous! And now that she knows it was Zanny who murdered Caylee don’t tell me she hasn’t had the locks changed by now? Wouldn’t they be frightened knowing a killer is on the loose with keys to their home?

    It’s crap like that that just kills me! They are lying out of both sides of their mouth but you can see right through them because they are so dumb.

  60. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 1, 2009 7:31 pm

    Oooops! I see I made the same point twice.

  61. thecla permalink
    March 1, 2009 9:42 pm

    I checked out Baez’s website. None of the links work. If his security does not not work any better, I bet it is just a matter of time until someone hacks into his laptop and sells what they uncover. Then Baez will use it to Casey’s advantage. If a 16 year old kid can hack into Nasa computers, it can happen.

  62. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 1, 2009 10:26 pm

    G’day my lovelies..thanks for the wftv 24th Nov article re the jail changing their policy on laptops {J.I.F I’m glad it wasn’t Judge Stan Strickland..[I like him.]}. I’m still ANGRY about this..it makes a mockery of taping visits/phone calls.

    Ok I’ll bite..what is “wifi?” is it some form of connection to the internet? Please correct me if I am wrong…but can’t Bozo download the info at his office..store it in the ‘puter’s memory then replay it to Casey WITHOUT being connected to the internet??

    Can anyone tell me if hair-folicle tests were done on the entire Anthony family…this would prove conclusively all drug use with ~ dates/qty etc..{Same for all the rellies of Haleigh}..sure would make it easier for LE.

    The reason I ask the above is….Casey told Lee that Zanny took Caylee to “teach Casey a lesson.” LESSON FOR WHAT???…did she owe for drugs?..was it blackmail?…I sure hope the prosecutors ask these questions…IMO there has to be a reason.

    Guess I am very inquisitive today…l♥v to all ♫Jill♫

Leave a comment