Skip to content

Florida Bar clears Jose Baez of ethics violations

September 1, 2009

The Florida Bar has come back with their decision on the ethics allegations against Jose Baez that were made by Dominic Casey.  The Bar’s Grievance Committee has determined there was “insufficient evidence” that Jose Baez did anything wrong.

Casey brought two grievances against Baez.

One was related to the discussion he had with Baez about not calling 911 if he found Caylee during his search. It concerned a discussion the investigator said he had with Baez about doing something other than calling 911 if he found the missing toddler. Baez told the Bar that he  didn’t remember that conversations and that he would never tell Dominic Casey to walk away and call him if he found the child.

The second issue Casey brought before the Bar dealt with payment for his services.  Baez advised the committee that he would review appropriate invoices and discuss them with the investigator.

photo of CaseyBaez said he was pleased with how the investigation ended.jose baez mug shot

“I think we’ve had plenty of unsubstantiated accusations in this case,” Baez said. “And it only motivates me to fight harder.”

read it here:    orlandosentinel

Well, shoot.  I thought since it took soooo long for the Bar to make their decision, we might have a different result.

Looks like Jose conveniently convinced them he had a brain fart and honestly(??)  couldn’t remember telling Casey to not call 911! (yeah, right)   And why had he not already gone through his records to see if he paid Dominic before he went before the Bar??

Guess Jose Baez is gonna be in this for the long haul— But, hey!  What better lawyer could Casey Anthony have?  His bumbling incompetence and amazing ego will put the last nail in her coffin, IMO.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:37 am

    Hiya Mystery…I notice that nothing was mentioned about ♥Judge Strickland’s complaint. Do we think the two complaints were the same? If so why not mention ♥Stan??

    Like I said on your previous post RATZ!!!!

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  2. Laura permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:39 am

    I don’t understand the violation on paying the fees to D. Casey, Jose has had almost one year and made 0 payments to him. Now he wants to go over invoices, makes no sense. I guess that is why I am not on ethics board, I have higher expectations then they do obviously. I guess in a way this means Casey can’t say ineffective counsel when she gets convicted for the rest of her life? Maybe.

  3. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:46 am

    Hiya Laura…good point…I wonder if the fee was to prove whether DC was in the employ of JB at the time of the complaint?

    Maybe we should both be on the ethics committee :mrgreen:

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  4. Laura permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:51 am

    Jill I think D. Casey worked for Jose until October. From Hoover’s testimony Jose never paid D.Casey a dime. I don’t understand how he keeps sliding by on his non-payment of bills. I wish I was as smooth as Baez that way I could ignore my bills and get by with it for 1 year! Hugs By the way good morning ladies!

  5. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:59 am

    ♫Good morning my l♥velies♫ Thanks for the reminder Laura.

    Bozo is certainly a slippery/sneaky lawyer…I sure hope the Bar at least told him off for wasting their time over his unpaid bills. There has to have been more to it…surely you dont complain to the Bar if you don’t get paid…why not just set the debt collectors after him. Hmmmmm methinks there is more to this than meets the eye…OR…maybe I’m just bored waiting for some juicy info to come out 😆

  6. Id'claire permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:04 am

    Dominic Casey probably feels pretty dissed by Baez now. He’s the loser in this situation. It came down to he said/he said with the phone call. But Baez said he’s check his invoices about Casey’s paycheck… either he got paid or not!! Why would the bar let that one go? Unless paid “under the table” with no verification. Then Baez says the accusations are trumped up?? just because there’s insufficient? Let’s hear Casey’s side on this!! Go ahead, Casey, write a book!!

  7. September 1, 2009 7:16 am

    Good am. Fla has so many bogus law suits that they probably have to keep even the lousy/crooked lawyers to handle all of their cases.

  8. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:29 am

    Oh my God. He will be insufferable now!!! Can that smirk be any wider or any more insolent? God if they don’t stop Baez from practising law who the hell would they stop??? Is there anything else going on besides what we know? Why is the defense just running roughshod all over this case? No doubt it will definately go to court now unless Lyon can persuade Casey to take a plea. There will be an awful lot of bloggers disappointed with this decision (including me) but we have to still hang on to what we know to be true and that is Casey murdered her daughter Caylee and she WILL NOT go free.

