Skip to content

The death penalty is back on the table for Casey Anthony

April 13, 2009

the-new-casey3

The State Attorney’s Office has decided to seek the death penalty in their murder case against Casey Anthony. The State Attorney’s Office filed a letter of intent stating the decision.

death-penalty

read it below:

wftv.com

I don’t know what this says to you, but it says to me that the prosecution must feel they have some cold hard evidence that Casey Anthony murdered her daughter.

This also means Jose Baez isn’t qualified to act as lead attorney.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:20 pm

    I agree. I have said for some time that the best thing they could do is have her tell the truth in exchange for a lesser sentence, but they insisted on calling her innocent, when the evidence is pointing to no one but Casey. I think that Jose Baez has really bumbled this one.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 3:25 pm

    Wonder if this will step up Cindy and George’s insane efforts to put blame on someone else?

  3. niecey456 permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:29 pm

    I think this is why they’ve been doing it. I’ll bet that Baez has received or is about to receive some forensics from the state. If he already has, then the A’s know about it, thus the circus.

  4. ostella permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:31 pm

    Wow, they definitely must have rock solid evidence. Also I remember some of the talking heads saying awhile back that the state probably didn’t wanna seek death out of sympathy for the Anthonys; they had already lost their grandaughter, and didn’t want to compound the grief. That makes me think they’ve also had it with the Anthony’s antics, and have lost patience and sympathy for them. Makes me wonder if they’re not far from charging them with obstruction and tampering as well?!

  5. jojo21 permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:38 pm

    very good comments………..Thank you for staying on top of this.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 3:39 pm

    Niecey–if they have received solid evidence proving that Casey did this, and they are STILL making an all out effort to free their daughter, then they deserve to live in the hell they’ve they’ve found themselves in.

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 3:42 pm

    Ostella–I think the prosecution must be completely fed up with the A’s and their antics. I hope they take off the kid gloves and put on the boxing gloves–Cindy has certainly put hers on.

  8. laura permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:44 pm

    I kind of hope she talks but in a way I hope she don’t that way she will get what she gives. I hope they break out the duct tape!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. niecey456 permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:01 pm

    I think they have known the truth for a very long time. That is why the detectives were in the woods in November. I don’t believe it was Kiomarie, or psychics.

  10. MAND permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:12 pm

    It seem to have a lot to do with the duct tape ..at least that’s what the attorney’s on HLN are saying.
    This also gives KC the opportunity to ask Dumbo to see a plea deal…and now with all the trouble he is in and the fact he can not sit first chair in a death penalty case he may see this is the best he’s going to get. Another high profile attorney will cut into his take and I don’t think he will like that..plus if he can convince KC he will have the spotlight to himself.

  11. Boston permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:26 pm

    Happy Easter Mystery and Friends-I cannot believe what I heard around 4PM EST but I sure am glad that things are finally moving in the direction that makes sense to everyone who has followed this case.

    I feel sorry for Cindy and George but maybe this will be the straw that breaks the camels back. Will we hear anymore lies from them? Will Casey look for a deal from the DA now that it appears that they are serious?

  12. paula permalink
    April 13, 2009 4:33 pm

    In some of the crime scene photos it looks as though there are pieces of duct tape scattered around. Always wondered if Caylees arms and legs were bound. Too horrible to imagine but worthy of the death penalty.

  13. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 4:37 pm

    Mand–I agree. I think maybe prosecutors did this in hopes this will give Casey cause to pause–and think about what she’s doing here. Spending her life lounging in a jail cell is one thing—getting fried is another. She may be backed into her last corner here and will finally be willing to tell the truth–or a closer version of the truth–in exchange for her sorry life. Maybe it will scare George and Cindy back into hibernation mode as well.

  14. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 4:40 pm

    Hi Boston–Nice to see you–you’ve been missed!

    See my above comment. I would like to say I think Cindy and George will stop the lies at this point, but I would imagine they will step them up. They will step up their efforts to put the blame on someone–ANYONE other than their daughter.

  15. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 4:43 pm

    paula–I agree with Mand that the duct tape around the mouth, (and possibly dirt on the shoes matching dirt from the crime scene), are the key factors in why the prosecutors have decided to seek the death penalty.

  16. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 4:45 pm

    niecey,

    Sadly, I think you are 100% right. The Anthonys have known for months that Casey did it. That’s hard to get your brain around, but it sure looks like it’s the truth.

