Skip to content

Large document dump next week as Baez begins deposing a slew of state’s witnesses, including Amy Huizenga and Kiomarie Cruz

March 27, 2009

A new, large document dump is being prepared for release by the state next week. A spokeswoman for the state attorney’s office said there will be hundreds of pages of new material.

Also, next week Jose Baez will be deposing James Hoover, a security guard for the Anthonys and the man that filmed the Anthony’s PI, Dominic Casey searching in the area where Caylee’s body was later found.  Baez wants to find out more about why Hoover and Dominic Casey were searching there. (Hoover said, in a deposition for the attorney of Zenaida Gonzales, that Dominic Casey told him they were searching for a dead Caylee based on a tip he had  received.)

amy-huzenga3

Amy Huizenga

Baez will also be deposing Amy Huizenga, the woman that Casey stole money from and who took Cindy to where Casey was the night of the 911 call, and childhood friend Kiomarie Kruz.Kruz has

Kiomarie Cruz

Kiomarie Cruz

said that the area where Caylee was found is where they used  to bury their dead pets–complete with heart stickers.  Also, 4 correction officers and 3 Orange County deputies will give sworn testimony.

read it below:

wesh.com

Sounds like Jose is finally gettin’ off his butt and “gettin’ busy”!  For what, still remains to be seen.  According to Nancy Grace tonight,  it’s unusual for a defense attorney to depose the prosecution’s potential star witnesses, and he’s opening up a can of worms by doing it.  It could easily backfire on him.


39 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    March 27, 2009 8:52 pm

    This guy never ceases to amaze me! One minute he’s sold on Casey and when you least expect it, he says or does something that throws her under the bus. I wonder sometimes if he has so little of a case that he could be trying for a mistrial or something, like her going and asking for a new trial because of bad representation. It’s really scary that theatrics have become such a mainstay in criminal defense.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:01 pm

    I think he’s probably still fishing for anything that might give him something to build his case around. For some reason he is determined to defend a “not guilty” plea. Surely he doesn’t still believe (if he ever did) that his client is innocent.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:08 pm

    I agree. Surely he can’t be that dense to still think she’s innocent. Could he???

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 27, 2009 9:28 pm

    Welllll, yesss, he could be that dense, but I doubt he really thinks she’s innocent—–does he?????

  5. niecey456 permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:39 pm

    Wow! I hope not. I think.

  6. Molly permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:43 pm

    I agree mystery, he’s fishing for clues on where he should go with the case. But why is it unusual to depose her? or anyone. I thought he would depose most on the list.

  7. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:37 am

    Goodness…I sat through 3 hours of the Morgan/Hoover depo..should we set aside a couple of days to watch Bozo ineptly question him???

    Thanks Mystery, Niecey, Humble and all for keeping us up to date.

  8. Diana permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:35 am

    Naaaah….Baez KNOWS she is guilty as charged. He just keeps saying she is innocent hoping that someone, anyone, a potential juror will buy that bull. Where’s the nanny Baez? Why is there no massive search for her?

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 8:01 am

    Molly,

    According to Nancy Grace and attys. it’s not in the best interest of a defense attorney to depose a main prosecution witness because he’ll then have her on direct instead of cross-examination in a courtroom. She said he will not be able to ask leading questions. It could act like a “boomerang to the neck” in the middle of the courtroom. She said there’s nothing a prosecutor likes better than to get his own witness on cross-exam. It’s “trial strategy 101”

    I posted the clip from NG in my vodpod at the bottom on the right side of this blog. It’s only a few minutes long if you want to check it out.

  10. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 8:02 am

    Jill–I don’t know if we’ll get to see Baez’ depositions. Does anyone know?

  11. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 8:04 am

    Diana–doesn’t it just blow you away that they’re still saying there’s a zanny the nanny but it’s coming out that none of em’ were looking for her??? Dumb ass people.

  12. BEES KNEES permalink
    March 28, 2009 9:26 am

    Well Baez’s brain is beginning to deteriorate. It was inevitable as he has been intensely infected with Casey Ebola. In the end it will be nothing but gray mush.

    In the meantime, it drives me wild that we watch this evilness unfurl before us and there’s nothing we can do about it. I thank God that there are at least these blogs where we can vent and worry and question and theorize, I really do! I would hate to be watching this travesty all alone!

  13. The lunitic is on the grass permalink
    March 28, 2009 10:27 am

    Go Hose B this is gonna come bite him in the arse big time.

  14. MAND permalink
    March 28, 2009 12:10 pm

    I’m not sure if the depos from a criminal trial would be public..Fl. is so open and different from my state that it may very well be that we will see them.I for one would like to see them!!
    Dumbo just can’t seem to do things in a traditional way..always outside the loop..he thinks he’s that good..it will be done his way..never mind what attorney’s with years of experience say..he’s his own man!! Do you think this was the problem with the Bar exam?? It only took him 8 years to pass it!!! What an ASS!!!