  9. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:33 am

    Jill, I can’t help but feel there’s more to this as well. But I don’t trust my own judgement any more. I was sure Bozo would get at least a reprimand. Why is it so hard to seek justice for Caylee’s life? This is sickening and I hope the emails fly fast and furious to the Florida Bar. Not that they’ll care obviously but it might make us feel a bit better. I’m going to go look for an email address.

  10. Spacely permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:03 am

    What kind of investigation is concluded before anyone verifies if the man was paid?

    I think if he was not paid, that would negate any contract he had with Jose and would free him up to talk about anything he likes as attorney-client work product privelege would no longer apply.

    Too bad D. Casey was not as smart as Hoover, who would have recorded the conversations with Jose by leaving a cell phone open and recording on a table or his video camera ‘accidentally’ running or his laptop webcam on Record.

  11. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:08 am

    flabarwm@flabar.org

  12. ostella permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:16 am

    Unbelievable……

    Well, if anything he’ll now be so overconfident and brazen, he’ll be his own worst enemy, as well as his client’s….

  13. mikka permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:18 am

    bozo win this round,but its not over till its over!

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 1, 2009 9:11 am

    Good Morning, everyone!

    I, for one, would like to see the letter the Bar has written concerning this. As far as I can tell, it hasn’t been posted yet.

    Someone refresh my memory.Wasn’t Strickland’s complaint the same as D. Casey’s? That was my understanding, Jill. But, maybe I’m wrong. If it was the same as D. Casey’s I suppose, that would make Strickland’s a moot point.

    I don’t know why anyone is surprised that Baez gets away with paying his bills. I seem to recall that he has had issues with paying his bills from waaaayyyy back when.

    Although, it’s a shame he keeps getting away with stuff–including his own incompetency, I still say Casey Anthony has the lawyer she deserves.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 1, 2009 9:12 am

    Spacely–

    I guess the Bar is saying, whether or not Dominic Casey gets paid or not is not an ethics issue.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 1, 2009 9:14 am

    Thanks for the link, Bees!

  17. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:14 am

    I think the only thing that’s going to cheer us up is if Strickland allows the check fraud case to be held before the murder trial. If he did that I think we’d all feel a bit better. And if he doesn’t, well . . . that just means one more victory for the defense on top of a lot of other victories.

  18. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:16 am

    Casey has the lawyer she deserves. Truer words were never spoken, Mystery!

  19. ostella permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:26 am

    Bees, how’s the foot? Did you fly home? 🙂

  20. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 9:52 am

    The foot is great. Never hurt once when the cast was on and now that it’s off, it hurts cause I’m putting weight on it for the first time in six weeks. But I did fly home and that was cool but because only my right foot sprouted wings (my left foot never did) I looked like one of those swooping, drunk-looking woodpeckers!!! Home now and it looks like my wings are getting smaller already!

  21. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 10:12 am

    Laura, good morning! I have to say it is nice to “chat” with you here where you are not spoken to in a condesending or sarcastic manner. LOL! You must be the most patient woman in the world to put up with so much for so long. Yes, we all agree that the Anthonys are dirty liars. They were before Casey killed Caylee and they will continue to be imo forever.

    And if you’re interested in the legal aspects of this case I would recommend Blink On Crime. There are more than just a couple lawyers and very intelligent legal-type people there and you’ll find them to be completely in line with how we feel about the case and the Anthonys. You won’t have to constantly be defending your own opinions which is really nice. Hope to see you there some time. Cheers!

  22. MAND permalink
    September 1, 2009 12:34 pm

    Good Afternoon Mystery and Ladies…
    I am really shocked by the news.. I was so sure that the Bar was going to at least find something…looks like he got away with another one.
    One down and one to go…Mac-Loser…wonder if the Calif. Bar will be as forgiving as the Fl. Bar???

  23. Diana permalink
    September 1, 2009 3:29 pm

    Lol Bees Knees*
    I laughed when I read about the perceived cockiness of Baez after this decision in his favor. Can this mans head get any BIGGER? I just keep thinking of that smirk turning into a frown when the jury says…..Life in prison for Miss Casey Marie Anthony!!! *No chance of parole EVER. He will appeal constantly. The Anthonys will try to stay in the spotlight……..crying about an unfair trial. This case will never die.