  17. Boston permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:02 pm

    Hi Nicey adn Mystery-Of course it is the truth. They have known since day one. I am saddened for their loss but I do not think they now have a leg to stand on. They ought to get down on their hands and knees and ask the good Lord to forgive them for not honoring the death of their dear granddaughter. Casey will now start asking for mercy. She never has to confess. Thank the heavens above for that!!

    It’s good to be back!

    Off now to see JVM! and listen to her fabulous panel talk about the ins and outs of jail and punishment (Judy Weintraub makes my skin crawl)

  18. niecey456 permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:12 pm

    I hope they do all ask the Good Lord for mercy! The truth will set you free!!! Boston, so nice to see you back! We have missed you.

  19. Just Me permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:30 pm

    I’ve tried to feel sorry for George and Cindy, but they have been so RUDE to the people that searched for Caylee and the people that are TRYING to get to the truth….I just can’t show them any sympathy.

    I would like to think that if I were in the same situation, I would do everything possible to find out the truth….and if my daughter killed my granddaughter, I would want her to be punished.

    If Caylee died as the result of an accident, or Casey’s neglect….she should have told so LONG AGO! She has let so many people be hurt and accused during this time, not to mention allowing people to search while knowing Caylee was in the woods.

    I’m glad the death sentence is back on the table….maybe Casey will start crying so hard the truth will accidentally slip out amongst the tears….if she has the ability to cry.

  20. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 5:42 pm

    Boston–

    I’m watching JVM as well, and I would say John Morgan is out for bear. Cindy better watch her Ps and Q’s as it looks like he plans to bring George back and force him to answer the questions he previously refused to answer in the deposition.

    There was a time I had great empathy for George and Cindy Anthony. No more.

  21. niecey456 permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:43 pm

    Amen Sister! They have behaved so badly, and Caylee has been exploited by them more than anyone.

  22. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 5:48 pm

    Just Me–I feel the same way you do. I’ve lost all respect for the Anthonys.

    Casey better drag herself out from in front of her mirror and start facing some hard facts. 1) Momma can’t get her out of this one. 2) She’s never going back to her old life and home & 3) she needs to decide whether she wants to call a jail cell or a coffin 6 feet under her new home. If she chooses the jail cell, she better start negotiating some kind of deal.

  23. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 5:50 pm

    Niecey–You are so right. It’s time for some real justice for Caylee. This is no game as the Anthonys seem to be playing it.

  24. laura permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:56 pm

    Hey Ladies TEAM STUPID said this was not a death penalty case. I am guessing if ZG did this it would be. Just so we are all on the same page team stupid is Bozo and associates.

  25. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 13, 2009 6:05 pm

    NG just said that the dirt on the shoes DO link Casey back to the crime scene. How will the Anthonys ever reconcile that in their minds? Did the real killer go into Casey’s closet, take a pair of shoes, bring those shoes with them to the place they dumped Caylee, slop them around in the muck and then place them back in Casey’s closet (or the car–can’t remember where the shoes were.)

  26. detwill39 permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:18 pm

    If George and Cindy found out that they may have been the next ones on Casey’s list, they would change their tunes.

  27. Laura permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:30 pm

    Itsamystery- I believe that has been an idea they are throwing around. Cindy said in her depo anyone could have put Caylee in the woods by their house because Casey said she felt like she was close. She also said she said that about a dead body to get them to hurry up she didn’t want to wait 2 hours for them../Liars

  28. MAND permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:40 pm

    Mystery..if Cindy can say someone could have put a dead body in the car after it was towed to the tow yard…taking the shoes and putting them back would be no problem for Cindy!!
    I just heard LP on NG say the same as I did about the pleading out.

    I for one have never had any sympathy for G&C..except for that fleeting moment of the 911 call they did not convince me they were doing anything for Caylee it’s been all about KC and Money..from the start.

    Welcome back Boston.

  29. April 13, 2009 9:22 pm

    mystery – love that comment about taking the shoes, wearing them to the woods, then putting them back!

    Apparently the Anthony’s will still be spewing their lies as they’re going to be on Oprah in May. I have a real problem with this. Why are they going on tv now? Caylee has been found & the search is over, isn’t that why they were on all of those news shows, to find Caylee? Why go on tv now when the trial has not taken place yet? I thought they wanted to be left alone by the media. Oh, I forgot, the Caylee Foundation.I’m sure they’ll mention that.