  15. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 28, 2009 1:07 pm

    Hello Mystery and All! I do not understand what it is that Baez is going to accomplish. Wouldn’t he be able to ask any questions he wants at the trial? I am not that law savvy but on my blog I just wondered about this whole deposition thing. So far in the Zenaida Gonzales depositions alot of information has been released and I wondered if it could do anything that could result in Casey walking free? Am I correct that because The Nanny is a civil suit they will release the interviews but not for Casey’s as it is a criminal trial?

    As far as wondering if Baez knows that she is guilty, I am not so sure of that because I don’t think Casey knows she is guilty. She is still waiting to be released because as we all have heard her say, she didn’t do anything. If she did infact confess to him, would that change the way he defended her? Not that I think he is going to do a bang up job at it but just wondering.

  16. ostella permalink
    March 28, 2009 2:54 pm

    Hi everyone! I can’t for the life of me figure this jacka$$ out…my guess here would be he’s setting up for an appeal based on ineffective ASSistance of counsel…
    I really can’t stand this moron…I lined the bottom of my parrots cage with a few pictures of Baez yesterday. This morning I saw he let a few drop right in his mouth. Its been a great day so far… 🙂

  17. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:19 pm

    Bees Knees

    I know exactly what you mean. It’s good to be able to talk about these cases with other people. If we didn’t have that, who knows–we might all catch Casey Ebola Virus!

  18. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:23 pm

    Lunatic–You are soooooo right!!

    Mand

    I haven’t heard anything about being able to see the depositions Baez takes. I suppose if he has to provide them to the state then with the Sunshine Law it will become public knowledge—maybe that only works in the reverse—whatever the state provides the defense becomes public knowledge. Someone that knows will have to enlighten us!

  19. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:31 pm

    That’s the million dollar question, halfpint! I don’t know about the restrictions, if any, with the Sunshine Law.

    I do know that on Nancy Grace (no, I’m not all about Nancy Grace, but she is informative sometimes–and you gotta admit, entertaining most of the time!)that they think Baez is fishing for a defense. He still doesn’t have it worked out how and on what grounds he will defend her and hopes that some of these people will inadvertently provide some fodder for his, as of now, anemic bag of tricks. At least that’s what I think.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 3:32 pm

    Ostella–You always make us laugh! Thanks.

  21. Molly permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:31 pm

    ostella – lol! 🙂 thanks for that one!

    mystery – thanks for the info on how the deposition works, I didn’t know that. I actually watched NG & couldn’t figure out what she was talking about. So, he wants to know what Amy knows & is going to say. He really is an idiot, he could be screwing up his defense.

    I’ve said before that he has set this up for an appeal down the road. He’s getting his attention & media time now & making a name for himself in the latino community (that he keeps bringing up on tv).

  22. Diana permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:38 pm

    Off topic but………..I often wonder, in Caseys twisted mind what she thought was going to happen when the discovery of Caylee being gone for a month came out? I mean, seriously she had a whole month to think about this. Did she honestly think that LE would just ask her a few questions, not follow up on any of them and dismiss this childs kidnapping?

  23. ostella permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:59 pm

    Diana, I have thought about that as well! Her sloppiness in coming up with a plausible “explanation” in those 31 days almost leads me to believe that her parents were gonna be her next victims. Remember she told Amy her parents were splitting up and she was getting the house, and Amy actually changed her address to the Hopespring house in anticipation of moving in? I think in her twisted mind, she was still planning their murder, but Cindy tracked her down and called the cops before she could execute her full plan. I think she was gonna kill all of them and disappear…but mom went and ruined everything…just a thought…

  24. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:04 pm

    Diana, I have always thought Ostella was dead on with her opinion as to how this was going to play out should the Anthony’s have been next and if the car issue never came up. The other thought I have about this is that Casey is beyond understanding. If she is truly a sociopath then she would have had the ability to put the murder of Caylee behind her and move on. In her mind it would have been a part of her past and she could dis associate herself from that. I don’t think she thought further than the moment and, (I apologize but I feel like I keep saying this) again she was never held accountable for anything she did. She does not know the meaning of consequence…

  25. halfpint42592 permalink
    March 28, 2009 6:07 pm

    I hear ya Mystery: I used to be a much bigger fan of Nancy Grace, but she does get the information out when need be. Oh if I was Casey I would be so much more worried about my lawyer than I would any witness…

  26. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:18 pm

    100% agree on that one, halfpint! Baez is out for himself and himself alone.

  27. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:21 pm

    I dunno, Molly. I think his ego is too big to let him even consider that he might not win this thing and set Miss Casey free–thus becoming the power attorney of the century! LOL

  28. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:24 pm

    I think we’ve all wondered about that one Diana. I think Casey truly lived in the moment and like Scarlet, in Gone With The Wind, she compartmentalized it to worry about tomorrow…….After all, she’d gotten away with everything she’d ever done–her mother always made sure of that. That’s not a very good explanation, but it’s the only thing I can think of that would account for her behavior.