  24. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 1, 2009 5:08 pm

    I would not be surprised if Strickland decides to hold off on the check fraud case, but I guess we shall see.

    What happened to your foot, Bees? I’ve missed something somewhere. I need to catch up on my reading on some of the other blogs!

    Mand, surely MacLoser will at least get a slap on the wrist! Our boy Bozo didn’t even get that.

    Diana–I hope your vision of the future really comes true! lol

  25. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:09 pm

    Diane, can the toad be any more puffed up about himself than he already is? GAH!!! Not to worry, though. Goodness will always prevail. “Goodness” would be a word unfamiliar to Baez and the Ants.

  26. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:13 pm

    Mystery, I just had foot surgery and was left with a non-weight bearing cast, so for the past 5-6 weeks I’ve been careering around my home in a wheelchair and I just got the cast off yesterday. I think every door frame in my home now needs paint touch-ups, I’ve collided into them so many times! LOL!!! Never once rolled over a kitty-cat’s tail though.

    Bees,
    I’m sorry about your foot surgery! But, I’m very glad to know your kitty cat has retained it’s tail throughout the ordeal! LOL

  27. Laura permalink
    September 1, 2009 7:20 pm

    Hey Bees thank you I will check out Blink. Some days it is he!! being me, guess I am opinionated! O’well lol, I just move on! No I don’t I argue til I get my point across.

  28. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:09 am

    Hiya all my l♥velies…Mystery I have been reading many blogs where the general consensus is that ♥Judge Stan’s complaint may actually be different to that of Dom Casey’s. I’m very curious that Stan’s name is not mentioned in any of the many articles I have read so I guess we will have to wait and see.

    Spacely you raise a very good point…why conclude the investigation before payment verification? Seem to me that the Bar believed Bozo’s loss of memory…not impressed.

    Mind you I’m not impressed by the Bar who made the rulings on the 22nd of July but didn’t post the letter to Bozo until August 26th…thats over one month…boy things are sure laid back.
    In the letter to Dom Casey they refer to Caylee as Casey…check it out

    http://www.wftv.com/news/20667181/detail.html

    Very sloppy 😳

    Bees I love your drunken woody woodpecker description. Expect it to hurt for a while as now the blood is circulating more rapidly than when your hoof was encapsulated. You never did tell us what the operation was for…would I believe you if you said gout? Nawwwwwwww :mrgreen:

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  29. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:22 am

    Check this out…vewy vewy interesting…

    http://www.wesh.com/news/20672110/detail.html

    Hugs ♥♥♥

  30. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    September 2, 2009 6:46 am

    One more thats worth watching…

    http://www.wesh.com/video/20674056/index.html

    Hugs ♥♥♥

    Jill
    I hope you’re right and that complaint is different–and perhaps more compelling than D. Casey’s apparently was.

    Thanks for all the links. I need to catch up on my reading NOW!

  31. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:38 am

    Laura, you sound like a really great person. So what if you’re opinionated? We all are. That’s what these blogs are for. And I really enjoy your opinions. You’re an intelligent woman who has a very close connection to this case because of your own life’s experiences. I seldom read much of what is printed on your other blog as I’m interested in the truth and I know you are too. This blog of Mystery’s is a great one where you will always be treated with respect. Same can be said for Niecey’s.

    And, as I said, I love Blink’s site too, for the same reasons but also because there are a lot of very intelligent LEGAL people there (Maura, Blink, Silver to name a few). I’m completely out of my comfort zone when discussing different aspects of the law so that’s why I appreciate their help. If you’ve never read their comments you are in for a treat. Also, in all the months I’ve been blogging there I have not seen EVEN ONE argument.

    Anyway, nice to see you here, I love your input. And maybe I’ll see you at Blink’s sometime, too. Have a wonderful Wednesday, Laura!


    Thanks Bees! For the most part, the bloggers and commenters in this case are all respectful of each other and also of each other’s opinions! I agree with you about Niecey and Blink.