  30. April 13, 2009 9:31 pm

    This is part of the transcript from NG tonight when she asked LP about why the death penalty is back on. What the heck did he mean by “before something that is bugging everybody gets found out”???

    PADILLA: Let`s figure it out this way. What if there`s a situation that the state would like to have a plea? It was mentioned by one of the attorneys there. Let`s get her to plea out to this thing before something that is bugging everybody gets found out. The smart thing for the state to do is put the death penalty back on the table and hope that she pleads out.

  31. topcat08 permalink
    April 13, 2009 10:03 pm

    I only have one thing to say……………GOOD!!!

  32. T-L-I-O-T-G permalink
    April 13, 2009 10:43 pm

    Cool,now the witch has sumpthin to think really hard as what ya gonna do.I would bet dollars to donuts she’s going to fight this out ,I say go for it .The SHOES folks,they have more then dirt.Any fluids are going to seal this case lock,stock and barrel.
    The next document dump we will see it,I hope.
    Then these 2 C/G can go crawl under a rock somewhere.
    They also did Opra,set to be aired in May.

  33. April 13, 2009 10:47 pm

    There’s always lot of media appearances when new doc’s come out. Maybe Baez finally asked for the FBI evidence. that should be interesting….

    I still wanna know what LP was talking about.

  34. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 4:38 am

    Detwill–George and Cindy would never accept that Casey was going to do them in as well–Cindy wouldn’t believe that even if Casey looked her straight in the face and told her it was true.

    Laura–I agree with you. That’s why Baez has subpoenaed the cell records of all those people–including George and Cindy. They’re gonna try and pin it on someone else.

  35. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    April 14, 2009 4:43 am

    ♫ Zapidy doo dah Zapidy aye..my oh my what a wonderful day ♫

    I really hope they have HUGE evidence…juries don’t like the DP…it only takes one person to vote no.

  36. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 4:44 am

    Mand–I think they’re going to try and force a plea, too. I don’t know if it will work, because I agree with T-L-I-O-T-G (what do those initials stand for???? Takes too long to type them! LOL) She’s gonna fight it out. Bozo needs to get some murder trial experience–what better way than the trial of the century?

  37. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 4:46 am

    Molly– I don’t know what Leonard is talking about—maybe someone else will know? Maybe it’s that someone in the family is involved in the cover-up.

  38. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 4:48 am

    Good morning, Jill–

    I’m on the way out the door to the gym–bet you’re on your way to bed!

    I’m thinking they’re either majorly sure they have enough evidence to get the death penalty or they’re hoping she takes a plea. Either way, she loses.

  39. laura permalink
    April 14, 2009 7:53 am

    In the state of Florida all the jurors do not have to agree to the death penalty all it takes is 7 of them….

  40. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    April 14, 2009 7:58 am

    Laura thats gr8 news thanks for letting us know.

  41. MAND permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:26 am

    Laura..are you sure that applies to a capital case? I have heard of that in misdemeanor cases but not in capital cases..I would find that hard to believe but you may be right….has anyone have any knowledge of this???

  42. Augie983 permalink
    April 14, 2009 11:33 am

    I just read this which pretty much describes the entire Anthony clan’s demeanor towards any and all people, including each other.

    “…In the state of Florida, the legal aggravating circumstances that would apply in this case would be that the murder was cruel and atrocious and cold, calculated and premeditated.”

  43. laura permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:30 pm

    Yes as long as it is 7to5 she will get death. This applies in Florida other states may vary.

  44. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:30 pm

    Topcat–Good with a capital G

    T-L-I-O-T-G–body fluid on the shoes would DEFINITELY warrant putting the death penalty on the table. Hope you are correct.

    Laura! That is GOOD news. I was under the impression they all had to agree for a verdict of death. Thanks!

  45. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:32 pm

    Mand— a unanimous vote is not required in Florida.

    Home > Government magazines > Legal and Political magazines > Florida Bar News articles > May 2006
    See more articles from Florida+Bar+News

    House: jury unanimity in death cases not needed.

    Article from:
    Florida Bar News
    Article date:
    May 15, 2006
    Author:
    Killian, Mark D.

  46. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 14, 2009 6:34 pm

    Augie–Yep. Without a doubt, meets the requirements.

  47. MAND permalink
    April 14, 2009 8:59 pm

    Mystery and Laura…thanks for the info…I would think that’s a good thing for the prosecution…but then it would work both ways!!! I guess I’m being positive for the good side!!!!!