    Ostella, I’ve thought you could be right about her planning her parents murder as well, too. The only problem I have with that is that Casey didn’t seem to plan anything. She lived in the moment as Halfpint has said.

    I think the sociopath thing is really the only explanation, and it’s impossible for me to get my mind around a person with no emotion, no feelings for anyone other than themselves, and no conscience.

  29. thecla permalink
    March 28, 2009 8:31 pm

    midnight and everybody,
    I think this blog is saving my mind. I get so mad every time I see Casey that I have to come here and read more and vent.
    ostella, lol, that was so funny about the bird cage papers! I wonder how many people are, at this moment, lining their bird cages with those kind of papers!
    I am sure Baez has something sneaky up his sleeve by putting Amy down as a defense witness. Casey has probably told him something about Amy, true or not, that makes him think she would be an asset to the defense. Going by all the pictures of Casey kissing females, I’m beginning to wonder if she isn’t bisexual.
    Cindy is just plain blind when it comes to her daughter but I have a feeling she will regret it. She probably already does, she is just too stubborn to admit it. I have a hard time understanding why she continues to defend Casey. Cindy should have listened to her own mother. It sounds like she saw the situation more clearly. I keep waiting for someone in that family to stand up for Caylee and if that means throwing Casey under the bus, THROW HER UNDER THE BUS. PLEASE!

  30. thecla permalink
    March 28, 2009 8:47 pm

    Diana,
    I too have wondered what Casey thought would happen when Caylee was finally found to be missing but I think she was more cunning than not. She managed to string everybody along with her lies and thus caused valuable forensic evidence to be lost. Believe me, she knew the longer that poor little child’s body lay there, the less evidence there would be as to the cause of death. She didn’t kill Caylee to “save” her from Cindy. That is total bull! She killed Caylee to spite her mother and because she did not want the responsibility of being a mother. IMO

  31. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 9:25 pm

    thecla–

    you’re up late! Me, too—I’m gettin’ ready to call it a night. I agree with you that Casey has probably told Baez something about Amy. I think Amy is a credible witness and Baez won’t be able to bamboozle her.

    I also think you are right about Casey knowing the longer she could string them along the better the chance they would never find the body. I can only imagine what was going through her mind when she realized they had found Caylee. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall, and with a little luck we may see the video.

  32. ostella permalink
    March 28, 2009 9:38 pm

    I don’t think she was really CAPABLE of formulating a cohesive plot to kill her whole family; however I think in her mind, she HATED them, wanted them all dead, and fantasized ways of getting rid of them (ie some of the internet searches). I think she intended to act on these feelings, but didn’t have an outlined plan or strategy to do it. I think caylees murder was a result of the fight she had with her mother; she certainly wanted to do it, had been planning it, but the fight sent her over the edge and the deed was done. I think she was hastily brainstorming ways to kill the folks and disappear over the next month. But as we know, she lives her life about 10 minutes at a time and put it off while she partied and enjoyed her newfound freedom cuz she just couldn’t help it; she was happy! So I don’t think it was a smart plan by any means, but more of a vague idea lurking in that sick head of hers…

  33. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 9:50 pm

    I agree, Ostella–she lived her life moment by moment. She was not a planner.

  34. thecla permalink
    March 28, 2009 10:09 pm

    Mystery & Ostella
    I agree with both of you and I so hope we get to see that video. I think it may be very telling! As many others have noted on this blog, Casey didn’t react to the bones in the lake. Why? Because that wasn’t where she put Caylee! IMO
    I am up too late again. Trying to get this darn Epson printer to print. I sell on online auctions and I need to print an invoice. Grrrr

  35. thecla permalink
    March 28, 2009 10:12 pm

    Does anyone know if Amy goes by another name?

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 28, 2009 10:39 pm

    I haven’t heard that Amy has another name.

    I’m up tooooo late. Going to call it a night. Good luck with your printer!

  37. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    March 28, 2009 11:56 pm

    Ostella 🙄 how absolutely perfect that your parrot is pooping on 😈 Bozo..is there room for all of us to sit on his perch and join him ❓

  38. Diana permalink
    March 29, 2009 6:37 am

    Thanks gang for all of the theories as to what Casey was thinking when the truth finally came out……but here is mine: I think in her mind, since her lies have always been believed by her parents (and she thought her friends as well) and with her pretty face, cute body, middle class upbringing, and all of the pictures of her holding and loving Caylee, that not one soul would ever believe that she really IS a “callous monster with no regard for human life”……….just as the prosecuters accused on the day they interrogated her.

  39. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 29, 2009 7:48 am

    Hey Jill–I’m in!

    Diana–I think you may have the best theory. She just never thought for a minute anyone would suspect her–Imagine her surprise!

Leave a comment