  32. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:54 am

    Jill, my sweet. Thanks for asking. It was just minor surgery but it got a little more complicated because apparently my bones are soft!!!

    Here’s a comment I pulled from another thread that may help us feel better about the Bar’s ruling:

    “Speaking of Todd Black. Although Baez has been cleared on Casey’s complaint, there is STILL an open bar complaint against the attorney. The complaint involves Baez’s relationship with his former spokesman, a man known as Todd Black, who sent out press releases on Baez’s behalf. Black was later discovered to be a convicted felon. It is not clear when the investigation into that complaint will be complete.

    Does it bother anyone else that everyone in the MSM is missing that there’s one down-one to go?”

    http://www.clickorlando.com/news/20667422/detail.html

    Whoa! I had forgotten about Todd Black! Things may be lookin’ up!

  33. ostella permalink
    September 2, 2009 10:28 am

    Yay! One more chance!

  34. BEES KNEES permalink
    September 2, 2009 10:37 am

    If we’re to learn anything about the media it’s not to believe them. It seems like they just run with whatever they hear first. Don’t they have fact-checkers any more?

    Didn’t you know the papers and news stations are all in trouble financially these days cuz no one watches or reads them–“fact-checkers” were considered “fluff” and they laid em’ all off. That job title was changed to “searchers of sensationalism”–fact verification skills not necessary.

  35. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 7:37 am

    Bee’s you are a sweet-heart! I have a question. I have been thinking a lot about this and researched a bit looking and I can’t find them so my friends WHERE IS LEE’S PHONE RECORDS??? A lot of phone records have been released but I can’t find Lee’s. Lee did search for Casey so I would think that his records would be important? Anyone?!?!?!? Is there any reason why le would not have his?

  36. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 9:21 am

    http://www.wftv.com/news/20705694/detail.html

    I can’t recall Lee’s phone records being released either. I do think I remember that they were subpoenaed.

    And thanks for this link. I was looking for Strickland’s actual ruling!

  37. ostella permalink
    September 3, 2009 9:53 am

    Awesome…..

    That’s excellent news about the fraud case.

    Ostella happy…..

  38. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:10 am

    Ostella I thought you would be dancing and knock walls down to give us all a hug. Darn…. Oh well I have been smiling for about 30 minutes now, love to be a fly on the wall at the A’s house!!!

  39. ostella permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:21 am

    Oh I’m happy! I just did a cheer for Amy on the new thread! 🙂 I hadn’t had much coffee when I first read it, so my enthusiasm probably didn’t shine thru!!

  40. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2009 10:29 am

    I understand about the coffee! I have had my coffee and have now moved on to my tea! No wonder I don’t sleep well.

  41. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 10:37 am

    Hi–behind as usual! And, I HAVE had my coffee, so I have no excuse! I responded within the comment boxes.

  42. G.Wannamaker permalink
    September 3, 2009 5:57 pm

    Per request by itsamysterytome:
    I just located the actual declaration to the Fla. bar on D&A Investigations website http://www.dgator.com
    and http://www.docstoc.com/docs/10715409/Declaration-of-Dominic-Casey—FL-Bar

    3 Key Elements in this:

    P.I. Dominic Casey filed the complaint against Jose Baez, atty., “at the request of Bradley A. Conway” attorney for the Anthonys;

    A third party provided funds to hire an independent investigative team and Baez failed to pay D&A the funds received from the third party;

    And Jose Baez’s directive to P.I. Dominic Casey to not call 911 should he located the body of Caylee Marie Anthony. The buzz is that P.I. Casey recorded this directive and now the networks are in a bidding war for the tape. You would think that an attorney would know that P.I. s record everything because it is their job!

    It appears that Mr. Baez will hear his own words one day…very soon.

  43. itsamysterytome permalink*
    September 3, 2009 6:11 pm

    Wow, G. Thanks for the link.

    I have to say, I’m having trouble understanding why the Bar decided to throw this out. They said they interviewed a lot of people and came to this conclusion. Who did they interview and why did they decide to take Baez on his word for this and why did they allow him to now go back and check his “invoices”? This is all very strange.

    I hope to hell Dominic Casey DID record his conversations with Jose and I hope he plasters them all over the media.

    Thanks for your input.

Leave a comment