  48. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 15, 2009 1:19 pm

    Me, too, Mand.

  49. April 15, 2009 10:51 pm

    Hi Mystery and everyone, I believe fully they make Casey tell them what happened to Caylee and where she as at when Casey was out on her first Bond. I also think they wanted her found but not until she had fully decomposed. One of their mistakes but i believe they thought the body would be of no good to LE being this decomposed as they knew how Casey killed her and figured no evidence left. I believe Kronk was given a tip by either Dominic Casey or one of the Scamthony’s one to get him back out to find her. This would explain why Casey could not sleep other than in George and cindy’s room. She was probably fearful of having nitemares again like she had a tony’s being only 15 houses from where Caylee was lieing in the woods. Not from feeling remorse or bad in any way she killed Caylee, but more of knowing the evil that can come to get her for what she has done.

  50. April 15, 2009 10:55 pm

    Hi Laura, wow, great news for Caylee, bad news for snothead casey. Great information, thanks for sharing with us.

  51. laura permalink
    April 16, 2009 7:43 am

    Hi everyone I enjoy sharing my knowledge with you, I also enjoy your knowledge and your opinions! Caylee brought a lot of strangers together and helped us all become friends and in return we have to help get justice for her. I think we all need to contact Congressman A. Grayson even though we may not be from Florida, I do not think anything having to do with a missing child should be in Caylee’s name. Encourage him to set it up so children don’t have to go through what Caylee did. Help people wrongfully accused of a crime ZG and her children live in Motel6 that’s not fair to them. Casey cost the state of Fl. a lot of money the federal government a lot of money(FBI) not to mention other states checking into Caylee sitings. All the while Caylee was down the street in trash bags. Please contact him I realize the money will not go to the A’s but Jessica Lunsford was a true missing child name it after her, Casey got her day make it about a REAL MISSING CHILD IF YOU MUST, BUT NOT ONE THAT WAS TREATED LIKE TRASH!!!!!! Thank you.

  52. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 16, 2009 11:42 am

    knight Owl–I didn’t believe Casey told anyone about what really happened for a long time. Now, I’m convinced she told Cindy.

    Laura–I can’t speak for anyone else, but I personally don’t have a problem with Caylee’s name being used in that way as long as the Anthony family has nothing to do with it. I think she should be honored in some way. I just don’t want the Anthonys hands in the pot. What I would really like to see is some kind of law in her name to protect children. On the right side of this blog under “You Can Make A Difference” click on “Sign the Petition for Caylee’s Law” There is a place there where you can offer suggestions as to what this bill should have in it.

  53. thecla permalink
    April 16, 2009 8:44 pm

    mystery and everybody: I am not sure what LP meant by what he said but I wondered if anyone took note of what the expert phone person said about the possibility that one of the wire taps by the FBI? revealed some incriminating information? Maybe they had wire taps on phones a long time before people even thought about it? opps Loose lips sink ships and this one is going downnnnn!

  54. Jill from Western Australia permalink
    April 17, 2009 12:20 am

    Now that the DP is back on the table can? or will? a gag order be placed to stop the Scamthony’s going on Oprah?

  55. itsamysterytome permalink*
    April 17, 2009 4:31 am

    thecla–I did not see that, but it’s very interesting. I just feel there is quite a bit more infor that LE has yet to reveal. I would not be surprised to find out that their phones had been tapped early on, but I thought you could not use that information in a court of law?

    I don’t know Jill. The judge has said he wouldn’t put a gag order, but of course that was before the death penalty issue. Mand thinks he will.

  56. Erotica Press permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:08 am

    Feel sorry for the child that persihed. Not for Casey. She should get what she deserves….

  57. Diana P permalink
    June 4, 2011 11:44 am

    THIS is what happens when Parents stand behind their kids even when they KNOW the kid is a liar. You are doing your kid no favor by endorsing dishonesty. Forget sweeping things under the rug. Forget about your family’s reputation. A child learns integrity by example. Truth or Consequence. The end.

  58. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 4, 2011 12:49 pm

    Diana

    That is absolutely the truth. The problem with so many of our children today is not due to neglect but to not being able to say no. We’ve somehow gotten in the mindset that we need to give our kids whatever they want, they need to always feel good, they need to never fail.
    The truth is, we really do learn from our mistakes. We need to work for what we want in order to understand the value, and in order to have empathy we need to experience hurt. We are raising a generation of self-centered, unfeeling, materialistic monsters.

Leave a comment